- Contents
- I. Document Holdings at the Penn Library
- II. Finding Print Documents at Penn
- III. Key Indexes and Catalogs for Accessing or Identifying Documents
- IV. Executive, Legislative, Judiciary Branch Links
- V. Selected High Use Documents - Electronic and Print Versions
- American State Papers
| Bills
| Congressional Record
| Constitution
| Declassified Documents
| Federal Budget
| Foreign Relations
| Federal Register
| Hearings
| National Security Files
| Presidential/Executive Documents
| Public Laws
| Serial Set
| Staff Directories
| Statutes at Large
| Supreme Court Decisions
| U.S. Code
- VI. Key Statistical Sites from the U.S. Government
-
Major Statistical Sites
| Agriculture
| Crime
| Defense
| Economics
| Education
| Environment
| Health
| Housing
| Immigration
| Population
| Transportation
| Weather
- VII. Published Research Guides to Using U.S. Government Documents
- VIII. Document Depository Tools
The Penn Library has been a selective depository for U.S. government
documents since the end of the 19th century and holds a strong collection of
documents back to the founding of the nation. Franklin and the Main Card
Catalog in Van Pelt provide access to much of this material, but the Library
also has some uncataloged resources, particularly in microfiche.
Other Area Depositories -
The
Government Documents Department of the Free Library of Philadelphia at Logan
Square has a more complete depository collection than the University Library.
The State Library of Pennsylvania
in Harrisburg is a Regional Depository and receives nearly
all depository documents. Other Federal Depository libraries in the area
include: the Biddle Law Library and all other law schools, Temple, Swarthmore, Princeton, and Rutgers.
- Timeline of Major Document Resources at Penn Library
is a chronological list of the major Document text
resources at Penn and Indexes and Catalogs of the documents.
Period of coverage is indicated by the vertical line.
- Print Collections, the Library holds
many government publications in print form. Print titles are
cataloged and shelved in either the Dewey (some older works)
or Library of Congress classification systems
(both older and newer works).
Records of cataloged
documents are listed in Franklin. While all print documents
should be in Franklin now, some older titles are also still
listed in the old card catalog located in the
Reference area of Van Pelt. Search
under either the title of the publication or the originating
office as author: United States. Congress. House.
Committee on Foreign Affairs.
- Readex Microprint,
1956-1980. (Van Pelt Library Government Microforms Area: Microprint #5) -- From January
1956 through December 1980, the library has a complete collection
of U.S. government depository publications on microprint. These can be
identified by using the Monthly Catalog, in which
depository documents are marked by a 'bullet'. The microprint is arranged
by year and MoCat entry number.
- Readex Microfiche,
1980-1985. (Van Pelt Library Government Microforms Area) -- From January 1980 to December 1985,
the Readex republication of all depository documents was received on
microfiche. We discontinued this subscription in 1985.
- Depository Microfiche,
1981- . (Van Pelt Library Government Microforms Area)
Penn libraries select approximately 45% of the U.S. government
documents available on deposit. Although many depository documents
are received in paper and are cataloged on Franklin, a larger number
are available only on microfiche. Documents on microfiche are arranged
by SuDocs number. Use the Monthly Catalog,
RLIN/Eureka, and OCLC's WorldCat to find SuDocs numbers.
Local Catalogs
- Uncataloged Items
- The bulk of Penn Library document holdings
(see printed Serial Set, Readex Microprint, Readex microfiche,
Depository microfiche) are not cataloged.
Various indexes must be used to identify these items.
- Franklin, the Penn Library online catalog.
- There are many fully cataloged U.S. paper documents from all
time periods in the Penn collection.
For example: many publications
of the Census Office (after 1910, the Bureau of the Census) and
selected congressional committee reports, documents,
prints, and hearings from the 1920's through to the present are held.
Currently some U.S. depository microfiche
and all U.S. depository CD-ROM's are cataloged in Franklin.
