
This is a selective guide to reference works in sociology. Many other useful
works can be identified through the guides listed below, through
Franklin,
and with the help of the Van Pelt Library Reference librarians.
While Van Pelt Library
holds the major part of the social sciences collection, works on sociology and
related subjects are also found in the
Annenberg
(communications), Fisher Fine Arts (city planning, urban studies),
University Museum
(anthropology, ethnography), Biddle Law,
and Biomedical libraries.
The Population Studies Center's Demography Library,
although not part of the Penn Library, is an invaluable resource for demographic
research and methodology, particularly for Africa and other developing regions;
use of the Demography Library is extended to graduate students, faculty, and
staff of Penn's Economics, Sociology, and Regional Science Departments.
The Social Science Data Center holds machine-readable data files, and is Penn's link to the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research.
Other Special Bibliographies which may be useful for this subject
are:
For internet research concerning sociological information, the Penn Library Web links to many online resources that may be useful:
CONTENTS:
- Getting started with the basics: dictionaries and encyclopedias
- Handbooks
- Guides to the literature and Bibliographies
- Reading about sociology - Finding books with Franklin
- Reading about sociology - Serial bibliographies
- Miscellaneous: Directories, Style Guides, Financial Aid
GETTING STARTED WITH THE BASICS
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are the best places to start when you're just beginning or need basic understanding.
The entries in good encyclopedias will provide brief bibliographies, too.
Use "Keyword Searching" in Franklin to find encyclopedias and dictionaries:
(dictionaries OR encyclop?) AND ...
- Encyclopedia of sociology. 4 volumes. New York: Macmillan, 1992
- [Van Pelt Reference: HM17 .E5 1992]
- The first multivolume interdisciplinary and international sociology encyclopedia. Medium-length articles with extensive bibliographies. Lacks biographical entries; instead, subject index identifies individuals.
- The concise Oxford dictionary of sociology. New York: Oxford University Press, 1994.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HM17 .C66 1994]
- Boudon, Raymond and Francois Bourricaud (Peter Hamilton, sel. and trans.) A critical dictionary of sociology. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1989.
- [Van Pelt Reference, Annenberg Reference: HM17 .B6813 1989]
- Abridged translation of Dictionnaire critique de la sociologie, 1st ed. (1982) and 2nd ed. (1986). The French-language 3rd ed (Paris: Presses universitaires de France, 1990) is at Van Pelt: HM17 .B68 1990
- Encyclopedia of social work. 19th edition. 3 volumes. New York: National Association of Social Workers, 1995.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: HV35 .S6]
- An excellent survey of social service, welfare, and support. Articles include policy information, bibliographies, and glossaries of jargon.
- Encyclopedia of American social history. 3 volumes. New York: Scribner, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HN57 .E58 1993]
- Encyclopedia of social history. New York: Garland, 1994.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HN28 .E53 1994]
- The former, an award-winning collection of 180 thematic essays on chronological and methodological topics as well as surveys of social forms and popular culture. The latter, a one-volume survey with worldwide focus.
- Harvard encyclopedia of American ethnic groups. Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press, 1980.
- [Van Pelt Reference: E184 .A1 H35 (two copies, one at Reference Desk)]
- Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America. 2 vols. Detroit: Gale, 1995.
- [Van Pelt Reference: E184 .A1 G14 1995]
- Encyclopedia of multiculturalism. 6 vols. New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1994.
- [Van Pelt Reference: E184 .A1 E58 1994]
- The first, a classic work, with lengthy essays on individual ethnic groups, updated by the somewhat less rigorous Gale work.
- Cashmore, Ernest. Dictionary of race and ethnic relations. 4th ed. London: Routledge, 1996.
- [Van Pelt Reference: GN496 .C37 1996]
- Encyclopedia of world cultures. 10 volumes. New York: G.K. Hall / Macmillan, 1991-(in progress).
- [Museum Reference: GN550 .E53 1991]
- Arranged geographically, entries describe specific cultures. Ethnonyms, demography, economy, kinship, marital and family organization, political organization, and religion are described. Includes bibliographies and maps.
- International encyclopedia of population. 2 volumes. New York: Free Press, 1982.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HB849.2 .I61]
- Describes contemporary, rather than historical, social sciences approaches to population and demography.
- Garwood, Alfred N and Louise L Horner (eds.) Dictionary of U.S. government statistical terms. Palo Alto, CA: Information Publications, 1991.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HA 17 .D53 1991]
- A handy compilation of definitions culled from federal statistical publications.
