
This annotated, selective bibliography lists primarily reference works
on the history of
France from the early times through the modern period.
Most titles in the
bibliography are in the Reference collection; material in the stacks
is do designated. Many other reference works
are available and are not listed in this bibliography.
For assistance in finding and using both the material listed here and
other useful works,
please ask for assistance at the Van Pelt Library Reference Desk.
- CONTENTS
-
- I. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- II. Bibliographies
- III. Franklin, Penn's Library Catalog
- IV. Indexes to Scholarly Articles
- V. Chronologies
- VI. Biography
- VII. Histories
- VIII. News Sources
- IX. Statistical Resources
- X. Atlases and Maps
- XI. Primary Sources
I. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Encyclopaedia Britannica: a dictionary of arts, sciences, literature and general information. 11th edition.
Cambridge, Eng., New York, At the University press, 1910-11.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: AE5 .E36], v.1-29.
- Historical Dictionary of Napoleonic France, 1799-1815.
Edited by Owen Connelly [and] Harold T. Parker, Peter W. Becker, and June K.
Burton.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1985.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DC201 .H673 1985]
- Historical Dictionary of France from the 1815 Restoration to the Second Empire.
Edited by Edgar Leon Newman
New York : Greenwood Press, c1987.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DC256 .H57 1987]
- Historical Dictionary of the Third French Republic, 1870-1940 .
Patrick J. Hutton, editor-in-chief. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1986.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DC337 .H57 1986]
- Historical Dictionary of World War II France: the Occupation, Vichy, and the Resistance, 1938-1946.
/ edited by Bertram M. Gordon.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1998.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DC397 .H58 1998]
- Historical Dictionary of the French Fourth and Fifth Republics, 1946-1991.
Wayne Northcutt, editor-in-chief. New York : Greenwood Press, 1992.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DC401 .H57 1992]
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture.
Edited by Alex Hughes and Keith Reader.
London ; New York : Routledge, 1998.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DC33.7 .E53 1998]
- French Culture, 1900-1975.
Series Dictionary of Twentieth Century Culture.
Edited by Catharine Savage Brosman.
Detroit : Gale Research, c1995.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DC33.7 .F726 1995 ]
- Aplin, Richard. A Dictionary of Contemporary France.
Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, c1999. 1993.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DC415 .A65 1999]
- Dictionnaire des Intellectuels Français : les personnes, les lieux, les moments .
sous la direction de Jacques Julliard et Michel Winock ; avec la collaboration de Pascal Balmand,
Christophe Prochasson.
Paris : Editions du Seuil, c1996.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DC33.7 .D53 1996]
II. Bibliographies
French Bibliographies
For additional listings of older, classic bibliographies of
French history, see Guide to Reference Books, 9th edition
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: Z1035.1 S43 1976], pp. 637-639.
- Bibliothèque nationale (France). Département des imprimés.
Catalogue de l'histoire de France.
Paris, Firmin Didot frères, 1855-79.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2176 .P23]
- Comprehensive catalog of books, pamphlets, etc. printed before 1875 on the history of France. Listed subject groupings
with an author index. There is a table of authors [Reference: Z2176 .P23 Table] and six supplements [Reference: Z2176 .P231]
- Rèpertoire bibliographique de l'histoire de France..
Paris : A. Picard, 1923-1938.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2179 .R43]
Standard bibliography for France to 1914, listing books and
periodical writings in various languages. Arranged by subject
with name and place index. Followed by:
- Bibliographie annuelle de l'histoire de France du cinquième siècle à...1939, 1945, 1958... .
Paris : Éditions du Centre national de la recherche scientifique.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DC38 .B535],1953/1954-1963, 1964-1974, 1975-1999
Of the last set (è 1958) earlier volumes in Van Pelt Library Stacks]
- Bibliographie Annuelle de l'histoire de France du Cinquième Siècle à 1958.
Paris: Editions du Centre
national de la recherche scientifique.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DC38 .B535], latest five years, earlier in stacks.
-
Recent Bibliographies
- American Historical Association's Guide to Historical
Literature. 3rd ed. New York : Oxford University Press, 1995.
