Researching Cities
Contents
- Franklin and other library catalogs
- Journal Article Indexes (Databases)
- News Sources
- Census Data
- Other Data Sources
- Archives, Documents, and Agencies
- Planning: Internet Resources
- Planning: Key Journals
- Planning: Selected Print Resources
The following bibliography lists library resources of
use for research on cities and on Philadelphia in particular.
The majority of the sources listed here are either located in the
Van Pelt Library
Reference Area or are available electronically via the
Penn Library Web.
Additional sources are listed on these
Van Pelt Library, Special Bibliographies:
Philadelphia Current Information or
Philadelphia History (especially West Philadelphia),
or Urban Studies.
Franklin,
the Penn Library's online catalog, lists more than two million books, journal
titles, and other materials contained in campus libraries. Note: The Biddle
Law Library has its own completely separate catalog, LOLA.
You can search Franklin by author, title, journal title, subject,
or keyword (several options).
For information on searching, consult Franklin
Search Help.
Author: Try corporate bodies such as:
central philadelphia development corporation
philadelphia city planning commission
Subject: Some useful headings are listed below.
philadelphia (pa.)--city planning
philadelphia (pa.)--economic conditions
philadelphia (pa.)--social conditions
philadelphia metropolitan area (pa.)
north philadelphia (philadelphia, pa.)
broad street (philadelphia, pa.)
city planning--pennsylvania--philadelphia
community development--pennsylvania--philadelphia
demography--pennsylvania--philadelphia
gentrification--pennsylvania--philadelphia
housing--pennsylvania--philadelphia
land use--pennsylvania--philadelphia
public housing--pennsylvania--philadelphia
retail trade--pennsylvania--philadelphia
streets--pennsylvania--philadelphia
urban renewal--pennsylvania--philadelphia
urban transportation--pennsylvania--philadelphia
Keyword: Use keyword searching to combine concepts (X AND Y)
and to search for particular words or phrases that might appear in titles or notes
or subjects.
"pennsylvania convention center"
brownfield? AND (remediat? OR reclam?)
(urban OR city) AND planning AND skey philadelphia
The following indexes are used to locate journal articles,
although some indexes also index other types of works.
Urban Studies Indexes and multidisciplinary indexes
- Academic Index. 1989-present.
- Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 1550 scholarly and
general interest journals, plus the New York Times; and full text
coverage of more than 500 titles.
- ISI Citation Indexes. 1983-present.
- The ISI Citation Indexes include the Science, Social Science and Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes.
An unique resources, allowing searching for cited references in the bibliographies of articles, in addition to the usual keyword searching.
The database covers 5,300 science, 1,700 social science, and 1,140 arts & humanities journals.
-
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences.
British Library of Political and Economic Science, London School of Economics and Political Science with UNESCO. 1951-present.
- Bibliographic citations and subject indexing for the international journal and book literature in the social sciences. Combines:
- International bibliography of social and cultural anthropology. 1955-present.
[Van Pelt, University Museum Reference: GN 301 .I687, 1955 to present]
- International bibliography of economics
[Van Pelt Library: HB 1. I644, 1952-present]
- International bibliography of political science [Van Pelt Library: JA 71 .I435, 1952-present]
- Journal of planning literature. 1985/1986-present.
- [Fine Arts: NA 9000 .J687]
- The principal finding aid for planning literature. Provides lengthy abstracts for some items selected for indexing.
- PAIS International
. 1972-present.
- Public policy, government, int'l relations, politics, social sciences.
- 1915-1994: print format [Van Pelt Reference JA 1 .P357]. Known also as: Public Affairs Information Service.
- Sage urban studies abstracts. 1973-present.
Beverly Hills: Sage. Quarterly.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: HT 51 .S24. Latest five years at Van Pelt Reference]
- Bibliographic citations, with long abstracts, for articles, books, and other materials in urban studies and comparative urban analysis, arranged by broad subject. Includes annual subject and author indexes.
