

This guide lists publications and other resources about contemporary
Philadelphia with special emphasis on those that provide statistical information for small areas
[decennial census geography (e.g., census tracts, block groups, blocks),
voting areas and city planning and city service areas, postal ZIP Codes, and neighborhoods] within Philadelphia.
Publications on Philadelphia can be found in several Penn Libraries. Van Pelt Library collects social sciences and humanities publications,
as well as city governmental publications. The Fisher Fine Arts Library collects planning documents.
Lippincott Library collects city financial publications, materials on the Philadelphia business community, and housing information.
The Penn Library Web contains many useful online resources concerning Philadelphia. Among the most important Penn Library Web pages are:
CONTENTS
- Almanacs and General factbooks
- Philadelphia organizations and directories
- News sources -- Philadelphia and elsewhere
- 1990 Census of Population and Housing
- Data
- Census maps and census geography resources
- Philadelphia statistics, by subject
- ZIP Code statistics
- Indexes and abstracts for locating statistical information
- Archival material on Philadelphia
- Serial bibliographies in urban studies and urban policy useful for Philadelphia research
- Bulletin almanac. 1924-1976. Philadelphia: Evening Bulletin.
- [Van Pelt and others: AY 286 .P5 B9. Latest at Reference Desk]
- Inquirer regional almanac. 1994-present. Philadelphia: Philadelphia Newspapers. Annual.
- [Van Pelt and others: AY 286 .P5 I578. Latest at Reference Desk]
- Philadelphia almanac and citizen's manual. 1994-present. Philadelphia: Library Company of Philadelphia. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: AY 286 .P5 P555. Latest at Reference Desk]
- Five-year financial plan. 1992/1996-present. Philadelphia: Office of the Mayor / Office of Budget and Program Evaluation. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: HJ 9013 .P6 P463. Latest in Reference]
- Created in compliance with the Pennsylvania Intergovernmental Cooperation Act, the plan provides a clear "state of the union" report for Philadelphia.
- The state of black Philadelphia. Philadelphia: Urban League. 1981-present. Annual.
- [Van Pelt Afro-American Studies Seminar: F 158.9 .N3 S83. Latest at Reference Desk]
- The Greater Philadelphia relocation guide. 1990?. Philadelphia: Chamber of Commerce of Greater Philadelphia.
- [Van Pelt Reference: F 158.18 .G743 1990z]
- Pennsylvania abstract. 1958-present. Harrisburg: Pennsylvania State Data Center. Biennial, at present.
- [Van Pelt and others: HA 607 .P4. Latest at Reference Desk]
- Pennsylvania county planning data kit. Harrisburg: Interdepartmental Human Services Planning Committee, 1982.
- [Van Pelt: RA 141 .P4 1982]
- Pennsylvania county planning data kit, supplement. 1983-present. Harrisburg: Interdepartmental Human Services Planning Committee. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: HA 601 .P466. Latest at Reference Desk]
- LibertyNet maintains web pages for many Delaware Valley governments and organizations.
- [URL: http://www.libertynet.org/]
- Municipal telephone directory. Philadelphia: Philadelphia Department of Public Property, Division of Communication Services. Irregular.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: HE 8841 .P52 M865. Latest issue only]
- The essential telephone list for the city government. Complemented by contact information via Philadelphia: the web site, http://www.phila.gov/
- City of Philadelphia services to business. 2nd ed. 1996 (?). Philadelphia: Mayor's Business Action Team.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HF 54.52 .U6 C58 1996]
- Toll, Jean Barth and Mildred S. Gillam (comp, ed.) Invisible Philadelphia: community through voluntary organizations. Philadelphia: Atwater Kent Museum, 1995.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: F 158.18 .I58 1995]
- A mammoth "public history of voluntary organizations and nonprofit institutions in the City of Philadelphia, and often the Delaware Valley" through 1990. Articles usually include bibliographic notes.
- Associations of the Delaware Valley. [1972]-present. Philadelphia: Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce.
- [Van Pelt: HS 61 .C48. Latest at Reference Desk]
- Jaipaul. 1976. Directory of ethnic resources of Philadelphia and Delaware Valley. Philadelphia: Ethnic Heritage Affairs Institute.
- [Van Pelt Stacks: F 158.9 .A1 J34]
- Directory of research and data on Philadelphia at the University of Pennsylvania. 1993-present. Philadelphia: Penn Program for Public Service, Center for Community Partnerships, University of Pennsylvania.
- [Van Pelt: F 158.29 .D574. Latest at Reference Desk.]
- [Also online,URL: http://partners.upenn.edu/wp/penn/contents.html]
- Greater Philadelphia Cultural Alliance ... membership directory and resource guide. Philadelphia: GPCA.
- [Van Pelt: NX 110 .P4 G743. Latest at Reference Desk]
- Greater Philadelphia publicity guide. Ambler, Pa.: Fund-Raising Institute.
- [Van Pelt and Annenberg: P 88.8 .G73. Latest at Reference Desks]
- Regional network directory: a resource for furthering regional cooperation. 1994 ed. Philadelphia: Center for Greater Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania.
- [Van Pelt: HD 2769.2 .P4 R445. Latest at Reference Desk.]
- [Also online, URL: http://www.libertynet.org:80/~cgphila/netdir.html]
- Howard, Joanne M. 1991. Who's who in the Delaware Valley: the leaders of greater Philadelphia. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Leadership House.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: F 158.25 .H68 1991]
- Philadelphia creative directory. Elverson, PA: Philadelphia Creative Directory, Inc.
- [Van Pelt: NX 110 .P49 1994. Latest in Reference.]
- Directory information for advertising/marketing/public relations, business services, computer services, copywriting, design, events planning/presentations,
film and video, illustration, media/publishing, music/talent/theater, organizations and schools, photography, printing, and typography.
- Michael, Jennifer (ed). Philadelphia folklife resources: a guide to local folk traditions. Philadelphia, Pa.: Philadelphia Folklore Project, 1991.
- [Van Pelt Reference: GR103 .P5 1991]
- Community resouce guide [online]. Third edition. Philadelphia: Office of Community Relations, University of Pennsylvania, [1997].
- [Third edition ([1997]) online, URL: http://partners.upenn.edu/wp/woli/Services/WOLI_Services-ResGuide_Main.html]
- A Resource guide to the West Philadelphia community. 1994. Philadelphia: Office of Community Relations, Center for Community Partnerships, University of Pennsylvania.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: F 158.68 .W5 G85 1994.]
- Lists schools, health care providers, churches, community organizations, and elected officials in West Philadelphia.
- Where to turn: the comprehensive directory of health and human services in Philadelphia, Montgomery & Delaware counties. 1990-1991 ed. Philadelphia: Resource Center for Human Resources.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: HV 98 .P4 W482 1990]
- "The most comprehensive directory of health and human services", listing nearly 2000 nonprofit agencies.
- Non-profit organizations serving Philadelphia's Empowerment Zone. The Bridge Project, LibertyNet.
- [URL: http://www.libertynet.org/bridge/zoneorgs.html ]
- AIDS services. Philadelphia: Critical Path Project.
- [URL: http://www.critpath.org/service.htm]
- "Easy access to the labyringth of agencies, phone numbers, addresses, resource directories, and services that help persons with AIDS". Links to case management databases (resources and referrals),
organizations and resources (support groups, employment services and notices,
PWA coalitions, harm reduction, community calendar, legal information,
treatment advocacy, internet and other information censorship advocacy, housing, arts, and communication).
Often the best place to find detailed information concerning a specific
city, organization, or program.
An overview of available resources, including indexing and archives for older news sources, is provided by the Van Pelt Reference special bibliography,
Subject access to Philadelphia newspapers.
The Free Library of Philadelphia Newspaper and Database Division, Central Library at 1901 Vine Street, has an extensive collection of Philadelphia neighborhood newspapers, mostly weeklies, on microfilm:
- Newspapers on microfilm at the Free Library: an alphabetical listing of the holdings of the Databases & Newspaper Center of the Free Library of Philadelphia. Philadelphia: Free Library of Philadelphia, 1997.
- [Van Pelt Reference: Z6945 .F77 1997]
- Philadelphia Online NewsLibrary
- Searchable fulltext files of
- Inquirer - 1981 to present
- Daily News - 1978 to present
- Updated daily .Full text of previous week's articles is available at no charge and
without loggin. Full text of earlier articles requires password. Ask Van Pelt Reference
Librarians to log you on.
