
The following guide lists resources on film studies located at the Penn Libraries.
While many of the circulting books related to all aspects of motion pictures are
located in the Van Pelt Library, most of the film journals are at the Annenberg
Library. Reference titles are at one or both Van Pelt and Annenberg. Works
on photography are generally at the Fine Arts Library. See also:
selected websites on Film Studies.
Locating Books
Franklin
lists books, journals titles (but not articles within journals), conference
proceedings, and other materials located at all the libraries on campus, excluding the
Biddle Law Library.
Subject Headings related to Film
Most film-related books are
assigned the headings motion pictures or motion picture [more].
Motion pictures covers general works on motion
pictures themselves, including motion pictures as an art form, copyrighting,
distribution.
Other motion picture headings are plentiful. For work about screenplays, search under
motion picture plays; for film
directors, look for motion picture producers and directors. Other subject headings
include:
motion picture actors and actresses
motion picture audiences
motion picture industry
motion picture music
motion picture plays
motion picture producers and directors
motion picture studios
motion picture theaters
motion pictures
motion pictures and children
moving pictures and history
Topics related to criticism are plentiful.
Film criticism covers works on the technique of
motion picture reviewing. Works on the criticism of screenplays are entered under
Motion picture plays--History and criticism.
Works about a specific picture
will be under the name of the picture followed by (motion picture).
chinatown (motion picture)
film criticism
Motion picture plays--History and criticism
Works on the technical aspects of making motion pictures and their projection
onto a screen are entered under cinematography.
academy awards (motion pictures)
cinematographers
film adaptations
film critics
film genres
film festivals
film noir
shakespeare, william, 1564-1616--film and video adaptations
screenwriters
silent films
world war, 1939-1945--motion pictures and the war
Browse Film-Related Call Numbers
The following call numbers are useful for browsing:
PN1993-1999 - Film
PN1993 - motion pictures
in general, by country
PN1994 - film theory
PN1995 - specific
themes, topics or genres
PN1996 -
screenwriting
PN1997 - screenplays
PN1998 - biographies of
and works about directors, producers,etc.
TR - Photography (including technical aspects of
filmmaking)
Z5784 - Bibliographies on film studies
Locating Films
The Van Pelt Library houses a growing collection of feature and documentary
films. These are not located in a public, browseable area and must be retrieved
by staff at the Circulation desk.
Films can be located in Franklin by using a title search.
If an title index screen is retrieved, films will have
[videorecording] in the title field and can, hence, be distinguished
from books with the same name.
You can retrieve a sub-list of popular films
by searching under the subject feature films.
Films may have additional subject headings assigned such as
food in motion pictures. Actors, producers, the production
company etc. will also be noted in the record; an author or keyword
search will retrived these records.
For a complete list of all films (of any kind - feature film, documentary,
educational) at the Library, try the simple
keyword search videorecording. You may also combine terms
such as hitchcock and videorecording to retrieve Hitchcock
films held by the Library.
The Biddle Law library also has a selection of films, both documentaries
on issues related to law and legal issues, and relevant feature films
such as Twelve Angry Men. Search Lola,
the Biddle Law Library Catalog for film holdings.
Film Reviews
- Academic Index.
- Indexes many popular and scholarly periodical publications.
Includes the fulltext for numerous film journals including:
Sound & Vision, variety,
Film Quarterly and Cineaste, as well as
popular publications such as Time and Newsweek.
A sample search might
be: being john malkovich and movie review
- LexisNexis Academic
- Choose "News" and then select "Art & Sport".
From the source menu, leave "book, movie, music & play reviews" as
the default. Click "Source List" for a list of the
publications from which reviews are indexed.
-
New York Times, ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
- Full-text searching and images of the NYT from 1851 to 1999.
- The index is also available in print at [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: AI21 .N44]
See heading "motion pictures."
- New York Times Film Reviews, 1851-.
New York : New York Times, 1968-
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1995 .N4]
- Provides the full text of reviews.
Library has: 1913/1968,1977/1978-1983/1984,1987/1988,
1991/1992-1995/1996
-
Readers' Guide Retrospective.
- Covers 1963-1982. Most of the reviews during this time had the subject heading
motion picture reviews.
-
- Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: AI3 .R48], 1900-1997.
- Considered one of the most comprehensive indexes for film reviews in popular
publications. See "motion picture reviews." Earlier headings
include "moving picture plays" and "moving pictures reviews"
- Film Review Index.