- Vogt, W Paul. Dictionary of statistics and methodology: a nontechnical guide for the social sciences. Newbury Park, CA: Sage, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HA 17 .V64 1993]
- Dictionnaire de la sociologie. Paris: Larousse, 1989.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HM17 .D53 1989]
- This new dictionary includes about 300 signed entries by prominent French scholars, followed by a lengthy bibliography.
- Gould, Julius, and W. L. Kolb. A dictionary of the social sciences. New York: Free Press, 1964.
- [Van Pelt Reference: H41 .G6]
- A classic work, compiled under the auspices of UNESCO. Fairly full treatment of 1000 terms; includes historical background, disputed meanings across disciplines. Bibliographical references.
- Kuper, Adam, and Jessica Kuper, eds. The social science encyclopedia. 2nd edition. New York: Routledge, 1996.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: H41 .S63 1996]
- Signed essays cover over 700 topics in the social sciences and related fields, usually with short bibliographies. A handy index groups entries by discipline or "problem area". Presumes some background in the field.
- International encyclopedia of the social sciences. New York: Macmillan, 1968-1991. 19 vols.
- [Van Pelt Reference, Van Pelt, Museum Reference: H41 .I5]
- Lengthy signed articles by recognized authorities analyze and compare concepts, principles, theories and methods of social science disciplines.
Planned to represent the state of the field in the 1960s, complementary to Encyclopaedia of the social sciences, 15 vols., New York: Macmillan, 1930-1935 [Van Pelt Reference, Van Pelt, Museum Reference: H41 .E6].
Volume 17 is a detailed index; volume 18, a biographical supplement; volume 19, a social science quotations dictionary.
- Thompson, Kenneth. Key quotations in sociology. New York: Routledge, 1996.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HM17 .T56 1996]
HANDBOOKS
Many works titled "Handbook..." are more nearly guides to the literature, small encyclopedias, or dictionaries of specialized terminology.
We have intended to list here only those handbooks which provide a concise survey of a field of knowledge, or a how- to-do-it manual of research or writing methods.
- Smelser, Neil J., ed. Handbook of sociology. Newbury Park, CA: Sage, 1988.
- [Van Pelt: HM51 .H249 1988]
- An overview of the field, including history, theory and current trends in 22 chapters written by eminent sociologists.
- Mohan, Raj P. and Arthur S. Wilke (eds). International handbook of contemporary developments in sociology. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HM19 .I59 1994]
- Articles on the state of sociology in world regions and individual countries.
- Bart, Pauline and Linda Frankel. The student sociologist's handbook. 4th ed. New York: Random House, 1986.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: HM68 .B37 1986]
- A basic guide for students doing sociological research. Briefly discusses the field. Separate sections on library research, periodical literature, bibliographies and other reference materials.
- Herron, Nancy L. and Diane Zabel (eds). Bridging the gap: examining polarity in America. Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1995.
- [Van Pelt Reference, Van Pelt: HN57 .B83 1995]
- A useful survey of contemporary American social problems, in the form of bibliographic essays.
- Gilbert, Daniel T. et al. (eds) Handbook of social psychology. 4th ed. Boston: McGraw-Hill, 1998.
- [Van Pelt: HM251 .H224 1998]
- Binstock, Robert H. and Linda K. George (eds). Handbook of aging and the social sciences. 4th ed. San Diego: Academic Press, 1996.
- [Van Pelt: HQ1061 .H336 1996. Biomedical: HQ1061 .H614 1996]
- A sourcebook on all social and sociological aspects of aging. Each chapter written by a specialist. Very lengthy bibliographies for each chapter.
- Freeman, Howard E. and Sol Levine (eds). Handbook of medical sociology. 4th ed. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1989.
- [Biomedical: RA418 .F855 1989]
- 22 essays with good bibliographies and a separate large bibliography: "Social research in health and medicine" pp. 475-503.
- Rebach, Howard M. and John G. Bruhn (eds). Handbook of clinical sociology. New York: Plenum Press, 1991.
- [Van Pelt: HM73 .H315 1991]
- Describes aspects of sociological intervention.
- Smelser, Neil J. and Richard Swedberg (eds). The handbook of economic sociology. Princeton: Princeton University Press / New York: Russell Sage Foundation, 1994.
- [Van Pelt: HM35 .H25 1994]
- BLS Handbook of Methods [Online]. April 1997 edition. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- [BLS Handbook via BLS web]
- Detailed explanations of how the BLS obtains and prepare the economic data it publishes, including employment, compensation, occupational safety, productivity, prices and living conditions, and projections.
- Richardson, John G. (ed) Handbook of theory and research for the sociology of education. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.