- Philadelphia Inquirer Online
- Access to the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1987 to last quarter.
- Philadelphia Inquirer
- 1861-present on microform at Microfilm News 61
- current print issues available in Van Pelt Current Periodicals
- Ethnic Newswatch
- Web-accessible collection of full text ethnic papers from around the United States.
- Online coverage begins with 1990
- Includes Philadelphia Tribune, the area's largest African-American newspaper
- Includes the Jewish Exponent, a major area paper which has been published continuously since 1887.
- Philadelphia Daily News. 1925-present. Daily.
- [Van Pelt Microforms: Microfilm news 424 (1990-present)]
- [Van Pelt Current Periodicals: Latest 3 months]
- Philadelphia Tribune. 1884-present. Triweekly.
- [Van Pelt Microforms: Microfilm news 407 (1912-present]
- [Van Pelt Library Current Periodicals: Latest three months]
- Also in Ethnic Newswatch.
- Philadelphia Business Journal. 1982-present. Weekly.
- [Lippincott Microforms: Film cont 110 (1982:Mar.29-1984:Sept.23).
Lippincott Microforms: Business Collection (Nov. 19, 1984-Aug. 18, 1995)]
- [Lippincott Current Periodicals: Latest 2 years]
- Philadelphia magazine. 1909-present. Monthly.
- [Van Pelt: HC 108 .P5 G7]
- Indexing for Philadelphia magazine articles:
- Access. Evanston, Ill.: J.G. Burke, 1975-present. Annual, with four-month updates.
- [Van Pelt Reference: AI3 .A23 (1990-present)]
- Stock, Walter D. Index to Philadelphia magazine, 1972-1991. Philadelphia: Free Library of Philadelphia.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: HC 108 .P5 P56]
- Indexing for 1973-1990 also included in Popular periodical index. Camden: Rutgers Camden Library. [Van Pelt Reference: AI3 .P765]
- Index to Philadelphia magazine, 1946-1978. Philadelphia: Paley Library, Temple University.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: HC 108 .P5 P56]
Temple University's Urban Archives holds newspaper clippings and newspaper photograph and illustration archival materials for the Bulletin,
Philadelphia Inquirer, and Philadelphia Daily News. Finding aids, access information, and subject heading lists can be found online at:
- Newspaper clipping collections
- [URL: http://www.library.temple.edu/urbana/urbclip.htm ]
- Photographic and illustration collections
- [URL: http://www.library.temple.edu/urbana/phodes.htm ]
DATA
Small area data from the 1990 Census for the entire United States are available in electronic format and in printed publications. For more
information, consult the Van Pelt Library library guide,
"Census data available in the Penn Libraries" (in progress).
At Van Pelt Reference, relevant electronic data files, on CD-ROM, are:
- Summary data [Pre-defined data tables] -- online access
- Note: Electronic summary data publication reflects the difference between the "short-form" census questionnaire (mailed to 100% of housing units) and the "long-form" census questionnaire (mailed to 1 in 8 Philadelphia housing units).
- Summary Tape File 1 (STF 1) data sets derive from the "short-form" questionnaire. They provide 100 tables of general population and housing characteristics,
e.g., sex, race, and Hispanic origin, age, household and family relationships, marital status, housing tenure and vacancy, housing value and rent, and number of rooms in unit and units in structure.
- Summary Tape File 3 (STF 3) data sets derive from the "long-form" questionnaire. They provide about 300 tables of social, economic, and detailed housing characteristics, in addition to the STF 1 characteristics,
e.g., education, disability, fertility, citizenship, migration, ancestry, labor force, occupation, industry, income, poverty, telephones and vehicles, heating fuel, housing age, monthly owner/renter costs including utilities and mortgage.
- Profiles of Philadelphia Census tracts using STF 1A data and extracts of STF 1 and STF 3 data for Philadelphia Census tracts, Block groups, Blocks, and ZIP Codes, as well as voting district population information,
are available through the Penn Library Web.
- [Penn Library Web, URL: http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/subject/government/us/departments/census/phila/phila.html]
- Includes link to data tables provided by Temple University Social Science Data Lab.
- "Neighborhoods Online", LibertyNet web pages maintained by the Institute for the Study of Civic Values, provides brief data tables for Philadelphia Census tracts arranged by "neighborhood".
- [URL: http://www.libertynet.org/nol/nbrhood/nbrhood.html]
- Queryable versions of the STF 1A and STF 3A files are available through the 1990 Census LOOKUP web pages.
- [URL: http://venus.census.gov/cdrom/lookup].
- Online technical documentation for STF 3 files is also available.
- [URL: http://venus.census.gov/td/stf3/contents.html]
- Summary data [Pre-defined data tables] -- CD-ROM access
- STF 1A [Summary Tape File 1A].
- Small areas are Block groups, Census tracts/Block numbering areas, and 102nd Congress Congressional districts. 100% ["short-form"] data.
- STF 1B extract [Summary Tape File 1B].
- Small areas are Blocks, Block groups, and Census tracts/Block numbering areas. A subset of 100% ["short-form"] data.
- STF 1D [Summary Tape File 1D] / STF 3D [Summary Tape File 3D].
- Small areas are 103rd Congress Congressional districts. 100% ["short-form"] data.
- An STF 1D / STF 3D data release for the 104th Congress is also available.
- STF 3A [Summary Tape File 3A].
- Small areas are Block groups and Census tracts/Block numbering areas. Sample ["long-form"] data.
- STF 3B [Summary Tape File 3B].
- Small areas are 5-digit ZIP codes. Sample ["long-form"] data.
- P.L. 94-171 redistricting data.
- Entire United States. Small areas are Blocks, Block groups, Census tracts/Block numbering areas, and Voting districts. 100% ["short-form"] data.
- SPECIAL TABULATION ON AGING.
- Entire United States. Small areas are Census tracts/Block numbering areas. Sample ["long-form"] data concerning population aged 65 and older, with table iterations for population in subcategories by age.
- Microdata [individual questionnaires]
- PUMS A [5% Public Use Microdata Samples].
- Small areas are Public Use Microdata Areas. Philadelphia has 11 defined PUMAs; data for these are available through the Penn Library Web.
- [URL: http://www.library.upenn.edu/census/philpums/philpums.html ]
- U.S. Bureau of the Census. Population and housing characteristics for census tracts and block numbering areas. Series 1990 CPH-3- . Washington, D.C.: Bureau of the Census, 1993.
- [Van Pelt: HA 201 1990h. Philadelphia vols: Reference Desk]
- Small areas are all Census tracts within metropolitan areas or Census tracts within selected counties outside of metropolitan areas. Prefatory tables compare 1980 and 1990 Census tracts.
- U.S. Bureau of the Census. Population and housing characteristics for congressional districts of the 103rd Congress. Series 1990 CPH-4- . Washin gton, D.C.: Bureau of the Census, 1993.
- [Van Pelt: HA 201 1990i. Pennsylvania volume: Reference]
- Small areas are Congressional districts within states.
- Philadelphia City Planning Commission. Selected tables, population and housing data, 1990 & 1980. [Philadelphia: PCPC, 199-?].
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: HA 730 .P45 S45 1990z]
- Data for Philadelphia Census tracts and Planning analysis sections. Includes maps showing Census tracts and Planning analysis sections.
- For each decennial census since 1950, the Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission and/or the Philadelphia City Planning Commission have prepared reports presenting census data by Census tract for Philadelphia and the surrounding counties.
These reports are easily located using keyword searching in Franklin, the online catalog of the Penn Library: "census tracts" AND planning
Census maps and census geography resources
- U.S. Bureau of the Census. P.L. 94-171 county block maps (1990): Philadelphia County. Washington, D.C.: Bureau of the Census, 1991.
- [Van Pelt Reference Atlas Case: G 3824 .P5 E25 S4 U55a]
- Small areas shown are Blocks, Block groups, Census tracts, and Voting districts.
- U.S. Bureau of the Census. Population and housing characteristics for census tracts and block numbering areas: maps. Series 1990 CPH-3- maps. Washington, D.C.: Bureau of the Census, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HA 201 1990h maps]
- All metropolitan areas having component counties in Pennsylvania, and selected other Pennsylvania counties; Philadelphia, PA-NJ PMSA maps cover Philadelphia, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, and Montgomery counties, Pennsylvania,
and Burlington, Camden, and Gloucester counties, New Jersey. Small areas are Census tracts.