- Urban affairs abstracts. 1971-1994.
Washington, DC: National League of Cities / Center for Urban and Economic Research, University of Louisville.
- Monthly, with annual cumulation.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: HT 123 .U7]
- Bibliographic citations, with abstracts, for articles intended "to give [U.S.] urban leaders the best in new approaches for conducting business and government", arranged by broad subject. Annual cumulation includes author and geographic indexes.
Discipline-specific journal article indexes
- ABI/Inform.
UMI, 1971-present. Monthly updates.
- Indexes approximately 2000 business and management
periodicals, popular, academic, and professional; fulltext for 500 periodicals is also provided.
- America: History and Life.
ABC-Clio. 1964-present.
- Indexing and abstracting for journal articles and books on history in the United States and Canada, 1492-present.
- Art Index 1984-present.
- Indexes journal articles in art and related fields, including architecture, art history, city planning,
urban design, and landscape architecture.
- Avery Index. 1977-present. Daily updates.
- This very strong architectural periodicals index also covers city planning and industrial buildings and sites.
- EconLit.
American Economic Association, 1969-present. Monthly updates.
- The principal tool for identifying the professional and academic journal and book English-language literature in economics. EconLit
corresponds to the print-format Journal of economic
literature [1969-present, Lippincott Reference Indexes: HB1 .J6] and Index of
economic articles [1886-present, Lippincott Reference Indexes: Z7 164 .E2 I45].
- HINT. Searching EconLit can be made much easier by using the EconLit subject classification.
Subject headings and subject codes may be browsed at the EconLit web site.
- Environment Abstracts [CD-ROM file]. 1975-present. Quarterly updates.
- [Van Pelt Reference Moelis: CD-ROM workstations]
- Provides abstracts for environmental studies articles from more than 800
academic periodicals, with some general-interest coverage. Asterisked
entries are included in Environment Abstracts Microfiche,
a set held at the Free Library of Philadelphia's Central Branch.
- HUD USER Bibliographic Database. Office of Policy Development and Research, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. 1970s-present.
- Provides abstracts and indexing for research reports, articles, books, monographs, and data sources in housing policy, building technology, economic development, urban planning, and related fields.
Part of HUD USER, the primary source for federal reports and information on housing policy and programs and related topics.
- Social work abstracts.
National Association of Social Workers. 1977-present.
- Social work literature deals with adjustment, acculturation, and social problems faced by an individual or population.
- See the About/Help page for more details.
- See Abstracts for Social Workers for earlier coverage (1965-1977).
- Sociological Abstracts.
1963-present.
- Abstracts of the world's serial literature in sociology and
related disciplines, with strong coverage of social policy literature. Covers 1974 to the present.
- TRIS Online. Transportation Research Board, National Academies of Sciences. 1960s-present.
- The principal bibliographic database for identifying the published research literature on
transportation, indexing monographs, journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers.
Part of the U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics's National Transportation Library.
NB. FINDING MAGAZINES IN THE PENN LIBRARY
It is easy to do this with Franklin.
Use the "Author / Title / Subject" search type so that you can search for the article's journal title.
The Penn Library Web offers help on title searching in Franklin.
The Penn Library owns magazines in print (at Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal call numbers), microform (at Microfilm Cont or Microfilm News call numbers), and electronic formats. All of these formats are cataloged in Franklin.
Search the old Van Pelt serials card catalog for older magazines you weren't able to find first by using Franklin.
The Serials Catalog has red-labelled drawers and is housed in Van Pelt Reference.
At any time, consult a Van Pelt Library reference librarian.
Often the best place to find detailed information concerning a regional
development, new businesses, estimates of population, and so on. Consult
the Van Pelt Reference special bibliography, Subject Access to Philadelphia Newspapers,
for indexing and archives of older news sources.