All documents listed in the old card catalog, should now
be found also in Franklin.
- Item Lister
- Use this resource to find out which items numbers are currently recieved by
the Penn Library depostiory. Our depository number is 0513B.
Use RLIN or Worldcat to discover the item number for a particular document.
- Depository List.
- Last hand edited in 1994, the printed Depository List identified
those categories of U.S. government documents which were available for
selection on deposit at that time. It is arranged by Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs)
number. Our copy of the List was marked for the categories selected by
Penn libraries and therefore likely to be included in our microfiche
collections. Use the Monthly Catalog and RLIN/Eureka to find SuDocs numbers.
Current
- GPO Access
- Includes the full-text of many noteable executive, legislative, and judicial government publications.
- Web Indexes to Documents and Government Information
- FirstGov
- U.S. Federal Government Agencies Directory - LSU Libraries
- Federal Citizen Information Center, National Contact Center
- Federal Government Resources on the Web - University of Michigan Documents Center
- Federal Web Locator - Information Center at Chicago-Kent College of Law, Illinois Institute of Technology
- FedWorld.gov
- WorldCat - OCLC Firstsearch Union Catalog
- Most publications of the GPO for recent years will be listed in
Worldcat. Not all libraries catalog their government document
holdings.
- RLIN/ (RLG Union Catalog)
- Many
publications of the Government Printing Office from the late 1960s are included in the RLIN
Union Catalog. The bibliographic information includes the
Superintendent of Documents number (SuDocs #), by which our microfiche
collection (1980- ) of depository documents is arranged. Not all libraries catalog their government document holdings.
- Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government
Publications, 1893- .
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1223 A18]
- Since 1940, the Monthly
Catalog is the most comprehensive index to publications of all U.S.
government departments and the Congress. The Document
Catalog is preferred for the period 1893-1940.
The arrangement is by
government agency. Indexes refer to Monthly Catalog (MoCat)
entry numbers. Entries provide full bibliographic information and
Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) Number.
A web version of the
Monthly Catalog covers 1994
to the present and a Telnet version
covers 1976 to the present.
The bibliographic
records are also available on RLIN/Eureka and OCLC WorldCat from 1976.
- CIS Index, and
CIS Annual, 1970- .
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: JK 1001 C65]
- Catalogs, abstracts, and indexes all publications
of Congress, except Bills and the Congressional Record. Covers
Reports, Documents, Committee Prints, and Hearings. Includes Legislative
Histories of Public Laws. Indexes by subject, name (author, witness),
bill, report, and document number.
Retrospective
- CIS U.S. Serial Set Index.
Washington, Cong. Info. Serv., 1975-.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: J 74 C66 1975]
- A comprehensive index, based on the enhanced titles of
the more than 325,000 documents contained in the American State
Papers and the Serial Set.
Each entry gives document title,
publication series & number, congress and session, and Serial Set
volume number. There is a separate index of names and
organizations as subjects of private relief and a numerical list
of reports and documents and schedule of Serial Set volume
numbers. There is a one volume index by reported bill numbers,
1819-1969.
- Document Catalog
1893-1940. 25 vols.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1223 A13]
- The most
complete index to all types of U.S. documents for the period
1893-1940. Lists government authors, personal authors, and
subjects in a single alphabet and gives full bibliographic
information at each entry, including Serial Set numbers when
present.
- Poore, Benjamin Perley.
A Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States, September 5,
1774-March 4, 1881.
New York, Johnson Reprint Corp., [1970].
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1223 A 1885a]
- Ames, John G. Comprehensive index to the publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893.
Washington, Govt. Print. Off., 1905 ; Ann Arbor, J.W. Edwards, 1953.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1223 A2 1953]
-
Checklist of United States public documents 1789-1909, congressional: to close of Sixtieth
Congress, departmental: to end of calendar year 1909.