- Complete map coverage for entire United States [Van Pelt Microforms: Microfiche 922]
- Penn Library - Philadelphia Street Index.
- [Penn Library Web, URL: http://www.library.upenn.edu/census/philctsi/philctsi.html]
- An online extract of the TIGER/Census Tract Street Index (infra), providing Census Tracts (1990 Census), ZIP Codes (1992), and Congressional Districts (103rd Congress) for 96% of Philadelphia's address ranges.
- Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission. Census tract street index. Philadelphia: DVRPC, 1992.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: F 157 .D4 A38 1991]
- Philadelphia, PA-NJ PMSA: Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, Philadelphia, Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, and Mercer counties. Arranged alphabetically and hierarchically by County, County subdivision, and Street name.
ZIP code tables match ZIP codes to County and County subdivision. Table for 1980 to 1990 Census tract comparability included. County maps showing Census tract outlines included.
- U.S. Bureau of the Census. Congressional atlas. Washington, D.C.: Bureau of the Census, 1964-present. Irregular.
- [Van Pelt: G 1201 .F7 U45. Latest at Reference Desk]
- U.S. Bureau of the Census. TIGER/Line census files, 1990.
- Machine-readable data files on CD-ROM for generating 1990 Census geographic products. Small areas are Blocks, Block groups, Census tracts, Voting districts, ZIP codes, and Congressional districts; some address ranges.
- Updated by:
- TIGER/Line 1992.
- [Van Pelt Information Desk: CD-ROM 74]
- TIGER/Line 1997
- [Van Pelt Information Desk: HA 201 199au]
- TIGER/Line 1997 and TIGER/Line 1992 version data for Philadelphia County and surrounding counties are provided through the Penn Library Web's Philadelphia Maps and Geographic Information page.
- U.S. Bureau of the Census. TIGER/Census tract street index. Version 2. Washington, D.C.: Bureau of the Census, 1994. 6 CD-ROMs.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: HA 214 .T54 1994]
- Provides Census tract numbers, Congressional districts (103d Congress) and ZIP codes for street address ranges.
5. Philadelphia statistics, by subject
Sources for Philadelphia statistical information, especially predecessors for publications listed here, are listed in the Phila + PA Statistics looseleaf at Van Pelt Reference Desk.
In addition, the Philadelphia City Planning Commission and Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission, as well as other organizations, have produced many publications reporting statistics on Philadelphia.
To identify these works, use keyword searching in Franklin, the online catalog of the Penn Library.
skey statistics AND skey philadelphia
- Atlas of the Delaware Valley. Direction 2020 report 14. Philadelphia: Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission, 1994.
- [Van Pelt Reference Oversize & Fine Arts Reference: G 1247 .D4 D4 1994]
- The political and community service boundaries of Philadelphia. Philadelphia: Philadelphia City Planning Commission, 1994.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk, Fine Arts Reserve: JS 1272 .L7 P45 1994]
- The essential atlas for city ward and councilmanic boundaries, as well as city and county agency service district boundaries.
- Updates, for political boundaries:
- Daly, John and Allen Weinberg. 1966. Genealogy of Philadelphia county subdivisions. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: Dept. of Records.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk, other locations: G 3824 .P5 1966 D3]
- Penn Library - Selected web sites - Area of the world - United States - Pennsylvania - Philadelphia
- [Penn Library Web, URL: http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/subject/area/us/philadelphia/philadelphia.html]
- Online profiles of Census Tracts, Neighborhoods, Planning Analysis Sections, Police Districts, public schools, and other Philadelphia small-area topics. Provides links to other online Philadelphia resources.
Produced and maintained by Van Pelt Library.
- Philadelphia City Planning Commission Guide to Data Sources
- [URL: http://www.philaplanning.org/data/dataguide.html]
- Identifies producers and repositories for data resources pertaining to Philadelphia for census data and maps, economic and employment data, housing program and residential sales data, land and property data,
public and parochial school data, transportation and parking data, vital records, and zoning information. Provides an agency reference list and links to abstracts and bibliographies.
- Philadelphia and Camden empowerment zone strategic plan. Philadelphia: Office of the Mayor et al., 1994.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HC 108 .C22 P57 1994]
- The successful proposal, submitted to HUD, establishing empowerment zones in North Philadelphia, West Philadelphia, and North Camden. The plan provides diverse statistical, directory, and other information concerning these communities.
- The Philadelphia regional SCAN. Philadelphia: Community Leadership Seminars, 1986.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HT 168 .P43 P55 1986]
- Schwartz, Edward. 1982. Neighborhood service district profiles. Philadelphia: Institute for the Study of Civic Values.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: HA 730 .P45 N45 1982]
- Provides performance information for city services, apparently by Police District. Sadly dated.
- U.S. Bureau of the Census. 1974. Urban atlas: tract data for standard metropolitan statistical areas: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania-New Jersey. Washington, D.C.: GPO.
- [Van Pelt Reference Oversize, other locations: G 3824 .P5 1974 U55]
- Philadelphia City Planning Commission publications. 1991 rev. Philadelphia: PCPC.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HT 168 .P43 P425 1991]
- Abstracts of major recent City Planning Commission publications are available online.
- [URL: http://www.philaplanning.org/]
- The City Planning Commission has issued several plans for parts of Philadelphia. These plans provide excellent resources on all subjects. Some recent plans are:
- The plan for West Philadelphia. 1994.
- [Van Pelt Reference, Fine Arts: HT 177 .P5 P5365 1994]
- [Also online, URL: http://partners.upenn.edu/wp/plan]
- The plan for Center City. 1988.
- [Van Pelt Reference, Fine Arts: HT 168 .P43 P4 55 1988]
- The North Philadelphia plan. 1987.
- [Fine Arts Reserve: HT 177 .P5 P5332 1987]
- North Philadelphia databook. 1986.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HA 730 .P45 N67 1986]
- Roxborough/Manayunk district plan. 1983.
- [Fine Arts: HT 168 .P43 P473 1983]
- The Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission produces publications about Philadelphia and the surrounding counties as an integrated region. The Penn Library obtains most major DVRPC publications.
- A list of DVRPC publications is available online.
- [URL: http://www.dvrpc.org/data/pubs.htm]
- To identify Penn Library holdings of recent Philadelphia City Planning Commission and Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission publications, use keyword searching in Franklin,
the online catalog of the Penn Library:
(corp philadelphia OR corp delaware) AND "planning commission"
- Community profile: West Philadelphia Regional Library. 1990. Philadelphia: West Philadelphia Regional Library, Free Library of Philadelphia.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: F 158.68 .W5 C66 1990]
- Each regional and branch library of the Free Library of Philadelphia has been requested to compile a "community profile". A complete set of these profiles is available at Extension Services Division, Central Library, Free Library of Philadelphia
at 1901 Vine Street (215-686-5310). Community profiles for Germantown and the
Northeast are also available at Van Pelt Library's Reference Department.
- Vital statistics report. 1982-present. Philadelphia: Department of Public Health, Division of Health Programs Analysis. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: RA 407.4 .P4 P544. Latest at Reference Desk. Also Biomedical]
- Includes data for Health districts. Some volumes provide Census tract data.
- Philadelphia resident birth, death, disease and population data by health district, by neighborhood, and by census tract. 1991-present. Philadelphia: Department of Public Health, Division of Health Programs Analysis.
- [Van Pelt (and Biomedical): RA 407.4 .P4 P5442. Latest at Reference Desk]
- Apparently supersedes:
- Selected resident birth and death data by health district, by census tract, and by neighborhood. [1981?]-[1991?]. Philadelphia: Department of Public Health, Division of Health Programs Analysis. Irregular.
- [Van Pelt: HA 730 .A5 P51. Latest at Reference Desk]
- Penn Library - Philadelphia Vital Statistics
- [Penn Library Web, URL: http://www.library.upenn.edu/census/philvital/philvital.html]
- Birth and death data for Philadelphia, its ten Health Districts, and Census Tracts. Extracted from
Philadelphia resident birth, death, disease and population data by health district, by neighborhood, and by census tract
(supra), and arranged as time-series data.
- Philadelphia Health Management Corporation. Neighborhood health profiles. 12 volumes. Philadelphia: PHMC, 1994.