The Free Library of Philadelphia's Newspaper and Database Division, Central
Library at 1901 Vine Street, has an extensive collection of Philadelphia
neighborhood newspapers, mostly weeklies, on microfilm: consult looseleaf,
Newspapers on microfilm at the Free Library,
at the Van Pelt Reference Desk for titles and holdings.
- Philadelphia Online NewsLibrary [http://www.phillynews.com/newslibrary]
- Linked from Library's E-News
web page
- Searchable fulltext database of more than 1.5 million
Philadelphia Inquirer (1981-today) and
Philadelphia Daily News articles
(1978-today).
- Fulltext articles available freely online for the previous week.
- For earlier fulltext articles from either paper ask at Van Pelt Reference Desk
to be logged on using the Library's password, or use the Inquirer
on CD-ROM (in Van Pelt Reference Moelis Electronic Research
Center, from 1987 to present, updated quarterly). Both papers are also
available on microfilm.
- The CD-ROM version of the Philadelphia Inquirer
includes the full-text of all staff-written and newswire stories,
editorials, features, and letters to the editor, sports stories with staff
bylines, and syndicated columns, obituaries. Not included are advertising,
calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather,
weddings, engagements, death notices, and puzzles. No graphical material.
- The microfilm version of both the Inquirer and the Daily
News is the same as the printed paper and presents the orignal
format including tables, charts, photographs, and other visual material
which will usually not be present in the electronic versions either on
CD-ROM or on the web.
- Philadelphia Tribune. 1884-present. Triweekly. [Additional electronic access]
- [Networked online for recent years as part of Ethnic Newswatch]
- [Networked online as part of Dow Jones Interactive]
- [Van Pelt Microforms: Microfilm News 487 (1912-1980)]
- [Latest two months at Van Pelt Current Periodicals Desk]
- Philadelphia's leading Afro-American newspaper.
- Philadelphia Business Journal. 1982-present. Weekly. [Additional electronic access]
- [Networked online as part of Dow Jones Interactive]
- [Lippincott Microforms: Film cont 110 (1982-1984). Lippincott Microforms: Business Collection (1984-present)]
- [Lippincott Current Periodicals: Latest 2 years]
- Jewish Exponent [New electronic access]
- [Networked online as part of Ethnic NewsWatch]
- [At Annenberg Library on CD-ROM 9]
- Philadelphia magazine. 1909-present. Monthly. [New electronic access]
- [Networked online as part of Dow Jones Interactive
from January, 1994 to present(?)]
- [Van Pelt: HC 108 .P5 G7]
- Additional indexing for Philadelphia magazine articles:
- Access. Evanston, Ill.: J.G. Burke, 1975-present. Annual, with four-month updates.
- [Van Pelt Reference: AI 3 .A23 (1990-present)]
- Indexing for 1973-1990 also included in Popular periodical index. Camden: Rutgers Camden Library. [Van Pelt Reference: AI 3 .P765]
- Subject Index to Philadelphia magazine, 1946-1971, 1972-1991. Philadelphia: Paley Library, Temple University.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: HC 108 .P5 P56]
Small area data from the 1990 and 2000 Census for the entire United States are
available in electronic format and in printed publications. For more
information, consult the Van Pelt Library library guide,
U.S. Census.
The Van Pelt Library also digitized 1940-1980 Philadelphia Censu Tract Maps, that
can be found at
Philadelphia Data and Maps.
- 1990 Census Lookup
The site allows data extraction of 1990 census summary data in the following geographic levels.
[http://homer.ssd.census.gov/cdrom/lookup].
STF3A
Detailed geography - county, place, tract, etc.
STF3B
ZIP codes.
STF3C - part 1
Nation and state totals, Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs).
STF1A
Detailed geography - county, place, tract, etc.
STF1C
Nation and state totals. Not all tables are available.
- Note: Electronic summary data publication reflects the difference between the "short-form" census questionnaire (mailed to 100% of housing units) and the "long-form" census questionnaire (mailed to 1 in 8 Philadelphia housing units).
