Penn Library

Guide to U.S. Census Documents at Penn


Contents:

  1. University Library
  2. U.S. Census Publications
  3. Franklin - Penn Library Catalog
  4. Guides - General and By Census
  5. 1990 Census
  6. Earlier Censuses
  7. Internet Resources
  8. Philadelphia Census Data
  9. Census Maps
  10. Statistical Compendia
  11. Regional Census Office
  12. Poverty Data
  13. Census Schedules
  14. ZIP Code Data
  15. Philadelphia Neighborhoods
  16. Municipal Level Data
  17. Income Data
  18. Future Census Products
  19. Search this Bibliography by Keywords

  1. The University Library

    The Library has been a selective depository for U.S. government documents since the end of the 19th century and holds a strong collection of documents back to the founding of the nation. Franklin provides access to much of this material. The Library also holds uncataloged or incompletely cataloged census resources in print, microform, and CD-ROM. Much 1990 Census data is available online. Access to these materials will be discussed in this guide.

  2. U.S. Census Publications

    The Penn Library holds the published reports of the decennial censuses from 1790 to the present, as well as many other Census Bureau publications, such as the Economic Censuses and the Census of Agriculture.

  3. Franklin - The Penn Library Online Catalog



    Do a Franklin Author Search for: united states census office [until 1900], and united states bureau of the census [since 1900].

    A Try Franklin Keyword searches on the following patterns:

    nkey bureau AND nkey census AND "retail trade" - finds all titles authored by the Bureau of the Census, with the phrase "retail trade" in the record.

    nkey bureau AND nkey census AND "computer file" - finds all titles authored by the Bureau of the Census that are on CD-ROM.

    nkey census AND (block OR blocks)

  4. Guides

    GENERAL

    GUIDES BY CENSUS

  5. 1990 Census

    See Guides to 1990 Census above.

    The 1990 Census of Population and Housing on CD-ROM is in the Van Pelt Reference Moelis CD Area, including the Subject Reports.

    Some of the printed volumes of the 1990 Census of Population are at the Reference Desk or in the Reference stacks. (Van Pelt Reference HA 201 1990..). Most 1990 volumes are in the Van Pelt Stacks with earlier censuses at HA 201 1990. The 1990 Census of Housing (except for the U.S. summary and Pennsylvania volumes) is in the Van Pelt stacks at HD 7293...

    U.S. Census Bureau - Access Tools / 1990 Census Lookup, for 1990 Census Tract Data.

    Philadelphia Area 1990 Census Data, through: Penn Library home page / Resources by Subject / Philadelphia / Statistical Sources / 1990 Census. See for Philadelphia Tract and Block data and profiles.

    LandView III. A geographic reference too on CD-ROM, displaying EPA- regulated sites, demographic and economic information from the 1990 Census, and key geographic features of the United States. LandView III includes a subset of the facilities, sites, and monitoring stations represented in five EPA data bases:

    Additionally, LandView III includes the complete Census Bureau's 1992 TIGER/Line file information which provides spatial characteristics of streets (with address ranges and ZIP codes), rivers, railroads, and other landmarks. It also contains 1990 demographic and economic data from the Bureau of the Census, including population and housing characteristics drawn from two census data bases, Summary Tape Files (STF) 1A and 3A. With Landview III, users can view EPA and Bureau of the Census information along with different geographic boundaries including States, Congressional Districts (103rd), metropolitan areas, counties, cities, Indian reservations, census tracts and census block groups. Users can also display, search for, and identify map objects and locations. They can also choose and thematically display information or identify population characteristics for any radius around a point. LandView III allows users to print custom maps and reports. (Van Pelt Reference Moelis HA 201 1990 L26; Northeast disc is networked on all Moelis workstations).

    1990 Census on CD-ROM in Van Pelt Reference

    Subject Index to 1990 U.S. Census Data on CD-ROM's in Van Pelt Reference

    Census USA (Van Pelt Reference Moelis Area HA 201 1990as) Commercial packaging of 1990 population census data and economic data at MSA, county, city, and zip code level.

    Census of Population and Housing 1990 STF1A Short Form Data. HA 201 1990 Set of 17 CDs containing data from short form questionnaire sent to every household for the 1990 census. Geographic areas: state, counties, county subdivision, places, census track/block numbering areas, and block groups, consolidated cities, and 101st Congressional districts. Data is broken down geographically in several hierarchial sequences to block group level. Population, 37 tables: age, race (black, white, American Indian, Eskimo, Aleut, Asian and Pacific Islander, Hispanic origin by type (Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, other), sex, marital status, household type and household relationship, persons in selected types of group quarters. Housing, 63 tables: occupancy/vacancy status, tenure, units in structure, rooms in unit, contract rent, unit value, meals included with rent.

    Census of Population and Housing 1990 STF1B "Block Statistics" Set of 11 CDs presenting population and housing data from the short form questionaire. Geographic areas: county, county subdivision, place, census tract/block numbering area, block group, and block. Population: race (black, white, American Indian, Eskimo, Asian and Pacific Islander), Hispanic origin, and age group (under 18 and over 65). 4 tables Housing: housing units, units in structure, occupancy status, tenure, average rooms in unit, average rent and unit value, persons per room, occupants, and occupants in 1-person households and single-parent family households with children. 8 tables. Philadelphia 1990 Census Block Statistics online

    Census of Population and Housing, 1990. STF1C. U.S. Summary. Geography: United States, regions, divisions, States (including urban and rural), counties, places of 10,000 or more inhabitants, county subdivisions of 10,000 or more inhabitants in selected States, metropolitan areas, urban areas, and American Indian and Alaska Native areas. Subject content: Total population, age, sex, race, Hispanic origin, marital status, household relationships, units in housing structure, value, rent, number of rooms, tenure and vacancy characteristics;