- [Biomedical Reference: Oversize RA 395 .A4 P4 1994]
- Contents: v. 1. Center city -- v. 2. South Philadelphia -- v. 3. Southwest Philadelphia -- v. 4. West Philadelphia -- v. 5. Lower North Philadelphia -- v. 6. Upper North Philadelphia -- v. 7. Bridesburg-Kensington-Richmond --
v. 8 . Roxborough-Manayunk -- v. 9. Germantown-Chestnut Hill -- v. 10. Olney-Oak Lane -- v. 11. Near Northeast -- v. 12. Far Northeast.
- "Neighborhood-Oriented Health Care Data Base Project is directed towards providing the health care system and the community with a description of health status, the use of health care services and relative access to
health care resources across different neigborhoods in the City".
- Also see Neighborhood health profiles, 1985 edition. [Biomed Ref: Oversize RA 395 .A4 P4 1985]
- Many Philadelphia Health Management Corporation publications report on the findings of recurring surveys. They usually include statistics for the entire city, for Planning Analysis Sections, and for Health Districts.
These can be identified in Franklin, the online catalog of the Penn
Library, using keyword searching corp "philadelphia health management" or phmc
- Some important PHMC publications are:
- Access to health: a decade of research from the Philadelphia Health Management Corporation. 1992.
- [Biomedical Reference: RA 407.4 .P4 A22 1992]
- "Major findings from the Third Household Health Survey with comparisons between the 1991, 1987 and 1983 survey results."
- Health status, utilization and access to medical care for Philadelphia's poor. 1989.
- [Biomedical Reference: Oversize RA 448 .P5 H43 1989]
- Homelessness in Philadelphia: people, needs, services. 1985.
- [Biomedical: Oversize HV 4506 .P4 H7 1985]
- Philadelphia's functionally impaired elderly and their use of in-home care. 1991.
- [Biomedical: RA 645.3 .P5 1991]
- More information about the Philadelphia Health Management Corporation may be obtained from its Libertynet WWW page.
- Philadelphia Department of Public Health. AIDS Activities Coordinating Office. AIDS surveillance quarterly update. 1994?-present. Philadelphia: AACO. Quarterly.
- [Biomedical Reference: RA 644 .A25 A3766]
- Summary data for cases reported for Philadelphia, Pa-N.J. Primary Metropolitan Statistical Area and for Philadelphia city. Cumulative and year-to-date tables for Philadelphia adult and pediatric cases,
with gender and race iterations, and for frequency of AIDS-defining diagnoses. One table shows cumulative and year-to-date counts and frequencies for Philadelphia AIDS cases by ZIP Code for areas with four or more cases reported.
- Supersedes:
- Acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS): quarterly report. 1991?-1994?. Philadelphia: AACO. Quarterly.
- [Biomedical Reference: RA 644 .A25 A3765]
- Acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS): monthly report. 1990?-1991?. Philadelphia: AACO. Monthly.
- [Biomedical Reference: RA 644 .A25 A3765]
- Pennsylvania Health Care Cost Containment Council. Hospital effectiveness report: [Region 9: Philadelphia county]. Vol. 1 (July 1-Sept. 30, 1989)-present. Harrisburg, Pa: PHCCCC.
Quarterly, -1989; Annual, 1990-present.
- [Biomedical Reference: RA981.P4 H679]
- Approximately 55 data tables presenting data on two dozen general acute care hospitals with 100+ beds, describing "a hospital's record of effectiveness and how much it charges for its services".
- Pennsylvania Health Care Cost Containment Council. Health care inpatient utilization using small area analysis: Region 9, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 1988-present. Harrisburg, PA: PHCCCC, 1991-present. Annual.
- [Biomedical Reference: RA 981 .P4 H429]
- "Documenting community-level variations in hospital admissions" using data on patients treated for cholecystectomy, adult pneumonia, acute myocardial infarction, and cesarean section. Small areas are 24 Health Market Areas, defined by ZIP code.
- Independence Blue Cross of Greater Philadelphia. Community health care report. Philadelphia, PA: Independence Blue Cross, P ennsylvania Blue Shield, c198?-present.
- [Biomedical Reference: Oversize HG 9397.5 .P4 B59]
- Report for 1986 includes treatment and charge data for specific hospitals.
- Northwest Interfaith Movement Nursing Home Connection. Nursing homes in Philadelphia: a directory and consumer guide. 1988 edition. Philadelphia: NIMNHC, 1988.
- [Biomedical Reference: RA 982 .P5 N85 1988]
- "The first single source of comprehensive information about long term care facilities in Philadelphia". Presents information on 54 facilities arranged geographically.
- Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare, Philadelphia County Assistance Office. Annual report. Philadelphia: PCAO.
- [Van Pelt: HV 87 .P5 A455. Latest in Reference]
- Summarizes public assistance provided to Philadelphia residents. Especially useful for definitions and program thresholds.
- The Philadelphia County Assistance Office also publishes small-area counts for their programs (AFDC, SSI, Medical Assistance) as part of an in-house document.
A copy of recent small-area data tables is kept in the Van Pelt Reference Desk vertical file.
- Ryan, Phyllis Ira Goldstein; and David Bartelt. 1989. Homelessness in Pennsylvania: how can this be? [Philadelphia?]: Coalition on Homelessness in Pennsylvania and
the Institute for Public Policy Studies of Temple University.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HV 4506 .P4 R93 1989]
- Goldstein, Ira, David Bartelt, and Phyllis Ryan. 1989. Homelessness in Philadelphia: roots, realities and resolutions. Philadelphia: Institute for Public Policy Studies and Philadelphia Committee for the Homeless.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HV 4506 .P4 G65 1989]
- School profiles. 1993/1994-present. Philadelphia: School District of Philadelphia. Annual.
- [Van Pelt Reference: LA 357 .P5 S365. Latest at Reference Desk]
- Supersedes:
- Superintendent's management information center. 1973/1974-1990/1991. Philadelphia: School District of Philadelphia, Division of Administrative and Survey Research Services. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: LB 1555 .S366]
- Data on individual Philadelphia public school staffing and pupils, including enrollment, attendance, program, achievement, and graduate data.
- Philadelphia Educational Team. 1994. A Philadelphia primer: the School District of Philadelphia Educational Team report submitted to Judge Doris A. Smith. Philadelphia: The Team.
- [Van Pelt Reference: L 195 .P5 P494 1994]
- Updates some Superintendent's management information center statistics. An excellent bibliographic resource.
- "A District in distress", Philadelphia Inquirer, Review and Opinion special section (section G), 23 October 1994
- [Van Pelt Microforms: Microfilm News 61]
- [Paper copies in Van Pelt Reference Desk vertical file.]
- U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 1995. Common core of data (CCD): school years 1987/1988-1992/1993. Washington, D.C.: NCES.
- [Van Pelt Reference Moelis CD Area: L 112 .C66 1995]
- CD-ROM database providing annual enrollment, staffing, and funding data for all 87,000 public elementary and secondary schools,
all 17,000 local education agencies, and all 56 state education agencies in United States for 1987/19 88 through 1992/1993.
- Penn Library - Philadelphia School District.
- [Penn Library Web, URL: http://www.library.upenn.edu/census/philschl/philschl.html]
- Online profiles of individual Philadelphia public schools, derived from Common core of data [supra]. Links to the School District of Philadelphia's online resources.
- West Philadelphia Project - West Philadelphia Public Schools.
- [URL: http://partners.upenn.edu/wp/k12/]
- Online profiles of individual Philadelphia public schools in West Philadelphia.
- U.S. Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. 1995. Integrated postsecondary education system (IPEDS): 1990-1991. Washington, D.C.: NCES.
- [Van Pelt Reference Moelis CD Area: LA 227.4 .I584]
- CD-ROM database providing data on completions, fall enrollment, finance, institutional characteristics, salaries, and tenure for all U.S postsecondary institutions.
- Pennsylvania Department of Education. Pennsylvania System of School Assessment: School Profiles.
- URL for 1995-1996 data in pdf format: http://www.paprofiles.org/phil.htm#3167
- URL for 1997-1998 data in MS Access or MS Excel format: http://www.paprofiles.org/
- Philadelphia Police Dept. Statistical report. 198?-present. Philadelphia: Research and Planning Department, Philadelphia Police Department. Annual.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HV 7601 .A47a]
- Counts of major crimes and minor crimes by Police District. Detailed breakdowns for accident reports by Police District. Detailed breakdowns for type of crime for entire city.
