Reference Tools for Classical Studies
This guide is intended to be a starting point for research in Classical Studies.
It is in no way comprehensive. It attempts to provide access to
key print and electronic reference tools. For links to additional web resources
such as e-journals, comprehensive web sites, and source collections on the web, see
Selected Web Resources: Classical Studies.
For related web sites, see the Religious Studies,
Archaeology,
and Philosophy
Penn Library web sites.
Catalogs
| Primary Source Collections
| Finding Tools for Primary Resources
| Bibliographies
| Indexes & Databases
| Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
| Language Tools
| Atlases
Library Catalogs
- Franklin,
Penn's online catalog, lists over 95% of the library's collections.
The card catalog in Van Pelt Reference lists materials, such as
pre-1968 journals and some older series and analytic titles, not yet
included in Franklin.
While new works are listed in Franklin,
New Books Plus
allows users to search most books and journals added to the Penn Library
in the last few months.
- Keyword Searches
Use a keyword search to combine terms or to
identify subject headings.
| euripides AND (women OR femin? OR female? OR gender OR sex)
|
| agora AND(excavation? OR antiquities OR archaeol?)
|
| "dark age?" AND greece
|
| homer AND odyss?
|
| cleisthen? OR kleisthen?
|
| thesmophor?
|
| (ancient OR classical) AND (greece OR greek) AND skey maps
|
| (ancient OR greek) AND philosophy AND skey bibliography
|
| cicero AND(loeb OR penguin)
|
- Subject Heading Searches
- Use Library of Congress subject headings when doing a subject search.
A four-volume
set at the Van Pelt Reference Desk lists these headings. Any person, entity,
organization,
or government entity can also be searched as a subject.
| acropolis athens, greece | homer
|
| medicine, greek and roman | mythology, classical
|
| civilization, mycenaean | mycenae
|
| greece history peloponnesian war | erotic art, rome
|
| greece religion | vases, black-figured
|
- To search subject headings in Franklin, omit dashes between
subheadings. For more information, consult
Subject Searching in Franklin.
- Call Number Searching
Use these call numbers to browse either Franklin or the Stacks:
| PA (Latin/Greek language and literature)
|
| DE (ancient Mediterranean world)
|
| DF1 - DF289 (Ancient Greece)
|
| DG11 - DG365 (Ancient Rome)
|
- RLIN/Eureka Bibliographic File - Research Libraries Group Catalog
A bibliographic catalog of
over 30 million books, serials, archives and manuscripts, musical scores,
visual materials, maps, and data files held in over 100 large research
libraries and current cataloging of the Library of Congress and the
British Library. Since the catalog is so large, the best method for searching
is to use known items such as authors, titles, or Library of Congress subject
headings.
- WorldCat
Another large, 30+ million union catalog that
includes the holdings of many university, college, and public libraries.
Several Philadelphia-area libraries are included in WorldCat.
Use both of these catalogs to identify materials that Penn does not
own and request them through
Interlibrary Loan or
Borrow Direct.
- Library Catalogs Worldwide
A web page with links to the Bibliotheque
Nationale and several German institutional or union catalogs.
- DYABOLA [CD-ROM]: Sachkatalog des Deutschen Archäologischen
Instituts. 1992- .
- Contains electronic subject catalogs of publications on the history of
art and the ancient world. It includes the subject catalogs of the German
Archaeological Institute in Rome, the Bibliography of Iberian Archaeology from
the German Archaeological Institute in
Madrid, and the Archaeology of Roman Provinces from RGK Frankfurt.
- Continues the Archäologische Bibliographie
(1932-1993). University Museum CC27 .A7242
- [University Museum Library Desk CC27 .A72422]
Primary Source Collections
- Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina curante CETEDOC [compact disc].
Stuttgart ; Leipzig : B.G. Teubner ; Turnhout : Brepols Publishers, 1999.