- [Van Pelt: LC191.2 .H36 1985]
- Rossi, Peter H., James D. Wright, and Andy B. Anderson (eds). Handbook of survey research. New York: Academic Press, 1983.
- [Van Pelt, Annenberg Reserve: HN29 .H294 1983]
- Miller, Delbert C. Handbook of research design and social measurement. 5th ed. New York: Longman, 1991.
- [Van Pelt: H62 .M44 1991]
- Guide to research design; grant proposals; library, field, and laboratory research; statistical analysis, and sociometric scales and indexes.
- Smith, Robert B. and Peter K. Manning (eds). Handbook of social science methods. 3 volumes. Cambridge, Mass.: Ballinger, 1982-1985.
- [Van Pelt: H62 .H2457 1982 (volume 2)]
- Treats social research generally, qualitative methods, and quantitative methods (survey research and causal modelling).
- Sussman, Marvin B., and Suzanne K. Steinmetz, eds. Handbook of marriage and the family. New York: Plenum Press, 1987.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HQ518 .H154 1987]
- A comprehensive survey in 30 signed chapters. Covers general theory, diversity in family form, life cycles and dynamics within the family. Includes a detailed index and numerous references.
- Inge, M. Thomas (ed). Handbook of American popular culture. 2nd edition, revised and enlarged. 3 volumes. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.
- [Van Pelt Reference, Annenberg Reference: E169.1 .H2643 1989]
- Inge, M. Thomas (ed). Handbook of American popular literature. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
- [Van Pelt Reference, Annenberg Reference: PS169 .P64 H32 1988]
- These two related titles provide articles covering past and present aspects, especially specific popular culture phenomena and genres.
GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE AND BIBLIOGRAPHIES
The literature of sociology is enormous. Guides to the literature provide a systematic introduction to the literature of a field.
They usually identify the basic reference sources useful in the discipline, such as major bibliographies, indexes and handbooks.
Some guides include background or state-of-the-art essays, detailed classification of the field, research methodology, and surveys of the major monographic and article literature.
Bibliographies usually lack the critical apparatus of guides to the literature., although some provide annotated citations.
Use "Keyword Searching" in Franklin to find guides to the literature and bibliographies on any subject:
skey bibliography AND ...
- Aby, Stephen H. Sociology: a guide to reference and information sources. 2nd edition. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1997.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HM51 .A26 1997]
- The first guide to the sociological literature: an annotated bibliography of over 600 sources, most published since 1970, including guides, bibliographies, indexes, handbooks and dictionaries.
- Webb, William H. Sources of information in the social sciences. 3rd. ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1986.
- (Van Pelt: H61 .S666 1986)
- A compilation of brief guides, by experts, to the basic reference sources and major monographic works in 9 social science fields.
In bibliographic essay form, with evaluative annotated bibliographies. Detailed author, title, and subject index.
Especially useful for identifying older reference works. See especially:
- Pasanella, Ann K. "Sociology: survey of the field". Pages 276-89.
- Wertheimer, Marilyn L. "Sociology: survey of the reference works". Pages 289-331.
- Brown, Samuel R. Finding the source in sociology and anthropology: a thesaurus-index to the reference collection. New York: Greenwood, 1987.
- [Van Pelt Reference HM51 .B85 1987]
- A clever approach to locating information. Section one lists almost 600 reference works under broad topics.
Title subtitle and author indexes follow the citations. The second part is a detailed subject index to the contents of the reference works, integrated with a thesaurus.
Examples of guides to the literature on specific topics or resources:
- Frayser, Suzanne G., and Thomas J. Whitby. Studies in human sexuality: a selected guide. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1995.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HQ21 .F77 1995]
- An extensive guide to the literature in one discipline of sociology, with lengthy abstracts of monographs. The largest section is arranged by topic; smaller sections describe reference books, histories, bibliographies, etc.
- Kurtz, Lester R. Evaluating Chicago sociology: a guide to the literature, with an annotated bibliography. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1984.
- [Van Pelt: HM22 .U5 C474 1984]
- Young, Copeland H., Kristen L. Savola, and Erin Phelps. Inventory of longitudinal studies in the social sciences. Newbury Park, Calif.: Sage Publications, 1991.
- [Van Pelt Reference, Van Pelt: H62 .Y667 1991]
- Describes major longitudinal studies, their primary publications, and secondary publications using data from the studies.
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
These are organized lists of books, journal articles, etc., which have something in common, e.g., subject area, author, form, country of publication (national bibliographies), or physical location (library catalogs).
As for guides to the literature, use "Keyword Searching" in Franklin to find bibliographies on any subject:
skey bibliography AND ...
Two publishers, Garland and Greenwood Press, have produced a large number of annotated bibliographies on sociological topics.