- Penn Library - Philadelphia Police Districts.
- [Penn Library Web, URL: http://www.library.upenn.edu/phila/philpolice/philpolice.html]
- Online profiles of individual Police Districts, combining Statistical report data for 1981-present with 1990 Census population and housing data.
- Philadelphia Online: Dataplace. Philadelphia Online.
- [URL: http://www.phillynews.com/help/dataplace.shtml]
- Major crime-related data sets accessible here include:
- Down With Crime. How Philadelphia police distorted statistics to keep the crime rate down. With 7 years of searchable data.
- City Crime Data: How crime hits Philadelphia's neighborhoods.
- Crime in the Suburbs: Searchable by town, crime data.
- Philadelphia Homicide Statistics: 1994 and 1995 homicides, searchable by street, location and zip.
- Hell on Wheels: Sobering statistics from the Daily News about DUI arrests in the metropolitan area, and a series on lax traffic enforcement in the city and the resulting decline in passenger and pedestrian safety. With databases covering DUI arrest ra
tes in different towns and more.
- Pennsylvania. Dept. of Corrections. County prison and jail statistical report. [Camp Hill, Pa.] : Pennsylvania Dept. of Corrections, [1989]-present. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: HV 8358 .P46]
- Continues: Annual statistical report of Pennsylvania county prisons and jails.
- Pennsylvania. Dept. of Corrections. Annual statistical report, State correctional system. 1988/1989-present. [s.l.] : The Dept. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: HV 7288 .A252. Latest year in reference]
- Census of local jails, 1988: Volume II, Data for individual jails in the northeast. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Just ice, Bureau of Justice Statistics, 1991.
- [Van Pelt: HV 8746 .U5 C46 1991]
- Results of the fifth census of county prisons and local jails and detention centers, providing data on capacity, court orders, consent decrees, and detention status.
For Philadelphia county, jails are: County House of Correction, Holmesburg Prison, Philadelphia Detention Center, Prison Health Services Center, Work Release (Cannery), Work Release (Laurel Hall), Industrial Corrections Center.
- Pennsylvania. Administrative Office of the Pennsylvania Courts. AOPC home page.
- [URL: http://www.aopc.org/index.htm]
- WWW pages include 1993 and 1994 "Caseload Statistics of the Unified Judiciary", including Philadelphia Municipal Court, Philadelphia Traffic Court, and Common Pleas Court (for Philadelphia only: Civil Court, Orphans' Court,
Family Court, Juror Utilization)
- Pennsylvania. Court of Common Pleas (Philadelphia County). Family Court Division. Annual report. Volume 69-present, 1984-present. Annual.
- [Biddle: KFX 2123 .M82]
- The First Judicial District, Pennsylvania, covers Philadelphia county. Within this district, the Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas consists of four separate courts: Municipal Court, Family Court, Orphans Court, and Traffic Court.
Of these courts, only Family Court currently publishes its own annual report; Municipal Court published an annual report through 1991 [Biddle: 1989-1991 in process]; the Court of Common Pleas published a collective annual report through 1978:
- Annual report of the Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas and Municipal Courts.
- [Biddle: KFX 2123 .M85]
- Traffic safety data, 1988-1993: a compilation of traffic safety reports and data files [CD-ROM]. Two CD-ROMs. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Transportation, Bureau of Transportation Statistics, 1994.
- [Van Pelt Reference Moelis Room: HE 5614.2 .T76 1994]
- Includes 1988-1993 Fatal Accident Reporting System [FARS], microdata census of fatal accidents.
- Philadelphia. Voter Registration Division. Annual report of the City Commissioners. Philadelphia: Office of City Commissioners, 1980-present. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: JK 2174 .P3 P5. Latest at Reference Desk]
- Voter registration by wards and divisions, sex, race, party. Official vote by wards and divisions.
- Pennsylvania. Department of General Services. Pennsylvania manual. Harrisburg: Dept. of General Services, 1927-present. Biennial (irregular).
- [Van Pelt: JK 3630 .P4. Latest at Reference Desk]
- Some demographic data for Pennsylvania legislative districts.
- Congressional districts in the 1990s: a portrait of America. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Reference: JK 1341 .C64 1993].
- Earlier editions of this work are available for the 1980s and 1970s.
- Five-year financial plan .... 1992/1996-present. Philadelphia: Office of the Mayor / Office of Budget and Program Evaluation. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: HJ 9013 .P6 P463. Latest in Reference]
- Created in compliance with the Pennsylvania Intergovernmental Cooperation Authority, the plan summarizes the current and future missions, program initiatives (including past-year and proposed future statistical measures),
performance issues, and principal budget requirements of the administration and its departments.
- The five-year plan is updated by:
- Quarterly city managers report .... (1993?)-present. Philadelphia: Office of Budget and Program Evaluation.
- [Van Pelt: HJ 99013 .P6 M387. Latest two years only, in Reference]
- Philadelphia City Code and Home Rule Charter. American Legal Publishing Corporation.
- [URL: http://nt2.scbbs.com/cgi-bin/om_isapi.dll?clientID=11061&infobase=amlegal-28&softpage=ref_MainView]
- Searchable fulltext version of the seventh edition, current through August 1998.
- The Philadelphia code. 6th edition. Philadelphia: s.n., 1994.
- [Biddle: KFX 2121 .A6 1994]
- The latest published compilation of ordinances, including all code amendments through 31 December 1993. Includes 1994 cumulative supplement. Titles cover, e.g., criminal justice, zoning, public health and welfare.
- LocalLaw provides Philadelphia code title headings, with title-only or fulltext of 1995 and 1996 amendments to the Code.
- [URL: http://www.libertynet.org/~locallaw/index.html]
- Ordinances of the city of Philadelphia. (1882)-present. Philadelphia: GMC.
- [Biddle: KFX 2121 .A5]
- In addition to this bound set of ordinances, Biddle receives slip ordinances and retains unbound bills and resolutions for the current two years.
Jenkins Law Library maintains a list of Philadelphia code parts affected for slip ordinances.
- The Mayor's operating budget for fiscal .... 2 vols. Philadelphia:. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: HJ 9013 .P6 M386. Latest in Reference]
- The "big" budget publication, providing departmental summaries by fund and for personal services, and division summaries and schedules for positions, purchase of services, materials, supplies, equipment, etc. as well as grant information summaries.
- The Mayor's operating budget in brief for fiscal year .... Philadelphia:. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: HJ 9013 .P6 M3862. Latest in Reference]
- "As proposed to the [City] Council". Presents summary tables of revenues and obligations for all City operating funds. Reviews the history of obligation levels over several years, as well as projects and proposes for future five years.
Includes proposed Appropriation Ordinance for fiscal year.
- The Mayor's fiscal ... operating budget. 1981/1982-present. Philadelphia: Office of the Mayor.
- [Lippincott: HJ 9013 .P6e52. Latest in Reference]
- Continues:
- The Mayor's operating budget and programs. (1957)-1980/1981.
- [Lippincott: HJ 9013 .P6e52]
- Investing in Philadelphia: the ... capital program. 1990/1995-present. Philadelphia: Philadelphia City Planning Commission. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: HD 4606 .P5 A313. Latest in Reference]
- "Describes the [six-year] Capital Program to renew the City's extensive system of public facilities". Provides the original schedule of projects and amounts recommended by the City Planning Commission, modified and adopted by
City Council and approved by the Mayor; includes later amendments. Arranged by City departments. A separate section lists projects by "neighhborhoods" (= Planning Analysis Sections), with maps.
- Continues:
- City of Philadelphia capital program. 1981/1986-1989/1994.
- [Van Pelt: HD 4606 .P5 A313]
- Capital program, city of Philadelphia and School District of Philadelphia. 1972/1977-1980/1985.
- [Van Pelt: HD 4606 .P5 A312]
- Capital program, city of Philadelphia. 1945/1950-1971/1976.
- [Van Pelt: HD 4606 .P5 A3]
- Comprehensive annual financial report. (1982/1983)-present. Philadelphia: Office of the Director of Finance. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: HJ 9013 .P6 B18. Latest in Reference]
- [Lippincott: HJ 9013 .P6b25. Latest in Reference]
- General purpose financial statements and the combining and individual fund and account group financial statements and schedules for all City funds and account groups and for entities for which the City is financially accountable.
A brief statement on the economic and financial wellbeing of the City, and selected multiyear financial and statistical tables, are also provided.