2 v.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: D20 .A55 1995]
- Contains nearly 27,000 annotated citations (primarily to
English language works) divided into forty-eight
sections; most citations refer to works published
between 1961 and 1992. Includes indexes.
Section 26 covers France since 1789, pp. 842-869.
The first edition from 1931 [Van Pelt Library
Stacks: Z 6201 G94] and the second edition from 1961
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: D20 .A55] will provide other
useful listings.
- Bibliographie de l'histoire médéivale en France (1965-1990) / textes rúnis par Michel Balard
Paris : Publications de la Sorbonne, 1992.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DC61 .B53 1992]
- Works published on medieval France. Mostly works in
French, some in other languages.
- Barbier, Frédéric. Bibliographie de l'histoire de France.
Paris ; New York: Masson, 1987, c1986.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DC38 .B3 1987]
- Evleth, Donna.
France Under the German Occupation, 1940-1944:
an Annotated Bibliography.
New York : Greenwood Press, 1991.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D802.F8 E95 1991]
- Handbook of French Popular Culture.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DC33.7 .H29 1991]
- Young, Robert J. French Foreign Policy, 1918-1945: a Guide to Research and Research Materials.
Rev. ed. Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources, 1991.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DC369 .Y686 1991]
- Ross, Steven T. French Military History, 1661-1799: a Guide to the Literature.
New York : Garland Pub., 1984.
- [Van Pelt Library: DC46.7 .R68 1984]
- Osburn, Charles B. Research and Reference Guide to French Studies.
2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1981.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PC2071 .O82 1981]
III. Franklin, Penn's Library Catalog
Franklin
lists books, journals titles (but not articles within journals), conference
proceedings, and other library materials at the Penn Libraries.
When looking for works on a topic in Franklin, try
searching both by subject heading and by keyword(s).
Use Subject Heading searches based on the formal
subject headings listed in the four printed volumes of the Library of
Congress Subject Headings located at the Van Pelt reference desk.
Some sample headings are listed below.
France--antiquities
France--history
France--foreign relations
France--politics and government
France--economic conditions
France--social life and customs
art--france
art, french
art, renaissance--france
catholic church--france
church and state--france
family--france
feudalism--france
france edit de nantes
french--north america--history
henry IV, king of france, 1553-1610
honor--france--history--19th century
huguenots--france
land tenure--france
labor and laboring classes--france
merchants--france
middle class--france
music--france
nobility--france
peasantry--france
protestants--france
science--france--history
women--france
world war, 1914-1918--france
world war, 1939-1945--france
Keyword searches look for the search terms anywhere in the record, i.e.
the author, subject, title fields, etc. Once you have found a record of interest, look
at the "full view" to see the subject headings assigned to that work.
"resistance" AND "world war 1939"
IV. Indexes to Scholarly Articles
Use the following indexes to identify
journal articles and other works that
have been published on a topic or by an author. Major indexes for history and
related fields are listed here.
Networked indexes are underlined and accessible
from the databases page;
call numbers and locations are provided for printed indexes.
History
- Historical Abstracts.
- Covers the history of the world outside North America.
Indexes books and journals published since 1973. Excludes book reviews.
Printed version of Historical Abstracts
began in 1955, See [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D299 .H52] for years
not covered online.
- America: History & Life. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1964 - .
- Covers U.S. and Canadian history. Publications from
1964 to the present.
- Useful for works on French exploration and
colonization in North America.
- C.R.I.S.: the Combined Retrospective Index Set to
Journals in History, 1838-1974 .
Washington: Carrollton Press, 1977-1978.
11 v.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D1 .C18]
- Indexes 243 English-language journals covering all areas of history.
Volume III covers France; sections
include France to 1609, 1610-1785, 1800-1815, 1815-1869, 1870-1913,
1914-1919, 1920-1939, 1940-1945, 1946-1974, economics and agriculture,
military, religion, social and cultural, biography and geneology.
Within each section, listings are by keyword.
- International Bibliography of Historical Sciences.