    Census of Population and Houseing, 1990. STF1D. STF3D. Congressional Districts. HA 210 1990x Geography: By State for Congressional Districts of the 105th Congress of the United States, and within the districts for County (or part), county subdivision with 10,000 or more persons (or part) (12 states only); place with 10,000 or more persons (or part), consolidated city with 10,000 or more persons (or part), American Indian and Alaska Native areas, (with trust lands and with no trust lands) (or part), Alaska Native Regional Corporation (or part). Subject content: More than 900 data items of 100-percent population and housing counts and characteristics (including age, race, sex, Hispanic origin, marital status, household characteristics, units in housing structure, value, rent, number of rooms, tenure, and vacancy characteristics); also, contains sample data weighted to represent the total population for the following subjects: : Age, Mobility limitation, status, Ancestry, Occupation, Citizenship, Place of birth, Class of worker, Place of work, Educational attainment, Poverty status, Employment status, Private vehicle occupancy, Family type, Race, Farm and nonfarm population, Residence in 1985, Foreign-born status, School enrollment, Group quarters, Self-care limitation status, Hispanic origin, Sex, Household type and relationship, Travel time to work, Income in 1989, Urban and rural population, Industry, Veteran/military status, Language spoken at home, Work disability status, Marital status, Work status in 1989, Means of transportation to work, Workers in family in 1989, Housing Items: Age of householder, Rooms, Bedrooms, Selected monthly owner costs, Condominium status, Sewage disposal, Farm and nonfarm housing, Telephone availability, Heating fuel, Tenure, Hispanic origin of householder, Units in structure, Housing units, Urban and rural housing, Kitchen facilities, Utilities in rent, Meals included in rent, Value of housing unit, Mortgage status, Vehicles available, Occupancy status, Water source, Plumbing facilities, Year householder moved into unit, Race of householder, Year structre built, Rent. Source for CPH-4 series of printed reports. -- 103d Congress and 104th Congress at Van Pelt Information Desk

    Census of Population and Housing 1990 STF3A. Long Form Data Set of 62 CDs with data from the long form (sample) questionnaire sent to ca.17% of U.S. housing units. Covers all U.S. States down to Block Group level. Geographic areas: counties, places, tracts, block groups, congressional districts, consolidated cities; state portions of metro, consolidated metro, and primary statistical areas, urbanized, urban-rural, congressional districts, consolidated cities. Population, 193 tables: age, sex, race, Hispanic origin, and marital status; ancestry, birth-place, citizenship, and language spoken at home; education, employment, occupation and industry; place of and journey to work; mobility limitation, self-care limitation, and work disability status; family and household types, workers in family, and income, poverty and veteran/military status; and residence in 1985 and in group quarters. Housing, 99 tables. Householder age, race, Hispanic origin, tenure, and year moved into unit; rooms and bedrooms, units in structure, and year built; unit occupancy status, ktchen and plumbing facilities, water source, sewage disposal, heating fuel, and telephone and vehicle availability; mortgage status, selected monthly owner costs, and unit value; rent, and meals and utilities included; and condominium status.

    Census of Population and Housing 1990 STF3B "Zip Code Areas" Data arranged by ZIP codes for the entire U.S. Data on 3 CDs, includes detailed social, economic and housing topics. Geography: All States and selected subareas in a hierarchical sequence. This basic hierarchy is shown in the following sequence: ZIP Code (Level code 800); ZIP Code - State - County (Level code 820). Data are organized by the first digit in the 5-digit ZIP code, 0 through 9. Subject content: Contains sample data weighted to represent the total population. In addition, the file contains 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units. Population items: Age, Mobility limitation status, Ancestry, Occupation, Citizenship, Place of birth, Class of worker, Place of work, Educational attainment, Poverty status, Employment status, Private vehicle occupancy, Family type, Race, Farm and nonfarm population, Residence in 1985, Foreign-born status, School enrollment, Group quarters, Self-care limitation status, Hispanic origin, Sex, Household type and relations, Travel time to work, Income in 1989, Urban and rural population, Industry, Language spoken at home, Work disability status, Marital status, Work status in 1989, Means of transportation to work, Workers in family in 1989. Housing Items: Age of householder, Rooms, Bedrooms, Selected monthly owner costs, Condominium status, Sewage disposal, Farm and nonfarm housing, Telephone availability, Heating fuel, Tenure, Hispanic origin of householder, Units in structure, Housing units, Urban and rural housing, Kitchen facilities, Utilities in rent, Meals included in rent, Value of housing unit, Mortgage status, Vehicles available, Occupancy status, Water source, Plumbing facilities, Year householder moved into unit, Race of householder, Year structure built. Rent.

    Census of Population and Housing 1990 STF3C U.S. Summary CD-ROM 59 Geography: United States, Region, Division, State, County, county subdivision (in 12 states), places of 10,000 or more persons, consolidated city, metropolitan statistical area/consolidated metropolitan statistical area, consolidated metropolitan statistical area/primary metropolitan statistical area, urbanized area, total, State and county portion of American Indian Reservations (with trust lands and with no trust lands) and Alaska Native areas. Subject content: Contains sample data weighted to represent the total population. In addition, the file contains 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units. Population items: Age, Mobility limitation status, Ancestry, Occupation, Citizenship, Place of birth, Class of worker, Place of work, Educational attainment, Poverty status, Employment status, Private vehicle occupancy, Family type , Race, Farm and nonfarm population, Residence in 1985, Foreign-born status, School enrollment, Group quarters, Self-care limitation status, Hispanic origin, Sex, Household type and relations, Travel time to work, Income in 1989, Urban and rural population, Industry, Veteran/military status, Language spoken at home, Work disability status, Marital status, Work status in 1989, Means of transportation to work, Workers in family in 1989. Housing Items: Age of householder, Rooms, Bedrooms, Selected monthly owner costs, Condominium status, Sewage disposal, Farm and nonfarm housing, Telephone availability, Heating fuel, Tenure, Hispanic origin of householder, Units in structure, Housing units , Urban and rural housing, Kitchen facilities , Utilities in rent, Meals included in rent, Vehicles available, Occupancy status, Water source, Plumbing facilities, Year householder moved into unit, Race of householder, Year structure built, Rent.

    Census of population and housing (1990). Equal Employment opportunity file. CD-ROM 57 2 discs (CD90-EEO-1 Alabama-Missouri; CD90-EEO-2 Montana-Wyoming; Geography: United States, each State and the District of Columbia, each county, metropolitan area, place of 50,000 or more persons within each State, and for 12 States, minor civil divisions of 50,000 or more persons. The file will contain data for two sets of three tables (six altogether). Subject content: Two sample-based sets of tabulations from civilian labor force data collected in the 1990 census. The first set is a cross-tabulation of 512 detailed census occupations by sex, race, and Hispanic origin. The second set shows educational attainment for selected age groupings by sex, race, and Hispanic origin. Each record contains all occupation and educational attainment categories by sex, race, and Hispanic origin.

    Census of Population and Housing 1990. Geographical Identification Code Scheme. (G 108.7 C46 1994b) Geography: Regions; divisions; 50 states and several statistically equivalent entities: The District of Columbia, six territories under U.S. jurisdiction (American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Republic of Palau, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands of the United States), and two freely associated entities for which the Census Bureau prepared TIGER/Line files although they were not included in the 1990 census -- the Federated States of Micronesia and the Marshall Islands; American Indian and Alaska Native areas; counties and statistically equivalent entities; county subdivisions; places; metropolitan areas; and urbanized areas. Subject content: Entity names, codes, selected geographic relationships, total population, total number of housing units, area measurements (land, total water, inland water, coastal water, Great Lakes water, and territorial water), and internal points for the high-level geographic entities listed below. The data dictionary (on the disc) identifies the data items reported in this file. The internal points permit determination of approximate distances between entities.

