Reference Tools for Religious Studies -
Biblical (and Related Literature) Studies
Table of Contents
- Introduction
- Library Catalogs
- Biblical Texts and Editions
- Bibles in Modern Translation
- Apocrypha, Pseudepigrapha and Other Related Literature
- Bibliographies
- Indexes
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Biography
- Atlases
- Concordances
The following bibliography lists library resources of possible use to
students pursuing studies in Biblical and its related literature
(commonly referred to as "parabiblical literature," "Old Testament Pseudepigrapha,"
or "Apocrypha").
For assistance in using these and the many other reference works available
for Religious Studies, please consult a
reference librarian.
Franklin,
Penn's online catalog, lists over 95% of the
materials owned by the Penn Library.
See the Franklin Search Help
for general searching tips.
Main Card Catalog. The Main Catalog in Van Pelt Library is
now closed. Manuscripts and rare books, some pre-1968 journals as well as
materials in non-Roman alphabets are only partially included in Franklin.
Use of the Main Card Catalog as well as other specialized catalogs may still
be necessary for these items.
RLIN/Eureka Bibliographic File - Research Libraries Group Catalog
A bibliographic catalog of
over 30 million books, serials, archives and manuscripts, musical scores,
visual materials, maps, and data files held in over 100 large research
libraries and current cataloging of the Library of Congress and the
British Library. Since the catalog is so large, the best method for searching
is to use known items such as authors, titles, or Library of Congress subject
headings. Use this catalog to identify materials that Penn does not
own and request them through Interlibrary Loan.
WorldCat
Another large, 30+ million union catalog that
includes the holdings of many university, college, and public libraries.
Several Philadelphia-area libraries are included in WorldCat.
This is only a brief list. For a more comprehensive list containing additional
editions and ancient versions, see the list from
Yale Divinity School.
Greek
- The Greek New Testament. edited by Kurt
Aland ... [et al.] in cooperation with the Institute for New Testament
Textual Research, Mhunster/Westphalia. New York : United Bible Societies, c1975.
3rd ed.
- [Van Pelt Library BS1965 1975]
- Novum testamentum Graece. post Eberhard et
Erwin Nestle; communiter ediderunt Barbara et Kurt Aland ... [et al.];
apparatum criticum novis curis elaboraverunt Barbara et Kurt Aland una cum
Instituto Studiorum Textus Novi Testamenti Monasterii Westphaliae.
27. rev. Aufl. [Stuttgart]: Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Library BS1965 1998]; also in Rare Bk & Ms Library Reference
- The Greek New Testament : UBS4 with NRSV & NIV.
Editor, John R. Kohlenberger III; foreword by Bruce M. Metzger.
Grand Rapids, Mich. : ZondervanPublishingHouse, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Library BS1965.5 1993]
Hebrew
- Torah, Neviim, Ketuvim Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia.
Quae antea cooperantibus A. Alt, O. Eissfeldt, P. Kahle
; ediderat R. Kittel ; adjuvantibus H. Bardtke ... [et
al.]. Editio secunda emendata opera W. Rudloph et H. P. Rhuger.
Stuttgart : Deutsche Bibelstiftung, 1984.
- [Center for Judaic Studies, 4th & Walnut Sts. BS715 1984]
- [Van Pelt Judaica/Ancient Near East Seminar (Rm. 401) BS715 1977]
Septuagint (Greek)
- The Old Testament in Greek according to the Septuagint.
Edited by Henry Barclay Swete. Cambridge, Eng. : University Press, 1891-1905.
3v.
- [Van Pelt Library 219.34 Sw46a]; also in
Judaica/Ancient Near East Seminar (Rm. 401)
- [Center for Judaic Studies, 4th & Walnut Sts. BS741 .S94 1887]
- The Old Testament in Greek, according to the text of Codex
Vaticanus, supplemented from other Uncial Manuscripts,
with a critical apparatus containing the variants of the
chief ancient authorities for the text of the Septuagint.
Edited by Alan England Brooke, Norman McLean and Henry St. John Thackeray.
Cambridge : University Press, 1906-1940. 3v.
