|
CONTENTS
-
I. Library Catalogs
A. Franklin
Franklin
lists books, journals titles (but not articles within journals), conference
proceedings, and other library materials at the Penn Libraries.
When looking for works on a topic in Franklin, try
searching both by subject heading and by keyword(s).
Franklin includes about 95% of the Library's holdings.
Some older materials published before 1968 and some older serials that are
no longer published
are listed only in the card catalog in Van Pelt.
The card catalog includes listings by author, by title, and by subject, all filed
in a single sequence.
Use Subject Heading searches based on the formal
subject headings listed in the four printed volumes of the Library of
Congress Subject Headings located at the Van Pelt reference desk.
- RLIN/Eureka Bibliographic File - Research Libraries Group Catalog
- A bibliographic catalog of over 30 million books, serials, archives and
manuscripts,
musical scores, visual materials, maps, and data files held in over 100 large
research libraries and current cataloging of the Library of Congress and the
British Library.
- WorldCat
- Another large, 30+ million union catalog that includes the holdings of
many university, college, and public libraries. Several Philadelphia-area libraries
are included in WorldCat.
II. Bibliographies
- The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical
Literature>
3rd ed. New York : Oxford University Press, 1995.
2 vols.
- Contains nearly 27,000 annotated citations (primarily to
English language works) divided into forty-eight
sections; citations refer chiefly to works published
between 1961 and 1992.
Includes indexes.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: D20 .A55 1995 v.1-2]
- Harvard Guide to American History. Edited by Frank Burt
Freidel. Rev. Ed. Cambridge: Belknap Press of Harvard University
Press, 1974.
- Vol. 1 discusses types of historical sources (manuscripts, archives,
official documents, oral histories) and lists books/articles on
broad topics such as agriculture or religion, while vol. 2 suggests
important books and journal articles covering American history
in chronological order.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: Z 1236 F77 1974 v.1-2]
- Prucha, Francis P. Handbook for Research in American History:
A Guide to Bibliographies and Other Reference Works. 2nd
ed. rev. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1994.
A guide to library resources relevant to research in U.S. history,
more current than Poulton. Includes sections on book review indexes,
manuscript guides, guides to newspapers, etc.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 178 P78 1994]
- The American Civil War: A Handbook of Literature and Research.
Edited by Steven E. Woodworth. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
- Short signed selective bibliographical essays on resources (e.g., memoirs,
unpublished manuscript collections,
maps) and topics (e.g., the home front, strategy of the war) that identify
and compare recent writings.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: E 458 .A47 1996]
- Arnold, Louise. The Era of the Civil War, 1820-1876. Carlisle:
US Army Military History Institute, 1982.
- Based on the extensive holdings of the US Army Military History
Institute, including many contemporary sources. The collection's
strength is in military history, but it also covers Reconstruction,
"Women in the Conflict ;Medical Material,"
etc.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 470 U547 1982]
- Eicher, David J. The Civil War in Books: an Analytical
Bibliography. Urbana: Univeristy of Illinois Press, 1997.
- Lengthy annotations of over 1100 books -- mainly regimental histories and
personal narratives -- selected by Eicher as the most important due to their
"participant authors" or scholarly value.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 468 E33 1997]
- Murdock, Eugene C. The Civil War in the North: A Selective
Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 1987.
- An extensive bibliography of secondary sources (5608 entries).
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 468 M87 1987]
- Nevins, Allan. Civil War Books: A Critical Bibliography.
Baton
Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1967-1969. 2 vols.
- An annotated listing of 5000 books and pamphlets organized into
broad subject categories (military aspects, diplomacy, blacks,
etc.). Many contemporary accounts. Author, title, subject index.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1242 N35]
- Aimone, Alan Conrad. User's Guide to the Official Records of the American Civil War.
Shippensburg: White Man Publishing Co., 1993.
- Much broader than its title implies, this guide lists and annotates collected primary sources, reference sources, and official documents relating to the war.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 464 A35 1993]
- Guide to the Sources of United States Military History.
Edited by Robin Higham. Hamden: Archon Books, 1975.
- Lists primary and secondary sources. Includes Supplements I (1981),
II (1986), and III (1993).
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 181 G845]
III. Biographies
- American National Biography. General editors, John A.
Garraty, Mark C. Carnes. NY : Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 vols.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: CT213 .A68 1999]
- Essentially a new edition of the DAB with more inclusive coverage. Concise authoritative
biographical sketches of notable Americans from all time periods. Highly selected bibliographical references cite major secondary sources and locate primary source materials. Indexes
by geographic area, occupation, country of origin.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: CT213 .A68 1999]
- Sifakis, Stewart. Who Was Who in the Civil War. NY: Facts on File, 1988.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 487 S56 1988]
- Wakelyn, Jon L. Biographical Dictionary of the Confederacy. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1977.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 467 W2]
- Warner, Ezra J. Biographical Register of the Confederate Congress. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1975.
- Biographical data on the 267 men made the Confederacy's laws from 1861 until 1865. Information is taken from standard biographical sources, census schedules, and other primary sources.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JK 9663 W3]
- Warner, Ezra J. Generals in Blue; Lives of the Union Commanders.
Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1964.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 467 W29]
- Warner, Ezra J. Generals in Gray; Lives of the Confederate Commanders.
Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1959.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 467 W28]
-
African American Biographical Database
- Indexes thousands of biographical dictionaries and links to fulltext entries.
Covers African-Americans from 1750 to 1950. You can search all sources or
selected ones. The "Profile search" lets you look for people by occupation, religion, gender and range of birth or death dates.
- Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950. Alexandria:
Chadwyck-Healey, 1987. Essentially the same as online file above.
- [Van Pelt Microfiche 847]
- Indexed by: Black Biography, 1790-1950: A Cumulative Index.
Alexandria: Chadwyck-Healey, 1991. 3 vols.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 185.96 .B53 1991]
IV. Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Boatner, Mark Mayo. The Civil War Dictionary. Rev. Ed.
NY: McKay, 1988.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 468 B7 1988]
- Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery. Edited by Randall M. Miller and John David Smith. Westport,
Conn. : Praeger, 1997.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 441 D53 1997]
- Encyclopedia of Southern History. Edited by David C.
Roiler
and Robert W. Twyman. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University
Press, 1979.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: F 207.7 E52]
- Historical Times Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Civil War. Ed. by Patricia L. Faust. NY: Harper & Row, 1988.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 488 H57 1986]
Stanchak, John E. Visual Dictionary of the
Civil War. New York : Dorling Kindersley Pub., 2000.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E468.9 .S85 2000]
V. Chronologies
Denney, Robert E. The Civil War Years: A Day-by-day Chronicle of the Life of a Nation.
NY: Sterling Pub. Co., 1992.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: E 468.3 D44 1992]
VI. Military History
- Dyer, Frederick Henry. A Compendium of the War of the Rebellion. NY: T. Yoseloff, 1959. 3 vols.
- Companion to the Official Records. Vol. 1 covers number
and organization of the armies. Vol. 2 is a chronological record
of skirmishes and battles. Vol. 3 is a bibliography of regimental
histories.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: 973.7 D983]
- Tancig, W.J. Confederate Military Land Units, 1861-1865. South Brunswick: T. Yoseloff, 1967.
- This work attempts to identify, by official designation or nickname, all Confederate fighting units, regiments, battalions, and companies that existed in the land forces during 1861-1865.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: E 546 T3]
- Welcher, Frank Johnson. The Union Army, 1861-1865: Organization and Operations. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1989-90. 2 vols.
- Includes two indexes: an index of battles and campaigns, and an
index names.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: E 491 W43 1989]
- Heitman, Francis Bernard. Historical register and dictionary of the
United States Army, from its organization, September 28, 1789, to March 2, 1903. Washington: USGPO, 1903.
- Reprinted in 1965 by University of Illinois Press.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: U 11 U5 H5 1965]
VII. Journal Article Indexes
- America: History & Life .
Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1964-
- An ongoing index to scholarship in U.S. history from 1954 to the
present. Includes book reviews .
Available online from 1964 to present. Print version extends coverage
back to 1954.
- [High Density Storage: E 171 .A447]
- JSTOR -- a Mellon
funded project to provide full-text elecronic
versions of major scholarly journals in several humanities and social
sciences disciplines from their first issues to recent years. Coverage usually stops
five years short of the present. Most current issues can be accessed through the e-journals
home page at:
-
Includes:
- American Historical Review, 1895-1994.
- Journal of American History, 1964-1994.
- Mississippi Valley Historical Review (the predecessor of JAH),
1914-1964
- Journal of Southern History, 1935-1994
- Journal of Negro History, 1916-1996.
- Project Muse --
Johns Hopkins University Press is publishing its
journals in electronic format as well as on paper. Penn subscribes to
JHU's journals which include:
- Reviews in American History, 1995-
[note that 1973-1994 are available through JSTOR]
- Onefile
- Covers 1980-present. Daily updates.
A periodical article database indexing the contents of 1550 scholarly
and general interest journals. Best for 1989 to present, though some
indexing starts as early as 1980.
In some cases, the fulltext of articles is provided.
- Periodicals Contents Index
- Retrospective index of journals.Covers publications before 1990
Easy limit to book reviews.
- Writings on American History. Washington: American Historical
Association, 1902-1989/90.
Useful especially for materials which predate coverage by America,
History and Life (i.e., pre-1954). Beginning 1974 only journal
articles are indexed. Publication suspended 1941-1947, 1962-1972.
A ten-volume set covering 1962-1972 was issued in 1976 [Reference: E
178 W773]. A detailed index covering the years 1902-1940 was published
in 1956.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: E 151 .W758], Latest 5 years in Reference
VIII. Primary Resources
Look for the subject subdivisions
Personal Narratives and Sources in particular.
Hint: keyword searching allows you to search for any word in
a title, in subject headings, in notes, etc. to combine words or phrases,
so you can use keywords to find a "known" item or to discover works on a subject:
sources AND slavery
massachusetts AND 54th AND civil
Consult with the staff in Van Pelt Library's Special Collection
Department (6th floor east) to find unpublished letters, diaries,
journals, and other manuscript materials available here at Penn.
