
The following guide is intended to assist in the location of materials
in the Van Pelt Library on children's authors and about children's books,
including recommended titles, award winning works, and
the history of children publishing. The Van Pelt Library has a moderate
number of childrens books. These works are located
the PZ section of the stacks (3rd Floor, West side)a and as part of
the Illman Carter Children's collection, located on the second floor.
Search Franklin by titles for the location and call number.
Contents
Franklin,
the Penn Library's online catalog, lists more than two million books, journal
titles, and other materials contained in campus libraries.
You may search Franklin by author, title, journal title, subject,
or call number, as well as several keyword options.
Notes about Subject Headings:
Children's literature is used for
collections of works published for children, including literary works,
non-literary works, or both.
Works on books for children considered
as physical objects are entered under children's books.
Works on the reading interests of children, and/or lists of books
read by or recommended for children, are entered under
Children--Books and reading.
The subject
subdivison juvenile literature is used
under particular subjects. Try adding "juvenile literature" to
keyword searches, or search the phrase alone.
Collections of literary works or individual literary works written by
children under 15 years of age
are entered under Children's writings.
Works on child authors and/or discussions of their works are entered
under Children as authors.
- Some useful subject headings are:
best books children's literature
children's books
children's literature
childrens literature 20th century
children's literature american
children's literature english
children's literature history and criticism
children's plays
children's poetry
|
children's stories
illustrated books, children's
fairy tales
picture-books for children
children's literature in series
newberry medal books
children's encyclopedias and dictionaries
children's writings
|
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
contains cataloging records for children's books, video and audio
recordings, and film strips. Also provides full-text reviews from independent review sources. Search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Limit by category (ficture or non-fiction) or qualifier (age, language, author/illustrator, publisher, or date)
category. Review sources include:
Review sources include: The Alan Review, Bulletin, Children's Literature, The Five Owls, and Kirkus Reviews, Media & Methods, Parent Council, Parent's Guide, Resource Links, Science Books & Films, and VOYA.
- Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature.
Bernice E. Cullinan and Diane G. Person, editors.
New York : Continuum, 2001.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1008.5 .C66 2001]
- Intended as a single volume work on the history and current
trends in children's literature. Includes 97 topical articles
and about 1,200 biographical entries on authors and illustrators.
- Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English.
[Edited by] Victor Watson. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2001.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PR990 .C36 2001]
- International Companion Encyclopedia of Children's literature.
Hunt, Peter, ed.
London ; New York : Routledge, 1996.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1008.5 .I57 1996]
- Carpenter, Humphrey.The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature.
Oxford [Oxfordshire] ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1984.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1008.5 .C37 1984]
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: PN1008.5 .C37 1984]
- Literary Index
- Provided by the Gale Group publishers. Search my author name to
find various Gale biographical sets that have entries on a
particular author. Indexes many sets including Contemporary Authors and Something about the Author.
Penn owns many of the titles indexed here; check Franklin for
call number and location.
- Something About the Author.
Detroit : Gale Research, 1971-.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: PN452 .S653], v. 1. -
This series covers more than 7,000 authors. Lengthy biographical entries
offer personal information, descriptions of works, author sidelights,
sometimes a portrait and illustrations from works. Entries are updates and
obituaries offer references to earlier volumes.
- American Writers for Children before 1900.
Glenn E. Estes, ed.
Detroit, MI : Gale Research Co., c1985.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS490 .A44 1985]
Lengthy entries include detailed biographical information, lists of books authored,
references, and information on the location of archival papers. See the two titles which follow for later years.
- American Writers for Children, 1900-1960
John Cech, ed.
Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., 1983.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS490 .A43 1983]
- American Writers for Children since 1960. Poets, Illustrators, and Nonfiction Authors
Glenn E. Estes, ed.
Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., c1987.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS490 .A45 1987]
- Authors of Books for Young People.
Martha E. Ward.
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1990.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN497 .A97 1990]
- Rollock, Barbara.Black Authors and Illustrators of Children's Books: a Biographical Dictionary.
New York : Garland, 1988.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 R63 1988]
- British Children's Writers, 1914-1960.
Hettinga, Donald R. and Gary D. Schmidt.
Detroit, MI : Gale Research, c1996.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PR990 .B75 1996]
- British Children's Writers since 1960. First Series.
Hunt, Caroline C., ed.
Detroit : Gale Research, 1996.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PR990 .B753 1996]
- British Children's Writers, 1880-1914.
Laura M. Zaidman, ed.
Detroit : Gale Research, c1994.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PR990 .B75 1994]
- British Children's Writers, 1800-1880 .
Khorana, Meena, ed.
Detroit, MI : Gale Research, c1996.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PR990 .B747 1996]
- Bravo-Villasante, Carmen. Diccionario de autores de la literatura infantil mundial.
Madrid : Editorial Escuela Espaqola, [1985?]
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN497 .B73 1985]
- Children's Books and their Creators.