- From Preface: Includes all ancient Latin texts from the earliest times to
the second century, as well as a certain number of the
major witnesses from later times, such as Ausonius and
Macrobius. Florilegia and some grammatical texts are the
only texts from what is properly called antiquity that
do not figure in the present BTL-1. For each individual
text, the most recent or the best edition published by
Teubner is used. Software allows search strategies based
on an analysis of word forms or combinations of word
forms.
- The editions used in this product are those from the Latin texts of the
Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana series.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Moelis CD Area PA6118 .B53 1999]
- Loeb Classical Library
- Currently published by Harvard University Press
- Available at Penn in the Classical Studies Seminar Room and in the
Van Pelt Library stacks.
- Searchable by series title or by keyword, e.g.,:
loeb and aeschylus
- The Perseus Digital Library - Gregory Crane,
Tufts University
- Contains many primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece
and Rome.
- Scriptorum Classicorum Bibliotheca Oxoniensis.
- Published by Oxford since 1984.
- Searchable by series title as well as keyword, e.g.,:
"scriptorum classicorum" and seneca
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
- A project which has digitized most Greek literary texts from Homer to
the fall of Byzantium in 1453.
- Fulltext searchable as well as by TLG canon number.
- In addition to authorization through the Penn Library Proxy, users must
also create a TLG username and password to gain access.
- See the much more detailed list of print and electronic primary source
collections at Bibliotheca Classica Selecta.
Finding Tools for Primary Resources
- Checklist of editions of Greek and Latin papyri, ostraca
and tablets. John F. Oates, ed. 4th ed. Atlanta, Ga. :
Scholars Press, 1992.
- The primary purpose of this checklist is to provide for
scholars and librarians a ready bibliography of all monographic volumes, both
current and out-of-print, of Greek and Latin
texts on papyrus, parchment, ostraca or wood tablets.
- [Van Pelt Library PA3301 .C487 1992]
- The
online version
represents the most recent volume.
- Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
- Excellent site for Women's Studies, particularly good for finding
bibliographies, online essays, and primary source material.
- Guide de l'épigraphiste : bibliographie choisie des
épigraphies antiques et médiévales.
2e id. augm. Paris : Presses de l'Ecole normale supirieure, 1989.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks CN120 .G85 1989]
- Jenkins, Fred W. Classical studies : a guide to the
reference literature. Englewood, Colo. : Libraries
Unlimited, 1996.
- Lists and annotates standard reference tools including core periodicals,
review journals, and internet resources.
- [Van Pelt Reference PA91 .J46 1996; Van Pelt]
- Poucet, Jacques. Aux sources de l'Antiquité
gréo-romane: guide bibliographique 5. ed., rev. et augm.
Bruxelles : Artel, 1997.
- Very good guide to use as an introduction to classical studies. Provides
an overview of the literary, epigraphical, papyrological, archaeological,
and numismatic source materials. The second section lists reference books;
the third is a bibliography of the major literature in specific fields. The
Table of Contents is in the back of the book. In French.
- See also the associated bibliography
on the Bibliotheca Classica Selecta
web site.
- [Van Pelt Reference DE59 .P68 1997]
Bibliographies
- Gwinup, Thomas. Greek and Roman authors; a checklist of
criticism. 2nd ed. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1982.
- Lists books and periodical articles on 70 classical
authors. Includes only English language items. Covers materials written
up through the 1970s.
- [Van Pelt Reference PA3001 .G93 1982]
- Halton, Thomas P. and Stella O'Leary. Classical scholarship: an annotated bibliography. White Plains, N.Y.: Kraus International, 1986.
- [Van Pelt Reference: DE 59 .H34 1986]
- Hopwood, Keith (comp.) Ancient Greece and Rome: a bibliographical guide. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 1995.
- Bibliographic citations to more than 8,000 books and articles on all aspects of ancient history, c. 950 BC to AD 565, arranged through a broad
chronological and thematic classification. Includes an author index.
- [Van Pelt Reference: DE 86 .H67 1995]
- Whitaker, Graham. A bibliographical guide to classical
studies. Hildesheim : New York : Olms-Weidmann, 1997- .
- See a review at Bryn Mawr Classical Review
- [Van Pelt Reference: DE59 .W455 1997 (vol. 1-3)]
Indexes & Databases
For databases on the web, see the
Classical Studies Database Menu.
