Reference Tools for Religious Studies - Religion in America
The following bibliography lists library resources of possible use to
students studying religious life in the United States. The majority of the
sources listed here are
either located in the Van Pelt Library Reference Area or area available
electronically via the Penn Library Web. For general resources, see
Reference Tools for Religious Studies.
See also the guide for
United States History.
See the list of Guides
for additional topics such as slavery, the Old South, and the Civil War.
For links to additional web
resources such as e-journals, comprehensive web sites, and source
collections on the web,
see Religious Studies: Religion in America.
For assistance in using these and the many other reference works available
for Religious Studies, please consult a
reference librarian.
CONTENTS
Franklin,
Penn's online catalog, lists over one million books, journals and other
materials acquired since 1968, as well as older items. It is the only source
of information for library materials processed since 1986.
See the Franklin Search Help
for searching tips.
Franklin uses Library of Congress subject headings.
For subject heading, terms
see the Library of Congress Subject Headings, located near
the reference desk on the first floor of the Van Pelt Library. Also, when
looking at Franklin records of interest, chose the
"full view" and note the subject headings assigned to these works. Many
subjects are subdivided by such standard forms as
bibliography, collections, dictionaries, periodicals, or by the names of
places. LC Subject Headings
must be entered in Franklin without the dashes.
Main Card Catalog. The Main Catalog in Van Pelt Library is
now closed. It lists books, journals, and other materials in most campus
libraries through 1985. The catalog is arranged in "dictionary" style--that
is, with author, title, and subject entries interfiled in a single alphabet.
RLIN/Eureka Bibliographic File - Research Libra
ries Group Catalog
A bibliographic catalog of
over 30 million books, serials, archives and manuscripts, musical scores,
visual materials, maps, and data files held in over 100 large research
libraries and current cataloging of the Library of Congress and the
British Library. Since the catalog is so large, the best method for searching
is to use known items such as authors, titles, or Library of Congress subject
headings. Use this catalog to identify materials that Penn does not
own and request them through Interlibrary Loan.
WorldCat
Another large, 30+ million union catalog that
includes the holdings of many university, college, and public libraries.
Several Philadelphia-area libraries are included in WorldCat as well as many
seminaries and colleges and universities with religious affiliations.
Selective introductions to research, listing some of the most useful and
important works on their subjects, often with descriptive and evaluative
annotations. These guides also list reference tools and or basic studies in
their subject.
- Burr, Nelson R., et al. Religion in American life. v.4: A
critical bibliography of religion in America. 2v. Princeton,
N.J., Princeton University Press, 1961.
- The final volume of a series of books on religion in American life.
Written in narrative form, the bibliography discusses important reference,
primary, and secondary source material concerning all aspects of religious
life in America up to 1961.
- [Van Pelt Reference BR 515 .S6]
- Ayer, H. D. The Christian and Missionary Alliance : an
annotated bibliography of textual sources. Lanham, Md. :
Scarecrow Press, 2001.
- [Van Pelt Library BX6700.C3 A94 2001]
- Bass, Dorothy C. Women in American religious history : an
annotated bibliography and guide to sources. Boston, MA : G.K. Hall, c1986.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BL458 .B35 1986]
- Choquette, Diane. New religious movements in the United
States and Canada : a critical assessment and annotated bibliography.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1985.
- Covers reference works, and historical, sociological, anthropological,
psychological secondary literature concerning new movements.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BL2525 .C46 1985]
- Church and state in America : a bibliographical guide.
2v. New York : Greenwood Press, 1986-c1987.
- Essays concerning each topic with bibliographies of primary and secondary
sources.
- vol. 1: The Colonial and early national periods
- vol. 2: The Civil War to the present day
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BR516 .C495 1986]
- Gray, John. Ashe, traditional religion and healing in
Sub-Saharan Africa and the diaspora : a classified international
bibliography. New York : Greenwood Press, c1989.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BL2462.5 .G72 1989]
- Jones, Charles Edwin. Black holiness : a guide to the study of Black
participation in Wesleyan perfectionist and glossolalic
Pentecostal movements. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press :
American Theological Library Association, 1987.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BR563.N4 J63 1987]
- Jones, Charles Edwin. A guide to the study of the
Pentecostal movement. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press :
American Theological Library Association, 1983- .
- [Van Pelt Library BR1644 .J66 1983]
- Lippy, Charles H. Bibliography of religion in the
South. Macon, GA : Mercer, c1985.
- Covers a broad range of religions including Native American religions and
Judaism, and topics such as art, society, and literature.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BR535 .L56 1985]
- Osterreich, Shelley Anne. Native North American shamanism:
an annotated bibliography. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1998.
