Reference Tools for Religious Studies - Islam
The following bibliography lists library resources of possible use to
students studying Islam. The majority of the sources listed here are
either located in the Van Pelt Library Reference Area or area available
electronically via the Penn Library Web.
For links to additional web
resources such as e-journals, comprehensive web sites, and source
collections on the web,
see Religious Studies: Islam.
For assistance in using these and the many other reference works available
for Religious Studies, please consult a
reference librarian.
Library Catalogs
Franklin,
Penn's online catalog, lists over one million books, journals and other
materials acquired since 1968, as well as older items. It is the only source
of information for library materials processed since 1986.
See the Franklin Search Help
for searching tips.
Franklin uses Library of Congress subject headings.
For subject heading, terms
see the Library of Congress Subject Headings, located near
the reference desk on the first floor of the Van Pelt Library. Also, when
looking at Franklin records of interest, chose the
"full view" and note the subject headings assigned to these works. Many
subjects are subdivided by such standard forms as
bibliography, collections, dictionaries, periodicals, or by the names of
places. LC Subject Headings
must be entered in Franklin without the dashes.
Main Card Catalog. The Main Catalog in Van Pelt Library is
now closed. It lists books, journals, and other materials in most campus
libraries through 1985. The catalog is arranged in "dictionary" style--that
is, with author, title, and subject entries interfiled in a single alphabet.
RLIN/Eureka Bibliographic File - Research Libraries Group Catalog
A bibliographic catalog of
over 30 million books, serials, archives and manuscripts, musical scores,
visual materials, maps, and data files held in over 100 large research
libraries and current cataloging of the Library of Congress and the
British Library. Since the catalog is so large, the best method for searching
is to use known items such as authors, titles, or Library of Congress subject
headings. Use this catalog to identify materials that Penn does not
own and request them through Interlibrary Loan.
WorldCat
Another large, 30+ million union catalog that
includes the holdings of many university, college, and public libraries.
Several Philadelphia-area libraries are included in WorldCat.
Library Catalogs Worldwide
A web page with links to the Bibliotheque
Nationale and several German institutional or union catalogs.
Guides to the Literature
Selective introductions to research, listing some of the most useful and
important works on their subjects, often with descriptive and evaluative
annotations. These guides also list reference tools and or basic studies in
their subject.
- Ede, David, et al. Guide to Islam. Boston:
G.K. Hall, 1983.
- For English-language readers, this guide is useful for graduates and
undergraduates. Annotations for approximately 3,000 items; however, most of
these published before 1977.
- [Van Pelt Reference BP161.2 G78 1983]
Bibliographies
- Kimball, Michelle R., and Barbara R. von Schlegell.
Muslim women throughout the world : a bibliography.
Boulder, Colo. ; London : Lynne Rienner Publishers, 1997.
- [Van Pelt Reference HQ1170 .K56 1997; also in Van Pelt]
Indexes
- ATLA religion database
Evanston, Ill: American Theological Library Association.
- Contents: Religion index one: periodicals (1949-) -- Religion index two:
multi-author works (1960-) -- Index to book reviews in religion (1949-) --
Research in ministry (1981-) -- Methodist reviews index (1818- 1985).
- Index Islamicus, 1665-1905: A Bibliography of Articles on
Islamic Subjects in Periodicals and Other Collective Publications.
Comp. by Wolfgang Behn. Millersville, PA: Adyok, 1989.
- The major source of indexing for the field of Islam. Continued in
various forms by the following 3 publications.
- [Van Pelt Reference BP166.2 .I53]
- Index Islamicus, 1906-1955, a catalogue of articles on
Islamic subjects in periodicals and other collective publications.
Comp. by J. D. Pearson with the assistance of Julia F. Ashton. Cambridge,
Eng.: W. Heffer, University of London, 1958.
- Continues previous title.
- [Van Pelt Reference BP166.2 .I532; also Van Pelt, South Asia Ref., and
Middle East Sem.]
- Index Islamicus. Supplement. 1956/60-1971/75.
Publisher varies. 4v. Quinquennial.
- Continues previous title.
- [Van Pelt Reference BP166.2 .I534; also South Asia Ref. and Middle
East Seminar]
- Index Islamicus, 1976/1980-1981/1985.
London: Mansell, 1983. Quinquennial.
- Continues previous title.
- [Van Pelt Reference Z7835 M6 L62; also Middle East Seminar]
- Quarterly Index Islamicus. v.1- , Jan.
1977- . Ed. by J. D. Pearson. London: Mansell.
- Current books, articles, and papers on Islamic subjects. Cumulates every
5 years to form supplements to Index Islamicus.
- [Van Pelt Reference BP166.2 .I534]
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- The encyclopaedia of Islam. Ed. by H. A. R.
Gibb et al. Leiden: Brill, 1960- . 7v. Supplement. Ed. by C. E. Bosworth
et al. 1980- .
- [Van Pelt Reference DS37 E523; other locations]
Directories
Dissertations
- Saliba, M. Arabic and Islamic studies : doctoral
dissertation & graduate theses in English, French & German
(1881-1981). Lebanon : Saliba, 1983.
- [Van Pelt Z7052 .S35 1983]
- Usmani, Muhammad Adil. A bibliography of doctoral
dissertations on Islam. Karachi, Pakistan : Islamic
Documentation and Information Centre, Karachi University Campus, 1985.
- [South Asia Reference BP173.75 .U845 1985]
Biography
Atlases
- Al-Faruqi, Ismail R. and Al-Faruqi, Lois Lamya. Cultural
atlas of Islam. New York: Macmillan, 1986.
- Includes chapters on religion and culture and the Quran with many
illustrations as well as maps. General Index and Map Index.
- [Van Pelt Reference DS36.85 A39 1986; also Museum Reference]
- An Historical atlas of Islam. Ed. by.
Williams C. Brice under the patronage of the Encyclopaedia of Islam.
Leiden: Brill, 1981.
- A chronological arrangement of maps down to World War I. Index of
place-names and ethnics; astronomical index; economic index.
- [Van Pelt Reference Oversized G1786.S1 H57 1981; other locations]
- An Historical atlas of Islam = Atlas historique de
l'Islam. Hugh Kennedy, ed. 2nd rev. ed.
Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2002.
- Includes CD-ROM.
- Van Pelt Library Reference Atlas Cases G1786.S1 H6 2002
- Kettermann, Günter. Atlas zur Geschichte des Islam.
[Germany] : Primus, c2001.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks GA341 .K388 2001]
- Munis, Husayn. Atlas Tarikh aL-Islam.
al-Qahirah: al-Zahra' lil-I'lam al-'Arabi, 1987.
- [Van Pelt Reference DS38.3 M86 1987]
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update:
Friday, 22-Feb-2002 16:48:53 EST
Send mail concerning this page to Debra Bucher:
dbucher@pobox.upenn.edu