Anita Silvey, editor.
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, c1995.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 C496 1995]
Concentrates on books for children over the last 100 years and particularly
the last 50 years in the US. Includes biographical material and critical
reviews, as well as overviews of history, issues, and genres. Detailed index.
- St. James Guide to Young Adult Writers.
2nd ed. / with a preface by Richard Peck ; editors, Tom Pendergast & Sara Pendergast.
Detroit : St. James Press, c1999.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS490 .S7 1999]
- Twentieth-century Children's Writers.
D. L. Kirkpatrick, ed. 2nd edition.
New York : St. Martin's Press, 1983.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 T9 1983]
- Twentieth-century Children's Writers.
Tracy Chevalier, ed. 3rd ed.
Chicago : St.James Press, c1989.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 K55 1989]
- Writers for Children: Critical Studies of Major Authors Since the Seventeenth Century.
Jane M. Bingham, editor.
New York : Scribner, 1988.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 W73 1988]
Guide to eighty-four authors of classical literature for children. Entries
include biographical information, evaluataions, and bibliographic
references.
- Writers for Young Adults. Ted Hipple, editor.
New York : Charles Scribner's Sons, c1997.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS490 .W75 1997], v.1-3
Includes biographical entries, lists of works written, and additional references.
The focus is on contemporary authors, although many classic authors are included.
- McElmeel, Sharron L.100 Most Popular Children's Authors: Biographical Sketches and Bibliographies.
Englewood, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1999.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS490 .M39 1999]
Inclusion is based on a survey of students and teachers. Entries are
biographical, with a selected book lists and more reading about the author.
- Children's Literature Review.
Detroit : Gale Research, 1976-
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: PN1009.A1 C5139], 1976 - , v. 1 -
- Each volumes focuses an a selection of authors and illustrators.
Includes biographical information, reception summary,
awards, and principal works. This is followed by author commentary,
general commentaries, and title specific commentaries.
- Adventuring with Books: a Booklist for Pre-K--Grade 6.
Wendy K. Sutton, editor, and the Committee to
Revise the Elementary School Booklist ; with a foreword by Patricia MacLachlan. 11th edition.
Urbana, IL : National Council of Teachers of English, c1997.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 A284 1997]
Intended to list books of literary quaily, artistic merit, and high interest
by children. Entries are annotated.
- Best Books for Children: Preschool through Grade 6..
John T. Gillespie, editor. 7th edition.
New Providence, NJ : R.R. Bowker, c2002.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z1037 .B547 2002]
Entries include one line descriptions and citations to book reviews. Indexes
by author, illustrator, titles, subject, and grade level.
- Sutherland, Zena.
The best in Children's Books: the University of Chicago
Guide to Children's Literature, 1985-1990.
Chicago : University of Chicago Press, c1991.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 .S943 1991]
- Sutherland, Zena. comp.
The Best in Children's Books; the University of Chicago
Guide to Children's Literature, 1979-84.
Chicago, University of Chicago Press, 1986.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 S942 1986]
- Sutherland, Zena.The Best in Children's Books; the University of Chicago
Guide to Children's Literature, 1973-1978.
Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1980.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 S942]
- Sutherland, Zena. comp.
The best in Children's Books; the University of Chicago
Guide to Children's Literature, 1966-1972.
Chicago, University of Chicago Press [1973].
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 S94]
- The World through Children's Books.
Edited by Susan Stan. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2002.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 .W954 2002]
- Apseloff, Marilyn. They Wrote for Children too: an Annotated Bibliography of Children's Literature by Famous Writers for Adults.
New York : Greenwood Press, 1989.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 A67 1989]
Identifies books for children written by well-known authors who wrote primarily
for adults. Includes many formats including poetry, picture books, drama, biography,
and fantasy. Arranged by time period, then by genre.
- Coretta Scott King Awards Book: from Vision to Reality.
Henrietta M. Smith, editor; Coretta
Scott King Task Force, Social Responsibilities Round Table.
Chicago : American Library Association, 1994.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: PN1009.A1 C664 1994]
- Allen, RuthChildren's Book Prizes: an Evaluation and History of Major Awards for Children's Books in the English-Speaking World.
Aldershot, Hants, England ; Brookfield, Vt. : Ashgate, c1998.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PR990 .A45 1998]
- Smith, Laura J.Children's Book Awards International: a Directory of Awards and Winners, from Inception through 1990.
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c1992.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 S45 1992]
- Peterson, Linda Kauffman.Newbery and Caldecott Medal and Honor Books: an Annotated Bibliography.
Boston, MA : G.K. Hall, 1982.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 P42 1982]
- Newbery and Caldecott Medalists and Honor Book Winners: Bibliographies and Resource
Material through 1977. Jim Roginski, compiler.