3rd. ed. Washington, Govt. Print. Off., 1911-.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1223 A115]
- American State Papers. 38 vols. 1789-1838
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: 328.73 6a; also Documents Room Microprint 4]
- A reprint of records covering the early sessions of Congress. Generally
considered a part of the Serial Set. Indexed by the Serial Set
Index.
- New American State Papers.
176 vols. --
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: location varies]
- Selected reprints of House and Senate
Documents, covering
the 15th through the 36th Congresses, issued in separately
cataloged topical series:
Agriculture, 19 vols. (HD 1759 U55
1973); Commerce & Navigation, 47 vols. (HF 3025 U53 1973);
Indian Affairs, 13
vols. (E93 U938 1972); Public Finance, 32 vols. (HJ 249 U55 1972);
Public Lands, 8 vols. (HD 171 A222 1973); Science &
Technology, 14 vols. (Q 127 U6 U485 1973)); Explorations & Surveys,
15 vols. (G 220 N48);
Labor & Slavery, 7 vols. (E 441 N48); Manufactures, 9 vols. (HD 9726 N48);
Social Policy, 5 vols. (HN 56 N48); Transportation, 7 vols. (HE 195 U53 N48)
For indexing, use the Serial Set Index with the
New American State
Papers Correlation List; Serial Set Numbers to Section Title and
Vol. Numbers. for selected Serial Set volumes from
2-ca.1100. [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1223 Z7 H6].
Online
- Congressional Universe

Includes Hot bills and topics section, Bill Tracking from 1989 to the present,
and full text bills from 1989 to the present.
- THOMAS - Legislative Information on the Internet
Includes the full-text of House and Senate Bills for the 101st Congress (1989-90) to the present,
bill summary and status from 1973 to the present, as well as lists of hot bills by
topic, popular name, and number.
- Congressional Bills - from GPO Access
Includes access to Congressional Bills from the 103rd Congress (1993-1994) to the present.
Other Formats:
All bills from August 1979 -
present (96th Congress, 1st session) are available in microfiche [Van
Pelt Library Reference Gov Docs Room]. Bills on fiche are arranged by
Congress and session, and then by SuDoc number. Use the Cumulative
Finding Aid, House and Senate Bills to determine the fiche location of
a bill [Van Pelt Reference Desk: KF 15 U547]. Earlier bills are
available on microprint [Van Pelt Library Reference Gov Docs Room: Microprint #5].
Documents in the microprint collection are arranged by Monthly Catalog
number.
- Arrangement of bills on microfiche is by Congress, then by SuDoc
number:
- Y 1.4/1: Congress -(nos) Senate Bills (S.)
Y 1.4/2: Congress -(nos) Senate Resolutions (S.Res.)
Y 1.4/3: Congress -(nos) Senate Joint Resolution (S.J.Res.)
Y 1.4/4: Congress -(nos) Senate Concurrent Resolutions (S. Con.Res.)
Y 1.4/6: Congress -(nos) House Bills (H.R.)
Y 1.4/7: Congress -(nos) House Resolutions (H.Res.)
Y 1.4/8: Congress -(nos) House Joint Resolutions (H.J.Res)
Y 1.4/9: Congress -(nos) House Concurrent Resolutions
(H.Con.Res.)
Free Library has:
- 1st-72nd Congress (1789-1932) on microfilm.
- 73rd - 96th Congress (1933-1980) on fiche.
- 97th (1981 - present) on depository fiche.
- Congressional Universe

Full-text of the Congressional Record from 1985 to the present.
- GPO Access - Congressional record
Full-text from 1995 to present,
Congressional Record Index from 1983 to the present.
- THOMAS, Legislative Information on the Internet
Access to the full text of the Congressional Record from the 101st Congress to the present, as well as
the Congressional Record Index from 1994 to the present.
-
A Century of Law Making for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents
and Debates, 1774-1873
Annals of Congress (1789 to 1824),
Register of Debates (1824-1837),
and Congressional Globe (1833-1873).
- Congressional Record.