Paris: Librairie Armand Colin, 1926-1992. 61 v.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: D1 .B565]
Latest 5 years in
reference.
- v.1 (1926)-v.14 (1939),v.16 (1947)-v.61 (1992).
No longer published. Major ongoing bibliography for history in first half of this century.
Multidiciplinary (and older peridicals)
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature: 1802-1881. 2 vols.
Rev. ed. Reprinted Rprt. New York: Peter Smith, 1938.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: AI 3 .P7]
- Indexes over 590,000 articles in 479 American and British periodicals.
Main set consists of a subject index.
There is a cumulative author index at [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: AI 3 W3].
Information given about each article includes
its title, author's name in parentheses when it was known or could
be ascertained, abbreviated title of the periodical in which the
article can be found, and volume and page reference. The year
is not given but can be determined from the "conspectus"
in vol. 1. There is also a table decoding the periodical title
abbreviations. Volume 1: 1802-1881, 1st Supplement: 1882-1887,
2nd Supplement: 1887-1892, 3rd Supplement: 1892-1896, 4th Supplement: 1897-1902,
5th Supplement: 1902-1907.
- International Index to Periodicals.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: AI 3. R49], 1916-1992/3.
- Index to scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanites.
Before WWII, some foreign titles were included. Title varies:
International Index to Periodical, v.3-52,
Social Sciences and Humanities Index, v. 53-61, then
Social Sciences Index and Humanities Index, 1974 - .
- Bulletin of the Public Affairs Information Service.
New York : Public Affairs Information Service.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: JA1 .P357]
- Covers from 1915-1990. International affairs, public policy, economic
development. Cumulative Subject index available. Also available online for
recent years (see below).
- Periodicals Contents Index.
- 1770-1990/1991
- Includes citations to many journals in the humanities and social
sciences.
- A good tool for finding contemporary narrative accounts
and older book reviews.
- Academic Index.
- Covers 1980 (very incomplete) - present.
- Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 1550 scholarly and
general interest journals. Full text or full image
is provided for more than 750 titles (most of which are from mid-1990's to
present). Although not comprehensive for history, numerous history
journals are indexed here; some are full-text. Academic Index
is also good for book reviews of recent titles.
- ISI Citation Indexes.
- The ISI Citation Indexes include the Science, Social Science and Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes.
The database covers 1983 to the present and is updated weekly.
Both keyword and citation searching are available.
The database covers journals in the sciences, social sciences,
arts & humanities.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences.
- IBSS provides bibliographic citations and subject indexing for the international
periodical literature in anthropology, economics, political science,
and sociology. Covers approximately 3700 periodicals from 105
countries in 95 languages, from 1951 to the present.
Culture - Art, Literature, Music
- Art Index.
- Art. Coverage includes English-language periodicals, as well as periodicals
published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish.
Reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals are also
included. Covers 1984 to the present. For earlier years see:
Art Index, [Fine Arts Library Reference: Z 5937 .A78], 1929-1992.
- Bibliography of the History of Art.
-
Covers European and American art from the fourth century to the present.
- MLA Bibliography.
- Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics.
Includes English and foreign languages. Covers 1963 to the present.
- Music Index.
- Music Index draws its current contents from more than 640
international music periodicals.
Covers 1979 to the present. For earlier years, see
Music Index, [Van Pelt Library Marian Anderson
Music Study Center: ML118 .M84]
Economic History
- EconLit.
- Major index to journals and books in economics; economic history
is covered.
History of Science
-
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine.
- International bibliography on the history of science and technology from
pre-history to the present.
France
- French Periodical Index.
Westwood, Mass.: F. W. Faxon Co., 1974-1995.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: AI7 .F735], 1973/1974-1978 -
-
V. Chronologies
- Journal de la France et des Français.
[Paris] : Gallimard, c2001.
- [Van Pelt Library: in process]
- Contents: [1] Chronologie politique culturelle et religieuse de Clovis á 2000
[2] Index.
- Charmasson, Thérèse
Chronologie de la France médiévale : (481-1515).