Some titles in the two Garland series, Garland bibliographies in sociology and Garland library of sociology, are:
- Acock, Alan C. The influence of the family: a revised and annotated bibliography of socialization, ethnicity, and delinquency, 1975-1986. New York: Garland, 1986.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HQ796 .A26 1986]
- Blasi, Anthony J. and Michael W. Cuneo. The sociology of religion: an organizational bibliography. New York: Garland, 1990.
- [Van Pelt Reference: BL60 .B553 1990]
- Bruhn, John G. Medical sociology: an annotated bibliography, 1972-1982.
New York: Garland, 1985.
- [Van Pelt Reference: RA418 .B78 1985]
- Fritz, Jan M. The clinical sociology handbook. New York: Garland, 1985.
292p.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HM73 .F75 1985]
- Harris, Diana K. The sociology of aging: an annotated bibliography and sourcebook. New York: Garland, 1985.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HQ1061 .H374 1985]
- Kinloch, Graham Charles. Social stratification: an annotated bibliography. New York: Garland, 1987.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HT609 .K55 1987]
- Redekop, Paul. Sociology of sport: an annotated bibliography. New York: Garland, 1988.
- [Van Pelt Reference: GV706.5 .R43 1988]
- Thomas, Richard K. The sociology of mental illness: an annotated bibliography. New York: Garland, 1989.
- [Van Pelt Reference: RC454 .T48 1989]
Some titles in the Greenwood Press series, Bibliographies and indexes in sociology are:
Signorieli, Nancy and George Gerbner (comp.) Violence and terror in the mass media: an annotated bibliography. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
[Van Pelt Reference, Annenberg Reference: P96 .V5 S53 1988]
Van Whitloc, Rod, Bernard Lubin, and Jean R. Sailors (comp.) Homelessness in American, 1893-1992: an annotated bibliography. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994.
[Van Pelt Reference: HV4505 .H6558 1994]
Lilly, Teri Ann et al. (comp) Work-family research: an annotated bibliograph. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.
[Van Pelt: HD4904.25 .A12 W67 1997]
The Reference and Research Services series, Contemporary social issues, provides lengthy unannotated bibliographies on recent problem areas.
READING ABOUT SOCIOLOGY - FINDING BOOKS WITH FRANKLIN
- [Franklin via Penn Library Web]
Franklin uses Library of Congress subject headings to describe books, periodicals, and other items held by the Penn Library.
Listed below is a sample of subject headings which might be useful in the study of sociology; they show how subject headings can be general or specific, a single word or a complicated phrase.
For guidance and additional subject suggestions, consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings, located at the Van Pelt Library Reference Desk.
| aged | poverty
|
| chicago school of sociology | religion and society
|
| exchange theory sociology | social ethics
|
| household surveys | social sciences
|
| individualism | social surveys
|
| industrial sociology | socialization
|
| knowledge, sociology of | sociology
|
| microsociology | sociology urban
|
| political sociology | spatial analysis
|
| poor | urban policy
|
Library of Congress subject subheadings are useful for narrowing subject searches in Franklin.
| economic aspects | religious life and customs
|
| economic conditions | social aspects
|
| economic policy | social conditions
|
| methodology | social life and customs
|
| psychological aspects | social policy
|
| relations | socialization
|
| religious aspects | sociological aspects
|
Keyword searching is very useful for combining different concepts into one Franklin search, for restricting searches to geographic areas, and for identifying Library of Congress subject headings, especially from known catch-phrases:
| "afro-american?" AND (poverty OR poor)
|
| ("social groups" OR "social networks") AND (mathematical OR statistical)
|
| (social OR sociol?) AND families
|
Keyword searching is also useful for restricting Franklin search results to specific formats:
| socialization AND "case studies"
|
| poverty AND statistics
|
| skey sociology AND "penn dissertations"
|
| homeless? AND skey bibliography
|
The Penn Library Web provides help for searching Franklin.
READING ABOUT SOCIOLOGY - SERIAL BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Whether in print or electronic (online or CD-ROM) format, serial bibliographies, indexes, and abstracts are regularly published,
continuing bibliographies offering subject and author access to periodical or newspaper articles, books, book chapters, essays in collections, etc.
The Penn Library Web Databases page provides links to currently-available online bibliographic and fulltext databases for many social sciences disciplines,
including many of those listed below.
GENERAL INDEXES FOR SOCIOLOGICAL LITERATURE
- Sociological Abstracts [Online]. 1963-present. Updates six times yearly.
- [Sociological Abstracts via Penn Library Web]
- The comprehensive bibliographic database for research in sociology and related disciplines worldwide.