- Daily issues [Van Pelt Reference Documents Room], recent year.
Bound edition (paper) [Van Pelt Library Stacks: J11.R5], 1874 - present, [1985-1989, incomplete].
Bound edition (microfiche) [Van Pelt Library Reference Gov Docs Room: U.S. Documents - X/97/1 - X/98/2], 1981-1984.
- Annals of Congress (1789 - 1824)
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: J 11 .A5]
- Register of Debates (1824 - 1837)
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: J 11 .D5]
- Congressional Globe (1833 - 1873)
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: J 11 .R5]
- Constitution of the United States of America - via GPO Access
- Constitution of the United States - National Archives and Records Administration
- Declassified Documents Reference System Online
- Covers declassified documents issues from 1941 through the 1990. Documents
have been declassified since 1974. Document types
include correspondence and memoranda, minutes of cabinet meetings, technical studies,
national security policy statements, and intelligence reports.
- Declassified Documents Catalog, 1975- . Woodbridge, CT.,
Research Publications.
- Provides abstracting
and subject indexing of over 70,000 U.S. government documents from the
CIA, Department of State, National Security Council,
Department of Defense, FBI and other government departments and agencies,
which were formerly classified as "Top Secret", "Secret", or "Confidential"
and have been declassified under the provisions of the Freedom of
Information Act. Made available by the Library of Congress and the
Presidential Libraries. (Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z1223 A1 D325).
- The Declassified Documents Reference System.
Woodbridge, Ct., Research Publications. The text of the Declassified
Documents on microform, 1975- .
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 956]
- Budget of the United States Government.
- Federal Budget publications back to 1996.
- United States. Bureau of the Budget. The budget of the United States Government.
Washington, D.C. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off.]
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HJ2051 .A595], 1935/36-1956/57, 1968/69-1970/71, 1988,1997-present,
latest in Reference.
- [Lippincott Library Stacks: HJ2051 .A59], 1935/1936 - present.
- Papers Relating to the Foreign
Relations of the United States 1870-1931.
Washington, D.C.: G. P. O.,
1870-1931.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 233 A3; microfiche 483, 1870-1931]
- Foreign Relations of the United States,
1932- . Washington, D.C.: The Department. U.S. G.P.O., 1948- Library
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX 233 A3], 1932-1964/68 and continuing.
The Foreign Relations of the United States is an important source of information about American foreign policy. It
constitutes the State Department's official record and provides access to previously classified material that
otherwise would be unavailable. Simultaneously, its status as the official record also compromises its
completeness, since it is heavily edited, with much material remaining classified.
It is organized by year or groups of years, with geographical or topical sub-divisions.
Many volumes deal with specific countries at specific times. For many years some volumes are
simply labelled "general" to include those documents that do not fall into more specific categories.
The documents in each volume are arranged chronologically.
Each document has notes indicating its source
and, where necessary, annotations providing contextual information or data relating the document to others.
There is also a table of sources and abbreviations at the beginning of each volume, and each volume has its own
detailed subject and author index.
Cumulative indexes, shelved with the set, cover 1861-1899 and 1900-1918 (but the latter does not include the
volumes dealing with World War I or the Russian Revolution).
The World War II years (1939-1945) are covered in a commercially-produced index
(Van Pelt Library Reference: JX 1416 C85). These
volumes have several sub-series relating to special topics.
- Foreign Relations of the United States - from the State Department.
- Includes many volumes online.
-
The Federal Register is published by the Office
of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). It is the
official publication for Presidential Documents and Executive Orders, as
well as Notices, Rules and Proposed Rules from Federal agencies and
organizations. The Federal Register is published Monday through Friday,
except Federal holidays.
- Federal Register.
Washington, D.C. : [Office of the Federal Register,
National Archives and Records Service, General Services
Administration] : Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O.
Vol. 1, no. 1 (Mar. 14, 1936)-
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: Latest yr. & previous yr. shelved with govt. documents.)