- Van Pelt Library Religious/Medieval Studies (Rm. 303): 219.34 B794]
- Septuaginta: Vetus Testamentum Graecum.
auctoritate Academiae Litterarum Gottingensis editum.
Göttingen: Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht, 1931- .
- Various vols are published.
- [Van Pelt Library Religious/Medieval Studies (Rm. 303): BS741 .A45 1931]
Latin
- Vetus Latina: die Reste der altlateinischen Bibel.
Nach Petrus Sabatier neu gesammelt und herausgegeben von der Erzabtei Beuron.
Freiburg: Herder, 1949- .
- Various volumes published.
- [Van Pelt Library Religious/Medieval Studies (Rm. 303): BS73 1949]
- Biblia sacra: iuxta Vulgatam versionem.
Adiuvantibus Bonifatio Fischer ... [et al.]; recensuit et brevi apparatu
instruxit Robertus Weber. Ed. 3. emendata. Stuttgart: Deutsche
Bibelgesellschaft, 1975, c1969. 2 v.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BS75 1975]; also in
Van Pelt Library Religious/Medieval Studies (Rm. 303)
Locating Bibles can sometimes be challenging. Follow these instructions for
easier access:
- In Franklin, do a
title search that also includes the appropriate language,
e.g.: bible french or
bible german.
- Browse the Van Pelt stacks between BS1-BS400. There are also older editions
of Bibles in various languages at the corresponding Dewey Decimal 214 section.
- For Bibles in English, try using keyword searching in
Franklin, e.g.: tkey bible and tkey english and "revised standard"
or tkey bible and tkey english and "king james".
Although these searches are not comprehensive, they should get you started in
the right direction.
- For online searching access, try the following free web sites:
- The Unbound Bible
A collection of searchable Bibles consisting of 7 English versions,
Greek and Hebrew Versions (including the Septuagint/LXX text
extracted from the morphologically analyzed text of CATSS LXX, prepared by
CATSS under the direction of R. Kraft), Latin Vulgate and other ancient
versions, and 15 other languages. A terrific resource, especially for the
ancient languages.
- The Bible Gateway
searches the King James, Weymouth New Testament, etc and also provides
searching in an amazing array of languages uncluding:
German, Swedish, Italian, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Tagalog,
Norwegian.
- The Apocrypha and Pseudepigrapha of the Old Testament in English: with
Introductions and Critical and Explanatory Notes to the Several Books.
Ed. R.H. Charles. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1913.
- [Van Pelt Library: BS1692 1913]; several other locations
- The Old Testament pseudepigrapha and the New Testament:
prolegomena for the study of Christian origins.
Ed. J.H. Charlesworth. Cambridge [Cambridgeshire]; New York: Cambridge
University Press, 1985.
- [Van Pelt Judaica/Ancient Near East Seminar (Rm. 401);
Van Pelt Library Religious/Medieval Studies (Rm. 303): BS1830 .A3 1983];
several other locations
- The Dead Sea scrolls study edition.
Edited by Florentino Garcia Martinez and Eibert J.C. Tigchelaar.
- From the Preface: "This book offers a fresh transcription and an English
translation of all the relevant non-biblical texts found at Qumran, arranged
by serial number from Cave 1 to Cave 11."
- [Van Pelt Library BM487.A3 G37 1997]
- Several other good collections of Dead Sea scrolls material are available
in English translation. For critical editions, see the series
Discoveries in the Judaean Desert.
- Hupper, William G. An index to English periodical
literature on the Old Testament and ancient Near Eastern studies.
Philadelphia: American Theological Library Association, 1987-1992. 6v.
- Includes "all English-language articles from over 600 journals which have
reference to the Ancient Near East, the Old Testament, Intertestamental
Literature, Rabbinic Studies, the Dead Sea Scrolls, and ancient languages and
literature" [Preface]. All publications listed have been indexed completely
from the first year of publication through 1969 70. Classified arrangement.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks BS1171.2 H86 1987]
- Hurd, John Coolidge. A bibliography of New Testament
bibliographies. New York: Seabury Press, 1966.
- Lists bibliographies appearing in both books and periodicals. Does not
list bibliographies of editions of the New Testament. A few annotations.