Littleton, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1982.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 N488 1982]
- Rand, Donna. Black Books Galore!: Guide to Great African American Children's Books
New York : Wiley, c2001.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: E185 .R26 2001]
- [Van Pelt Library Afro-American Studies Seminar (non-circ): E185 .R26 1998]
- Denman-West, Margaret W. Children's Literature: a Guide to Information Sources
Englewood, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1998.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 D4 1998]
- Barker, Keith. Outstanding Books for Children and Young People: the LA guide to Carnegie/Greenaway
Winners, 1937-1997
London : Library Association Publishing, 1998.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 B35 1998]
- Allen, Marjorie N. One Hundred Years of Children's Books in America: Decade by Decade
New York : Facts On File, 1996.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS490 .A38 1996]
A chronological history of the children's book industry in the US. Each chapter
is half text and half annotated bibliography.
- Special Collections in Children's Literature: an International Directory.
Association for Library
Service to Children ; compiled and edited by Dolores Blythe Jones ; with the assistance of the
National Planning for Special Collections Committee.
3rd edition.
Chicago : American Library Association, 1995.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z688.C47 S63 1995]
- Lees, Stella.Oxford Companion to Australian Children's Literature.
Melbourne ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PR9613.9 .L44 1993]
- Carruth, Gorton.The Young Reader's Companion.
New Providence, N.J. : R.R. Bowker, c1993.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1008.5 .C373 1993]
- Miller-Lachmann, Lyn.Our Family, our Friends, our World: an Annotated Guide to Significant Multicultural Books for
Children and Teenagers.
New Providence, N.J. : R.R. Bowker, c1992.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 M56 1992]
- Hendrickson, Linnea.Children's Literature, a Guide to the Criticism.
Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1987.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PR990 .H46 1987]
- Bingham, Jane. Fifteen Centuries of Children's Literature: an Annotated Chronology of British and American Works in Historical Context.
West, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1980.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1009.A1 B55]
The following indexes are used to locate journal articles,
although some indexes cover additional types of works.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center).
- Covers 1966 to the present.
- Provides indexing to almost eight hundred education and education-related journals, as well
as research documents, speeches, and government publications. Focus is strongest on
the United States.
Online access to 80% of the ERIC Documents from 1996 to the
present is available from EDRS via the ERIC database.
In addition, the
Van Pelt Library houses the ERIC document microfiche collection from 1985 to the present.
For additional information about ERIC, please see About ERIC.
- Some useful ERIC Subject Headings include:
adolescent literature
authors
artists
awards
beginning reading
black literature
children's literature
cultural differences
emergent literacy
|
illustrations
language rhythm
nursery rhymes
picture books
preschool education
reading materials
reading aloud to others
reading material selection
rhyme
story telling
|
- Some useful ERIC Identifiers (proper nouns, terms not
yet Subject Headings) include:
african americans
caldecott award
|
easy reading books
historical fiction
|
- Education Index.
- Indexes over five hundred journals in education comprehensively. A good number of these titles have full-text for recent
years. Covers 1983 to the present. The print version of Education Index is located at
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: L11 .E384], 1929-.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA).
- Covers 1973 to the present.
Covers world's literature in linguistics, language
acquisitions, language teaching.
- MLA Bibliography.
- Covers 1963 - present.
The Modern Language Association's International Bibliography (MLA)
covers literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore/folklife.
Before 1970, however, the file is primarily limited to
English language materials.
Also in print: Van Pelt Reference: Z7006 .M64], 1956 - 1994.
- The Children's Literature Web Guide - http://www.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/index.html
- Carol Hurst's Children's Literature - http://www.carolhurst.com/
Includes book reviews, use of children's literature in the curriculum, and
authors and illustrators.
- Bookhive: Your Guide to Children's Literature & Books - http://www.bookhive.org/
Searchable site with recommendations provided by librarians at
the Public Library of Charlotte and Mecklenberg Co., NC.
- CHILDE - Children's Historical Literature Disseminated throughout Europe - http://www.bookchilde.org/
Images from
children's books from six collections in England, Ireland, the Netherlands,
and Germany. Most books published before 1890.
- Once Upon a Time...A Children's Literature Web site - http://nova.bsuvc.bsu.edu/~00mevancamp/ouat.htm
- Vandergrift's Children's Literature Page - http://scils.rutgers.edu/%7Ekvander/ChildrenLit/index.html
- Database of Award-winning Children's Literature - http://www2.wcoil.com/~ellerbee/childlit.html
Search quality book titles via keyword or phrase,
reading level, genre, language, historical period,
gender of the protagonist, and ethnicity of the protagonist.
- Children's Book Council - http://www.cbcbooks.org/
- Children's Literature Association (ChLA) - http://ebbs.english.vt.edu/chla/
- Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators - http://www.scbwi.org/
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update: Wednesday, 16-Oct-2002 12:31:02 EDT
Send mail concerning
this page to Patty Lynn, at the the Van Pelt Library:
lynn@pobox.upenn.edu