Additional print and CD-ROM databases are listed below.
- L'Annee Philologique: bibliographie critique et analytique
de l'antiquité gréco-latine. 1924- . Annual.
- Major ongoing bibliography for classical studies. Covers
literature, language, art, philosophy, and social political and cultural
history.
- An online version
covers v.67 (1996)-v.70(1999). (not available as of 9/19/02)
- [Classics Seminar PA2 .A553]
- Database of classical bibliography [CD-ROM]
- Based on L'Annee Philologique, DCB contains citations of all known
scholarly work published in any language anywhere in the world concerning
the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and
Roman history, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion,
mythology, music, science, early Christian texts, numismatics, papyrology
and epigraphy, and concerning the time period from the second millennium
B.C. to roughly 500-800 A.D. --
See Review
in the Bryn Mawr Classical Review. Disc and manual.
- Volume 1 based primarily upon: L'Année philologique,
v. 47 (1976)-58 (1987)
- [Van Pelt Reference Moelis CD Area: PA1 .D383]
- Bryn Mawr Classical Review.
1990- .
- Full-text book reviews.
- Bulletin analytique d'histoire romaine.
T. 1 (1962)-present. Annual.
- Indexed by keyword, gods, people, modern authors, sources.
- Available online
since 2000 (although the references go back to the mid-80's).
- [Van Pelt Library: most recent 5 years in Van Pelt Reference Stacks DG11 .B855
- Fasti archaeologici: annual bulletin of classical
archaeology. 1946-present. Annual.
- Indexes books, catalogs, reports, and periodical articles about classical
archaeology. Broad geographic-chronological categories, with geographic and
material culture subdivisions. Exhaustive but incredibly slow in
publication.
- [Museum: GN 700 .I552]
- Gnomon bibliographische Datenbank [CD-ROM]
- Internationales Informationssystem fur die Klassische Altertumswissenschaft.
English version Instruction Manual. Manual and disc. See also
Gnomon Online for
supplements to the database.
- [Van Pelt Reference Moelis CD Area: PA3 .G61]
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- The Cambridge ancient history. 3rd ed.
London, Cambridge University Press, 1970- (in progress).
- [Van Pelt Library Classics Seminar D57 .C252 1970; also in Van Pelt Stacks,
University Museum Library]
- Broad survey articles.
- Civilization of the ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome.
3 vols. New York: Scribners, 1988.
- [Van Pelt Reference, Museum Reference: DE 59 .C55 1988]
- Broad survey articles arranged topically. Substantive bibliographies are included, but this is not Paulys!
- Daremberg, Charles, 1817-1872. Dictionnaire des antiquités
grecques et romaines. Graz, Akademische Druck- u.
Verlagsanstalt, 1969. 6v. in 10. Reprint of 1877-1919.
- [Classics Seminar Room DE5 .D21 1969]
- Grant, Michael. Greek and Latin authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000.
NY: H.W. Wilson, 1980.
- Biographical dictionary on 376 authors. Inlcudes
bibliographies of their works and selected criticism about them.
- [Van Pelt Reference: PA 31 .G7]
- Grimal, Pierre (A.R. Maxwell-Hyslop, trans.) The dictionary
of classical mythology. Oxford: Blackwell, 1985.
- Translated from the French. Includes genealogical tables and
bibliographic references.
- [Van Pelt Reference, Fine Arts Reference: BL 715 .G713 1986]
- Howatson, M.C. Oxford companion to classical literature.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1989.
- In addition to specific articles on people, places, etc.,
includes general articles on subject such as Agriculture, law, magic,
etc.
- [Van Pelt Reference: DE 5 .H3 1989]
- Late antiquity : a guide to the postclassical world.
Edited by G. W. Bowersock, Peter Brown, Oleg Grabar. Cambridge:
Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1999.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks DE5 .L29 1999]
- Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae
(LIMC). 8 vols. Zürich: Artemis, 1981-(in progress).