    Census of Population and Housing 1990 Public Use Microdata Sample HA 201 1990ab Individual long-form questionnaires for 5% sample of the entire U.S.(PUMS A). Questionnaires are grouped by county or 100.000 person county part. Software allows frequency distributions and cross tabulations. Manual. Geography: Available for United States and outlying areas that meet a 100,000 minimum-population threshold. Currently, the standard PUMS products are the 5 percent and 1 percent samples for the United States and Puerto Rico, and a special 3 percent sample (not available on CD-ROM) dealing specifically with the elderly population. The 5 percent and 1 percent samples are similar in content to the "A" and "B" files made available in 1980. Besides the obvious difference in file size, the 5 percent and 1 percent files differ in the geography around which the files are constructed. For example, the Public Use Microdata Area (PUMA) is the lowest level of geography identified on any PUMS file.
    Subject content: Individual records of responses to questionnaires with unique identifiers (names, addresses, etc.) removed so the confidentiality of respondents is protected. These files enable users to produce their own tabulations within the limits of the data provided. The 5 percent sample is basically a county level file; that is the PUMA can be a single county (or county equivalent), a group of counties, a place, or county/place parts if that county had more than 200,000 persons. On the other hand, the 1 percent sample is basically a metropolitan area file. For this, the PUMA will be an MSA, groups of MSAs, parts of MSAs when the MA is larger than 200,000 persons, and groups of nonmetropolitan areas.
    File format: flat ASCII, except that each record will be terminated with carriage return and linefeed characters. File structure: hierarchical. While no "value-added" user software is provided, the technical documentation includes a section with suggestions on how to use the files. All PUMS files have two record types: one for housing units, and one for persons. The number of records per file is determined by the sample size.

    Census of population and housing (1990). Special tabulation on aging. HQ1064.U5 .C386 1994 21 disks Geography: The most frequently accessed geographic levels for states, in hierarchical sequence, are: State, county, census tract/block numbering area, place with 2,500 or more persons, county subdivision with 2,500 or more persons (13 states), American Indian Reservation/Tribal Jurisdiction Statistical Area, Alaska native regional corporation, metropolitan statistical area/consolidated metropolitan statistical area, consolidated metropolitan statistical area/primary metropolitan statistical area, urbanized area, planning and service area. The United States file provides data for the entire United States in the following hierarchical sequence: United States, American Indian Reservation/Tribal Jurisdiction Statistical Area; metropolitan statistical area/consolidated metropolitan statistical area, consolidated metropolitan statistical area/primary metropolitan statistical area, urbanized area, and special planning and service area. (The Older Americans Act of 1965 as amended instructs the State Agency on Aging in each state to subdivide the state into planning and service areas (PSAs). The following states are single PSA jurisdictions: Alaska, Delaware, District of Columbia, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Dakota, and Wyoming. Forty-one states and Puerto Rico have a total of 659 substate PSAs.)
    Subject content: Contains 483 population and 228 housing tables that present data for all persons and housing units. It has sample data weighted to represent the total population. In addition, the file contains 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units. Other population and housing data items are listed below.
    Population items: Ability to speak English, Low income status, Age, Marital status, Educational attainment, Mobility and self-care limitation status, Employment status, Persons, Family type, Place of birth, Hispanic origin, Poverty level, Household type and relationship, Poverty status in 1989, Income in 1989, Race, Residence in 1985, Veteran status, Sex, Work disability status. Housing items: Age of person in unit, Persons in unit, Condominium status, Plumbing facilities, Gross rent, Poverty level, Hispanic origin of householder, Poverty status in 1989, Household type and relationship, Race of householder, Housing units, Selected monthly owner costs, Kitchen facilities, Telephone availability, Meals included in rent, Tenure, Mobility of self-care limitation, Units in structure, Value, Mortgage status, Vehicles available, Year structure built.

    1990 Census Subject Summary Tape Files (SSTF1-SSTF22c)

    Note: Available online at: Univ. of Calif., Berkeley. Soc. Sci. and Govt. Data Library

      SSTF 1, Foreign-born Population in the U.S.  
      SSTF 2, Ancestry of the Population of the U.S. 
      SSTF 3, Persons of Hispanic Origin in the U.S. 
      SSTF 5, Characteristics of the Asian and  Pacific Islander Population in the U.S. 
    

    Census of population and housing (1990). Subject summary tape file (SSTF) 1. Foreign born HA201 1990u Foreign-born population in the United States Geography: United States, regions, divisions, states Subject content: Sample data weighted to represent the total population; 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units; also, ability to speak English, age, citizenship, class of worker, disability status, earnings in 1989, educational attainment, employment status, family type and presence and age of children, household size, household type and relationship, income in 1989, industry, labor force status, living arrangements, marital status, occupation, poverty status in 1989, school enrollment, sex, veteran, year of entry, gross rent, housing units, kitchen facilities, mortgage status, plumbing facilities, tenure, units in structure, year householder moved into unit. Related printed reports: CP-3, CH-3.

    Census of population and housing (1990). Subject summary tape file (SSTF) 2. Ancestry HA201 1990v Ancestry of the population in the United States Geography: United States, regions, divisions, states. Subject content: Sample data weighted to represent the total population; 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units; also, ability to speak English, age, children ever born, citizenship, class of worker, disability status, earnings in 1989, educational attainment, employment status, family type and presence and age of children, group quarters, household size, household type and relationship, income in 1989, industry, labor force status, language spoken at home, linguistic isolation, living arrangements, marital status, nativity, occupation, poverty status in 1989, school enrollment, sex, veteran status, workers in family, year of entry; gross rent, housing units, kitchen facilities, mortgage status, persons per room, plumbing facilities, tenure, units in structure, year householder moved into unit. Related printed reports: CP-3, CH-3

    Census of population and housing (1990). Subject summary tape file (SSTF) 3. Hispanic origin. Persons of Hispanic origin in the United States Geography: United States, regions, divisions, states. Subject content: Sample data weighted to represent the total population; 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units; also, ability to speak English, age, children ever born, citizenship, class of worker, disability status, earnings in 1989, educational attainment, employment status, family type and presence and age of children, group quarters, household size, household type and relationship, income in 1989, industry, labor force status, language spoken at home, linguistic isolation, living arrangements, marital status, nativity, occupation, poverty status in 1989, school enrollment, sex, veteran status, workers in family, year of entry; gross rent, housing units, kitchen facilities, mortgage status, persons per room, plumbing facilities, tenure, units in structure, year householder moved into unit. Related printed reports: CP-3, CH-3