Paris : Presses universitaires de France, 1998.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: DC61 .C63 1998]
- Charmasson, Thérèse
Chronologie de l'histoire de France.
Paris : Presses universitaires de France, c1994.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: DC35 .C48 1994]
- Lelorrain, Anne-Marie.
Chronologie de la France contemporaine : de 1815 à nos jours.
Paris : Presses universitaires de France, 1997.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: DC35 .L45 1997]
- Theis, Laurent.
Histoire du Moyen Age français: chronologie commentée de Clovis à Louis XI, 486-1483.
Paris : Perrin, c1992.
- [Van Pelt Librayr Stacks: DC33.2 .T48 1992]
VI. Biography
- Biographie universelle (Michaud) ancienne et moderne ....
Nouvelle &eactue;d., publiée sous la directio de m.
Michaud, rev., cor et considérablement augm. d'articles
omis ou nouveaux ouvrage rédégi par ne société de gens de lettres et de savants ...
Paris, Madame c. Desplaces; [etc., etc.], 1854-[1865].
- [Van Pelt Library: CT143 .M5], v. 1-45.
- One of the most important of the large universal
biographical dictionaries. Often compared with Hoefer
(below). Has longer articles, signed with initials.
Articles include bibliographies. More names from N-Z.
- Nouvelle biographie générale depuis les
temps
les plus reculés jusquà nos jours, avec les
renseignements
bibliographiques et l'indication des sources à consulter
/ publiée par mm. Firmin Didot frères,
sous la direction de m. le dr. Hoefer ...
Paris, Firmin Didot frères, fils et cie, 1853-1866 [v.1, 1857].
- [Van Pelt Library: CT143 .H5], v.1-46.
- Another larger biographical dictionary. Rival to Michard
(above). More names from A-M.
- Dictionnaire de biographie française.
Paris, Letouzey et Ani, 1933-.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: CT143 .D5], v.1-19.
An important dictionary of national biography. Most
articles have bibliographies.
- Dictionnaire des parlementaires français, comprenant
tous les membres des assemblies françaises et tous les
ministres français depuis le 1er mai 1789 jusqu'au 1er mai 1889,
avec leurs noms, état civil, états de services, actes politiques,
votes parlementaires, etc.
Paris, Bourloton, 1891.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: JN2771 .R7], v.1-v.5.
- Dictionnaire des parlementaires français,
notices biographiques sur les ministres,
sinateurs et députis français de 1889 à 1940. /
Publii sous la direction de Jean Jolly.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: JN2785 .D5], t. 1-8.
- For 1940 -1958 see [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JN2785 .D5 1988].
- Dictionnaire biographique français contemporain.
[2. éd.]. Paris, Pharos, agent pour les Etats-Unis: Stechert-Hafner, New York, [1954].
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: DC406 .D5 1954]
- Nouveau dictionnaire national des contemporains.
Paris : [S.n.]
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: DC412 .N58], t.1-t.5
- Who's Who in France.
Paris, J. Lafitte.
- [van Pelt Library Stacks: DC705.A1 W46],1e ed. (1953/1954)-date, lastest in Reference Stacks.
VII. Histories
- Lavisse, Ernest, 1842-1922. ed.
- Histoire de France depuis les origines jusqu'à la Révolution .
es contemporains.
Publiée avec la collaboration de MM. Bayet [et al].
New York, AMS Press, [1969].
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: DC38 .L434], t.1- t.9.
Earlier prints available at DC 38 .L43.
VIII. News Sources
- Le Temps.
Paris.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm news 68], Jan.1919-Nov.1942.
- Has index: Tables du journal Le Temps.
Continued by Le Monde.
- Le Monde.
Dernière ed. Paris : Le Monde, 1944-.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext Area: Microfilm news 43],
1944 - present (paper issues kept until microform received), some years
incomplete.
- Index: Le Monde. Index Analytique. [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks:
AI21 .M65], 1944/1945-1951,1958,1965-1968.
- Le Monde Diplomatique.
[Paris] : Le Monde, 1954-
- [Van Pelt Library: Microfilm news 155], 1954 - present, some years incomplete.
- Times, London.