- Continues:
- Comprehensive annual report of the Director .... 1981/1982.
- [Lippincott: HJ 9013 .P6b25]
- Annual report of the Director .... 1973/1974-1980/1981.
- [Lippincott: HJ 9013 .P6b25]
- Financial report. 1952-1972/1973.
- [Lippincott: HJ 9013 .P6b25]
- Supplemental report of revenues and obligations. 1977/1978-present. Philadelphia: Office of the Director of Finance. Annual.
- [Lippincott: HJ 99013 .P6b25 Suppl. Latest in Reference]
- Compares actual revenues to adjusted revenue estimates and actual obligations to appropriations as adjusted and approved by City Council in the Operating Budget and Capital Budget ordinances.
- Continues in part:
- Report of bonded indebtedness. 1957-(1985/1986?).
- [Lippincott: HJ 9013 .P6h6]
- Annual report. 1975-present. Philadelphia: Dept. of Revenue. Annual.
- [Lippincott: HJ 9013 .P6b]
- "A detailed statement of the operation of the ... Revenue Department", its Tax Revenue and Water Revenue Bureaux, and its Direct Tax Enforcement, Self-Assessed Tax Enforcement, Compliance, and General Support Divisions.
Includes statistical tables showing collection histories of City and School District major revenue accounts. Provides summary schedules for current major revenues, with tax rates, due dates, and eligibility, and for tax rate changes since 1952.
- Continues:
- Annual report. 1953-1973/1974. Philadelphia: Dept. of Collections.
- [Lippincott: HJ 9013 .P6b]
- City Controller's Office.
- [URL: http://www.libertynet.org/citycont/index.html ]
- Pages provide "City Budget at a Glance" and executive summaries of the most recent city departments' audits.
- Pennsylvania Economy League, Eastern Division produces reports analyzing Philadelphia municipal government and financing, as well as on more general economic and business issues.
- A list of major PEL reports, 1987 to present, some with abstracts, is available online.
- [URL: http://www.libertynet.org/pel]
- The Penn Library receives all Pennsylvania Economy League, Eastern Division publications. Use keyword searching in Franklin, the online catalog of the Penn Library,
using corp pennsylvania economy league", to find the most recent Pennsylvania Economy League reports. Some recent publications are:
- Philadelphia revenue and expenditure comparisons: five-year comparison of Philadelphia and ten competitor cities. 1993.
- [Lippincott: HJ 9307 .P5 P48 1993]
- Neighborhood revitalization: a literature review of community redevelopment and the problem of displacement. 1988.
- [Lippincott: HT 175 .N3974 1988]
- Philadelphia Online Guide to Home Prices: Philadelphia. Philadelphia Online.
- [URL: http://home.phillynews.com/packages/homes/PHILA29.asp]
- Provides median sale price, price distribution, appreciation, turnover rate, and median years owned for Philadelphia ZIP codes, 1987, 1996, and 1997. Based upon Realist data.
- Philadelphia Office of Housing and Community Development. Year ... consolidated plan. 1995-present.
- [Van Pelt: HD 7304 .P5 P544. Latest in Reference.]
- Combines several separate annual reports previously issued, including Comprehensive housing affordability strategy and Annual performance report, federal fiscal year ....
- The Year 21 consolidated plan's executive summary has been made available online.
- [URL: http://www.hud.gov/cpes/pa/philadpa.html ]
- U.S. Bureau of the Census. American housing survey. Triennial publication cycle.
- [Lippincott Reference: CD-ROM]
- Some small area data, for AHS housing zones. Printed summaries also in Lippincott Reference.
- Assisted Housing: National and Local. U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, 1994.
- [URL: http://www.huduser.org/datasets/assthsg.html]
- Site offers access to several datasets and publications. More than 60 Philadelphia projects are described.
- Public, Assisted, and Native American Housing
- [URL: http://www.hud.gov/bshelf3a.html]
- Home Mortgage Disclosure Act data. Washington, D.C.: Federal Reserve Board.
- [Van Pelt Microforms: US Documents microfiche FR 1.63/38 (Pennsylvania, 1990-1992)]
- Annual compilation of home mortgage lending practices, reporting personal characteristics of applicants and recipients by census tract for individual lending institutions.
More detailed registers are maintained by the Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission [infra, under "Archival"].
- Two WWW sites provide Philadelphia HMDA data:
- HMDA Standard Reports. The Right to Know Network.
- [URL: http://rtk.net/www/data/hmda_gen.html ]
- Provides area searches (all loans within a specified area), bank searches, and market searches (loans within a specified area for each bank).
- Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA) statistics. Essential Information.
- [URL: http://www.essential.org/gis/hmda.html]
- Philadelphia City Deeds
- Microfilmed deed records up to 1952 are held by the City Archives (215 / 686-1581); deeds after 1952 are held in City Hall (215 / 686-2266). These records are available to the public.
- Philadelphia Tax Assessment Records
- Board of Revision of Taxes tax assessment records are kept in the records Center and City Archives, but remain in the custory of the Board of Revision of Taxes.
For public access to these records, approval must be received from the Board of Revision of Taxes (215 / 686-4343).
- Zoning code: as amended December 31, 1995. "1995 unofficial version". Philadelphia: Packard Press, 1995.
- [Fine Arts: KFX2132.1 .Z6 A45 1995]
- This version supplements the current official version, published as part of the Philadelphia Code (6th edition) (supra under "City Government").
- Zoning maps of the city of Philadelphia. Revised edition. Philadelphia: s.n., 1995.
- [Fine Arts Reference: Folio HT 168 .P43 Z63 1995]
- Philadelphia Graphics (1311 Sansom Street, Philadelphia, 215/546-3454) sells this bound set of the current zoning map sheets, 11" x 17", for $90. The city is covered in 111 sheets.
- Zoning maps are continually being revised by the Department of Licenses and Inspection upon recommendation by the Philadelphia City Planning Commission.
Most current zoning maps may be used at the Zoning Division, Department of Licenses and Inspections. In addition, current Philadelphia City Planning Commission zoning and building outline/land use maps at 1 :200 scale, 36" x 48", are available for purcha
se at Philadelphia Graphics. Each sheet costs $1.89.
- Zoning maps of the city of Philadelphia, prefaced by a review and chart summary of all zoning districts .... Philadelphia: Legal Intelligencer, 1973.
- [Fine Arts Reference: Folio HT 168 .P43 Z63]
- This edition was published complementary to the 1973 amended Philadelphia Zoning Code.
- Sanborn fire insurance maps, Pennsylvania, Philadelphia. 1916-1951. 8 microfilm reels.
- [Van Pelt Microforms: Microfilm 3839 (1916-1951) / Microfilm 4333 (1964-1980)]
- Building outline maps, drawn at 1:600 scale or 1" to 50' scale. A more complete description of these is provided in the Penn Library Web.
- Other older property and real estate maps depicting the Philadelphia area at similar scales can be found by searching Franklin,
the online catalog of the Penn Library, using the subject search philadelphia pa maps or by searching the Card Catalog using the same subject heading.
- Important atlas series were published by Griffith Morgan Hopkins (1870s-1880s), George Washington Bromley (1890s-1920s) and the Franklin Survey Company (1930s-1950s):
Penn Library holdings may also be found in Franklin, the online catalog of the Penn Library, or the Card Catalog using these authors as search terms.
- For more information, consult Lippincott Library Research Guide no. 18, "Metropolitan Philadelphia business resources"
- Vendor's guide: how to do business with the City of Philadelphia. Philadelphia: Philadelphia Procurement Department, 1996.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HD 3861 .U62 P4 1996]
- Doing business with the city of Philadelphia. 1998 edition.
- [URL: http://www.phila.gov/atservice/reports/procure98/frame.html]
- Penn Library - Philadelphia Economic Statistics - ZIP Code data
- [Penn Library Web, URL: http://www.library.upenn.edu/census/philecon/philecon.html]
- Online profiles of Philadelphia ZIP codes for manufactures, retail trade, and service industries, providing establishment and employment counts and (for retail and service establishments) payroll and
receipts/sales data by 4-digit Standard Industrial Classification code category. Derives from Economic census [infra].
- Economic census. Quinquennial. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Bureau of the Census.
- The Census Bureau conducts censuses of retail industries, service industries, manufacturing industries, agriculture, and related topics on a five-year cycle. The most recent economic census was conducted in 1992; publication is in progress.