    Census of population and housing. Subject summary tape file (SSTF) 4. Disabilities. HA201 1990ae Characteristics of adults with work disabilities, mobility limitations, or self-care limitations. 3 discs. Geography: United States, States, counties with 50,000 or more persons, metropolitan statistical areas (or consolidated metropolitan statistical areas with 250,000 or more persons. Subject content: Sample data weighted to represent the total population; 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units;also, age, aggregate earnings in 1989, class of worker, educational attainment, employment status, group quarters, Hispanic origin, household type and relationship, income in 1989, means of transportation to work, occupation, persons in household, race, ratio of income in 1989 to poverty level, school enrollment, sex, tenure, units in structure, vehicles available, veteran status, work status in 1989. Note: SSTF has A and B records. The A records have 3 population and 3 housing tables. The A records present data for all persons for each summary level and geographic component level within a unit of geography. The B records have 70 population tables. The B records present data for civilian noninstitutionalized persons 16 years and over with work disabilities and without work disabilities. Related printed reports: CP-3, CH-3.

    Census of population and housing (1990). Subject summary tape file (SSTF) 5. Asian and Pacific Islanders E184.O6 C44 1994 Characteristics of the Asian and Pacific Islander population in the United States Geography: United States, regions, divisions, states Subject content: Sample data weighted to represent the total population; 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units; also, ability to speak English, age, children ever born, citizenship, class of worker, disability status, earnings in 1989, educational attainment, employment status, family type and presence and age of children, household type and relationship, household size, income in 1989, industry, labor force status, language spoken at home, linguistic isolation, living arrangements, marital status, nativity, occupation, poverty status in 1989, school enrollment, sex, veteran status, year of entry; gross rent, housing units, kitchen facilities, mortgage status, person per room, plumbing facilities, tenure, units in structure, year householder moved into unit. Related printed reports: CP-3-5, CH-3-1

    Census of Population and Housing 1990 SSTF. Subject summary tape files 6 and 12. Education and Employment. LB 2846 C38 1995 Education in the United States, and Employment status, work experience, and veteran status. Geography: United States, regions, divisions, states, metropolitan statistical areas and consolidated metropolitan statistical areas. Subject content: Both SSTF 6 and SSTF 12 contain sample data weighted to represent the total population; 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units. SSTF six contains age, earnings in 1989, educational attainment, school enrollment, sex, type of school, work status in 1989. SSTF12 contains age, class of worker, educational attainment, employment status, group quarters, household type and relationship, income in 1989, marital status, occupation, period of military service, residence in1989, school enrollment, sex, veteran status, work status in 1989, usual hours worked per week in 1989, and weeks worked in 1989, year last worked. Note: SSTF six data are represented in A and B records. Each record type presents a different set of tables. The A records have three population and three housing tables that present data for all persons and housing units. The B records present more detail in five population tables. Note: SSTF12 is available as a single file for the United States, each state, and the District of Columbia. The A records have 17 population and three housing tables. The B records present more detail in nine population tables. Related printed reports: CP-2 (SSTF12), CP-3-4 (SSTF6). CPH-5 (SSTF12)

    Census of population and housing. Subject summary tape file (SSTF) 7. Metropolitan Housing. HA201 1990ab Metropolitan housing characteristics 8 discs. Geography: United States, regions, divisions, states, metropolitan statistical areas and consolidated metropolitan statistical areas. Subject content: Sample data weighted to represent the total population; 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units;also, age of householder, bedrooms, condominium status, contract rent, educational attainment of householder, gross rent, house heating fuel, household income in 1989, household type and presence and age of children, kitchen facilities, marital status, meals included in rent, means of transportation to work, mortgage status, persons in unit, persons per room, plumbing facilities, poverty status in 1989, presence of nonrelatives, rooms, selected monthly owner costs, telephone, tenure, travel time to work, units in structure, value of housing unit, vehicles available, workers in household, year householder moved into unit, year structure built. Note: SSTF 7 data are represented in A and B records. Each record type presents a different set of tables. The A records have three population and three housing tables that present data for all persons and housing units. The B records present more detail in 317 housing tables. Related printed reports: CH-3-1.

    Census of population and housing (1990). Subject summary tape file (SSTF) 8. Housing the elderly. HD7287.92 .U54 C46 1995 Housing of the elderly. Geography: United States, all States, and the District of Columbia, and metropolitan statistical areas. Subjects: SSTF contains five population and 144 housing tables. It includes sample data weighted to represent the total poulation. In addition, the file contains 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units. Also, age, bedrooms, condominium status, gross rent, group quarters, house heating fuel, household income in 1989, household type and relationship, housing units, kitchen facilities, meals included in rent, mortgage status, persons, plumbing facilities, real estate taxes, rooms, selected monthly owner costs, sewage disposal, source of water, telephone in housing unit, tenure, units in structure, value, vehicles available, year householder moved into unit, year structure built. Note: SSTF8 has A and B records. The A records have 5 population (PA) and 119 housing (HA) table (matrices). The A records provide data for all persons for each summary level and geographic component level within a unit of geography. The B records provide more detail information in 25 housing (HB) tables.

    Census of population and housing (1990). Subject summary tape file (SSTF) 9. New Units. HD 7293 .C46 1995 Housing characteristics of new units. Geography: United States, regions, divisions, states, metropolitan statistical areas and consolidated metropolitan statistical areas. Subject content: SSTF contains three population and 203 housing tables. It includes sample data weighted to represent the total population. In addition, the file contains 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units. Also, age of householder, bedrooms, condominium status, gross rent, Hispanic origin of householder, house heating fuel, household income in 1989, household type and presence and age of children, means of transportation to work, mortgage status, occupation of householder, persons in unit, persons per room, poverty status in 1989, race of householder, rooms, selected monthly owner costs, telephone availability, tenure, travel time to work, units in structure, vacancy status, value of housing unit, vehicles available, workers in household, year structure built. Related printed reports: CH-3-1.