- Summary Tape File 1 (STF 1) data sets derive from the
"short-form" questionnaire. They provide 100 tables of general population
and housing characteristics, e.g., sex, race,
and Hispanic origin, age, household and family relationships, marital status,
housing tenure and vacancy, housing value and rent, and number of rooms in
unit and units in structure.
- Summary Tape File 3 (STF 3) data sets derive from the
"long-form" questionnaire. They provide about 300 tables of social,
economic, and detailed housing characteristics, in addition to the STF 1
characteristics, e.g., education, disability, fertility, citizenship,
migration, ancestry, labor force, occupation, industry, income, poverty,
telephones and vehicles, heating fuel, housing age, monthly owner/renter
costs including utilities and mortgage.
- Profiles of Philadelphia Census tracts using STF 1A data and extracts of
STF 1 and STF 3 data for Philadelphia Census tracts, Block groups, Blocks,
and ZIP Codes, as well as voting district population information, are
available through the Penn Library Web.
- [Penn Library Web, URL: http://www.library.upenn.edu/resources/subject/government/us/departments/census/phila/phila.html]
- Includes link to data tables provided by Temple University Social Science Data Lab.
- "Neighborhoods Online", LibertyNet web pages maintained by the Institute for the Study of Civic Values, provides brief data tables for Philadelphia Census tracts arranged by "neighborhood".
- [URL: http://www.libertynet.org/nol/nbrhood/nbrhood.html]
2000 Summary File 1 presents counts and basic cross tabulations of
information collected from all people and housing units. It includes counts
for many detailed race and Hispanic or Latino categories. SF 1 presents data
for the United States, the 50 states, and the District of Columbia in a
hierarchical sequence down to the block level for many tabulations, but only
to the census tract level for others. Summaries are included for other
geographic areas such as ZIP Code Tabulation Areas and Congressional districts.
Variables include total population, race, sex, family and households, and general
housing characteristics.
- 2000 Census Tract Maps
- 2000 Census Block Outline Maps
- 1999 Metropolitan Area, Counties, and Central Cities Maps by State
- 2000 Voting District/State Legislative District Outline Maps
Statistical Universe. 1973-present (U.S. gov't sources), 1980-present (other sources). Congressional Information Service, Inc.
Bibliographic indexes, with detailed abstracts, for statistical
publications published by the U.S. government [ASI],
by U.S. state governments and private organizations [SRI],
and by major intergovernmental organizations [IIS]. The
Penn Library will own many of the items in these
sets: use Franklin to identify these. In addition, the
Free Library of Philadelphia's Government Publications Department owns
the ASI, SRI, and IIS microfiche
collections.
Interactive Statistical Datasets Online
A site that links to online full-text statistical data sources including
Statistical Abstract of the United States, State and Metropolitan
Area Data Book, County and City Data Books, USA Counties, School District Data
Book among others.
[URL: http://www.library.upenn.edu/vanpelt/guides/data.html
Geographic Mobility/Migration
[http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/migrate.html].
Provides migration data from the following sources:
1.Current Population Survey,
2.Survey of Income and Program Participation,
3.Population Estimates and Projections, and
4.1990 Census.
Travel to Work Characteristics
- [http://www.census.gov/population/socdemo/journey/msa50.txt].
-
Based on 1990 census data, it includes means of transportation and average travel
time to work for workers 16 years and over for the 50 largest metropolitan
areas in the United states.
State Data Centers -- These agencies are good sources of
social and economic data at the state, county, and municipality level. Strong
on estimates and projections.
- Pennsylvania Spatial Data Access (PASDA)
- [URL: http://www.pasda.psu.edu/]
- Pennsylvania's official geospatial information clearinghouse. It contains information in multiple geographic boundaries and features.
- Pennsylvania State Data Center
- [URL: http://www.hgb.psu.edu/pscd]
- Provides state and municiple level quantiative data.