Provides citations, subject indexing, and abstracts of all articles in more than 240 core sociology journals and relevant articles in more than 2200 journals in related fields, books and chapters in collective volumes, and dissertations;
an excellent source for book reviews on social issues. Corresponds to print-format Sociological abstracts,
its Conference abstracts supplement, and International review of publications in sociology [all at Van Pelt Reference: HM1 .S67],
which covers more years, 1952-present, and Social planning, policy & development abstracts [Van Pelt Reference: HV40 .S643], 1979-(1993).
- International bibliography of sociology. New York: Routledge, 1955-present. Annual.
- [Online, as part of IBSS Extra, 1981-present, via Penn Library Web]
- [Van Pelt HM 1 I534; latest 5 years in Reference]
Annual. Part of the major international bibliographic series, International bibliography of the social sciences, produced by the British Library for Political and Economic Science. A classified bibliography of over 6000 books and articles per
year. Selects from several thousand journals in many languages. Detailed contents classification scheme and author and subject indexes.
- Thematic list of descriptors: sociology. New York: Routledge, 1989.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HM1 .I5342]
- Presents subject terms used in IBS.
- Academic Index [Online]. 1980-present. Daily updates.
- [Academic Index via Penn Library Web]
- A periodical article database indexing the contents of 1550 scholarly and general interest journals, with fulltext or images from more than 750 titles. Academic Index covers the major English-language social sciences periodicals begin
ning in the late 1980s. Most useful for its currency.
- FRANCIS [Online]. Institut de l'Information Scientifique Technique-Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and Getty Information Institute, 1984-present. Monthly updates.
- [FRANCIS via Penn Library Web]
- A multilingual and multidisciplinary bibliographic database with coverage of humanities (subfiles for archaeology, history of art, history of science, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory, religion) and social sciences (subfiles for adminis
tration, Latin America, computer and law, education, ethnology, geography, health, sociology, economics, energy economics, management). Provides abstracts in French, subject headings in French and English. Print coverage extends back to 1955:
- FRANCIS INIST [CD-ROM]. 1984-1996.
- [Van Pelt Reference CD Area: H1 .F763]
- Francis: bulletin signaletique. 521, Sociologie. 1991-present. Quarterly.
- [Van Pelt: H1 .A122 (1991-1993)]
- Bulletin signaletique. 521, Sociologie. 1986-1990. Quarterly.
- [Van Pelt: H1 .A122]
- Bulletin signaletique. 521, Sociologie-ethnologie. 1970-1985. Quarterly.
- [Van Pelt: Z1007 .B95]
- Bulletin signaletique. 521, Sociologie, ethnologie, prehistoire et archeologie. 1969. Quarterly.
- [Van Pelt: Z1007 .B95]
- Bulletin signaletique C (19-24): Sciences humaines. 1968. Quarterly.
- [Van Pelt: B2 .B855]
- Bulletin signaletique. 19-24: Sciences humaines, philosophie. 1965-1967. Quarterly.
- [Van Pelt: B2 .B855]
- Bulletin signaletique. 19-23: Sciences humaines, philosophie. 1964. Quarterly.
- [Van Pelt: B2 .B855]
- Bulletin signaletique. 19, Sciences humaines, philosophie. 1961-1963. Quarterly.
- [Van Pelt: B2 .B855]
- Bulletin signaletique. Philosophie, sciences humaines. 1956-1960. Quarterly.
- [Van Pelt: B2 .B855]
- Preceded by Bulletin analytique. Philosophie.
- Social sciences index. New York: Wilson, 1974-present. Monthly.
- [Van Pelt Reference (through 1992/1993), Museum Reference (through 1995/1996): AI3 .S624]
- Supersedes in part Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1907-74) [Van Pelt Reference, Museum Reference: AI3 .R49], also known as International index to periodicals. A subject and author index to about 150 sc
holarly American and British social science journals. Includes a separate book review section since 1974.
- Periodicals contents index [Online]. Chadwyck-Healey.
- [PCI via Penn Library Web]
- An electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues (some from the eighteenth century!) to 1990/1991. Every article, including book reviews, is indexed. The scope is internatio
nal, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages. Subject access limited to title keyword and broad journal classification. Best used for bibliographic research in the older literature.
- C.R.I.S.: Combined retrospective index set to journals in sociology, 1895-1974. 6 volumes. Washington, D.C.: Carrollton Press, 1978.
- [Not at Penn: Drexel University, Hagerty Library]
- Broad subject arrangement of 85,000 articles from 118 English-language sociology journals.