    Census of population and housing (1990). Subject summary tape file (SSTF) 10. Mobile homes. HD 7289.62 U6 C46 1995 Housing characteristics of mobile homes. Geography: United States, regions, divisions, states, metropolitan statistical areas and consolidated metropolitan statistical areas. Subject content: SSTF 10 records have three population and 206 housing tables that present data for all persons and housing units. It contains sample data weighted to represent the total population. In addition, the file contains 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units. Also, age of householder, bedrooms, gross rent, Hispanic origin of householder, house heating fuel, household income in 1989, household type, mortgage status, occupation of householder, persons in unit, persons per room, presence and age of children, poverty status in 1989, rooms, selected monthly owner costs, sewage disposal, source of water, tenure, units in structure, vacancy status, value of housing unit, vehicles available, year householder moved into unit, year structure built. Related printed reports: CH-3-1

    Census of population and housing. Subject summary tape file (SSTF) 14. Index of occupations. HB 2595 B39 1995 Occupation and industry, industry by occupation, alphabetical index Geography: United States, states and the District of Columbia. Subject content: Contains 501 occupations and 236 industries cross-tabulated. Major groups also cross-tabulated by individual industries or occupations. Also, updated version (as of November 1994) of the Alphabetical Index of Industries and Occupations. Source: The industry and occupation data are derived from Special Tabulation Program (STP) 30 (See diskettes chapter); the Alphabetical Index of Industries and Occupations is an updated version of the printed report titled CPH-R-3, Census of Population and Housing, 1990, Alphabetical Index of Industries and Occupations: 1990.

    Census of population and housing 1990 SSTF. Subject summary tape file 15. Geographic mobility. hb 1965 C45 1996 Geographic mobility in the United States. Geography: United States, State, Metropolitan Statistical Area/Primary Metropolitan Statistical Area. Subjects: Contains summary statistics for all persons 5 years and over in the United States. SSTF 15 has one table that can be cross-tabulated within the variables listed below to present data for non-movers; movers within State, county, and metropolitan/nonmetropolitan area; and flows between States, or metropolitan/non- metropolitan areas. Also, marginal (non-cross-tabulated) data are available for the same variables. Data items include: Age, Currently Enrolled, Educational Attainment, Employment Status Recode, Hispanic Origin, Household and Group Quarters Type, Household/Group Quarters Relationship,Income in 1989, Industry, Marital Status, Occupation, Poverty Status in 1989, Race, Residence in 1985,Residence in 1990, Sex and Tenure.

    Census of population and housing (1990). Subject summary tape file (SSTF) 16. Fertility. HA201 1990ag Fertility Geography: United States, states. Subject content: Contains sample data weighted to represent the total population. In addition, the file contains 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units. Also, age, children ever born, children ever born per 1,000 women, citizenship, educational attainment, employment status, Hispanic origin, housing units, income in 1989, marital status, occupation, persons, place of birth, poverty status in 1989, race, ratio of income in 1989 to poverty level, school enrollment, type of residence, year of entry to the United States. Note: SSTF16 has A and B records. The A records have 27 population and three housing tables. The A records present data for all persons for each summary level and geographic component level withina unit of geography. The B records have 40 population tables. The B records present data for all persons and for the following characteristic iterations: White; Black; American Indian, Eskimp, or Aleut; Asian or Pacific Islander; Other race; Hispanic origin (of any race); White, not of Hispanic origin; and other races, not of Hispanic origin for each summary level and geographic component level within a unit of geography. Related printed reports: CPH-5, CPH-4, and CPH-3 series and CP-2 series.

    Census of population and housing 1990 SSTF. Subject summary tape file 17. Poverty. HD 6983 C46 1994 Poverty areas in the United States Geography: Provides data for the United States, regions, divisions, and places. The file structure is as follows: United States, region, division, state, state - county, state - central city, state - county (part) for New England Division, metropolitan statistical area/consolidated metropolitan statistical area, primary metropolitan statistical area. Subject content: Sample data weighted to represent the total population. In addition, the file contains 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units. Other data items are listed below. Population items include: age, aggregate number of children ever-born, earnings in 1989, educational attainment, employment status, family size, family type, group quarters, Hispanic origin, household type and relationship, income in 1989, language spoken at home and ability to speak English, marital status, means of transportation to work, mobility and self-care limitation status, nativity and place of birth, occupation, period of military service, poverty status in 1989, race, school enrollment, sex, tenure, travel to work, veteran status, work disability and employment status, work status in 1989, year of entry and citizenship. Housing items include: aggregate rooms, aggregate value, gross rent as a percentage of household income in 1989, household type and relationship, housing units, mortgage status, poverty status in 1989, selected monthly owner costs, tenure. Note: The file has A and B records: the A records have three population (PA) and three housing (HA) tables. The A records provide data for all persons for each summary level and geographic component level within a unit of geography. The B records provide more detail in 95 population (PB) and 12 housing (HB) tables.

    Census of population and housing (1990). Subject summary tape file (SSTF) 18. Condominium housing. HD7287.62 .U5 C46 1995 Condominium housing. Geography: United States, regions, divisions, states, metropolitan statistical areas/consolidated metropolitan statistical areas. Subject content: SSTF 18 records have three population and 165 housing tables that present data for all persons and housing units. It contains sample data weighted to represent the total population. In addition, the file contains 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units. Also, age of householder, bedrooms, condominium fee, condominium status, gross rent, Hispanic origin of householder, house heating fuel, household income in 1989, household type, mortgage status, occupation of householder, persons in unit, persons per room, poverty status in 1989, presence and age of children, race of householder rooms, selected monthly owner costs, tenure, units in structure, vacancy status, value of housing unit, vehicles available, workers in household in 1989, year householder moved into unit, year structure built.-- Related printed reports: CPH-5, CPH-4, and CPH-3 series and CH-3-1

    Census of population and housing (1990). Subject summary tape file (SSTF) 19. Older Population. Older population of the United States. Geography: United States, regions, division, States. Subjects: Sample tabulations showing detailed population subjects such as age, ability to speak English, citizenship, detailed Hispanic origin and race groups, disability and limitation status, earnings, educational attainment, employment status, family type, household type and relationship, income, marital status, place of birth, presence and age of children, poverty status, residence in 1985, sex, type of group quarters, work status, and year of entry.

    Census of population and housing (1990). Subject summary tape file (SSTF) 20. Journey to work. HD5717.5.U6 C34 1995 Journey to work in the United States. Geography: United States and metropolitan statistical areas/primary/consolidated metropolitan statistical areas. Subject content: SSTF 20 records have 95 population and three housing tables that present data for all persons and housing units. It contains sample data weighted to represent the total population. In addition, the file contains 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units. Other data items include: Age, class of worker, earnings in 1989, educational attainment, Hispanic origin, housing type and relationship, industry, means of transportation to work, occupation, place of work (msa/pmsa level), private vehicle occupancy, race, sex, tenure, time leaving home to go to work, travel time to work, vehicles available, workers in household. Note: Disc is incorrectly labeled regarding geographic content. Correction sheet inserted. Related printed reports: CPH-5, CPH-4, and CPH-3 series and CH-3-1.