Edited by Patricia King Hanson, Stephen L. Hanson.
Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 1986-.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1995 .F4597 1986], v.1-2.
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1995 .F4597 1986], v.1-2.
- Vol. 1 covers 1882-1949 and Vol. 2 covers 1950-1985.
Covers US and foreign films. Indexes English language reviews.
- Batty, Linda. Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals, 1930-1971.
New York : R. R. Bowker Co., 1975.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1993.45 B38 1975]
- [Annenberg Library Microforms: Z5784.M9 B39]
- Indexes fourteen film journals and The Village Voice.
- Film Literature Index.
Albany, Filmdex, inc.
- [Annenberg Library Microforms: Z5784.M9 F45], v.1 (1973)-v.13 (1985),v.16 (1988)-v.26 (1998)
- Covers film and television. Covers several hundred media-related journals
from North and South American, and Europe.
- Selected Film Criticism.
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow, 1982-84. 6v.
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1995 .S426 1982], vol1-7
- [Van Pelt Library: PN1995. S423 1982], vol?
- Seven volumes arranged by date cover 1896-1960. Volume 6 is devoted to foreign films.
Most films have two reprinted reviews.
- Rehrauer, George. The Macmillan Film Bibliography.
New York : Macmillan, c1982.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1993.5.A1 R34 1982], v. 1-2.
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1993.5.A1 Z991], v.1-2.
Includes reference to reviews and to chapters in books about various films.
- International Index to Film Periodicals.
New York : R. R. Bowker Co., 1972-1987.
- [Annenberg Library Microforms: PN1993 .I585], 1972,1974,1978-1987
- Chinemachine: The movie review search engine
- Movie Review Query Engine
Bibliographies on Film Studies
- Fisher, Kim N. On the screen : a film, television, and video research guide.
Littleton, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1986.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1994 .F465 1986]
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1994 .F465 1986]
- Armour, Robert A. Film, a Reference Guide.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1980.
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1993.45 .A75]
- [Van Pelt Library: PN1993.45 .A75]
- Film Researcher's Handbook: a Guide to Sources in North America, South America, Asia, Australasia and Africa.
London ; New York : Routledge, 1996.
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1994 .F438 1996]
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: PN1994 .F438 1996]
- Film Study: an Analytical Bibliography.
Rutherford : Fairleigh Dickinson University Press ; London ; Cranbury, NJ : Associated University Presses, 1990.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: PN1994 .M325 1990]
- Gerlach, John C. comp. The critical index; a bibliography of articles on film in English, 1948-1973, arranged by names and topics.
New York, Teachers College Press [1974]
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1993.45 G47 1974]
- [Annenberg Library Microforms: PN1993.45 G47 1974]
- Rehrauer, George. The Macmillan Film Bibliography.
New York : Macmillan, c1982.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1993.5.A1 R34 1982], v. 1-2.
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1993.5.A1 Z991], v.1-2.
- Index to Critial Film Reviews in British and American Film Periodicals.
New York: Burt Franklin, 1974.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1993.45 B69 1974], v. 1-3.
- [Annenberg Library Reference: Z5784.M9 B64], v. 1.
Citations to film reviews.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- The Oxford Companion to Film.
edited by Liz-Anne Bawden. New York : Oxford University Press, 1976.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1993.45 .O9 ]
- Critical dictionary of film and television theory.
Edited by Roberta E. Pearson and Philip Simpson.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2001
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1993.45 .C75 2001]
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1993.45 .C75 2001]
- Blandford, Steven. The Film Studies Dictionary.
London : Arnold ; New York : Co-published in the United States of America by Oxford University Press, 2001.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1993.45 .B49 2001]
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1993.45 .B49 2001]
- Nash, Jay Robert. The Motion Picture Guide.
Chicago : Cinebooks, 1985-1987.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1995 .N346 1985], v. 1-12.
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1995 .N346 1985], v. 1-12.
- Cawkwell, Tim. The world encyclopedia of film.
[London] Studio Vista [c1972]
- [Van Pelt Library: PN1993.45 .C3 ]
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN 1998.A C38 1972b], pub varies.
Biographical Sources - Directors, Producers, Screenwriters, Actors, etc.
- Katz, Ephraim. The Film Encyclopedia.
New York, NY : HarperPerennial, c1998.