- [Biddle Law Library Govt. doc# AE 2.106],
Lib. has v.1(1936)- present, some volumes are incomplete.
Backfile on 6th floor.
See also Fiche S24, Film S231 and Microopaque S2.
- Indexed by: Federal register index, (cumulates
monthly to annual index) ; and by: CIS Federal
Register Index, 1984- .
- Federal
Register Online via GPO Access 1994- .
- For hearings at Penn, see Van Pelt Library Guide on Congressional Hearings
- Congressional Hearings on the Web - from the University of Michigan Documents Center
- Congressional Universe
Congressional Universe has written submitted testimony for
almost all congressional hearings from 1993
forward. There are transcripts of discussion sessions from selected hearings.
Coverage from 1988 to 1993 is less comprehensive.
- Congressional Hearings - GPO Access
Limited number of hearings from the 105th Congress, 1997 - .
National Security Files
Bethesda, Md., University Publications of America, 1996.
- The working
files of John F. Kennedy's and Lyndon B. Johnson's special assistants for
national security affairs: including memos, cables, intelligence
reports, correspondence, and special studies, having to do with foreign
affairs and national security. The "Country files" are arranged by
geographic area and then by country. In 19 cataloged sets, on multiple
reels of microfilm, under various numbers, in the Van Pelt Microforms Area.
Search Franklin by keyword for "national security files". Printed Reel
Indexes, with author and subject indexes, are shelved at the service desk in
the Microforms Area.
The Lyndon B. Johnson national security files, 1963-1969.
- Africa (Microfilm 4330)
- Asia and the Pacific (Microfilm 3987)
- Asia and the Pacific, first supp. (Microfilm 4327)
- Asia and the Pacific (Microfilm 3987)
- Israel national security files, 1963-1969 (Microfilm 4329)
- Latin America (Microfilm 4322)
- Middle East (Microfilm 3988)
- United Nations (Microfilm 4326)
- USSR and Eastern Europe (Microfilm 4325)
- Vietnam, special subjects 1963-1969 (Microfilm 4323)
- Vietnam, first suplement (Microfilm 4320)
- Vietnam, Nov 1963 - June 1965 (Microfilm 4321)
- Western Europe (Microfilm 4328)
The John F. Kennedy national security files. 1961-1963.
- Africa (Microfilm 4331)
- Asia and the Pacific (Microfilm 3985)
- Latin America (Microfilm 4314)
- The Middle East, (Microfilm 3986)
- The U.S.S.R. and Eastern Europe (Microfilm 4324)
- Vietnam (Microfiom 4332)
- Western Europe (Microfilm 4319)
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, 1993- .
- Print version. [Van Pelt Library: J 80 A284; latest in Reference], 1965 - .
- [full text, on Academic Index, 1996 - ]
- [GPO Access, 1997- ]
-
Published every Monday by the Office of the Federal Register,
National Archives and Records Administration and
contains statements, messages, and other Presidential materials released by
the White House during the preceding week.
Texts of
Addresses,
Bill Signings, Communications to Congress and Federal Agencies, Executive
Orders, Interviews, Statements, etc. Quarterly, semi-annual, and annual
name and subject indexes. -- Most documents are eventually
included in: Public Papers of the Presidents
of the United States, 1929-33, 1945- (Van Pelt J 80 A283).
- Clinton Presidential Materials Project
- Includes press briefings, radio addresses, Executive Orders, and all other publicly
released White House publications between January 20, 1993 through January 20, 2001.
- Texas A&M's White House Archives
- This site offers archived Presidential documents from 1992 through September, 1995.
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
- Contains the papers of Clinton from 1995 forward.
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, 1929-33, 1945-
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: J 80 A283].
- See also:
Roosevelt, Franklin. Public Papers and Addresses.