- [Van Pelt Library E98.R3 O88 1998]
- Presbyterian Historical Society. A guide to foreign
missionary manuscripts in the Presbyterian Historical Society.
New York : Greenwood Press, c1988.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BV2570 .P73 1988]
- Prince, Harold B. A Presbyterian bibliography : the
published writings of ministers who served in the Presbyterian Church the
United States during its first hundred years, 1861-1961,
and their locations in eight significant theological collections in the
U.S.A. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press ; [Philadelphia] :
American Theological Library Association, 1983.
- [Van Pelt Library BX8965 .P74 1983]
- Religious periodicals of the United States : academic and
scholarly journals. Ed. by Charles H. Lippy. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1986.
- A sampling of religious periodicals that focus on academic and scholarly
concerns. Periodicals were selected by meeting several criteria. Lengthy
entries include a history of the periodical with a bibliography and a
publication history. Appendices
include a chronology and sponsoring organizations. Name Subject Title index.
- [Van Pelt Reference PN4888.R4 L5 1986]
- Richardson, Marilyn. Black women and religion : a
bibliography. Boston, Mass. : G. K. Hall, c1980.
- Although not useful for recent literature, very helpful for historical
information, including music, art, and audiovisual materials.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BR563.N4 R53]
- Singerman, Robert. Judaica Americana : a bibliography of
publications to 1900. New York : Greenwood Press, 1990. 2v.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks E184.J5 S545 1990]
- Southern, Eileen. African-American traditions in song,
sermon, tale, and dance, 1600s-1920 : an annotated bibliography of
literature, collections, and artworks. New York : Greenwood Press, 1990.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks NX512.2.A35 S68 1990]
- Union list of United Methodist serials, 1773-1973.
Evanston, Ill. [Garrett Theological Seminary] 1974.
- [Van Pelt Library Z7845.M5 B35]
- United Methodist studies : basic bibliographies.
4th ed. Nashville, Tenn. : Abingdon Press, c1998.
- [Van Pelt Library Z7845.M5 U54 1998]
- Williams, Ethel L. Afro-American religious studies: a
comprehensive bibliography with locations in American libraries.
Metuchen, N.J., Scarecrow Press, 1972.
- [Van Pelt Library Afro-American Studies Seminar (Rm. 302) Z1361.N39 W55]
Use the online databases listed under
Religious Studies
in order to locate articles in journals, magazines, and other periodicals. See
especially, ATLA religion database,
America: History & Life,
Academic Index, and
Periodicals Contents Index.
Several good print indexes are available:
- Index to Jewish periodicals. v.1- , June
1963- . Cleveland, 1963- . Semiannual.
- An Author and Subject Index to selected English-language journals of
general and scholarly interest. Includes book reviews.
- [Van Pelt Reference AI3 I522]
- Richardson, Ernest Cushing, 1860-1939. Periodical articles
on religion, 1890-1899. New York, For the Hartford seminary press by C. Scribner's sons; [etc., etc., c1907-1911]. 2v.
- Indexes 10 years worth of articles. Author index.
- [Van Pelt Reference BL41 .R55 1907]
- Religious and theological abstracts.
Vol. 1 [Mar. 1958]- . Myerstown, PA: Religious and Theological Abstracts, Inc. Quarterly.
- Brief abstracts of articles appearing in about 336 Christian, Jewish, and Muslim journals in various languages. Author and Subject Indexes.
- [Latest 5 years in Van Pelt Reference BR1 R286]
- The Catholic periodical and literature index.
Vol. 14 [1967 68]- . Haverford, PA: Catholic Library Association, 1968- .
Bimonthly.
- Formed by the union of Catholic periodical indexand
Guide to Catholic Literature (Van Pelt BX801 .G855). A bi-monthly
index which "provides a broad Christian approach to currently significant
subjects" [Preface]. International in scope, a selected list of Catholic
periodicals is indexed as well as books for adults by Catholics. Author
Subject Index. Books also listed by title.
- [Latest 5 years in Van Pelt Reference BX801 .C366]
- America's alternative religions.
Albany : State University of New York Press, c1995.
- Brief chapters about religious groups which, in some way, have become
notable for their departure from the religious mainstream.
- Helpful appendices: 1) "Bibliographical Guide to Alternative Religions;"
2) Chronology.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BL2525 .A55 1995]
- Benedetto, Robert. Historical dictionary of Reformed
Churches. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1999.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BX9415 .B46 1999]
- Benowitz, June Melby. Encyclopedia of American women and
religion. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1998.
