Religious Studies - Book Reviews
- Academic Index.
1980 (very incomplete)-present. Daily updates.
- Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 1550 scholarly and
general interest journals, plus The New York Times; full text or full image is
provided for more than 750 titles (most of which is from mid-1990's to present).
- To locate book reviews in Academic Index:
- In Advanced Search search bar (the default when
entering the database), type <author's last name> and book reviews
- This will retrieve any reviews written by the author or about the author's
books
- OR type <author's last name> and <word in book title>
- ATLA religion database.
Evanston, Ill: American Theological Library Association.
- Contains book reviews from 1949-.
- To locate book reviews:
- Using Search Fields
- Click on box next to "Book Review Author (ra)"
- Type in author's last name in search bar, e.g., "stark"
- Click on Display Index button
- Choose author from the list
- Click on Perform Search button
- Keyword search:
- use title words, e.g., "rise and christianity"
- limit to "Reviews"
OR
- Use "command" searching. E.g., stark rodney.ra.
- If you unsure of how the name is entered in the database, use
truncation after the surname. E.g., stark$.ra.
- Book Review Index. 1965- Detroit, Gale
Research Co.
- [Van Pelt Reference Z1035 A1 B6]
- Bryn Mawr Classical Review
1990- .
- [http://ccat.sas.upenn.edu/bmcr/]
- Combined retrospective index to book reviews in humanities
journals, 1802-1974. 10v. Woodbridge , CT.:
Research Publications, 1982- .
- [Van Pelt Reference: Z1035 A1 C62 1982]
- Combined retrospective index to book reviews in scholarly
journals, 1886-1974. 15v. Arlington, Va: Carrollton
Press, 1979-1982.
- [Van Pelt Reference: Z1035 A1 C64]
- Elenchus bibliographicus biblicus of Biblica.
vol. 60 (1979)- .Roma : Pontifical Biblical Institute Press.
- [Van Pelt Religious Studies Seminar Z7770 .E44]
- Continues Elenchus bibliographicus biblicus.
vol. 49 (1968) - vo. 58/59 (1977/78).
- [Van Pelt Religious Studies Seminar Z7770 .E44]
- Continues "Elenchus bibliographicus biblicus" (1920-1976) in
Biblica. v. 1 (1920)- .
- [Van Pelt Religious Studies Seminar BS410 B7]
- Ioudaios Review.
- [Available from Penn Library Web, Electronic Journals - Religion]
- ISI Citation Indexes

1993-present. Weekly updates.
- To locate book reviews:
- Use General Search
- In the Topic field, type a word from the title of
the book and the author's last name using the AND Boolean
operator (e.g., blessings and kraemer)
- At the bottom of the search page, choose the Book Review
document type (in the middle box)
- Click on the Search button
- Jewish Studies Book Reviews.
Sponsored by H-Judaic, the
Jewish Studies Network.
- About 20 full-text reviews (as of 7/13/98).
- New Testament abstracts. 1956- Cambridge,
Mass., Weston School of Theology.
- [Van Pelt Reference BS410 N35 (Most recent 5 years]
- Old Testament abstracts. v. 1- Feb. 1978-
Washington, Catholic Biblical Association of America.
- [Van Pelt Judaica/Ancient Near East Seminar BS410 .O42]
- Periodicals Contents Index 1770-1990/91.

- To locate book reviews:
- Click in the Book reviews only radio button
- In the field labelled Article Title Keyword, type
[author's last name] and [word in title of book]
- Review of Biblical Literature
- Reviews from 1996 to the present that appeared in Journal of
Biblical Literature and Critical Review of
Books in Religion. Keyword searchable; also with author,
title, and subject links.
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update: Wednesday, 01-Mar-2000 14:30:48 EST
Send mail
concerning this page to:
bucher@pobox.upenn.edu
Debra Bucher
Reference Department
Van Pelt Library/6206
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
215/898-8118