13 vols. [Van Pelt Library Stacks: 973.917 R675.2]
- U.S. Executive Branch
Documents, 1789-1909: guide to documents listed in
the Checklist of U.S. public documents, 1789-1909, NOT printed in
the U.S. Serial set. C.I.S, 1990- 6 vols in 24.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: JK 411 C53 1990]
- The accompanying set of over 25,000
microfiche is not owned by the Library. Univ of Calif at LA,
Southern Univ, Boston Public, Univ of N. Carolina, Cleveland Pub
hold the microfiche and will lend. -- Some documents may be found in
Franklin or the card catalog. Search RLIN Bib and WorldCat for others.
- CIS Presidential Executive Orders and Proclamations
. Wash, CIS. Covers 1789-1983.
- (Free Library of Philadelphia
Central Government Publication Microfiche 347.3026 C47p)
- CIS index to U.S. Executive Branch
Documents, 1910-1932 : guide to documents not printed in the U.S.
serial set. Bethesda, MD:
Congressional Information Service, c1996- v.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JK 411 C532 1996], pt.1:v.1-5 pt.2:v.1-6
- Congressional Universe
Full text of all Public Laws from 1988 to the present. Public laws are
added to the database within 10 days after they are passed. Congressional Universe
includes The Statutes at Large from 1789 to the present.
- GPO Access - Public Laws
Public Laws for the 104th Congress (1995-1996) to the present.
- THOMAS - Legislative Information on the Internet
Includes Public Laws from 1973 to the present.
- Serial Set 15th
Cong.- , 1817- .
- [High Density Storage], volumes 1 (15th Congress, 1817) through 13167 (94th Congress, 1967).
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: J 74 A22], 13168 (95th Congress, 1968) to the present.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Documents Room: Microprint #4], 1817-1960, volumes 1-13167.
- Sequentially numbered bound volumes of
congressional reports and documents.
Besides committee reports
relating to pending legislation, the Serial Set included the
House and Senate Journals from 1818-1954. In the 19th century,
approximately 50% of Senate and House Documents were reprints of
executive branch or departmental publications.
It is worth
considering the Serial Set as a source of all types of government
publications into the first quarter of the 20th century.
Use the Numerical List at [Van Pelt Library Refrence: Z 1223 .A15]
to convert document numbers to Serial Set numbers.
- Statutes at Large, 1789-
(Containing the Acts of Congress, including the Public Laws of the U.S.)
- Online: All statutes are available via
Congressional Universe.
Choose Laws, the Statutes at Large.
- Print: The Statutes at Large from 1964 to the present are in the Van Pelt
Stacks at KF 50 U58. The most recent Public Laws may be found online. The
Biddle Law Library holds the Statutes at Large from 1789 to the
present. From 1789 to 1873, the text of the statutes can be found in the
appendices to each volume of the three forerunners to the
Congressional Record:
Annals of Congress (J 11 A5), Register of Debates
(J 11 D5), and Congressional Globe (J 11 G5).
- The Public Statutes at Large of the United States of America .., 1789-1845.
Buffalo, N.Y. : Dennis & Co., 1963
- [Biddle Law Library: KF 50 U5], v.1-8 1789-1845
- The Statutes at Large of the United States of America
, 1851-1936.
Washington, U.S. Govt. Print. Off.
- [Biddle Law Library: KF 50 U5], v.9(1851)-v.20(1877-1879), v.22(1881-1883)-v.49(1936).
- United States Statutes at Large, 1937- .
Washington : Published by authority of law under the direction of the
Administrator of General Services by the Office
of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Service :
Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 1937-
- [Biddle Law Library: KF 50 U5], vol. 50 to the present.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: KF 50 U58], v.78 (1964)-v.101:pt.3 (1987), v.106:pt.1 (1992)-present
- Alternative source: From 1789 to 1873, the text of the statutes can be found in
the appendices to each volume of the three forerunners to the
Congressional Record:
Annals of Congress, 1789-1824; (Van Pelt J 11 A5), Register of
Debates, 1824-1837; (Van Pelt J 11 D5), and
Congressional Globe, 1852-1873 (Van Pelt J 11 G5).