[London : Times Newspapers Ltd., 1788-
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm news 70], 1788 - present, papers kept
until microform received. Index
- New York Times.
New York : Raymond, Jones & Co., 1851-
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm news 52], 1851 - present.
- LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe
- Includes access to major
national and international news sources.
Includes the full-text of Le Monde from 1/1/1990, London Times from
1/1/1990, and the New York Times from 6/1/1980.
IX. Statistical Resources
For additional works, try the keyword search
skey france and skey statistic? and history
- Perrot, Jean-Claude. State and statistics in France, 1789-1815.
Chur [Switzerland] ; New York : Harwood Academic Publishers, c1984.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: HC110.E5 N4 1984]
- Les sources statistiques de l'histoire de France : des enquêtes du XVIIe siècle à 1870.
2e. éd. Genhve : Droz, 1980.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: DC3 .G5 1980]
X. Atlases and Maps
For additional atlases, try the keyword search:
skey france and (map? or atlas?) and histor?
- Atlas de l'histoire de France.
textes de Pierre Aubé ... [et al.] ; présentation
de René Rémond.
Paris : Perrin, c1996.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: G1844.21.S1 A743 1996]
- Atlas historique: Provence, Comtat venaissin,
principauté d'Orange,
comté de Nice, principauté de Monaco /
[par] Édouard Baratier [et al.
Paris], A. Colin, [1969].
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: G1843.P7 A3 1969]
- Historical, geographical, and linguistic maps of
southern France.
-
Boussard, Jacques. Atlas historique et culturel de la France.
Paris, Elsevier [1957].
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: DC35.5 .B65]
XI. Primary Sources
Searching Franklin
There are many printed volumes that are collections of primary source materials.
To locate these and other resources, try subject searches and look
for the keyword "sources"
within the subject field
france--foreign relations--1914-1940--sources
france--foreign relations--great britain--sources
france--history--17th century--sources
world war, 1914-1919--sources
World War, 1939-1945--underground literature--France
Or add the word "sources" to a keyword search.
france and history and sources
skey france AND skey "world war" AND skey sources
Try other words and phrases in keyword searches:
"personal narratives," "correspondence," "diaries" or "interviews".
"world war" and "personal narratives" and french
skey france AND (underground OR resistance) AND "personal narratives"
When searching for the writings of an individual, enter the
last name first:
bayle, pierre
blum, leon
reynaud, paul
You may also search by corporate authors - government offices, organization names,
political parties, etc.:
France. Assemblée nationale
France. Bibliothèque nationale.
France. Conseil d'Etat
France. Cour des monnaies
Selected Holdings at Penn
- The French Revolution research collection [microform] =
Les archives de la révolution française.
Oxford, [England] : Pergamon Press, [1990?-
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 771 and Guides]
- Archives parlementaires de 1787 á 1860;
recueil complet des débats législatifs et
politiques des chambres françaises.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: J341 .H2], ser.1:v.1-ser.1:v.75,ser.1:v.77-ser.1:t.100,
ser.2:t.107-ser.2:t.127
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 127], ser.2, v.1-106
- Journal officiel de la Commune de Paris.
Coeuvres-&-Valsery : Ressouvenances, c1995-1996.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: DC317 .J68 1997], v.1-3.
- Le Moniteur universel.
- [Van Pelt Rare Bk & Ms Library RBC: Folio 328.44 B1],
1811-1868.
- Continues: Gazette nationale.
Superseded by: Journal officiel de la République française .
- France. Journal officiel de la République française [microform].
Paris : [s.n., 1870-1880]
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 193],
annee 2:no 244 (1870:sept.5)-annee 12 (1880).
- France. Journal officiel de la République française.
Table alphabétique de l'année [microform].
Paris : Imp. A. Wittersheim et Cie,
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 202], 1871-1963.
- France. Journal officiel de la République française.
Lois et décrets [microform].
Paris.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 192], 1881-1944, 1977-1979.
- France. Assemblée nationale (1871-1942).
Chambre des députés.
Débats parlementaires [microform].