- Covers all religious traditions. References included for each entry, with
bibliography at the end. Chronology of most important events.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BL2525 .B45 1998]
- Bitton, Davis. Historical dictionary of Mormonism.
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Library BX8605.5 .B588 1993]
- Bodensieck, Julius, 1894- ed. The encyclopedia of the
Lutheran Church. Minneapolis, Augsburg Pub. House, [1965].
3v.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BX8007 .B6]
- Brackney, William H. Historical dictionary of the Baptists.
Lanham, Md. ; London : Scarecrow Press, 1999.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BX6211 .B73 1999]
- Dictionary of heresy trials in American Christianity.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997.
- Stories of 50 heresy trials that took place in the United States.
Includes bibliographies for each trial.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BR517 .D5 1997]
- Duffield, Holley Gene. Historical dictionary of the Shakers.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2000.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BX9765 .D84 2000]
- Encyclopedia of African American religions.
New York : Garland Pub., 1993.
- Includes bibliography, directory of African American churches and
religious organizations, and a biographical cross-index by religious
tradition.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BR563.N4 E53 1993]
- Encyclopedia of religion in American politics.
Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 1999.
- Helpful Appendices: 1) Speeches and Documents; 2) List of Organizations;
3) Timeline
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BL2525 .E52 1999]
- Encyclopedia of religion in the South.
[Macon, GA] : Mercer, c1984.
- Covers all aspects of religion in the American South. Brief bibliographies
are included.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BR535 .E52 1984]
- Encyclopedia of the Reformed faith.
Louisville, Ky. : Westminster/John Knox Press, c1992.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BX9406 .E56 1992]
- Hirschfelder, Arlene B. Encyclopedia of Native American
religions : an introduction. New York : Facts on File, c2000.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks E98.R3 H73 2000]
- [University Museum Library Reference E98.R3 H73 2000]
- Historical dictionary of Methodism.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1996.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BX8211 .H57 1996]
- Historical dictionary of the holiness movement.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2001.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BX7990.H6 H57 2001]
- Lewis, James R. The encyclopedia of cults, sects, and new
religions. Amherst, N.Y. : Prometheus Books, 1998.
- Brief entries, mostly unsigned. Bibliographical entries listed by author
at the end of the book.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BL2525 .L49 1998]
- Lyon, William S. Encyclopedia of Native American shamanism:
sacred ceremonies of North America. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 1998.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks E98.M4 L98 1998]
- Copies also in University Museum Library and Van Pelt Stacks
- Melton, J. Gordon. The encyclopedia of American religions.
Detroit: Gale Research, 1993. 4th ed.
- A categorical arrangement of seventeen religious family groups covering
1,350 religious bodies.
- [Van Pelt Reference BL 2530.U6 M443 1993]
- Melton, J. Gordon. The encyclopedia of American religions:
religious creeds. Ed. by J. Gordon Melton. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Co., 1988.
- Covers Christian, Jewish, Islamic, Buddhist, Hindu, and other traditions
in the United States and Canada. Includes historical notes and other
comments. Has a Creed Organization Name and Keyword Index.
- [ Van Pelt Reference BT 990 E58 1988]
- Snodgrass, Mary Ellen. Religious sites in America.
Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-CLIO, c2000.
- Entries by name of site. Includes index, a list of religious site by State,
and nice bibliography.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BL581.U6 S66 2000]
- The American Jewish yearbook. v.1- ,
1899/1900- . Philadelphia: The Jewish publication society of America. Annual.
- Contains a review of the year's events relating to Jewish matters plus
directory and statistical information.
- [Latest issue in Van Pelt Reference E184.J5 A6]
- The Buddhist directory : United States of America &
Canada. 1st ed. Boston : Charles E. Tuttle ; North Clarendon, VT : Distributed by Charles E. Tuttle, 1997.
- A listing of Buddhist groups in the United States arranged alphabetically
by state.
- [Van Pelt Reference BQ730 .B83 1997]
- The complete guide to Buddhist America. 1st
edition. Boston : Shambhala, 1998.
- A directory of Buddhist temples and shrines in North America.
- [Van Pelt Reference BQ724 .C66 1998]
- Directory of African American religious bodies : a
compendium by the Howard University School of Divinity.
2nd ed. Washington, DC : Howard University Press, 1995.
- Includes essays on religious traditions, denominational listings,
professional organizations, and more.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BR563.N4 D57 1995]
- The Directory of religious organizations in the United
States.
Falls Church, VA: McGrath, 1982- .