- Exhaustive encyclopedia of Greek (post-Mycenaean), Etruscan, and Roman
mythology as depicted in material culture. Articles in several languages,
including English, with extensive citations to specific published objects.
Publication in progress.
- [Fine Arts Reference: N 7760 .L49]
- Luce, T. James, ed. Ancient writers : Greece and Rome.
2v. New York : Scribner, c1982.
- 47 articles which cover the major classical authors. Each article has been
written by a leading specialist.
- [Van Pelt Reference PA3002 .A5 1982]
- Oxford Classical Dictionary.
3rd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1996.
- Scholarly mini-encyclopedia of people, events, places in
the classical world. Signed articles. Some bibliography. References to
classical sources.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: DE5 .O9 1996; University Museum Reference;
Special Collections Reference]
- See 1949 and 1970 editions at same call number, various locations.
- Paulys Real-Encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft, neue Bearb.. 24 vols, 10 vol continuation, 15 vol supplement. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1894-1978.
- [Van Pelt Classics: DE 5 .P33. Also, Museum: 913.36 .P283]
- The standard encyclopedia for the whole field of classical studies. In German only.
- See also the new edition: Der neue Pauly : Enzyklopädie der
Antike. Stuttgart : J.B. Metzler, c1996- (in progress).
- Van Pelt Library Classics Seminar DE5 .N48 1996
- Princeton encyclopedia of classical sites.
Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1976.
- "A one-volume source of information on sites that show remains from the
Classical period", i.e., 750 BC to 6th century AD. Includes bibliographic
citations. See the (incomplete)
online version
at the Perseus web site.
- [Fine Arts Reference, Museum Desk: DE 59 .P7]
- Wellington, Jean Susorney. Dictionary of bibliographic
abbreviations found in the scholarship of classical studies and related
disciplines. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1983.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk PA99 .W44 1983]
Language Tools
- A Greek-English lexicon, compiled by Henry George Liddell and Robert Scott. Revised and augmented throughout.
Oxford: Clarendon, 1996.
- Referred to as "Liddell and Scott", this is the standard Greek-to-English
dictionary, 9th ed. (1940) with revised supplement (1996), for the Greek
language to AD 600. Includes usage examples. Omits placenames. See the
Persues Table of Contents
page at Perseus for the link
to the online version.
- [Van Pelt Reference, Museum Reference: PA 445 .E5]
- A Latin dictionary founded on Andrews' edition of Freund's
dictionary. Rev., enl., and in great part rewritten by
Charlton T. Lewis and Charles Short. Oxford, Clarendon press, [1966].
- Otherwise known as "Lewis and Short." See the
Text Tools & Lexica
page at Perseus for the online
version.
- Van Pelt Library Reference Desk PA2365.E6 A6 1966
- Sophocles, E. A. (Evangelinus Apostolides), 1807-1883.
Greek lexicon of the Roman and Byzantine periods (from
B.C. 146 to A.D. 1100). 2v. New York, F. Ungar Pub. Co., [1957].
- [Van Pelt Library Classics Seminar PA1125 .S7 1957]
Atlases
- Heyden, A.A.M. and Howard Hayes Scullard.
Atlas of the classical world. London:
Nelson, 1959.
- [Van Pelt Reference, Museum Reference, Rosengarten Reference: DE 29 .H463]
- Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world.
Edited by Richard J.A. Talbert, in collaboration with Roger S. Bagnall.
Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press, 2000.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks G1033 .B32 2000]
- The CD-ROM is the Map-by-Map Directory
- Botti, Timothy J.HistoryGraphics.net
presents : rise and fall of the Roman Republic : Roman
maps series.
- Maps illustrating the Roman Republic.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks DG231 .B68 2000]
- Penguin historical atlas of ancient Greece.
New York: Penguin, 1995.
- [Van Pelt Reference: G 1003 .M674 1995]
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Thursday, 19-Sep-2002 14:42:45 EDT
Send mail concerning this page to Debra Bucher:
Reference Department
Van Pelt Library/6206
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
215/898-1463
dbucher@pobox.upenn.edu