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1993.45 .K34 1994], (1998 in process)
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: PN1993.45 .K34 1979]
- Bios of directors, producers, screenwriters, cinematography, art directors,
composers, film editors, stars, complete filmographies. Includes birth dates
and education.
- Halliwell, Leslie. Halliwell's Who's Who in the Movies.
14th ed. New York : HarperPerennial, c2001.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1993.45 .H3 2001]
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1993.45 .H3 2001]
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers.
Editors, Tom Pendergast, Sara Pendergast.
Detroit : St. James Press, 2000. 4th.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1997.8 .I58 2000]
- The Illustrated Who's Who of the Cinema.
New York : Macmillan Pub. Co., 1983.
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1998.A2 I48 1983]
- Schuster, Mel. Motion Picture Performers; a Bibliography of Magazine and Periodical Articles, 1900-1969.
Metuchen, N.J., Scarecrow Press, 1973.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: Z5784.M9 S34]
- [Annenberg Library Reference: Z5784.M9 S34]
- Schuster, Mel. Motion Picture Performers;
a Bibliography of Magazine and Periodical Articles, 1900-1969.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z5784.M9 S35]
- [Annenberg Library Reference: Z5784.M9 S35]
- Who was who on Screen.
New York : Bowker, 1977. 2nd edition.
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1998.A2 T73 1977]
- America Screenwriters.
New York : Avon Books, c1993.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: PN1996 .A635 1993]
- Fischer, Dennis. Science Fiction Film Directors, 1895-1998.
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c2000.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1995.9.S26 F54 2000]
- Higham, Charles. Hollywood cameramen, sources of light..
Bloomington, Indiana University Press, [1970].
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: TR849.A1 H53]
- Harris, Erich Leon.
African-American screenwriters now : conversations with Hollywood's Black pack.
Los Angeles, Calif. : Silman-James Press, c1996.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: PN1996 .H34 1996]
- Hoffmann, Henryk. "A" Western Filmmakers: a Biographical Dictionary of Writers, Directors, Cinematographers, Composers, Actors and Actresses.
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c2000.
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1998.2 .H625 2000]
- Sadoul, Georges. Dictionary of Film Makers.
Berkeley, University of California Press [1972]
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1993.45 .S313]
- [Van Pelt Library: PN1993.45 .S313]
- Voices of Film Experience: 1894 to the Present.
Edited by Jay Leyda. New York : Macmillan, c1977.
- [Van Pelt Library--5 West--Temporary Location: PN1998.A2 V66]
- Who's who of Victorian cinema : a worldwide survey.
Edited by Stephen Herbert and Luke McKernan. London : British Film Institute, 1996.
- [Van Pelt Library - 5 west: PN1998.2 .W47 1996]
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1998.2 .W47 1996]
Characters
- Lieberman, Susan. Memorable Film Characters: an Index to Roles and Performers, 1915-1983.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1984.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1995.9.C36 L5 1984]
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1995.9.C36 L5 1984]
Genre, Time Period, Theme
- Armstrong, Richard B. Encyclopedia of Film Themes, Settings and Series.
Jefferson, N.C. ; London : McFarland, 2000.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1997.8 .A76 2001]
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1997.8 .A76 2001]
- Lspez, Daniel. Films by Genre: 775 Categories, Styles, Trends,
and Movements Defined, with a Filmography for Each.
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., 1993.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1998 .L63 1993]
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1998 .L63 1993]
- McCaffrey, Donald W. Guide to the Silent Years of American Cinema.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1995.75 .M33 1999]
- Hillstrom, Kevin. The Vietnam Experience: a Concise Encyclopedia of American Literature, Songs, and Films.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1998.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DS557.73 .H55 1998]
Awards
- Academy Awards
Site sponsored by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, includes a searchable database back to 1927/28.
- Gebert, Michael. The Encylopedia of Movie Awards.
New York : St. Martin's Paperbacks, c1996.
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1993.9 .G43 1996 ]
- Pickard, Roy. The Oscar stars from A-Z.
London : Headline, c1996
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1993.92 .P54 1996 ]
- Osborne, Robert A. 70 Years of the Oscar: the Official History of the Academy Awards.
New York : Abbeville Press, c1999.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: PN1993.92 .O82 1999]
- Shale, Richard. The Academy Awards Index: the complete Categorical and Chronological Record.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993.
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PN1993.92 .S53 1993]
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update: Wednesday, 28-Aug-2002 13:21:34 EDT
Send mail concerning
this page to:
lynn@pobox.upenn.edu