- Recent economic censuses provide receipt, payroll, and employment data for establishments for SIC or "Kind-of-business" codes by County and -- in electronic data releases only -- by ZIP Code.
- 1992 Economic census [CD-ROM]. 1994- . 2 volumes.
- [Lippincott Reference Desk: HC 106.8 .E2727 1994]
- 1987 Economic census [CD-ROM]. 1989-1992. 2 volumes.
- [Lippincott Reference Desk: CD-ROM 12]
- Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia. Annual report. 1916-present. Annual.
- [Lippincott: HG 2613 .P54 F42]
- Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia. Business review. (1921)-present. Bi-monthly.
- [Lippincott: HC 107 .A12 A2]
- Research and Statistics Department, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia.
- [URL: http://www.frb.libertynet.org/econ/ ]
- Fulltext, often with tables and charts, of Business Review, Business outlook survey, "Beige Book": Commentary on Economic Conditions,
and Mid-Atlantic Manufacturing Index, monthly publications, most for the current month back to mid-1995.
- Region III - Philadelphia, Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor
- [URL: http://stats.bls.gov/ro3home.htm ]
- Fulltext of recent press releases, time series data (1986-present) for Consumer and Producer Price Indices, unemployment rate, average hourly earnings.
- Pennsylvania Small Business Development Centers
- [URL: http://www.libertynet.org:80/pasbdc/ ]
- These research centers provide entrepreneurs and small businesses with consulting, training, and business information. The local SBDCs are:
- Philadelphia and Camden empowerment zone strategic plan. Philadelphia: Office of the Mayor et al., 1994.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HC 108 .C22 P57 1994]
- The successful proposal establishing empowerment zones in North Philadelphia, West Philadelphia, and North Camden.
- Penn Library - Philadelphia/Camden Empowerment Zones
- [Penn Library Web, URL: http://www.library.upenn.edu/census/philaez.html ]
- Links to decennial census data and federal and local internet resources for the Philadelphia and Camden Empowerment Zone.
- The Bridge Project
- [URL: http://www.libertynet.org/~ln-ntia/ ]
- Links to internet resources for helping Philadelphia Empowerment Zones individuals and organizations fulfill the Strategic plan
[supra] and for projects of Philadelphia Empowerment Zones groups, committees, and trust boards.
- Jenner, Carol B. and Harry F. Lins. 1991. Climatic atlas of the Delaware River basin. U.S. Geological Survey Professional Paper 1392. Washington, D.C.: GPO.
- [Van Pelt Reference: QC 984 .D3 J46 1991]
- Goodwin, Bruce K. 1964. Guidebook to the geology of the Philadelphia area. Pennsylvania Bureau of Topographic and Geologic Survey, fourth series, Bulletin G41. Harrisburg: Dept. of Internal Affairs.
- [Van Pelt, Fine Arts: QE 158 .P5 G6]
- Includes a brief overview of Philadelphia areal geology, but primarily a vehicle to present eight field trips, four along Wissahickon Creek (Valley Green North, Valley Green South, Bell's Mill Road, and Covered Bridge)
and four suburban and rural quarries (Port Kennedy, Howellville, Bridgeport, and Glens Mills).
- Bascom, Florence et al. 1909. Description of the Philadelphia District (Norristown, Germantown, Chester, and Philadelphia quadrangles, Pennsylvania-New Jersey-Delaware.
U.S. Geological Atlas of the United States, Folio 162. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Geological Survey.
- [Map Collection at High Density Storage]
- Topographical map sheets overlaid with geologic information, with accompanying text. The most recent detailed exposition of Philadelphia's geology. 1:62,500 scale.
- Hall, Charles E. 1881. The geology of Philadelphia county and of the southern parts of Montgomery and Bucks. Second Pennsylvania Geological Survey, Report of Progress C6 and C7.
- [Van Pelt: 557.48 P381.1 vols C6 and C7]
- The first serious report on Philadelphia's geology, extremely dated. Maps in the atlas secion were constructed from 1887 Philadelphia Water Department surveys.
- Paulachok, Gary N. 1991. Geohydrology and ground-water resources of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. U.S. Geological Survey Water-supply paper W-2346. Washington, D.C.: USGS.
- [Van Pelt: TC 801 .U2]
- Prepared in cooperation with the Philadelphia Water Department.
- Paulachok, Gary N. and Charles R. Wood. 1984. Water-table map of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 1976-1980. U.S. Geological Survey Hydrologic investigations atlas HA-676. Washington, D.C.: USGS.
- [Van Pelt: G 3824 .P5C34 1984 P38]
- Prepared in cooperation with the Philadelphia Water Department. Scale: 1:50,000.
- Delaware Estuary Program. 1995. The Delaware estuary: discover its secrets [public review draft, comprehensive conservation and management plan for the Delaware Estuary]. 2 volumes. Philadelphia: The Program.
- [Van Pelt Reference, Fine Arts: TD 225 .D28 D459 1995]
- U.S. Geological Survey. State water-data reports: hydrologic records of the United States, 1990-1993.
- [Van Pelt Library Information Desk: CD-ROM 56]
- U.S. Geological Survey. Hydro-climatic data network streamflow data set, 1874-1988 [CD-ROM].
- [High Density Storage: QC 981.8 .C5 S53 1993]
- U.S. National Climatic Data Center. 1994. Global daily summary: temperature and precipitation, 1977-1991 [CD-ROM]. Version 1.0. Asheville, N.C.: NCDC.
- [Van Pelt Library Information Desk: QC 901 .A1 G56 1994]
- Pennsylvania monthly local climatological data. 1983- . Asheville, N.C.: National Climatic Data Center.
- [Van Pelt Microforms: Microfiche U.S. Doc C55.286/6-40]
- Van Pelt Microforms holds monthly local climatological data for the Delaware Valley states. Consult the U.S. Documents notebook at Van Pelt Reference Desk for more information on depository climatological data.
Also, the Bulletin, Inquirer regional, and Philadelphia almanacs (supra) provide useful presentations of daily data.
- Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection Philadelphia County Notebook.
- [PA DEP, URL: http://www.dep.state.pa.us/dep/counties/Philadelphia/Philadelphia.htm ]
- Provides information about DEP programs, grants, and enforcement actions. Links to DEP databases for air quality, Superfund sites.
- HAZDAT. U.S. Centers for Disease Control. Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry.
- [URL: http://atsdr1.atsdr.cdc.gov:8080/hazdat.html#a3.1.2]
- Hypertext form-driven access to ATSDR's Hazardous substance release / health effects database, providing information on the release of hazardous substance from Superfund sites or from emergency events.
Links to ATSDR's Public health statement texts provide substance-specific information. Queries allowed for site activity, site contaminant, toxic ological profile, and Public health statement texts.
- LANDVIEW III: environmental mapping software [CD-ROM]. 11 CD-ROMs. 1997. Washington, D.C.: Environmental Protection Agency.
- [Van Pelt Reference Moelis CD Area: HA 201 1990 .L26 1997]
- Mapping data with display software for 1990 Census geography down to Block groups and EPA-regulated sites selected from Aerometric Information Retrieval System, RCRA Biennial Reporting System,
CERCLA Information System (including National Priority List and non-NPL), Permit Compliance System, and Toxic Release Inventory System.
- U.S. Bureau of the Census. Summary Tape File 3B , ZIP code statistics, 1990 Census of Population and Housing.
- See "1990 Census" section [supra].
- Also online, URL: http://www.census.gov/cdrom/lookup
- The 1990 marketer's handbook: Volumes I and II, Pennsylvania ZIP code data. 2 vols. Middletown, PA: Pennsylvania State Data Center, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HA 603 .P46 1993]
- U.S. Bureau of the Census. 1992 Economic Census: Volume 2, ZIP code statistics. Washington, D.C.: B ureau of the Census, 1993- .
- [Lippincott Computer Area: HC 106.8 .E2727 1994]
- See "Business" section [supra]
- The Lifestyle ZIP code analyst. 1991- . Wilmette, Ill.: Standard Rate & Data Service.
- [Lippincott Reference: HF 5415.33 .U6 L56]
- Gould, Jay M. (Alice Tepper Marlin, ed.) Quality of life in American neighborhoods: levels of affluence, toxic waste,
and cancer mortality in residential ZIP code areas.
Boulder: Westview.