Manuscripts are not listed in the card catalog, and only
a few manuscripts are in Franklin at present.
- The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography
- Full text slave narratives from Federal Writers' Project. See fuller description below.
- The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography. Ed. by George
P. Rawick, Jan Hillegas and Ken Lawrence. Westport, CT: Greenwood
Press, 1972-1979.
- The main set (vols. 2-17) consists of transcriptions of narratives
collected under the direction of the Federal Writers' Project,
1936-1939, and initially published under the title "Slave
Narratives: a folk history of slavery in the United States from
interviews with former slaves." Supplements are texts of
oral histories from other sources.
- [Afro-American Studies Seminar: E444.A45 and suppls.)
- Index to The American Slave. Edited by Donald M. Jacobs.
Westport: Greenwood Press, 1981.
- Lists all 3500 narrators by name with date, age, occupation, and
state in which each was a slave. Also indexed by state and by
occupation.
- [Afro-American Studies Seminar: E444.A45 suppl. 3]
- American Women's Diaries. Southern Women. New Canaan: Readex
Film Products, 1988-1990.
- Thirty-two diaries written in the 19th century and usually spanning
the Civil War have been microfilmed. The originals are held by
major research universities, state archives, and historical societies
in the South. The finding guide (ask at the Microforms Desk) provides
succinct biographical information and summarizes the diaries'
coverage.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm 3722]
- Confederate States of America. Compilation of the Messages
and Papers of the Confederacy, including the Diplomatic Correspondence,
1861-1865. Nashville: U.S. Pub. Co. 2 vols.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: 973.7D C762.3]
- Confederate States of America. Congress. Journal of the Congress
of the Confederate States of America. Reprinted in U.S. Congress.
serials set Senate Document #234 / 58 Cong. 2nd Session 4610-4616.
7 vols. Washington: GPO, 1904-1905.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: J 74 A22]
- Confederate Imprints, 1861-1865. New Haven: Research Publications,
1974. 143 reels.
- Reproduces text of most of the titles published in the Confederacy
and listed in the Crandall/Harwell bibliographies. Reel index
at Reference: E 484.R48 1974.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm 3517]
- Freedom, a Documentary History of Emancipation, 1861-1867.
NY: Cambridge University Press, 1982-
- Reproduces source documents from the National Archives. Volumes
published to date include: The Black Military Experience; The
Wartime genesis of free labor; The Destruction of slavery. Slaves
no more.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: E 185.2 F88 ser 1. v.1-]
- HarpWeek: The Civil War Era
- Harper's Weekly was one of the leading American journal during
the Civil War Period. This database contains the full text and all the images
from 1857 through 1865. The journal was an influential shaper of public opinion and
a major source for war reporting.
- Miller, Francis Trevelyan. The Photographic History of the
Civil War. NY: T. Yoseloff, 1957. 10 v.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: E 468.7 M64 1957]
- Records of Ante-bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution
through the Civil War. [microform]. Frederick, MD.: University
Publications of America, 1985-
- A massive, ongoing project that has already reproduced 845 reels
of diaries, letters, and accounts from libraries and archives
across the South. Reel guides provide basic information on the
activities of the plantation and the contents of the records.
Kenneth Stampp is general editor.
through the Civil War. [microform]. Frederick, MD.: University
Publications of America, 1985-
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm 3880]
- Schwaab, Eugene L. Travels in the Old South, selected from
periodicals of the times. Lexington: Univ. Press of Kentucky,
1973. 2 vols.
- Supplements separately published travel accounts. Includes representative
sampling of accounts published from 1783 to 1860, generally by
professionals or businessmen, but also includes settler's letters
to friends back home.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: F 213.S38]
- Southern Historical Society Papers. Richmond: Virginia
Historical Society. v. 1-52; 1976-1959.
- Accompanied by index.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: E 483.7 S76]
- United States. Congress. Serials Set.
- The "Serials Set" is the sequentially numbered set of
bound volumes of Congressional Reports and Documents. However,
in the 19th century approximately 50% of the titles included in
the Serials Set came from the Executive branch (e.g. the President,
War Department, etc.) so in a sense it is a source for all
types of government publications and is the official record of
the United States Government.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: J 74 A22]
- The main index to the Serial Set is The Congressional Information
Service Serial Set Index (C.I.S Index). It is arranged by
groups of congresses which, in effect, means it is arranged by
date (e.g.: Part II, 35th-45th Congresses, 1857-1879). Using the
subject index to locate documents gives entries providing document
title, publication series (e.g.: H. Rp. 577), congress and session
(e.g.: 43-2) and serial volume number (e.g.: 477).
If, as is frequently the case, only the Congress and Report or
Document number are known, the Serial Set volume number can be
located by using the Finding Lists volume of the CIS Index.
A third volume list names of individuals and organizations.
- United States. Surgeon General's Office. The Medical and Surgical
History of the Civil War. Wilmington: Broadfoot Pub. Co.,
1990-1992. 12 v.