- New Jersey State Data Center
- [URL: http://www.state.nj.us/labor/lra/njsdc.htm]
- Delaware State Data Center
- [URL: http://www.state.de.us/dedo/dsdc/dsdc.htm]
Economics
- Philadelphia shops update : a citywide inventory of retail centers.
Philadelphia, Pa. : Philadelphia City Planning Commission, [1996].
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: HF 5430.5.P5 P5 1996]
- Updates the 1989 report Philadelphia shops : a citywide study of retail center conditions, issues, and opportunities.
- Economic Census. Washington, DC: U.S. Bureau of the Census.
- [Lippincott Library Reference]
- Economic Census - Web version
Information on retail, wholesale, and manufacturing, mostly at the
county level.
Vital Statistics
- Philadelphia (Pa.). Dept. of Public Health.
Philadelphia resident birth, death, disease and population data by
health district, by neighborhood, and by census tract..
- [Van Pelt: RA 407.4 .P4 P544], latest at Reference Desk, Also at Biomedical Library]
- Neighborhood Health Profiles.
Philadelphia : Philadelphia Health Management Corporation, 1994.
- [Biomedical Library Reference: RA395.A4 P4 1994], also have 1985 volumes.]
Zip Code Data
- The Sourcebook of zip code demographics.
[Fairfax, VA] : CACI, c1990 -.
- [Lippincott Library Reference Desk: HA 203 .S66], latest ed, 1990-97
Gives population for 1980, 1990, 1997, 2002 estimates. Other information on
hourseholds, familiies, race, age distribution, spending potential,
and top ranked industry for 1996 employment.
- The Sourcebook of zip code demographics.
(Census edition). [Fairfax, VA] : CACI, 1991 - .
- [Lippincott Library Reference Desk: HA 203 .S662], 1990.
- Vol. 1 gives population and housing data from the 1990 Census STF1.
Volumes 2 provides income, education, labor force, and detailed housing
data from the 1990 Census STF3.
Philadelphia municipal documents and archives
- City of Philadelphia web
site
- A good place to start when pursuing Philadelphia municipal information.
Provides descriptions for city agencies, with hyperlinks to agency web sites.
Includes fulltext of selected recent documents, including Philadelphia
Code of Ordinances (with Title 14, Zoning and Planning). [NB. This site
is undergoing extensive redesign. 20ix2000.]
- PhILS (Philadelphia
Information Locator Service). Philadelphia City Archives,
Department of Records.
- Brief descriptions of current and past municipal agencies and commissions.
Detailed descriptions of document groups, arranged by agency, held at the City
Archives, 3101 Market Street, including historic deeds, building permits, real
estate records, historic vital statistics, and planning records.
- Philadelphia City
Planning Commission
- Web site offers some fulltext publications and contact information.
Includes very useful web page, Links to
Planning Resources.
- Delaware Valley Regional Planning
Commission
- Coordinates transportation and other planning programs for the nine-county
region in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Delaware. Web site provides abstracts
for publications, some data, and the very useful bulletin series, Delaware Valley
data [also at Van Pelt Reference: HT394 .P5 D454].
- Urban
Archives. Paley Library, Temple University.
- An extremely important Temple Library special collection on Philadelphiana.
The Urban Archives holds the records of many Philadelphia-area political,
social, economic, civic, and neighborhood organizations, as well as municipal
commission records that evaded the City Archives. Major collections include the
clippings file from the Philadelphia Bulletin (1900-1982) and the
photograph archives of the Philadelphia Inquirer and the
Bulletin. The web site provides brief histories of organizations
and descriptions of record groups.
- Toll, Jean Barth and Mildred S. Gillam (comps. and eds.).
Invisible Philadelphia: community through voluntary
organizations. Philadelphia, Pa.: Atwater Kent Museum, 1995. [Van
Pelt Reference Desk and other locations: F158.18 .I58 1995]. The best starting
point for identifying major community organizations in Philadelphia. Entries
include information on the disposition of organization records.