    Census of Population and Housing 1990 SSTF. Subject summary tape file 21 Black Population Characteristics of the Black Population Geography: United States, regions, States, metropolitan areas with 500,000 or more persons. Subjects: Sample tabulations showing detailed population and housing subjects such as age, educational attainment, employment status, family size and type, gross rent, income, household type and relationship, mortgage status, occupation, persons per room, poverty status, selected monthly owner costs, tenure, units in structure, value of housing unit, and work status.

    Census of Population and Housing 1990 SSTF. Subject summary tape file 22A-C Earnings HA 201 1990y Earnings by Occupation and Education. Provides sample census data weighted to represent the total population, as well as 100-percent counted and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units. Items include age, aggregate earnings in 1989, aggregate usual hours worked in 1989, educational attainment, mean annual earnings in 1989, sex, and work status in 1989.

    Current Population Survey: Annual Demographic Files, 1991-1993 CD-ROM 27 Files of raw microdata collected for CPS. These can be used to answer statistical questions that the Census Bureau did not tabulate. Presents unsummarized data about individuals within households, their age, sex, race, education, etc.; also labor force data. Also 1988-90,89-91,,90-92. Geography: States, divisions, regions, 113 largest metropolitan areas, an additional 89 selected metropolitan areas, 66 selected primary metropolitan statistical areas, and 30 central cities in multi-central city metropolitan statistical areas or primary metropolitan statistical areas. Within confidentiality restrictions, indicators are provided for MSA-PMSA/non-MSA-PMSA, central city/non-central city, farm/non-farm, and MSA/CMSA size. Subject content: In addition to monthly labor force data, supplemental data on work experience, income, noncash benefits, migration, employment status, occupation, and industry of persons 15 years old and older. Also weeks worked and hours per week worked, reason not working full time, total income and income components, and residence on March 1 of year of survey. Data on employment and income refer to the preceding year, although demographic data refer to the time of the survey. This file also contains data covering nine noncash income sources: food stamps, school lunch program, employer-provided group health insurance plan, employer-provided pension plan, personal health insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, CHAMPUS or military health care, and energy assistance. Characteristics such as age, sex, race, household relationship, and Hispanic origin are shown for each person in the household enumerated.

    1990 Census Transportation Planing Package, HE 206.2 A 15 1994 Set of 12 discs with special tabulations of place-of-work and transportation data tailored to meet data needs of transportation officials Distributed by Bureau of Transportation Statistics, U.S. Department of Transportation, 400 Seventh Street, SW, Room 2104, Washington, DC 20590 (Tel. 202/366-DATA; FAX 202/366-3640) Free diskette has TransVU-CTTP Edition display-retrieval software Subject content: Two sets of data packages were produced from the 1990 census: 1) statewide packages for each State and the District of Columbia, and 2) urban packages for each CTTP region defined by Metropolitan Planning Organizations. For more detailed description of files, contact Bureau of Transportation Statistics, U.S. Department of Transportation, 400 Seventh Street, SW, Room 2104, Washington, DC 20590 (Tel. 202/366-3282; FAX 202/366-3640). Software: TransVU-CTTP Edition is a Microsoft Windows application that provides both map and tabular views of CTPP data and simplifies extraction of CTPP tables into dBase, Lotus, and comma-delimited or fixed format text files. Users can select tables by summary level, topic, universe, or geographic location.

  6. Earlier Censuses

    Earlier censuses are in the Van Pelt stacks (Population HA 201...; Housing, back to 1940 HD 7293 A48..)

    1980 block statistics and maps are available in Lippincott and Van Pelt (SuDocs number C 3.224/5) There is a third set of Philadelphia SMSA statistics in Census binder #2 at the Reference Desk.

    There are microfilm backups for the decennial censuses through 1920 (microfilm 2600-2635) See:
    Bibliography and reel index: a guide to the microfilm edition of U.S. Decennial Census Publications, 1790-1970. Includes population, manufactures, agriculture, vital statistics, mining, housing, transportation (Van Pelt Reference HA 195 R47 1975; and in Microforms).

    Between 1850 and 1890 many census volumes are available as part of the printed and microprint "Serial Set" of U.S. Congressional Reports and Documents 1817- . (Van Pelt J 74 A22; and microprint #4; held also at the Free Library of Philadelphia). See the U.S. CIS Serial Set Index (Van Pelt Reference J 74 C66 1975)

  7. Internet Resources

  8. Philadelphia Census Information

  9. Census Maps

  10. Statistical Compendia

  11. Regional Census Office

    Census Bureau Regional Office
    First Floor
    105 South Seventh Street
    Philadelphia, PA 19106-3395
    (215) 597-4920

  12. Poverty Data

    County and City Data Book has 1990 poverty data for cities and counties. (Van Pelt Ref Desk)

    1) Census Tracts. Decennial census data is only source for poverty data (or income data) for areas smaller than an entire county.
    Use STF 3A for 1990 Census census tracts or block groups, use STF 3B for 1990 Census ZIP codes.
    Use the Philadelphia City Planning Commission printed volumes (Ref Desk HA730.A5 P54 1984 or Ref Desk HA730.A5 P52 1982) for 1970 and 1980 census tract data; the Census Bureau's census tract reports could also be used, but the City Planning Commission volumes are more handy. The City Planning Commission put out these volumes back through 1950. The relevant ones will be added to the detailed list of census publications re Philadelphia on the "Philadelphia History" library guide.

    2) Counties. [Note that we're lucky in Philadelphia, as Phila city and Phila county are congruent. Other cities -- like Los Angeles -- may cause problems.]

    Use USA Counties [1996 is the most recent] on CD-ROM: should provide county- level poverty data for decennial census years back through 1980 (data are reported for 1979, preceding year). Easier to use than printed decennial census reports. Oregon State University has a handy interface online for USA Counties 1996 at the URL: http://govinfo.kerr.orst.edu/ Get to a Philadelphia profile, then use the dropdown menu to retrieve poverty data.

    Most recent county-level poverty estimates -- for 1993 -- are from Census Bureau's SAIPE program. See URL: http://www.census.gov/hhes/www/saipe.html linked from Census Bureau WWW -> Subjects -> Poverty. The Census Bureau has only recently begun reporting annual income and poverty estimates for counties (and municipalities). 1993 should be the first year. Prior to 1993, county-level poverty data should be available only for decennial census years. So, for instance the 1996 and 1994 Health Profiles from the PA Dept of Health use 1990 Census data; the 1998 Health Profile from the PA Dept of Health uses 1993 data!