- Originally published by the U.S. Government Printing Office, 1870-1888.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: RD 205.U5 1990]
- United States. Navy Department. Official Records of the Union
and Confederate Navies in the War of the Rebellion. 30 vols.
Washington: Government Printing Office, 1885-1922.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: 973.74D Un34]
- United States. War Department. The War of the Rebellion: a Compilation
of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies. 130 vols. Washington: 1880-1901. and accompanying Atlas.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: 973.74D Un3]
- Usually referred to as the Official Records of the Rebellion or
Official Records, [Army or Navy] and consists of a vast array of
document texts and types. Memos, court proceedings, and other primary
documents form the basis of the two sets. The documents are pulled
together around specific topics (e.g. Texas surrender.) The documents were
for the most part copied from originals but it must be remembered that
late 19th century ideas about document reproduction were vastly different
than today, so there are limitations. The Official Records, Army is
broken down into four sets: I) military operations II) prisoners III)
Union authorities IV) Confederate authorities. The atlas is a fifth
section.
Indexes:
The indexes which are shelved at the end of the set are most detailed for
names. They index the indexes of the text volumes which are included in
each volume. References, then, are to another index not a specific page
(i.e. North Carolina Troops, 9th Militia, I, 11 means to look in the index
to series I, volume 1 )
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: Folio 973.74D Un3]
- United States. National Archives and Record Service. Military
Operations of the Civil War: a Guide-Index to the Official Records
of the Union and Confederate Armies, 1861-1865. 5 vols. Washington:
Government Printing Office, 1968-1980.
- Not really an index, but a guide to the Official Records, Army
which gives a broad outline of the contents and tables of different
kinds to facilitate use of the index discussed above.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: 973.74D Un.3.1]
- Dyer, Frederick Henry. A Compendium of the War of the Rebellion.
NY: T. Yoseloff, 1959. 3 vols.
- Companion to the Official Records. Vol. 1 covers number
and organization of the armies. Vol. 2 is a chronological record
of skirmishes and battles. Vol. 3 is a
bibliography of regimental
histories.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: 973.7 D983]
- Aimone, Alan. A User's Guide to the Official Records of the
American Civil War. Shippensburg: White Mane Pub. Co., 1993.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 464.A35 1993]
- Addis, Patricia K. Through a Woman's I: An Annotated Bibliography of American Women's Autobiographical Writings, 1946-1976. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1983.
- See "Civil War Experience" in the "Index of Narratives." (The period 1946-1976 in the title refers to the years of publication covered by this bibliography.)
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: CT 3260 A32 1983]
- The American Civil War: A Handbook of Literature and Research.
Edited by Steven E. Woodworth. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
- Short signed selective bibliographical essays on resources (e.g., memoirs,
unpublished manuscript collections,
maps) and topics (e.g., the home front, strategy of the war) that identify
primary sources and compare recent secondary writings.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: E 458 .A47 1996]
- American Autobiography, 1945-1980: A Bibliography. Ed. by Mary Louise Briscoe. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1982.
- Includes autobiographies written in the nineteenth century but published after 1945. See "Civil War," "Reconstruction Era," and related headings in the index.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: CT 220 A44 1982]
- American Diaries: An Annotated Bibliography of Published American Diaries and Journals
Vol. 2: Diaries Written from 1845-1980.
Ed. by Laura Arksey et al. Detroit: Gale, 1983.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: CT 214 A74 1983 v.2]
- Includes many Civil War diaries. Chronological arrangement, with name, subject and geographic indexes.
- Bartlett, John Russell. The Literature of the rebellion, a catalogue of
books and pamphlets relating to the Civil War in the United States... Westport, CT: Negro Universities Press, 1970. Reprint of 1866 edition.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: Z 1242 B2 1970]
- Beers, Henry Putney. The Confederacy: A Guide to the Archives
of the Government of the Confederate States of America. Washington:
National Archives and Records Administration, 1986.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: CD 3047 B4 1986]
- Bosse, David C. Civil War Newspaper Maps: A Cartobibliography
of the Northern daily press. Westport: Greenwood Press, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: GA 405.5 B68 1993]
- Clark, Thomas D. Travels in the New South: A Bibliography
Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1962. Vol 1: 1865-1900.
- Over 500 annotated entries of travel accounts by American and
European visitors to the South. Includes also guides, directories,
surveys and promotional materials.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1251 S7 C38]
- Clark, Thomas D. Travels in the Old South, a bibliography. Norman: Univ. of Oklahoma Press, 1956-.
- Lists travel accounts beginning with 1527. Vol. 3 covers ante-bellum
South, 1825-1860.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1251 S7 C4]
- Cline, Cheryl. Women's Diaries, Journals, and Letters: An Annotated
Bibliography. NY: Garland, 1989.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: CT 3230 C55 1989]
- Cole, Garold. Civil War Eyewitnesses: An Annotated Bibliography
of Books and Articles, 1955-1986. Columbia: University of
South Carolina, 1988.