- Lantz, Judith C. Cumulative index of sociology journals, 1971-1985. Washington, DC: American Sociological Association, 1987.
[Van Pelt Reference: HM1 .L36 1987]
- A handy author and subject index to all journals published by the ASA in that period. Two non-ASA journals were also indexed.
- ISI Citation Indexes. Institute for Scientific Information, 1975-present. Updates weekly.
- [ISI Citation Indexes (1988-present) via Penn Library Web]
- Social sciences citation index. Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information, 1956-present. 3 per year.
- [Van Pelt Reference: H1 .S616]
- Social sciences citation index [CD-ROM]. 1986-present. Quarterly.
- [Van Pelt Reference CD Area: H1 .S617]
- A massive computer-produced index to over 2,500 international journals in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides author and title word-pair indexing. Its special feature is citation indexing, which indexes current articles by the items cited
in their bibliographies and thus makes it possible to follow a chain of research forward from key books and articles in a field.
SPECIALIZED INDEXES FOR SOCIOLOGICAL LITERATURE
- AARP AgeLine [Online]. 1978-present.
- [AgeLine via Penn Library web ]
- AARP's index to the journal article, book, and government document literature on aging, emphasising healthcare and policy.
- Statistical Universe. 1973-present (U.S. gov't sources), 1980-present (other sources). Congressional Information Service, Inc.
- [Online via Penn Library Web]
- American Statistics Index. 1973-present. Bimonthly, cumulated annually.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HA203 .A666]
- Statistical Reference Index. 1980-present. Bimonthly, cumulated annually.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HA203 .S738]
- Index to International Statistics. 1983-present. Bimonthly, cumulated annually.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HA155 .I53]
- Bibliographic indexes, with detailed abstracts, for statistical publications published by the U.S. government [ASI], by U.S. state governments and private organizations [SRI], and by major intergovernmental organizati
ons [IIS]. The Penn Library will own many of the items in these sets: use Franklin to identify these. In addition, the Free Library of Philadelphia's Government Publications Department owns the ASI, SRI, and IIS microfiche collections.
- Bibliographie internationale de la demographie historique. 1978-present. Biennial.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HB871 .B483 (1982-present)]
- Indexes the periodical, book, and book chapter literature of historical demography.
- Child development abstracts and bibliography. Chicago: Society for Research in Child Development, 1927-present. 3 issues per year.
- [Van Pelt: HQ750 .A1 C47. Latest five years in Reference.]
- Brief article abstracts from about 200 professional periodicals and longer book notices. Issues are arranged alphabetically by author into 6 broad categories. Good for social psychology, educational psychology and socialization. Issue and annual autho
r and subject indexes.
- NCJRS abstracts database. National Institute of Justice, U.S. Department of Justice, 1970-present.
- [Online via NCJRS Web]
- Provides abstracts to criminal justice publications, including government reports.
- Criminology, penology and police science abstracts. Amsterdam: Kugler, Criminologica Foundation, 1992-present.
- [Van Pelt: HV6001 .E9. Latest five years in Reference.]
- Criminology and penology abstracts. Amsterdam: Kugler, 1961-1991.
Bimonthly.
- [Van Pelt: HV6001 .E9]
- Also known as Excerpta criminologica (1961-1968) and Abstracts on criminology and penology (1969-1979). Classified arrangement; signed abstracts of books and articles selected from a pool of journals from 35 countries. Subjec
t and author indexes appear annually.
- Electronic HRAF [Online]. New Haven: Human Relations Area Files, 1995-present. Annual.
- eHRAF via Penn Library Web]
- Human relations area files [Microform]. New Haven: HRAF.
- [Museum: Microforms]
Very large collection of fulltext primary source materials, on CD-ROM and microfiche, for social structure and culture of over 300 societies throughout the world, including American ethnic groups indexed by Outline of cultural materials subject classification.
- Ethnic NewsWatch [Online]. Softline Information, 1990-present.
- [Ethnic NewsWatch via Penn Library Web]
- Fulltext of articles in American ethnic and minority newspapers and magazines.
- General Social Survey Bibliography Table of Contents [Online].
- [GSSDIRS Bibliography via ICPSR Web]
- Bibliography listing papers using the General Social Survey. Arranged by author, subject, or topical module.
- Human resources abstracts. Beverly Hills, CA: Sage, 1966-present. Quarterly.
[Van Pelt: HV1 .P68 (through 1994)]
- Also known as Poverty & human resources abstracts (1966-1974). Covers poverty, employment and human resource topics. Around 1000 abstracts per year of articles, books and reports. Author and subject indexes cumulate annually.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research. Guide to resources and services. Ann Arbor, MI: ICPSR, 1977-present. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: JA86 .I575. Latest in Reference.]