- LibertyNet Philadelphia: Web Sites Directory.
A good collection of links for organizations in the Delaware Valley.
- Pennsylvania Economy League,
Eastern Division.
- This nongovernmental advisory agency produces many publications on
planning, finance, and governance issues for Philadelphia, surrounding
municipalities, and the region. Abstracts of PEL reports are provided at this
web sites.
- The Penn Library receives publications from many other quasi- and
nongovernmental organizations relevant to Philadelphia research. These include
Center City District/Central
Philadelphia Development Corporation, Philadelphia Health Management
Corporation, and Greater Philadelphia Chamber
of Commerce.
- Search Franklin
using keyword searching to identify publications.
The Free Library of
Philadelphia's Government Publications Division receives copies of all city
publications and many other organization's publications.
Municipal documents outside Philadelphia
- Index to
Current Urban Documents. 1972-present.
- [Online, 1999-present. Penn Library Web.]
- [Paper, 1972-1998: Van Pelt Reference and Fine Arts Reference: HT123 .I453]
- Bibliographic citations, some with brief annotations, for documents issued
by approximately 500 U.S. and Canadian city and county governments as well as
regional governmental agencies, nongovernmental organizations, academic
institutions, and research centers treating urban affairs. Online version
provides PDF-format fulltext of documents.
- Urban Documents Microfiche Collection.
- [Online, 1999-present. Penn Library Web via Index to Current Urban
Documents.]
- [Microfiche, 1972-1998. Van Pelt Reference Government Documents: Microfiche
1098 (IN PROCESS).]
- Reproductions of documents indexed in ICUD.
NB. Until the Van Pelt Reference microfiche set is available,
use these three alternatives for obtaining documents from 1998 and earlier:
- Free Library of Philadelphia's Government Publications Division receives
ICUD's annual reports from all cities.
- Temple University's Paley Library receives New York and Pennsylvania
ICUD publications.
- Submit an
interlibrary loan request to Van Pelt Library's Interlibrary Loan
Department.
- NAGARA Member Web Sites.
National Association of Government Archives and Records Administrators.
- State and Local Governments. U.S. Library of Congress.
- Local Governments and Politics. University of Michigan Library Documents Center.
- These are all excellent starting places for identifying web sites for U.S.
city governments and their publications and records.
- Libraries on the Web: USA Public Libraries. Libweb (Berkeley Digital Library SunSITE).
- Library Catalogs and Websites - United States. Penn Library Web.
- These are good starting places for identifying U.S. municipal publications
based upon local public or academic libraries that may collect them.
State and Federal Documents
- Congressional Universe
- State Capital Universe
- Statistical Universe
- This trio of databases, all with similar search interfaces, identifies and
(for Congressional and State Capital Universes) provides fulltext for U.S. and
state laws, bill, and regulations, as well as secondary analysis. Statistical
Universe indexes statistical publications produced by the U.S. government,
state governments, private organizations, and international governmental
organizations.
- Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications, 1994-present.
- The basic tool for identifying U.S. government publications. Includes web
links to publications available fulltext on the web.
State Web Locator. Center for Information Law and Policy.
U.S. State and Local Governments. Library of Congress.
Meta-Indexes. GODORT State and Local Task Force, Government Documents Round Table, American Library Association.
Search the Federal Government: Pathway Indexer and GovBot. U.S. Government Printing Office.
These are useful web sites for identifying web sites maintained by state
and federal agencies.
The Penn Library is a depository for U.S. government documents and for
Pennsylvania and New York state documents. Search Franklin for
these documents.
Documents can be tough to find. Always ask a reference
librarian for help!
- www.cyburbia.org
-
Offers a cluster of information relevant to planning, architecture, urbanism, growth and sprawl, and
other topics related to the built environment. Cyburbia also contains information about architecture and
planning-related mailing lists and discussion groups.