- Includes 1395 diaries, letters, autobiographies, etc., which were
published in journals or as books. Annotated.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 601 C78 1988]
- Coulter, E. Merton. Travels in the Confederate States: A Bibliography.
Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1948.
- Almost 500 annotated entries, including memoirs, regimental histories,
prison accounts and published diaries.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1251.S7 C68]
- Dornbusch, Charles Emil. Regimental publications & personal
narratives of the Civil War: a checklist. NY: New York Public Library,
1961-1972. 3 vols.
- v. 1. Northern States [in 7 pts.]
- v. 2. Regimental
publications and personal narratives: Southern, Border, and
Western States and Territories; Federal troops; Union and
Confederate biographies
- v. 3. General references; Armed
forces; and campaigns and battles.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E470.D67 1961]
- Dumond, Dwight Lowell. A Bibliography of antislavery in America
. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 1961.
- Comprehensive listing of printed antislavery literature written
by those active in the movement. British antislavery titles included
only if widely circulated in the US. Only selected speeches in
Congress are included.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z1249 S6 D8]
- Freeman, Frank R. Microbes and Minie Balls: an Annotated Bibliography
of Civil War Medicine. Rutherford: Fairleigh Dickinson University
Press, 1993.
- Half of this volume lists primary sources relating to medicine.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E 621.F74 1993]
- Guide to Civil War Maps in the National Archives. Washington,
D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration, 1986.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: E 468.G85 1986]
- Havlice, Patricia. And So to Bed: A Bibliography of Diaries
Published in English. Metuchen: Scarecrow Press, 1987.
- Can be used to supplement American Diaries (above).
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: CT 25 H38 1987]
- Kaplan, Louis. A Bibliography of American Autobiographies.
Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1961.
- A bibliography of autobiographies published before 1946. Includes
subject index (e.g. Reconstruction).
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: CT220 .K3 1962]
- Library of Congress. Manuscript Division. Civil War manuscripts:
a guide to collections in the Manuscript Division of the Library
of Congress. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office,
1986.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: E 468 .L52 1986]
- Munden, Kenneth W. and Henry Putney Beers. Guide to Federal
Archives relating to the Civil War. Washington: National Archives
and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1962.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: CD3047 .M8 1986]
- National union catalog of manuscript collections. Washington: Library of Congress
- Lists manuscript collections in libraries around the country. Indexes provide
access by name (personal or corporate) and subject.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 6620.U5 N3]
1959/1961-1986/1987,1988/1989-1993
- Index to personal names in the National Union Catalog of
Manuscript Collections, 1959-1984. Alexandria: Chadwyck-Healey,
1988. 2 vols.
- Indexes over 200,000 personal names.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z 6620 U5 I53 1988]
- Index to subjects and corporate names in the National union catalog of manuscript collections, 1959-1984.
Alexandria, Va.: Chadwyck-Healey, 1994. 3 vols.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks Z6620.U5 N3 Suppl.]
- Neagles, Janes C. Confederate Research Sources: a guide to
Archive Collections. Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 1986.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: E 487 N3 1986]
- Parrish, T. Michael. Confederate Imprints: A Bibliography of
Southern Publications from Secession to Surrender. Austin:
Jenkins Publ. Co., 198-?.
- "Listing of 9500 books, pamphlets, broadsides, maps, pictorial
prints prints and sheet music produced throughout the South during
the war..." Extensively indexed. Everything listed in this
bibliography is available in Van Pelt on microfilm [Microfilm 3517].
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z 1242.5 P37 1980z]
- Archival Resources
Over 500,000 bibliographic records for archival
and manuscript materials from the Research Libraries Group and associated
online collection guides or finding aids.
IX. Civil War Period Periodicals
Becauses the University's library collections grew significantly
during the nineteenth century they are especially strong in contemporary
accounts from that period. The key sources for identifying periodical
titles from the nineteenth century are:
- American Periodicals: 1741-1900: an index to the Microfilm
Collections. ed. by Jean Hoornsra and Trudy Heath. Ann Arbor:
University Microfilms International, 1979.
- A list of periodicals in a large set of microfilm. Penn only has
the microfilm set up to 1850 since the library owns so many of
t later ones in the original. This list is useful for identifying
periodicals from the period and also provides brief descriptions
of the subjects covered by the journals. The main part of the
book is a title index and is followed by a subject index.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: PN 4877 H66]
- Mott, Frank Luther. History of American Magazines. 5 vols.
Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1938-1968.
- Vol. 2: 1850-1965; vol. 3: 1865-1885. Chronological list at the
end of vol. 3. Comprehensive history including detailed histories
of individual magazines with notes on their editorial biases.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: PN 4877 M63]
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature: 1802-1881. 2 vols.
Rev. ed. Boston: Houghton, 1991. Rprt. Gloucester: Peter Smith,
1963.
- Indexes over 590,000 articles in 479 American and British periodicals.
Subject index only. Information given about each article includes
its title, author's name in parentheses when it was known or could
be ascertained, abbreviated title of the periodical in which the
article can be found, and volume and page reference. The year
is not given but can be determined from the "conspectus"
in vol. 1. There is also a table decoding the periodical title
abbreviations.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: AI 3 P7]
X. Civil War Period Newspaper
Van Pelt has a large collection of nineteenth century newspapers.
