
I. Available at Penn Libraries
For a list of newspapers at Penn see Philadelphia
Newspapers at the Van Pelt Library, arranged by Date.
Philadelphia Inquirer
Online
- Searchable fulltext files of the Inquirer from 1987 to present.
Philadelphia
Online NewsLibrary
- Searchable fulltext files of Inquirer - 1981 to
present and Daily News - 1978 to present
- Updated daily
- Full text of previous week's articles is available at no charge and without
login.
- Full text of earlier articles requires password. Ask Van Pelt Reference
Librarians to log you on.
Philadelphia Inquirer, 1990 to present (Van Pelt
Reference Moelis CD Area)
- CD-ROM database, full text.
- Updated quarterly.
- Available to PENNcard holders only.
Philadelphia Inquirer, 1979-1980 (Van Pelt Microtext:
AI 21 .P5342)
- Philadelphia Inquirer State/Regional News Index
- The index covers state and regional news which appeared in the Philadelphia
Inquirer from January 1, 1979 to December 30, 1980.
- Certain types of articles such as theater and restaurant reviews are not
indexed.
Daily Pennsylvanian, ca. 1896-1984 (Van Pelt
Reference)
- Index to University of Pennsylvania publications includes Penn's student
newspaper, the Daily Pennsylvanian.
- Sports articles, letters to the editor, and editorials are only indexed
selectively.
- Ca. 1896 to Summer 1985 is on catalog cards in the Reference Department.
Ethnic
NewsWatch
Full-text access to almost 200 ethnic, minority and native press newspapers,
magazines, and journals. Publications are published in English or Spanish. Covers
1990 to the present.
- Includes Philadelphia Tribune, the area's largest African-American
newspaper
- Includes The Jewish Exponent, a major area paper which has
been published continuously since 1887.
Accessible
Archives
Full-text news sources include
- The Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
- The Pennslyvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County, 1819-1870, which includes
articles from four newspapers.
II. Available in other Philadelphia Libraries
Most of these indexes were created by newspaper staff for internal use. Each
has its own idiosyncrasies which can make it difficult to use. The indexes are
listed in approximate order of usefulness.
Philadelphia Evening Bulletin, ca. 1900 to January 1982
- Clipping file, arranged by subject.
- Primarily from the Philadelphia Evening Bulletin, but some clippings
also from the Philadelphia Inquirer and from defunct newspapers such
as the Record, Public Ledger, and North American.
- Consult Temple University's
Urban Archives for more information on these collections.
- Call Voice: (215) 204-8257, 5750
- Fax: (215) 204-3681
Philadelphia Press, 1898 to 1912
Public Ledger, 1914 to 1942
- Index to the Public Ledger covering 1914 to 1934 and the Evening
Public Ledger covering 1919 to 1942.
- On microfilm for the years 1914 to 1929.
- On index cards from 1930 to 1942. Note that there are entries for one year
only on each card.
- In the Database
and Newspaper Center of the Free Library of Philadelphia.
- Call 686-5431 for further information.
Philadelphia Record, ca. 1930 to 1947
- Philadelphia Record morgue.
- Folders of clippings and photographs arranged by subject.
- Housed at the Historical Society of Pennsylvania,
1300 Locust St.
- Researchers must describe their topic to a staff member who retrieves the
appropriate folders.
- Admission for students is $2 per visit.
- For further information call 732-6200 and ask for the Manuscripts Division.
Philadelphia Inquirer, ca. 1960 to 1978
- Index cards filed by subject in card catalog drawers.
- Available in the Free
Library's Database and Newspaper Center.
- Compiled by the staff of the Free Library.
- The staff of the Free Library made cards only for subjects which library
users inquired about frequently; thus, the coverage of the index is extremely
limited.
- Mostly from the Philadelphia Inquirer, with some from the Evening
Bulletin and other newspapers.
- Call 686-5431 for further information.
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update:
Wednesday, 13-Nov-2002 10:07:26 EST
Send mail concerning this page to: laallen@pobox.upenn.edu