- [Van Pelt Reference: RA 645 .C3 G68 1986]
- Claritas Corporation. REZIDE: the national encyclopedia of residential ZIP code demography. Arlington, Va.: Claritas, 1983.
- [Lippincott Reference: HA215 .R49 1983]
- Reports 1980 Census data. Unlike most ZIP-code data publications: includes ZIP codes with no population, with brief note on nature of ZIP code.
- CACI, Inc.-Federal. Sourcebook of ZIP code demographics. 1990- . 7th edition- . Fairfax, Va.: CACI. Annual.
- [Lippincott: HA 203 .S66. Latest at Reference Desk]
- Continues Sourcebook of demographics and buying power for every ZIP code in the USA. "[1990] Census edition" is also at Lippincott Reference Desk: HA 203 .S662.
- CACI, Inc. Demographic sourcebooks [CD-ROM]. 1990 Census ed.
- [Lippincott Computer Area: HA 203 .S6622]
- Demographics USA. 1993- . New York: Market Statistics.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HF 5415.1 .S87]
- U.S. Bureau of the Census. Statistical abstract of the United States. 1878-present. Washington, D.C.: Bureau of the Census. Annual.
- [Van Pelt: HA 202. Latest year at Reference Desk. Latest 10 years in Reference]
- Online at: http://www.census.gov/statab/www/
- Statistical Universe. 1973-present (U.S. gov't sources), 1980-present (other sources). Congressional Information Service, Inc.
- [URL: http://www.lexis-nexis.com/statuniv/"]
- Bibliographic indexes, with detailed abstracts, for statistical
publications published by the U.S. government [ASI],
by U.S. state governments and private organizations [SRI],
and by major intergovernmental organizations [IIS]. The
Penn Library will own many of the items in these
sets: use Franklin to identify these.
- Free Library of Philadelphia's Government Publications Department owns
the ASI, SRI, and IIS microfiche
collections.
- State and local statistics sources. 1990/1991-present. 1st edition-present. Detroit, Mich.: Gale.
- [Van Pelt: HA 214 .S738. Latest in Reference]
- "A subject guide to statistical data on States, Cities, and Locales, covering agriculture, business, education, energy, environment, finance, labor, law enforcement, manufacturing, public welfare, real estate, taxation, transportation, [etc.]"
The first edition indexes serial or recurring publications issued by federal, state, and local governments, chambers of commerce, university economic and research bureaus, banks, research institutes, economic development agencies, and utility companies.
Geographic coverage includes the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.
- Entries are classified within 52 major subject headings for each State. Two appendices identify source publications and nonprint sources of statistical data.
- International City Management Association. Municipal year book. 1934-present. Washington, D.C.: ICMA.
- [Van Pelt: JS 344 .C5 A24. Latest at Reference Desk]
- "An authoritative resume of activities and statistical data of American cities, " treating municipal government operations. Contains useful bibliography of print and electronic sources for a broad range of urban topics.
- Two vertical files of City Planning student projects are maintained at the Fischer Fine Arts Library. The vertical files are in the First Floor Stacks, located east of the Folio Stacks.
- University of Pennsylvania, Graduate School of Fine Arts, City Planning Department. City Planning 600 [First-year Planning Workshop]. Reports.
- [Filed alphabetically by neighborhood or place name]
- University of Pennsylvania, Graduate School of Fine Arts, City Planning Department. City Planning Capstones and Professional Project Reports.
- [Filed alphabetically by author name]
- A large collection of uncataloged primary material (reports, plans, etc.) concerning city planning and municipal functions during the 1950s through 1970s is located in a vertical file in Van Pelt Library, Fifth Floor West, North Wall.
- Carroll-Horrocks, Beth and David M. Weinberg (eds.) 1998. Directory of archival and manuscript repositories in the Delaware Valley.
Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania. 2nd. ed.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: CD 3052 .D54 1998]
- A local guide to researching Philadelphia. 1994. Bryn Mawr: Bryn Mawr Urban Research Project.
- [Van Pelt Reference: F 158.29 .L63 1994]
- Philadelphia. Department of Records. Descriptive inventory of the archives of the city and county of Philadelphia. Philadelphia: 1970; supplements: 1972, 1973, 1980.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: CD 3478 .P5 A5]
- For more recent and complete information on archival holdings, contact the City Archives.
- Possibly superseded by PhILS [infra].
- Philadelphia record. 1995-present. Semiannual.
- [Van Pelt Reference: CD 33478 .P5 A252]
- The newsletter of the Philadelphia Department of Records, continuing:
- News letter. 1967-1993. Philadelphia: City Archives. Semiannual.
- [Van Pelt Reference: CD 3478 .P5 A25]
- Philadelphia Information Locator Service [PhILS]
- [URL: http://www.phila.gov/phils/phils.html]
- Electronic information about the records created by Philadelphia's government agencies, provided by the Free Library of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Department of Records.
Provides agency history and function, as well as descriptions of public records.
- Temple University, Urban Archives Center. Urban Archives notes. 1971-present. Philadelphia, Pa.: Temple University. Twice yearly.
- [Van Pelt Reference: CD 3478 .P5 U733]
- Urban Archives information, including Urban Archives notes, finding aids and file descriptions, are available online.
- [URL: http://www.library.temple.edu/urbana/ ]
- PACSCL photograph directory: eastern Pennsylvania, southern New Jersey, Delaware. 2 volumes. 1996. Philadelphia: Temple University, Samuel Paley Library, Urban Archives.
- [Van Pelt Reference and others: TR 12 .T4 1996]
- [URL: http://www.library.temple.edu/urbana/titdir.htm ]
- A detailed directory of institutional photographic resources.
- Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission is the depository archive for Home Mortgage Disclosure Act compliance reports from financial institutions in the Philadelphia PMSA.
Data are retained for five to seven years. These reports are summarized in Home Mortgage Disclosure Act data [supra under "Housing"].
- Sociological Abstracts [Online]. 1963-present.
Updates six times yearly.
- [Penn Library Web]
- The comprehensive bibliographic database for research in sociology and related disciplines worldwide. Provides citations, subject indexing, and abstracts of all articles in more than 240 core sociology journals and relevant articles
in more than 2200 journals in related fields, books and chapters in collective volumes, and dissertations; an excellent source for book reviews on social issues.
Corresponds to print-format Sociological abstracts, its Conference abstracts supplement, and International review of publications in sociology [all at Van Pelt Reference: HM1 .S67], which
covers more years, 1952-present, and Social planning, policy & development abstracts [Van Pelt Reference: HV40 .S643], 1979-(1993).
- Sage urban studies abstracts. 1973-present. Beverly Hills: Sage. Quarterly.
- [Van Pelt Stacks and latest 5 years in Reference: HT 51 .S24]
- Bibliographic citations, with long abstracts, for articles, books, and other materials in urban studies and comparative urban analysis, arranged by broad subject. Includes annual subject and author indexes.
- Urban affairs abstracts. 1971-1994. Washington, DC: National League of Cities / Center for Urban and Economic Research, University of Louisville. Monthly, with annual cumulation.
- [Van Pelt Stacks and latest 5 years in Reference: HT 123 .U7]
- Bibliographic citations, with abstracts, for articles intended "to give [U.S.] urban leaders the best in new approaches for conducting business and government", arranged by broad subject. Annual cumulation includes author and geographic indexes.
- PAIS International [Online]. 1980-present. Updates monthly.
- [Penn Library Databases]
- Indexes periodical articles, government documents, and other materials covering social and public policy in English and five other western languages.
- Corresponds to print-format PAIS or Public Affairs Information Service [Van Pelt Reference: JA1 .P356 and JA1 .P537], which covers many more years, 1915-(1993).
- Index to Current urban documents. 1972-present. Westport, CT: Greenwood. Quarterly, with annual cumulation.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HT 123 .I453]
- Bibliographic citations, some with brief annotations, for documents issued annually by "the largest cities and counties" in the U.S. and Canada. Arranged geographically, with subject index.
Most documents are included in Urban Documents Microfiche Collection, of which Temple University's Paley Library receives Pennsylvania and New York documents and Free Library of Philadelphia's Government Publications
Department receives annual reports from all cities.
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Last update: Wednesday, 13-Jun-2001 12:23:17 EDT
Send mail concerning this page to:
Lauris Olson
Social Sciences Bibliographer
Van Pelt Library/6206
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
215/898-0119
olson@pobox.upenn.edu