- [ICPSR data archive via ICPSR web]
- Lists the data sets available from the ICPSR archives, classified broadly by field of research. Entries include a prose description of the data collection, and information on format, size, and level of processing already completed. Data sets can be ob
tained through the Social Science Data Center. Online version provides links to documentation (including data dictionaries) and data sets, the latter password-protected.
- Inventory of marriage and family literature. Anoka, Minn.: National Council on Family Relations, 1973/1974-present. Annual.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HQ728 .I583 (through 1993/1994)]
- Classified bibliography of English-language articles from more than 600 interdisciplinary journals. Includes author and keyword-in-title indexes. Continues International bibliography of research in marriage and the family, vol. 1: 1900
-1964 and vol. 2: 1965-1972 [Van Pelt: HQ728 .I583].
- National Longitudinal Surveys (NLS) Annotated Bibliography [Online]. Center for Human Resource Research for U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. 1968-present.
- [NLS Annotated Bibliography via CHRR web]
- Describes journal articles, conference presentations, working papers, and dissertations that use National Longitudinal Surveys of Labor Market Experience (NLS).
- PAIS International [Online]. 1980-present. Updates monthly.
- [PAIS (OVID database) via Penn Library Web ]
- Indexes periodical articles, government documents, and other materials covering social and public policy in English and five other western languages.
- Corresponds to print-format PAIS or Public Affairs Information Service [Van Pelt Reference: JA1 .P356 and JA1 .P537], which covers many more years, 1915-(1993).
- Population index. 1937-present. Princeton: Office of Population Research, Princeton University. Quarterly, with annual indexes.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HB848 .P665]
- [Online (1986-present): URL: http://popindex.princeton.edu]
- The principal abstracting service for demography and population literature, covering books and machine-readable data files, as well as 400 journals. Each quarterly issue includes a feature article reviewing the literature on a specific topic.
- POPLINE. 1970-present. Population Information Program, The Johns Hopkins University.
- [Online via Internet Grateful Med]
Bibliographic citations for articles, books, and reports on family planning, population law and policy, and primary health care worldwide.
-
- Sage Family Studies Abstracts. 1979-present. Quarterly.
- [Recent electronic issues via Penn Library
Web]
- [Van Pelt: HQ546 .S23. Latest five years in Van Pelt Reference]
- Sage Race Relations Abstracts. 1975-present. Quarterly.
- [Van Pelt: HT1501 .S23. Latest five years in Van Pelt Reference]
- Sage Urban Studies Abstracts. 1973-present. Quarterly.
- [Recent electronic issues via Penn Library Web]
- [Van Pelt: HT51 .S24. Latest five years in Van Pelt Reference]
- Social work abstracts [Online]. National Association of Social Workers, 1977-present. Quarterly updates.
- [SWAB via Penn Library Web]
- Social work abstracts. Washington, D.C.: National Association of Social Workers, 1994-present. Quarterly.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HV1 .A2742]
- Social work research & abstracts. New York: National Association of Social Workers, 1965-1993. Quarterly.
- Known as Abstracts for social workers (1965-1977).
- [Van Pelt Reference: HV1 .A274]
- General subject areas include the social work profession, social work theory and practice, areas of service, and social issues and social problems. Each issue of the print publication includes several research papers, followed by article abstracts in
a classified arrangement. Author and subject indexes cumulate annually.
- Contemporary women's issues [Online]. CWI, 1992-present.
- [CWI via Penn Library Web]
- GenderWatch [Online]. Softline Information, [1978]-present.
- [GenderWatch via Penn Library Web]
- Both databases provide online fulltext for journal articles, newsletters, pamphlets, reports, and other materials on womens issues. Some overlap is inevitable.
- Studies on women abstracts. Abingdon, Eng.: Carfax, 1983-present. Bimonthly.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HQ1180 .S78]
- Provides abstracts of articles drawn from over 400 journals worldwide as well as books and book chapters. Subject coverage goes beyond the social sciences to include some medical and historical studies. Includes a listing of books received and issue a
nd cumulative author and subject indexes.
- Women studies abstracts. Rush, NY: Rush, 1972-present. Quarterly.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HQ1101 .W653]
- Classified arrangement of article citations with separate book review listing. Abstracts are not always included. Issue and annual name and subject indexes.
- World agricultural economics and rural sociology abstracts. Oxford: CAB International, 1959-present. Monthly.
- [WAERSA, as part of CAB Abstracts 1973-present, online via Penn Library Web]
- [Van Pelt: HD1401 .W6. Latest five years in Reference.]