- Alphabetical listing of over 1,600 organizations which have a religious
purpose. Indicates affiliation, principal officer, address, statement of purpose, activities, membership, publications, etc.
- [Latest in Van Pelt Reference BL2530.U6 D573]
- Weber, Paul J. U.S. religious interest groups : institutional
profiles. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1994.
- Directory with brief explanation of group, its interests, contact information
affiliation, and publications.
- Several helpful appendices: A) Groups by policy area; B) Religious
Affiliation; C) Political Identification; D) Single-Issue Groups;
E) Type of Membership; F) Litigating Groups; G) Size of Budget
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BL2525 .W413 1994]
- Yearbook of American and Canadian churches.
41st, 1973- . Prepared in the Office of Research, Evaluation and Planning of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the U.S.A. Nashville, TN: Abingdon Press. Annual.
- Covers the organizations and activities of all faiths.
- [Latest at Reference Desk BR513 Y4]
- Lewis, James R. Cults in America : a reference
handbook. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1998.
- Beginner's introduction to cults, including chronology, discussion
of court decisions, statistical
information, print and electronic resources.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BL2525 .L486 1998]
- Bowden, Henry Warner. Dictionary of American religious
biography. 2nd ed., rev. and enl. Westport, Conn. :
Greenwood Press, 1993.
- 550 biographies of important people in American religions. Appendices
of people by denominational affiliation and birthplace.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BL72 .B68 1993]
- Jewish women in America : an historical encyclopedia.
Paula E. Hyman and Deborah Dash Moore, editors. 2v. New York : Routledge, c1998.
- [Van Pelt Reference DS115.2 .J49 1998]
- Nadell, Pamela Susan. Conservative Judaism in America : a
biographical dictionary and sourcebook. New York : Greenwood
Press, 1988.
- [Van Pelt Reference BM750 .N33 1988]
- Reform Judaism in America : a biographical dictionary and
sourcebook. Kerry M. Olitzky, Lance J. Sussman, and Malcolm H. Stern, editors. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Reference BM750 .R39 1993]
- Rogal, Samuel J. A biographical dictionary of 18th
century Methodism. Lewiston : E. Mellen Press, c1997-
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BX8491 .R64 1997]
- Twentieth-century shapers of American popular religion.
New York : Greenwood Press, 1989.
- Biographies with brief critical appraisals and bibliographies.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BL2525 .T84 1989]
- Who's who in religion. 1st ed.- , 1975/76- .
Chicago: Marquis Who's Who.
- Provides biographical information on more than 7,000 religious leaders and
religious professionals in North America. Selection based on merit.
Alphabetical arrangement.
- [Latest in Van Pelt Reference BL72 W478]
- Churches and church membership in the United States, 1990
: an enumeration by region, state, and county, based on
data reported for 133 church groupings.
Atlanta, Ga. : Glenmary Research Center, c1992.
- Any church that was identified as "Judaeo-Christian" was invited to
participate.
- Detailed statistics by county of number of churches and their membership.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BR526 .C48 1992]
- [1980 edition in Van Pelt Library Stacks BR526 .C48 1982]
- Religion in America... Princeton, N.J. :
American Institute of Public Opinion, n,d.
- Polling information on all types of questions regarding religion.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BR526 R444 (most recent edition)]
- Newman, William M. Atlas of American religion : the
denominational era, 1776-1990. Walnut Creek : AltaMira
Press, c2000.
- [Van Pelt Reference BR515 .N49 2000]
- New historical atlas of religion in America.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2001.
- Includes Appendices for the number of churches distributed by
colonies/states for the years 1750, 1850, 1890, 1950, 1990.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Atlas Cases G1201.E4 N4 2001]
Below are listed those microform sets that directly apply to topics concerning
religion in America. For a more complete list, see
Major Microform Sets in the Penn Library.
- American Negro Historical Society collection, 1790-1905.
- Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfilm 4367
- Anti-slavery collection, 18th and 19th centuries from the Library of the Society of Friends, London.
- Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfilm 3193
- Mother Bethel AME Church, 1760-1972.
- Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfilm 4370
- Papers of the American slave trade.
- Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfilm 4362
- American Indian correspondence: the Presbyterian Historical
Society collection of missionaries' letters, 1833-1893.
- Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfilm 4439
- American Missionary Association manuscripts, mostly written
1839-1882.
- Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfilm 4335
- Moravian mission records among the North American Indians.
- Van Pelt Microtext Center: Microfilm 4448
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update:
Wednesday, 03-Oct-2001 21:52:01 EDT
Send mail concerning this page to Debra Bucher:
dbucher@pobox.upenn.edu