Reference Tools for Religious Studies
The following bibliography lists library resources of possible use to
students studying Judaism. The majority of the sources listed here are
either located in the Van Pelt Library Reference Area or area available
electronically via the Penn Library Web.
For links to additional web
resources such as e-journals, comprehensive web sites, and source
collections on the web,
see Religious Studies: Judaism.
For assistance in using these and the many other reference works available
for Religious Studies, please consult the bibliographer for Jewish Studies,
Arthur Kiron, or a
reference librarian.
Library Catalogs
Franklin,
Penn's online catalog, lists over one million books, journals and other
materials acquired since 1968, as well as older items. It is the only source
of information for library materials processed since 1986.
See the Franklin Search Help
for searching tips.
Franklin uses Library of Congress subject headings.
For subject heading, terms
see the Library of Congress Subject Headings, located near
the reference desk on the first floor of the Van Pelt Library. Also, when
looking at Franklin records of interest, chose the
"full view" and note the subject headings assigned to these works. Many
subjects are subdivided by such standard forms as
bibliography, collections, dictionaries, periodicals, or by the names of
places. LC Subject Headings
must be entered in Franklin without the dashes.
Main Card Catalog. The Main Catalog in Van Pelt Library is
now closed. It lists books, journals, and other materials in most campus
libraries through 1985. The catalog is arranged in "dictionary" style--that
is, with author, title, and subject entries interfiled in a single alphabet.
RLIN/Eureka Bibliographic File - Research Libraries Group Catalog
A bibliographic catalog of
over 30 million books, serials, archives and manuscripts, musical scores,
visual materials, maps, and data files held in over 100 large research
libraries and current cataloging of the Library of Congress and the
British Library. Since the catalog is so large, the best method for searching
is to use known items such as authors, titles, or Library of Congress subject
headings. Use this catalog to identify materials that Penn does not
own and request them through Interlibrary Loan.
WorldCat
Another large, 30+ million union catalog that
includes the holdings of many university, college, and public libraries.
Several Philadelphia-area libraries are included in WorldCat.
Library Catalogs Worldwide
A web page with links to the Bibliotheque
Nationale and several German institutional or union catalogs.
Guides to the Literature
- Starkey, Edward D. Judaism and Christianity: a guide to
the reference literature. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1991.
- A work which "identifies, describes, evaluates, and compares reference
books dealing with Judaism and Christianity, and the Bible of these two
religious traditions, published in English through 1988" (Preface).
Arrangement is by type of work. Author/Title Index, Subject Index.
- [Van Pelt Reference BM 45 S78 1991]
Bibliographies
- Schwab, Moise. Index of articles relative to Jewish history
and literature published in periodicals, from 1665 to 1900.
Augmented ed. New York: Ktav Pub. House, 1972.
- Part I is a listing by author of articles in periodicals concerning
Jewish history. Part II is an index of subjects and Part III, an index of
Hebrew wrods. Parts II and III are handwritten.
- [Van Pelt Z 6366 S413]
- Shunami, Shlomo. Bibliography of Jewish bibliographies.
2d ed. enl. Jerusalem: Magnes Press, Hebrew University, 1965.
- Classified listing of bibliographies. Many Hebrew titles included.
Index of Hebrew titles; Index of names and subjects. Accompanied by a
supplement.
- [Van Pelt Reference DS102.95 .S5 1965; also in Van Pelt]
- 2000 books and more: an annotated and selected bibliography
of Jewish history and thought. Ed. by Jonathan Kaplan.
Jerusalem: Magnes Press, Hebrew University, 1983.
- Aims to "furnish the educator, the student and the librarian with a basic
list of books that are of major importance for the study of Jewish History and
the History of Jewish Thought" [Introduction]. International in scope, the
work has a classified arrangement within a broader chronological order.
Hebrew Preface and Introduction with an Index of names.