The following list, arranged by state and city includes most of
the mid-century ones.
- Bosse, David C. Civil War newspaper maps : a cartobibliography
of the Northern daily press. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993.
- Identifies hundreds of maps published in 20 papers between April 1861 and April 1865.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: GA 405.5 B68 1993]
- Bosse, David C. Civil War Newspaper Maps: A Historical Atlas.
Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1993.
- Describes Civil War mapmaking and reproduces 40 newspaper maps.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: G 1201 .S5 B6
1993]
Older newspapers lack indexes. There are two important exceptions:
- 1) New York Times Index, 1851-1905
- [Microfilm News 52]
- 2) The Times (London),1790-present
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: AI 21 T5]
- Anti-Slavery Newspapers and Periodicals. edited by John
W. Blassingame and Mae G. Henderson. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1980-
- Indexes letters in ten major abolitionist periodicals and/or newspapers,
including the Liberator, the National anti-slavery standard,
and the Pennsylvania Freeman.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: AI 3 A54]
- The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective. CD-ROM ed. Malvern,
PA: Accessible Archives, Inc., 1994.
- Contains the full text of over 11,000 articles from over 2500
issues of both Northern (The New York Herald) and Southern (The
Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer) newspapers published
between Nov 1., 1860 and Apr. 30, 1865. Contains news articles,
eye-witness and official reports of battles, editorials, advertisements,
biographies and over 700 images of battlefield maps and illustrations.
- [Reference Moelis: E464 C58 1994]
- Daily Union (DC).
- Holdings: May 1845-10 Apr 1859
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: film news 22]
- Boston Daily Advertiser (MA-Boston).
- Holdings:1821, 1832-1835(inc) [Van Pelt Library: Fol
71 B653
- 1835-1865 [Van Pelt Library Microtext: film news 125]
- Liberator (MA-Boston)
- 1831-1865 - [film APS reel 391-399];
- 1831-1841 -[Van Pelt Library Microtext: film news 112]
- 1849-1861 - [Special Collections: Fol 326.5 L61; 1831-32, 34-36]
- Pittsfield Sun (MA-Pittsfield): 16 May 1833-1867
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: film news 259]
- Springfield Republican (MA-Springfield): 1847-1865
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: film news 258]
- New Jersey Journal (NJ-Elizabeth): 4 May 1830-25 Feb 1945
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: film news 118]
- New York Herald (NY-New York): 31 Aug 1835-1851 film news 50; 1861-Jun1865
- [Storage Fol 71 N484]
- New York Times (NY-New York): 18 Sep 1851-present
- [Van Pelt Library Microforms: film news 52]
- New York Tribune (NY-New York): 1860-May 1865(inc),Apr 1890-Mar 92, Jan-Mar94
- [Storage Fol 71 N482]
- World (NY-New York): 20 May 1861-2 Sep 1865(inc)
- [Storage Fol 71 W894]
- Daily Journal (NC-Wilmington): 8 Sep 1851-18 Feb 1865, 28 Sep 1865-28 Sep 1876
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: film news 23]
- Annals of Cleveland (OH-Cleveland): 1850-1875 71 An72
- Harrisburg Daily Herald (PA-Harrisburg): 7 Oct 1856 - 26 May 1866
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: film news 107 reel 29-38]
- Patriot & Union (PA-Harrisburg): 1859-1865
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: film news 107 reel 47-53]
- Dollar Newspaper (PA-Phila): 21Jan1846-7Jan1852,54-65
- [Storage Fol 71 D692]
- Illustrated New Age (PA-Phila): 1863-2Mar1874
- [Storage Fol 71 Ag34]
- Inquirer (PA-Phila)
- Holdings: 7 Nov 1860 - .
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: film news 61]
- North American (PA-Phila): 1853-1882
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: film news 248]
- Pennsylvanian (Weekly) (PA-Phila): 1846-Apr1861
- [Storage Fol 71 P388]
- Press (PA-Phila): Jul-Dec1861,Oct65-Jun70,74-1882
- [Storage Fol 71 P926]
- Sunday Dispatch (PA-Phila): 1867-1869
- [Van Pelt Library: Fol 71 Su73]
- Reading Gazette & Democrat (PA-Reading): 1855-1864
- [Van Pelt Library: Fol 71 R223]
- Southern Times and State Gazette (SC-Columbia): July 10,1835-1837
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: film news 150]
- Galveston Tri-weekly News (TX-Galveston):
Dec 1855 - Oct 1857, 1857, Nov 1860-1867, 31 May 1869-1873
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: film news 29]
- Galveston Daily News (TX-Galveston): 21 Feb 1865-1900
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: film news 28]
- Union Vedette (UT-Salt Lake City): 1863-1867
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: film cont 123 reels 42-47]
XI. Historiography
Use subject headings such as these to find historigraphical analyses and collections:
Afro-Americans--Historiography
Confederate States of America--Historiography
Reconstruction--Historiography
Sectionalism (United States)--Historiography
Southern States--Historiography
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Historiography
United States--Race relations--Historiography
- Writing southern history : essays in historiography in honor of Fletcher M. Green Westport, Conn.:
Greenwood Press, 1965.