- International in coverage, with English language abstracts, WAERSA concentrates on agricultural policy and economics, but also includes regional planning, rural sociology, rural urban relations, and migration. Extensive m
onthly and cumulative annual subject indexes.
ANNUAL REVIEWS, STATE OF THE ART", LITERATURE REVIEWS
Definition: Surveys and summaries of the significant research of the
year, usually arranged by subject.
- Annual Review of Sociology. 1975-present. Palo Alto,
Calif.: Annual Reviews, Inc. Annual.
- Current and recent issues fulltext, 1995-present via Annual Reviews Social Sciences
- Back issues fulltext, 1975-five years ago (moving wall) via
JSTOR service
- Paper copies, 1975-present, Van Pelt Library HM1 .A763. [Latest five
years at Van Pelt Reference.]
- Current sociology = La sociologie contemporaine. Beverly Hills, Calif.: Sage, 1952-present. Three issues yearly.
- [Recent electronic issues via Penn Library Web]
- [Van Pelt: HM1 .C877]
- Continuous review of research in specific sociological topics and the field as a whole. Focuses on critical research and methodology of contemporary international sociology.
- L'Annee sociologique. Paris: Press Univ. de France, 1896-present. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: HM3 .A7]
- A survey of the significant literature of sociology makes up more than half of each annual volume. 200-300 reviews of varying length are arranged into major subject areas, such as general sociology, social structure, etc. International, with emphasis
on French sociology. A gap between 1925 and 1948 was partially filled by Annales Sociologique [Van Pelt: 305 .An699].
Sociological abstracts indexes literature reviews as journal articles. To identify literature reviews, use these steps:
- Search for the three journals, Annual review of sociology, Current sociology, or L'Annee sociologique.
- Be sure to use the Boolean operator "OR" to combine these search terms.
- Search for the identifier phrase "literature review".
- Enter the search term: literature review.id.
- Bibliographies may also be found using the identifier phrase "bibliography".
- Search for the textwords "literature" and "review".
- At any point, combine these terms with your subject search.
- Be sure to use the Boolean operator "AND to combine the distinct search concepts.
MISCELLANEOUS: DIRECTORIES, STYLE GUIDES, FINANCIAL AID
Definition: Directories can provide a subject or name approach to organizations, organizational membership, programs, publications, library collections, subject specialists, and ongoing research.
- American Sociological Association. Directory of members. Washington, DC: The Association, 1950-present. Irregular.
- [Van Pelt: HM9 .A725. Latest in Reference]
- American Sociological Association. Guide to graduate departments of sociology. Washington, DC: The Association.
- [Van Pelt: HM47 .U62 G843. Latest at Reference Desk]
- Associations Unlimited. Gale.
- [Online via Penn Library Web]
- The online equivalent to the Encyclopedia of Associations series, providing directory information on more than 150,000 local, state, regional, U.S. national, and international associations.
- Research centers directory. Detroit: Gale, 1960-present.
- [Van Pelt: AS 25 D5. Latest at Reference Desk]
- A guide to university-related and other nonprofit research organizations established on a permanent basis in the U.S. and Canada and carrying on continuing research programs in all subject areas. Arranged in broad categories (education, social science
s, etc.), with separate center-name and parent institution-name indexes and brief subject index. Entries give address, phone number, chief officer, parent institution, principal fields of research, publications, meetings.
- Preparation checklist for ASA manuscripts. American Sociological Association, 3 June 1998.
- [Online via ASA Web]
- Mirowsky, John. ASA Writing an Informative Abstract. American Sociological Association, 25 July 1998.
- [Online via ASA Web]
- ASA style guide. 1st edition. Washington, D.C.: American Sociological Association, 1996.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HM73 .A55 1996]
- Giarrusso, Roseann et al. (eds) A guide to writing sociology papers. 3rd edition. New York: St Martins Press, 1994.
- [Van Pelt: on order]
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. 4th edition. Arlington, VA: The Association, 1994.
- [Van Pelt Reference, Annenberg Reference: BF76.7 .A46 1994. Biomedical Reserve: BF76.7 .A512 1994]
- Manuscript content, organization, and preparation; editorial style and bibliographic form.
- Mantegna, Anna G. (ed) Guide to federal funding for social scientists. 2nd edition. Washington, D.C.: American Political Science Association, 1990.
- [Van Pelt Reference Financial Aid Area: H62.5 .U5 G85 1990]
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update:
Sunday, 02-Jun-2002 16:53:28 EDT
Send mail concerning this page to:
Lauris Olson
Social Sciences Bibliographer
Van Pelt Library/6206
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
215/898-0119
olson@pobox.upenn.edu