- Search Supreme Court Decisions, 1937 - 1975 and
U.S. Supreme Court Opinions 1992 - , both from GPO Access.
- FindLaw: U.S. Supreme Court Opinions
US Supreme Court decisions from 1893 to the present,
from volume 150 of the US Reports.
- Decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court
Text of decisions from May, 1990 to the present. Plus over 600 historic cases.
Compliments of Legal Information Institute, Cornell University
- FedWorld/FLITE Supreme Court Decisions
Text of decisions from 1937 to 1975.
- Oyez Project - Northwestern University
Information about major constitutional cases heard and decided by the Supreme Court.
Digital records of Court proceedings in RealAudio.
- Congressional Universe
Current version.
- U.S. Code - U.S. House of Representatives
- United States Code - Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School
- Based on the version provided by the U.S. House.
- GPO Access
- The United States Code is prepared and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel,
U.S. House
of Representatives, and contains the general and permanent laws of the United States
in effect as of January 1994, plus supplements, and some volumes of the 2000 Code.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis, U.S.Department of Labor
- Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor
- Office of Policy, Research and Statistics, Social Security Administration
- Budget of the United States Government, FY 1996 - current
- Bureau of Labor Statistics Data, U.S. Department of Labor - Consumer Price Index (CPI), Producer Price Index (PPI), etc.
- County Business Patterns - 1993 - present; from the Bureau of the Census
- County Business Patterns, 1977-1995 - University of Virginia, Social Sciences Data Center
- Economic Census
- Economic Indicators, 1995 - present.
- Economic Report of the President GPO Access, 1996- present
- Economic Report of the President 1992 - 1994 - University of Missouri, SL
- Economics Statistics Briefing Room
- Occupational Outlook Handbook (latest)
- Regional Economic Information System (REIS) - University of Virginia
provides local area economic data for states,
counties, and metropolitan areas for 1969-1992.
- State Personal Income, 1958 - 2000 - University of Virginia, Social Sciences Data Center
- Morehead, Joe. Introduction to United States Government
Information Sources. 6th ed. Englewood, Colo., Libraries
Unlimited, 1999.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: ZA5055.U6 M67 1999]
- Herman, Edward. Locating United States Government
Information; a Guide to Sources. 2d ed. Buffalo,
Hein, 1997. 580p.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: J 83 H47 1997]
- Sears, Jean. Using Government Information Sources;
print and electronic. 2d ed. Phoenix, Oryx, 1994. 539p.
Index. Subject search, agency search, statistical search, special techniques:
legislative history, budget, treaties, etc.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: J 83 S4 1994]
- Robinson, Judith. Tapping the Government Grapevine;
the User-friendly Guide to U.S. Government Information Sources
3rd ed. Phoenix, Oryx, 1999.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: J 83 R633 1998]
- Schmeckebier, Laurence. Government publications and their use.
2d ed. Washington, Brookings Institution, 1969. 502p.
- The
standard guide until replaced by Morehead.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: Z 1223 Z7 S3 1969]
- Boyd, Anne. United States Government Publications
3d. ed. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1949. 627p.
- Superseded in part by
Schmeckebier but still useful for historical purposes.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1223 Z7 B7 1950]
- Kurian, George. A Historical Guide to the U.S. Government
. N.Y., Oxford Univ. Pr., 1998. 741p. Index.
- An A-Z historical
profile of government departments and agencies.
Appendix of basic documents..
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: JK 9 H57 1998]
- Librarian's Guide to Public Records.
Tempe, BRB Pubs., 1995.
299p.
- 11,500 major
federal, state, and county public
record locations.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: JK 468 P76 L53995]
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update: Saturday, 28-Dec-2002 10:43:45 EST
Send mail concerning
this page to Van Pelt Reference at
lynn@pobox.upenn.edu