- [Van Pelt Library & Reference Stacks: F208.2 .W74 1981]
- Interpreting southern history : historiographical essays in honor of Sanford W. Higginbotham Baton Rouge:
Louisiana State University Press, c1987.
- [Van Pelt Library & Reference Stacks: F208.2 .I57 1987]
- Encyclopedia of historians and historical writing London ; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1999. 2 vols.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D14 .E539 1999]
- Scanlon, Jennifer, 1958- American women historians, 1700s-1990s : a biographical dictionary Westport,
CT: Greenwood Press, 1996. xviii, 269 p.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E175.45 .S27 1996]
- Great historians of the modern age : an international dictionary New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D14 .G75 1991]
- The Blackwell dictionary of historians New York: Blackwell Reference, 1988. xiv, 480 p.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D14 .B58 1988]
XII. Internet Sites
Comprehensive sites that select, organize, and link to many other web sites include:
- American Civil War Homepage - Univ. of Tennessee site with comprehensive links.
- [URL: http://sunsite.utk.edu/civil-war/]
- American Civil War: Resources on the Internet - Dakota State U. site with multiple links.
- [URL:
http://www.homepages.dsu.edu/jankej/civilwar/civilwar.htm]
- U.S. Civil War Center (Louisiana State U)
- [URL: http://www.cwc.lsu.edu/]
Selective sites that focus on particular aspects of Civil War history include:
- Causes of the Civil War - AOL site with full-text of primary sources.
- [URL: http://members.aol.com/jfepperson/causes.html]
- Civil War Maps - from the American Memory Project at the Library of Congress
- [URL: http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/cwmhtml/]
- Civil War Soldiers & Sailors System
A database of over 230,000 names of the United States Colored Troops developed
by the National Park Service
- [URL: http://www.itd.nps.gov/cwss/]
- Civil War Women - primary sources from Duke University Library
- [URL: http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/women/cwdocs.html]
- Confederate States of America - primary sources from Yale Law School's Avalon Project
- [URL: http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/csa/csapage.htm]
- Documenting the American South - The Southern Experience in 19th Century America, a collection of full-text documents from UNC, including diaries and slave narratives
- [URL: http://sunsite.unc.edu/docsouth/]
- Letters from an Iowa Soldier in the Civil War - letters home from 21-year old Newton Scott.
- [URL: http://www.civilwarletters.com/home.html]
- Making of America - University of Michigan/Cornell site provides fulltext of books and journals
from 1850 to 1900 to support American social history.
- [URL: http://www.umdl.umich.edu/moa/
- The Valley of the Shadow: Living the Civil War in Pennsylvania and Virginia (Edward L. Ayers, UVA)
- [URL: http://jefferson.village.Virginia.EDU/vshadow2/]
XII. Philadelphia-Area Collections
- American Philosophical Society. Library. 105 S. Fifth Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19106-3386. 440-3400.
- Hours: 9-5, Monday-Friday. Access: students must show ID; call in advance.
- Photocopies: $.25.
- Collection focuses on the history of science and technology. Representative
is the correspondence of leading figures in mid-19th century American
science who were associated with the National Academy of Sciences.
There is some material concerned with the history of Philadelphia,
women, Afro-Americans, and the Civil War.
- Catalog: A New guide to the collections ...
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 6621 A513 1987]
- Atwater Kent Museum. 15 S. 7th Street,
Philadelphia, PA 19106. 922-3031.
- Hours: 9:30-5, Monday-Friday. Access: call in advance.
- Photocopies on request.
- Museum of Philadelphia history. Diverse manuscript materials,
including ledgers, account books, and correspondence. Over 600
original annotated war sketches by Frank H. Shell. Strength of
collection is in artifacts from the period.
- Balch Institute for Ethnic Studies. Library. 18 S. 7th
Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106. 925-8090.
- Hours: Tuesdays & Thursdays 10-4 & Saturdays 10 -3:30. Open to the public; student ID must
be presented when using documents. Photocopies: $.10.
- Some correspondence and diaries from the period, most notably
the Valentine Reiman Collection. Reiman, a second generation German-American,
kept a detailed diary throughout his life, including his years
as a soldier in the Union Army.
- Catalog: A Guide to manuscript and microfilm collections...
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z 6621 B185 1992]
- Leslie Pinckney Hill
Library. Cheyney University of Pennsylvania, Cheyney, PA. 399-2063.
- Hours: 8:30-5, Monday-Friday. Access: call in advance.
- Photocopies available.
- Dorsey Collection (in microfilm): scrap books of local newspaper
clippings, 1847-1906.
- Civil War Library and Museum. 1805 Pine Street, Philadelphia,
PA 19103. 735-8196.
- Hours: 11-4:30, Thursday-Saturday. Open to the public (call in advance).