Arranged by subject; no Author Index.
- [Van Pelt Reference Z 7772.L1 H8]
- Internationale Zeitschriftenschau für Bibelwissenschaft
und Grenzgebiete. Dusseldorf: Patmos Verlag, 1951-. Annual.
- A review of a year's worth in Biblical studies. Indexes over 300 journal
from around the world. Gives brief summaries of the articles often in German.
Classified arrangement with Author Index.
- [Judaica & Ancient Near East BS 410 I583]
- Judaism, Early Christianity, and Late Antiquity
- Bibliography from the Diotima Web Site
- [URL: http://www.uky.edu/ArtsSciences/Classics/biblio/christianity.html]
- Langevin, Paul Emile. Bibliographie Biblique, 1930-1975.
Quebec: Presses de l'Universite Laval, 1972- . 3v.
- A bibliography of Biblical studies from Roman Catholic periodicals and
books. Author Index and Subject Index.
- [Van Pelt Reference BS 410 L35; also Van Pelt]
- Tigay, Jeffrey. Guide to Biblical Research
- Step-by-step instructions, with bibliography, for doing Biblical Studies
research.
- [URL: http://www.sas.upenn.edu/~jtigay/guide.html]
- Yale University Library. Research Guide for Christianity: Reference Tools and Bibliographies: Bible
- The title of this bibliography is slightly misleading. The bibliography
does not only cover the Christian Bible, but the Hebrew Bible as well.
- [URL: http://www.library.yale.edu/div/bibleref.htm]
- ATLA religion database
Evanston, Ill: American Theological Library Association.
- Contents: Religion index one: periodicals (1949-) -- Religion index two:
multi-author works (1960-) -- Index to book reviews in religion (1949-) --
Research in ministry (1981-) -- Methodist reviews index (1818- 1985).
- Elenchus of Biblica. Robert North S.J.
Roma: Pontificio Instituto Biblico, 1985- . Annual.
- Continues Elenchus Bibliographicus Biblicus. An extensive,
international bibliography which has a classed arrangement with an Author Index.
Earlier volumes have a detailed Subject Index. Includes book reviews. Several years time lag.
- [Religious Studies Seminar Z7770 E444]
- Hupper, William G. An index to English periodical
literature on the Old Testament and ancient Near Eastern studies.
Philadelphia: American Theological Library Association, 1987-1992.
- Includes "all English-language articles from over 600 journal which have
reference to the Ancient Near East, the Old Testament, Intertestamental
Literature, Rabbinic Studies, the Dead Sea Scrolls, and ancient languages and
literature" [Preface]. All publications listed have been indexed completely
from the first year of publication through 1969 70. Classified arrangement.
- [Van Pelt Reference BS1171.2 H86 1987]
- New Testament Abstracts. v.1- , Fall 1956- .
Cambridge, MA: Weston School of Theology, 1956- . Three times a year.
- English abstracts from Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish periodicals in
many languages. Scripture Index.
- [Latest 5 years in Van Pelt Reference BS410 N35]
- Old Testament Abstracts. v.1- , Feb. 1978- .
Washington: Catholic Biblical Association of America. Three times a year.
- Offers the same format as New Testament Abstracts. Book
reviews, abstracts of periodical articles in each issue. Annual Author,
Scripture, and Hebrew word Index.
- [Judaica & Ancient Near East BS410 O42]
- Anchor Bible Dictionary. Editor in chief,
David Noel Freedman. New York : Doubleday, c1992.
- 6 vol.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BS440 .A54 1992]; also in
Judaica/Ancient Near East Seminar (Rm. 401)
- Encyclopaedia Judaica. Jerusalem,
Encyclopaedia Judaica. New York: Macmillan, 1972. 16v.
- About 25,000 articles discussing issues relating to world Jewry. Most
articles are signed with bibliographies. Use of the Index [vol. 1] is necessary.
- [Van Pelt Reference DS 102.8 E52; Judaica & Ancient Near East
Seminar DS 102.8 E53]
- The Interpreter's dictionary of the Bible: an illustrated
encyclopedia. Ed. by George Arthur Buttrick et al. New York:
Abingdon Press, 1962. 4v.