- [Van Pelt Reference DS 117 K36 1983]
Indexes
- ATLA religion database
Evanston, Ill: American Theological Library Association.
- Contents: Religion index one: periodicals (1949-) -- Religion index two:
multi-author works (1960-) -- Index to book reviews in religion (1949-) --
Research in ministry (1981-) -- Methodist reviews index (1818- 1985).
- Index to Jewish periodicals. v.1- , June
1963- . Cleveland, 1963- . Semiannual.
- An Author and Subject Index to selected English-language journals of
general and scholarly interest. Includes book reviews.
- [Van Pelt Reference AI3 I522]
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Contemporary Jewish religious thought: original essays on
critical concepts, movements, and beliefs. Ed. by Arthur A.
Cohen and Paul Mendes-Flohr. New York: Scribner, 1987.
- A volume which "represents the plurality of Jewish life" [Preface] in
contemporary Jewish religious thought. Essays are generally several pages in
length, signed, and include footnotes and bibliographies.
- [Van Pelt Reference BM 50 C64 1987]
- Encyclopaedia Judaica. Jerusalem,
Encyclopaedia Judaica. New York: Macmillan, 1972. 16v.
- About 25,000 articles discussing issues relating to world Jewry. Most
articles are signed with bibliographies. Use of the Index [vol. 1] is necessary.
- [Van Pelt Reference DS 102.8 E52; Judaica & Ancient Near East
Seminar DS 102.8 E53]
- Encyclopaedia of Judaism. Jacob Neusner, Alan
J. Avery-Peck, William Scott Green, eds. 3v. Leiden: Brill, 2000.
- Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BM50 .E53 2000
- The Jewish encyclopedia, a descriptive record of the
history, religion, literature, and customs of the Jewish people from the
earliest times to the present day. Prepared under the
direction of Cyrus Adler, et al. New York: Funk & Wagnalls, 1901-1906. 12v.
- The precursor to Encyclopaedia Judaica, useful for scholarly
articles.
- [Van Pelt Reference DS 102.8 J6; Also Van Pelt]
Directories
- The American Jewish yearbook. v.1- ,
1899/1900- . Philadelphia: The Jewish publication society of America. Annual.
- Contains a review of the year's events relating to Jewish matters plus
directory and statistical information.
- [Latest issue in Van Pelt Reference E184.J5 A6]
- World Jewish directory.
Year 2000 millenium ed., rev. and updated, 3rd ed. Toronto, ON, Canada :
J.E.S.L. Educational Products, c1999.
- Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks DS102.9 .W675 1999;
Center for Judaic Studies DS102.9 .W675 1999
Dissertations
Biography
- Jewish women in America : an historical encyclopedia.
Paula E. Hyman and Deborah Dash Moore, editors. 2v. New York : Routledge, c1998.
- [Van Pelt Reference DS115.2 .J49 1998]
- Nadell, Pamela Susan. Conservative Judaism in America : a
biographical dictionary and sourcebook. New York : Greenwood
Press, 1988.
- [Van Pelt Reference BM750 .N33 1988]
- Reform Judaism in America : a biographical dictionary and
sourcebook. Kerry M. Olitzky, Lance J. Sussman, and Malcolm H. Stern, editors. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Reference BM750 .R39 1993]
- Wigoder, Geoffrey, 1922- . Dictionary of Jewish
biography. New York : Simon & Schuster, c1991.
- [Van Pelt Reference DS115 .W49 1991]
Atlases
- Gilbert, Martin. The Dent atlas of Jewish history.
5th ed. London : J.M. Dent, 1993.
- Illustrates through maps "the worldwide Jewish migrations from ancient
Mesopotamia to modern Israel" [Preface]. Includes bibliography and index.
- [Van Pelt Reference G1030 G46 1993]
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update:
Monday, 26-Mar-2001 11:59:03 EST
Send mail concerning this page to Debra Bucher:
bucher@pobox.upenn.edu