Reference Tools for Religious Studies - Hinduism
The following bibliography lists library resources of possible use to
students studying Hinduism. The majority of the sources listed here are
either located in the Van Pelt Library Reference Area or area available
electronically via the Penn Library Web.
For links to additional web
resources such as e-journals, comprehensive web sites, and source
collections on the web,
see Religious Studies: Selected Resources.
For assistance in using these and the many other reference works available
for Religious Studies, please consult a
reference librarian.
Library Catalogs
Franklin,
Penn's online catalog, lists over one million books, journals and other
materials acquired since 1968, as well as older items. It is the only source
of information for library materials processed since 1986.
See the Franklin Search Help
for searching tips.
Franklin uses Library of Congress subject headings.
For subject heading, terms
see the Library of Congress Subject Headings, located near
the reference desk on the first floor of the Van Pelt Library. Also, when
looking at Franklin records of interest, chose the
"full view" and note the subject headings assigned to these works. Many
subjects are subdivided by such standard forms as
bibliography, collections, dictionaries, periodicals, or by the names of
places. LC Subject Headings
must be entered in Franklin without the dashes.
Main Card Catalog. The Main Catalog in Van Pelt Library is
now closed. It lists books, journals, and other materials in most campus
libraries through 1985. The catalog is arranged in "dictionary" style--that
is, with author, title, and subject entries interfiled in a single alphabet.
RLIN/Eureka Bibliographic File - Research Libraries Group Catalog
A bibliographic catalog of
over 30 million books, serials, archives and manuscripts, musical scores,
visual materials, maps, and data files held in over 100 large research
libraries and current cataloging of the Library of Congress and the
British Library. Since the catalog is so large, the best method for searching
is to use known items such as authors, titles, or Library of Congress subject
headings. Use this catalog to identify materials that Penn does not
own and request them through Interlibrary Loan.
WorldCat
Another large, 30+ million union catalog that
includes the holdings of many university, college, and public libraries.
Several Philadelphia-area libraries are included in WorldCat.
Library Catalogs Worldwide
A web page with links to the Bibliotheque
Nationale and several German institutional or union catalogs.
Bibliographies
- Dell, David J. Guide to Hindu religion.
Boston: G.K. Hall, 1981.
- This work covers English-language resources on Hinduism.
There is no Subject Index, so the user must rely on the topical arrangement of
the work in order to locate items by subject. Author Index.
- [Van Pelt Reference BL1202 D44 1981]
- Hinduism: a select bibliography. Ed. by
Satyaprakash; comp. by Syed Mohammed Ali, H.S. Sharma. Gugaon: Indian
Documentation Service, 1984.
- Lists over 11,000 research and general interest articles, research papers,
notes, and book reviews. Classified using Library of Congress Subject
Headings. Includes a list of journals indexed. Subject and author access.
- [South Asia Reference Z7835 B8 A45 1984]
Indexes
- ATLA religion database
Evanston, Ill: American Theological Library Association.
- Contents: Religion index one: periodicals (1949-) -- Religion index two:
multi-author works (1960-) -- Index to book reviews in religion (1949-) --
Research in ministry (1981-) -- Methodist reviews index (1818- 1985).
- Bibliography of Asian Studies.
- 1971-present
- All subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East,
Southeast, South Asia, and Indian Ocean countries.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Mylius, Klaus. Wörterbuch des altindischen Rituals.
Wichtrach : Institut für Indologie, c1995.
- [Van Pelt Library BL1236.34 .M95 1995]
- Sen, Chitrabhanu. A dictionary of the Vedic rituals : based
on the 'Srauta and Grhya s¯utras. Delhi: Concept Pub.
Co., 1978, c1976.
- [Van Pelt Library South Asia Reference (Rm. 551) BL1126.49 S46]
- Stutley, Margaret and Stutley, James. A dictionary of
Hinduism,1500 B.C. - A.D. 1500. London: Routledge & K. Paul, 1977.
- Arranged in alphabetical order with cross-references. Lengthy bibliography.
- [South Asia Reference BL1105 S89]
- Sullivan, Bruce M. The A to Z of Hinduism.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, c2001.
- Brief entries with no bibliography. Includes a chronology and introduction
to Hinduism.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BL1105 .S847 2001]
- Sullivan, Bruce M. Historical dictionary of Hinduism.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1997.
- [Van Pelt Reference BL1105 .S85 1997]
- Walker, George Benjamin. The Hindu world, an encyclopedic
survey of Hinduism. New York: Praeger, 1968. 2v.
- [South Asia Reference BL1105 W34 1968]
- Werner, Karel. A popular dictionary of Hinduism.
Surrey : Curzon, 1994.
- [Van Pelt Reference BL1105 .W47 1994; also South Asia Reference]
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update:
Friday, 22-Feb-2002 15:25:40 EST
Send mail concerning this page to Debra Bucher:
bucher@pobox.upenn.edu