    Determine if poverty is what's really needed. -- The poverty measure was first developed after the 1960 Census! -- For annual, or non-census year, estimates, income data are available, but only for counties (and beginning with SAIPE in 1993, municipalities). The Bureau of Economic Analysis publishes income estimates annually for counties. The data should be in the REIS CD-ROM; a supplementary REIS CD-ROM provides data back to 1929 (we may not own this). CAVEAT: BEA income data don't derive from the Census Bureau's Current Population Survey; BEA uses employer payroll information, I think.

    Oregon State University has put a recent REIS CD-ROM on the web. Also UVa's Social Science and Geographic Data Service should have REIS online in a fancier (read "slower") interface; maybe they've got the historic data, too. One could also look in the Current Population Survey for various kinds of income data for counties, but it's not really worth the effort for the casual user.

    PS. Statistical Universe is a wonderful tool. Particularly useful is its "Comparative Data" search page, where you could select to search "by county" for poverty. The abstracts are pretty clear about the absence of individual-year poverty data.

    Census of population and housing 1990 SSTF. Subject summary tape file 17. Poverty. HD 6983 C46 1994 Poverty areas in the United States Geography: Provides data for the United States, regions, divisions, and places. The file structure is as follows: United States, region, division, state, state - county, state - central city, state - county (part) for New England Division, metropolitan statistical area/consolidated metropolitan statistical area, primary metropolitan statistical area. Subject content: Sample data weighted to represent the total population. In addition, the file contains 100-percent counts and unweighted sample counts for total persons and total housing units. Other data items are listed below. Population items include: age, aggregate number of children ever-born, earnings in 1989, educational attainment, employment status, family size, family type, group quarters, Hispanic origin, household type and relationship, income in 1989, language spoken at home and ability to speak English, marital status, means of transportation to work, mobility and self-care limitation status, nativity and place of birth, occupation, period of military service, poverty status in 1989, race, school enrollment, sex, tenure, travel to work, veteran status, work disability and employment status, work status in 1989, year of entry and citizenship. Housing items include: aggregate rooms, aggregate value, gross rent as a percentage of household income in 1989, household type and relationship, housing units, mortgage status, poverty status in 1989, selected monthly owner costs, tenure. Note: The file has A and B records: the A records have three population (PA) and three housing (HA) tables. The A records provide data for all persons for each summary level and geographic component level within a unit of geography. The B records provide more detail in 95 population (PB) and 12 housing (HB) tables.

  13. Census Schedules

    Van Pelt Library holds microform copies of Philadelphia area decennial census schedules (manuscript forms for individual households), 1790-1920. See: Van Pelt Library's Federal Population Schedules holdings on Microfilm.

    Some finding aids for census schedules are:

    Researchers interested in using other decennial census schedules for 1790-1920 will be well served by visiting the National Archives - Mid Atlantic Region at Ninth and Market Streets in Center City Philadelphia.

    Federal Population and Mortality Census Schedules, 1790-1890, in the National Archives and the States... U.S. National Archives, 1971. 89p. (Van Pelt Reference HA 37 U547 F73)

    Note: "Enumeration districts" (similar to present "block groups" were the georgraphic units the Census used to conduct the Census. In the 19th century they were subdivisions of wards. Volumes of older census schedules were arranged by wards and within wards by enumeration districts. So you need to know ward and enumeration district to find a section of the census schedules for residents of a block. See Stock, below, for 1880 Census; for other censuses, go to the National Archives downtown.

    Stock, Walter D. An urban finding aid for the 1880 federal population census of Philadelphia. [Philadelphia], Free Library of Philadelphia, 1993. Maps which i dentify and locate 1880 enumereation districts. (Van Pelt Library Reference HA730.P45 S76 1993)

    Ward maps for all eras are in: Daly, John Edward. Philadelphia County political subdivisions. "First published as 'Ward Genealogy of the City and County of Philadelphia'". Contributors: Weinberg, Allen. joint author. Philadelphia. Dept. of Records. Philadelphia, Dept. of Records, [1966]. 100 p. (chiefly maps). ( Van Pelt Library Reference Desk G 3824 P5 1966 D3)

    You may save some time and effort by using CIESIN's Archive of Census Related Products at the URL: A guide to the archive

    The archive itself -- ftp://ftp.ciesin.org/pub/census/ CIESIN provides BNA-format boundary files -- arranged by metro area -- for 1990 Census block groups, as well as STF3A "standard extract files" for 1990 Census census tracts and block groups -- arranged by metro area -- in comma-delimited ASCII text files. Although I have absolutely no confidence in CIESIN's block-level data, their STF3A data appear to have been extracted directly from the CD-ROMs with no errors.

    If you use CIESIN's archive, you'll need to know the metropolitan area FIPS codes. These are provided by CIESIN at the URL: ftp://ftp.ciesin.org/pub/census/usa/stf/msacodes.txt Also, the data directory for each state includes a CONTENTS file providing file-MA correspondences.

  14. Zip Code Data

    To identify and analyze demographic and economic data relating to Philadelphia's "inner-city":

    ZIP Codes are the smallest geographic units for which business-establishment data are provided -- either through the quinquennial (1982, 1987, 1992, 1997) economic censuses or the recently-begun annual ZIP Business Patterns (1994- ). The decennial census of population and housing in 1980 and 1990 provided population, housing, and socioeconomic data for ZIP Codes, in a data file called -- at least for 1990 -- Summary Tape File 3B [or STF 3B]. More recent privately-produced estimates for ZIP Codes may also be available.

    One problem with ZIP Code data is that the Census Bureau uses business-address ZIP Codes for the economic data and housing unit-address ZIP Codes for the pop/hsg data. You will encounter economic data for ZIPs that don't appear in 1990 Census STF 3B, as they're mail-drops or single-business ZIPs or post office box locations. Still, for Philadelphia, you're only looking at a few dozen ZIP Codes.

    A second concern to be alert for concerns ZIP boundary changes. After the 1992 Economic Census, a couple ZIP Codes that overlapped into Cheltenham Township were divided following county boundaries -- what used to be Chestnut Hill and Cheltenham's Laverock neighborhood is now only Chestnut Hill. I'm not sure how the post-1992 economic data are affected, but be prepared! LO

  15. Philadelphia Neighborhoods

  16. Municipal Level Data

    Here are some good choices for the municipal-level data:

    (1) U.S. Census Bureau -- http://www.census.gov/population/www/estimates/citypop.html
    Links to "Annual Time Series of Population Estimates, 1991 to 1996, and 1990 Census population for places and county subdivisions" These files can be nasty: they can be unlabelled spreadsheet files for which separately-linked documentation exists; they can also rely upon FIPS codes for geography. To help Terence, one should probably include a list or a link to a list that identifies the FIPS county code for Schuylkill County and the FIPS place or MCD codes for the Schuylkill County municipalities ... and check them before forwarding them!

    http://www.census.gov/hhes/www/saipe/saipe95/school.html
    "School district estimates -- 1995" Although school districts are not always congruent with minor civil divisions [regional districts or consolidated districts often muddy geography], this is the best source for intercensus poverty estimates. It's often helpful to remember that people confuse "population" counts with data that characterize the population!