- A good, scholarly tool for biblical study. Designed for all types of
users. Articles include bibliographies and are signed.
- [Van Pelt Reference BS 440 I63]
- The new interpreter's dictionary of the Bible.
Ed. by Keith Crim et al. Nashville, TN: Abingdon, 1976.
- Updates articles from the 1962 edition. Provides cross-references to
earlier volumes.
- [Van Pelt Reference BS 440 I63 Suppl; also Van Pelt]
- Kittel, Gerhard. Theological dictionary of the New
Testament. Ed. and trans. by Geoffrey W. Bromiley. Grand
Rapids, MI: Eerdman, 1964- . 8v.
- Translated from Theologisches Worterbuch zum Neuem Testament.
- Treats every word of religious or theological significance in the New
Testament. Arranged alphabetically by the Greek word.
- [Religious Studies Seminar PA 881 K513]
- Theological dictionary of the Old Testament.
Ed. by G. Johannes Botterweck and Helmer Ringgren. Trans. by David E. Green.
Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdman, 1990- .
- A translation of the Theologisches Worterbuch zum Alten Testament.
- Arranged alphabetically by Hebrew term, this work presents "the fundamental
concepts intended by the respective words and terms" (Introduction).
- [Judaica & Ancient Near East BS 440 B5713 1990]
- Brownrigg, Ronald. Who's who in the New Testament.
London, Weidenfeld and Nicolson, 1971.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BS2430 .B67 1971b]
- Comay, Joan. Who's who in the New Testament, together with
the Apocrypha. New York : Oxford University Press, 1993.
- [Center for Judaic Studies, 4th & Walnut Sts.: BS570 .C64 1993]
- Comay, Joan. Who's who in the Old Testament, together with
the Apocrypha. New York : Oxford University Press, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: BS570 .C64 1993]
- Women in scripture : a dictionary of named and unnamed women
in the Hebrew Bible, the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books, and the New
Testament. Edited by Carol Meyers, Toni Craven, and
Ross S. Kraemer. Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2000.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks BS575 .W593 2000] also at CJS.
- Aharoni, Yohanan and Avi-Yonah, Michael. The Macmillan
Bible atlas. 3rd ed. New York: Macmillan Co., 1993.
- 264 maps. From the Preface: aims "to show, as far as possible through
maps of each event, the changes and historical processes in the lands of the
Bible."
- [Van Pelt Reference G2230 A2 1993; also in Judaica & Ancient Near East]
- Grollenberg, Luc Hendricus. Atlas of the Bible.
Trans. and ed. by Joyce M.H. Reid and H.H. Rowley. London: Nelson, 1957.
- Clear maps; many illustrations. The text is a summary of the history of
Israel up to the time of Jesus. Biblical references are given throughout the
text. Index of places and names.
- [Judaica & Ancient Near East BS620 G752 1957]
- Oxford Bible atlas. Ed. by Herbert G. May
with the assistance of G.N.S. Hunt. 3d ed. rev. by John Day. New York: Oxford University Press, 1984.
- This edition was revised to include new biblical research and recent
archeological information. Gazetteer acts as a place index.
- [Van Pelt Reference BS630 O96 1984]
- Tübinger Bibelatlas : auf der Grundlage des Tübinger
Atlas des Vorderen Orients (TAVO).
Edited by Siegfried Mittmann & Götz Schmitt.
Stuttgart : Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft, 2001.
- Other title: Tübingen Bible atlas : based on the
Tübingen atlas of the Near and Middle East.
- Covers from ca.1500 BCE - 350 CE
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Oversize G2230 .T83 2001]
- Whitaker, Richard E. The Eerdmans analytical concordance to
the Revised Standard Version of the Bible. Grand Rapids, Mich. :
Eerdmans, c1988.
- [Van Pelt Reference BS 425 W48 1988]
- Strong, James. Strong's exhaustive concordance of the
Bible. Nashville, TN: Thomas Nelson, 1977.
- [Van Pelt BS425 S8 1977]
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update:
Thursday, 12-Dec-2002 15:29:55 EST
Send mail concerning this page to Debra Bucher:
dbucher@pobox.upenn.edu