Publisher: Paris : Imp. des Journaux officiels, 1881-1940.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 195], 1881-1940.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 647], 1881-1940.
- France. Assemblée nationale (1871-1942). Chambre des députis.
Documents parlementaires annexes aux Procis-verbaux des séances [microform].
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 196], 1881-1938.
- France. Assemblée nationale (1871-1942) Sénat.
Documents parlementaires [microform], annexes aux procés-verbaux des séances; projets et
propositions de loi-exposés des motifs et rapports.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 198], 1881-1938.
- France. Assemblée nationale, 1871-1942. Sinat.
- Annales du Sinat. Débats parlementaires [microform].
Paris : Imprimerie des Journaux officiels, 1881-1940.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 197], 1881-1940.
- France. Journal officiel de la République française.
Annexe [microform].
Paris : Imprimerie des Journaux officiels, -1938.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 199 ], 1905-1940, 1942-44.
- Title varies Journal officiel de la République française. Annexe administratif and
Journal officiel de l'Itat franJournal officiel de l'État français. [Annexe]
- France. Journal officiel de la République française [microform].
Alger : Imprimerie officielle du Gouvernement générale de l'Algerie, 1943-1944.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 194], 1943:June-1944.
- 75e annie, no 1 (10 juin 1943)-76e annie, no 73 (31 ao{t 1944).
After Aug. 1944 publication of the Journal officiel resumed in France.
Official publication of the French government in exile.
- France. Commission pour la publication des documents relatifs aux origines de la guerre de 1914.
Documents diplomatiques français (1871-1914).
Paris : Impr. nationale, 1929-1959
- [High Density Storage: 327.44 F844], ser.1:t.1-16; ser.2:t.1-14; ser.3:t.1-11
- France. Commission de Publication des Documents Relatifs aux Origines de la Guerre 1939-1945.
Documents Diplomatiques Français, 1932-1939.
Paris: Imprimerie Nationale, 1964-1984.
- 1ere Série [1932-1935]. [Van Pelt Library Stacks: DC396 .A45], ser.2, t.1-t.13.
- 2eme Série [1936-1939]. [Van Pelt Library Stacks: DC396 .A45], ser.2, t.1-19
- Cahm, Eric, comp. Politics and Society in Contemporary
France (1789-1971); a documentary history.
London, Harrap [1972].
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JN2451 .C27 1972]
- France during the German Occupation, 1940-1944; a Collection of 292 Statements on
the Government of Marichal Pitain and Pierre Laval.
Translated from the French by Philip W. Whitcomb.
Stanford, Calif., Distributed by Stanford University Press for the Hoover Institution on
War, Revolution, and Peace, Stanford University [1958-1959]
- [Van Pelt Library: DC397 .V523]
- Pédoya, Jean Marie Gustave. La Commission de l'armée pendant la grande guerre; documents inédits et secrets.
Paris, E. Flammarion [c1921]
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: 940.92 P345]
- Milza, Pierre.Sources de la France du XXe Siècle : (de 1918 á nos jours).
Pierre Milza ; avec la
collaboration scientifique et technique de Odile Gaultier-Voituriez, Carole Giry-Gautier et
Dominique Parcollet.
Paris : Larousse, c1997.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: DC363 .M56 1997 ]
- Partie Républicain Radical et Radical-Socialiste (France). Compte-rendu stenographique
des Congrèss nationaux [microform].
[Paris] 60 v.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont. 38],
30th (1933)-49th (1954), 51st (1955)-59th (1962)
- La France du XXe Siècle: Documents d'Histoire.
Présentés par Olivier Wieviorka et
Christophe Prochasson.
[Paris]: Editions du Seuil, c1994.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: DC369 .F694 1994 ]
- Rice, Howard C. France, 1940-1942: a Collection of Documents and Bibliography.
Cambridge, Mass., Harvard Co-operative Society, 1942. [French].
- [Van Pelt Library: 940.53 R364]
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update:
Friday, 24-Aug-2001 13:37:32 EDT
Send mail concerning this page to:
Patty Lynn, Van Pelt Library Reference,
lynn@pobox.upenn.edu