- www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/Cityplan.html
-
Provides access to research guides, indexes and abstracts, and internet resources in city and regional
planning.
- www.planning.org
-
Information about the American Planning Association, but more: APA sponsored research, online
bookstore, legislative issues. The organization's database of publications is searchable.
- www.usc.edu/isd/locations/cst/ISLA
-
The Information System for Los Angeles, in development, is a digital library of photographs,
manuscripts, records, texts, newspapers, documents, maps, etc., from partnering collections. It is
designed to facilitate teaching and research related to the development of the Southern California
metropolitan area. It is cited here as an example.
-
Journal of the American Institute of Planners. 1944-78.
- [Fine Arts Library NA9000.A45]
-
Journal of the American Planning Association. 1979-present.
- [ Fine Arts Library NA9000.A45.]
-
PAS Memo: American Society of Planning Officials, Planning Advisory Service. 1971-present.
- [ Fine Arts Library HT166.A713]
-
Planning. 1969-present.
- [Van Pelt Library HC101.A57]
-
Zoning News.1984-present.
- Supplement to Land Use Law & Zoning Digest and the PAS Memo, published by the
American Planning Association. Van Pelt Library. Unbound issues in Current Periodicals. Latest two years
only retained.
-
Information Sources in Urban and Regional Planning: A Directory and Guide to Reference
Materials. 1994.
- [Fine Arts Library Reference HT 165.5 D84 1994].
Also Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks.
Describes information sources specific to urban and regional planning. Useful for information about
planning and planning-related organizations.
-
The City, A Dictionary of Quotable Thought on Cities and Urban Life / James A. Clapp. 1984.
-
[Fine Arts Library HT111.C576 1984]
Also Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks.
Compiled written and spoken words of over 1,000 writers, speakers, poets, politicians, architects and
historians.
-
Encyclopedia of Urban America; the Cities and Suburbs / Neil
Larry Shumsky, editor. 1998.
- [Fine Arts Library Reference HT123 .E5 1998]
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks HT123 .E5 1998]
Useful for authoritative discussion of urban and suburban topics: arts, buildings, building types,
cities, concepts and terms, economics, infrastructure, law, politics and government, race and ethnicity,
recreation, reform, transportation, types of cities, towns, suburbs, communities.
-
Encyclopedia of Urban Planning.1974
- [Fine Arts Library Reference HT166.E5z]
Defines concepts used in urban planning, identifies prominent names in the field. Systematically covers
planning and its history in 48 countries where systems of planning legislation and administration are
maintained. Photographs, maps, bibliographies. British emphasis.
-
The Language of Cities; a Glossary of Terms / Charles Abrams. 1971.
- [Fine Arts Library Reference HT113. A27]
Also Van Pelt Library.
-
The New Illustrated Book of Development Definitions / Harvey S. Moskowitz and Carl G.
Lindbloom. 1993.
- [Fine Arts Library Reference. HT167 .M683 1993]
Definitions of terms used in zoning, subdivision, or land development ordinance.
-
Genealogy of Philadelphia County Subdivisions / John Daly. 1966.
- [Fine Arts Library Reference: G3824.P5 1966 D3]
-
The Political and Community Service Boundaries of Philadelphia: A Guide.1994?
- [Fine Arts Library Reference JS1272.L7 P45 1994]
-
Ekistic Index of Periodicals: Selected articles from periodicals on human settlements.
1987-present.
- Print format [Fine Arts Library Reference HT51.E447]
Indexes articles from 50-60 journals in the areas of land use, recreation, community development, urban
systems and change, housing, facilities, transportation systems, architecture, and physical, regional,
rural and urban planning.
-
International Regional Science Review. 1975-present.
- Print format [Lippincott HT390 I56]
Each volume contains subject and author indexes to approximately 45 English-language planning and regional science
journals.
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update: Tuesday, 25-Sep-2001 10:52:03 EDT
Send mail concerning
this page to
(Fenghua Wang) at the
Van Pelt Library.