- Photocopies: $.20
- 12,000 volumes. Contemporary and current periodicals. One of the
most notable Civil War repositories; includes letter books, journals,
diaries, orders, original correspondence. Focus is on material
from the Union, but efforts are being made to augment Confederate
materials.
- College of Physicians of Philadelphia. Library. 19 S. 22nd
Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103. 563-3737 ext.297
- Hours: 10-4, Tuesday-Friday. No restrictions. Call in advance.
- Photocopies: $.50
- Civil War medicine: letters, hospital reports, instruments, photos,
diaries, reports of surgeons, etc.
- Catalog: A Catalogue of the manuscripts and archives...
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: R 314.P5 C65 1983]
- Haverford College. Quaker Collection.
Lancaster Avenue, Haverford, PA 19041. 896-1161.
- Hours: 9-12:30, 1:30-4:30, Monday-Friday. No access restrictions.
- Photocopies: $.20
- Manuscript collection, including journals, letters, papers, archives,
pictorial materials; records of Philadelphia and Baltimore meetings;
first editions of books.
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania. Library. 1300 Locust
Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107. 732-6200.
- Hours: 9:30-4:45, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday; ,1:00-8:45, Wednesday, 10:00-8:45, Saturday
- Access: $6; $3 with student ID. Photocopies: $.50.
- Civil War military resources; strong Afro-American collection,
including materials on slavery; speeches, diaries, correspondence.
- Catalog: Guide to the manuscript collections...
- [Ref CD 3479 P5 G85 1991]
- Library Company of Philadelphia. 1314 Locust Street, Philadelphia,
PA 19107. 546-2465.
- Hours: 9-4:45, Monday-Friday. Access: photo ID required.
- Closed stacks. Photocopies: $.25. Must use pencils. May use laptop
computers.
- Strong in Americana from the colonial period to the Civil War,
including literature, history, Philadelphia newspapers, periodicals,
science and technology, publications of learned societies; exceptional
Afro-American history collection.
- Catalog: Afro-Americana, 1553-1906: author catalog of the Library
Company of Philadelphia and the Historical Society of Pennsylvania.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z 1361 N39 P48 1973]
- Lincoln University, Langston Hughes Memorial Library. Lincoln
University, PA 19352. 932-8300 ext 266.
- Hours: 9-5, 7-10, Monday-Thursday; 9-5, Friday; 12-5, first
Saturday of the month (call in advance).
- No access restrictions. Photocopies: $.10.
- American, Afro-American, and African collections, including some
objects from the period; African collection based on Lincoln graduates who
served as missionaries in Liberia.
- Swarthmore College. Peace Collection. Swarthmore, PA
19081. 328-8557.
- Hours: 8:30-4:30, Monday-Friday; 9-12, Saturday when classes are
in session.
- Open to public. Photocopies: $.05.
- Some 19th century material in the collection.
- Swarthmore College. Friends Historical Library.
Swarthmore, PA 19081. 328-8497.
- Hours: Same as above. Call regarding Saturdays. Open to the public.
- Photocopies: $.10; microfilm: $.30.
- Records of meetings, personal papers of reconstructionist,
abolitionist and pacifist groups; records of the Friends Freedmen
Association.
- Catalog: Guide to the manuscript collections...
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: BX 7731.2 F75 1982]
- Temple University. Paley Library. Blockson Afro-American Historical
Collection. 13th and Berks Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19122. 204-6632.
- Hours: 9-5, Monday-Friday. Access: photo ID required.
- Photocopies: $.25 (done by staff).
- Afro-American history, including underground railroad, slave narratives,
original art from Civil War.
- Catalog: Catalogue of the Blockson Collection.
- [CVan Pelt Reference Stacks: Z 1361 N39 T39 1990]
- Union League of Philadelphia. Library. 140 S. Broad
Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102. 587-5594.
- Hours: 9-5, Monday-Friday. Open access; call in advance.
- Photocopies: $.10.
- Manuscripts and photos. Emphasis is on Civil War, American social
and political history, Philadelphia and Pennsylvania history. The Civil
War collection, viewed together with that of the Civil War Library and
Museum (see above), constitutes one of the richest sources in the country.
In addition to all Lincoln's writings and an extensive collection of
regimental histories, there are the pamphlets issued by the Union League
during the War.
- United States National Archives Mid-Atlantic Region. 9th and
Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107. 597-3000.
- Hours: 8-5, Monday-Friday. No access restrictions.
- Photocopies: a small fee
- Regional military records and tax lists; court records, including
Admiralty records of captured ship auctions and some fugitive slave
records; records of the Frankford Arsenal and Philadelphia Naval Yard.
- Catalog: Guide to Records in the National Archives, Mid-Atlantic Region
- [Van Pelt Library: CD 3027 U533 1989]
- National Archives Microfilm Publications in the National Archives,
Mid-Atlantic Region
- [Van Pelt Library: CD 3052 M38 1990]
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif) ![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif) ![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif) ![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif) ![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif) ![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif) ![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif) ![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update: Thursday, 01-Aug-2002 09:54:20 EDT
Send mail
concerning this page to
Ancil George, African-American Studies Bibliographer/Liaison,
ancil@pobox.upenn.edu
|