    (2) Pennsylvania State Data Center --
    http://psdc.hbg.psu.edu/
    "Data and Maps" link leads to Pennsylvania municipal-level data, but to be honest, the page stinks: old estimates, incomplete geographic coverage for the sake of thematic coverage, and broken links. But they add things all the time.

    State Data Centers generally do a better job at providing minor civil division data for their states than does the Census Bureau itself. At one time, we kept a list of all State Data Center dial-in bulletin boards loaded into ProComm for use with our 1200-baud modem in the old Moelis Room, and the bulletin boards were used, well, not that often, but often enough to justify the effort. Now the Census Bureau tracks SDC sites at the URL worth remembering:
    http://www.census.gov/sdc/www/


    We will order the PSDC publication, Pennsylvania Municipal Population 1960 to 1996 and the accompanying diskette. 4/99

  17. Andriot, John L. Township atlas of the United States. McLean, Andriot, 1979. 1184p. Maps of: states, counties, Census County Divisions, election precincts, school districts, precincts, townships, unorganized territories, minor civil divisions. Indexes, p. 739-1184. Minor Civil Division Index (43,294 entries), Populated Places Index, Urbanized Areas Index. Most maps date from 1970. (Van Pelt Library Stacks G 1201 F7 A5 1979)

  18. Income Data



    Survey of Current Business, July 1997, gives total personal income and per capita personal income by metropolitan area, annually, 1992 - 1994, but doesn't provide data for particular income brackets. (data are based on Bureau of Census estimates)

    > Then there is CACI - Sourcebook of Demographics (both by County and by Zip Code) which does give segmented income brackets. (data are CACI's forecasts)

    There are a number of sources, each using different measures of income! Here are two sets of answers: income values for an area's population or characteristics of people having specified incomes and living within a specified area.

    The standard annual income statistics come from Commerce's Bureau of Economic Analysis. Their CD-ROM product, REIS, should provide annual income estimates for metro areas (if not counties!) for the last few decades -- in Lippincott Ref and Van Pelt Ref. Also on the web -- http://www.bea.doc.gov/bea/regional/data.htm

    Start with either REIS or the CD-ROM product USA Counties, which should provide both mean and aggregate income for the 3000 counties over many years. [The aggregate's important, as you'd need to sum aggregates for counties within a metro area, then divide by the number of counties to reach a metro-area mean. I'm pretty sure that USA Counties does not include MA totals, but does provide geographic coding to build MAs from counties.]

    The IRS publishes data files for county-level reported income.

    Of course, the Current Population Survey gives this information, with geographic control for metro areas and, I think, central city vs outside of central city. If you're interested in looking at the characteristics of individuals based upon their income, this is probably the ONLY resource to allow that. But you'd have to tabulate it from the microdata and that's a LOT of work. Perhaps Fenghua could run through using the Census Bureau's Ferret interface or the IMPS/Quicktab with the CD-ROMs. [If this person is a sociology or economics grad student, then he or she will want to ask Lisa Newman in the Demography Library about Unicom's CPS Utilities, which removes some of the pain.] The CPR P-60 report, Money income, reports CPS income data but probably does not provide metro area data.

    This kind of table is available on CD-ROM in the Reference Room and in print in the 1990 Census (Van Pelt HA 201 1990n Social and Economic Characteristics) at various geographic levels.
     Family income in 1989.. 
     ..STF3A (State, County, Place, Tract, Block Group, MSA) STF3B (Zip codes) 
     ..STF3C (US, Reg'n, Div'n, State, County, Place>10k, MSA) STF3D (Cong. 
     Dist.) 
     ..Families.......................................................stf3abcd*P107 
     ....by Aggregate Family income in 
     1989...........................stf3abcd*P108 
     ..See also Median Family income in 1989 
    
     stf3abcd*P107 
     P107. FAMILY income IN 1989(25)..........................................25 
     ......Universe:..Families 
     ......Less than $5,000 
     ......$5,000 to $9,999 
     ......$10,000 to $12,499 
     ......$12,500 to $14,999 
    ......
    ......
     ......$125,000 to $149,999 
     ......$150,000 or more 
    


    See also: Philadelphia County, Pennsylvania -- income, Money (Census)

  19. Future Census Products

    The American Community Survey. (Van Pelt Reference Moelis CD-ROM) HN 51 A447 1997 The American Community Survey is an on-going monthly household survey that eventually will replace the Census long form. The scope of the 1997 ACS was primarily limited to housing units, occupied and vacant, in eight sites: Rockland County, New York, Brevard County, Florida, Fulton County, Pennsylvania, Multnomah County and the city of Portland, Oregon, Douglas County, Nebraska, Franklin County, Ohio, Houston, Texas (Harris and Fort Bend Counties), and Otero County, New Mexico. Includes profiles, summary tables, and PUMS. For full details, see the Bureau of the Census web site: American Community Survey Full implementation of ACS nationwide is scheduled -- if congressional funding is available -- to begin annual offerings of "long form"-like data with this schedule: 2001 (published in 2002) -- states, and areas/groups of 250,000+ pop 2003 -- counties 2004 -- areas/groups of 65,000+ pop 2005 (published in 2008) -- census tracts, "neighborhoods" (undefined!), areas/groups of 15,000 or less pop [As reference points, the Atlantic City-Cape May, NJ PMSA had 330,000 people in 1994; the 1990 Census reported 90,000 Hmong nationwide. Annual "long form"-like data could be reported annually beginning in 2001 and 2004 for these groups. The original intention was to continue the decennial census long form, as a benchmark for verifying the ACS on a decennial basis. Then Congress voiced a strong opinion that only one "long form" program would be funded: decennial census or ACS. So the current intention is that the Census 2000 long form will be the benchmark, that future decennial censuses will consist only of short form questionnaires. Although the sampling strategy for ACS is similar to the decennial census -- smaller or rural areas are oversampled -- the goal is to build a pool of questionnaires nationwide over five years that the decennial census collects during the one census year. Over five years (or during the one census year), one of every six housing units would receive a "long form" questionnaire.

  20. Search this Bibliography

    Enter a Keyword search in the box above.


    [Home][Hours][Help][15 Libraries][Forms][Comments][A-to-Z][Patron][Search]
    Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.



    Last update: Friday, 11-Aug-2000 16:34:03 EDT
    Send mail concerning this page to Fenghua Wang at fenghua@pobox.upenn.edu