Penn Library

British Empire

This selective bibliography lists resources useful for the study of the British Empire. Most titles in the bibliography are in the Van Pelt Library Reference collection (first floor); available online, or located in the regular stacks.

I. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopaedia Britannica: a Dictionary of Arts, Sciences, Literature and General Information. 11th edition. Cambridge, Eng., New York, At the University Press, 1910-11.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: AE5 .E36], v.1-29.

Historical Dictionary of the British Empire. James S. Olson, editor in chief. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA16 .H56 1994], v. 1-2.

The Columbia Companion to British History. New York : Columbia University Press, 1997.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA34 .H64 1997]

The Oxford Companion to British History. Oxford [England] ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1997.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA34 .O93 1997]

Britain in the Hanoverian Age, 1714-1837: an Encyclopedia. Editor, Gerald Newman. New York : Garland Pub., 1997.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA480 .B75 1997 ]

The Encyclopedia of the Victorian World: a Reader's Companion to the People, Places, Events, and Everyday Life of the Victorian Era. Melinda Corey and George Ochoa. New York : Henry Holt and Co., 1996.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA550 .E53 1996]

Victorian Britain: an Encyclopedia. Sally Mitchell, editor ... [et al.]. New York : Garland Pub., 1988.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA550 .V53 1988]

An Oxford Companion to the Romantic Age: British Culture, 1776-1832. General editor, Iain McCalman. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 1999.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA533 .O94 1999]

Marix-Evans, Martin. Encyclopedia of the Boer War, 1899-1902. Oxford : Clio, 2000.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DT1896 .M37 2000]

II. Chronologies

Handbook of Dates for Students of English History. Edited by C. R. Cheney ; revised by Michael Jones. : Cambridge, U.K. ; New York : Cambridge University Press, c2000.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA34 .H29 2000], also in stacks.

Handbook of British Chronology. Edited by E.B. Fryde ... [et al.]. 3rd ed., Repr. with corrections. Cambridge, [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1996
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA34 .H28 1996]

The Longman Handbook of Modern British history, 1714-1995. 3rd ed. London ; New York : Addison Wesley Longman, 1996.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA470 .C65 1996]
Chronologies are topically arranged.

III. Biography

The Dictionary of National Biography founded in 1882 by George Smith; edited by Sir Leslie Stephen and Sir Sidney Lee; from the earliest times to 1900 ... London, Oxford University press, H. Milford, [1937-1938].
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA28 .D47 1937], v. 1-22.
The national biography of Great Britain and its most important biographical source. Contains signed articles by specialists on noteworthy persons in the British Isles and the Colonies no longer living, with excellent bibliographies of primary and secondary sources. Each supplement contains a cumulative index covering all entries from 1901 in one alphabetical sequence.

British Biographical Index. London ; New York: Saur, 1990.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: CT773 .B75 1990], vols. 1-4.
Index for British Biographical Archive [microform]: a one-alphabet cumulation of 324 of the most important English-language biographical reference works originally published between 1601 and 1929, [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 970] and British Biographical Archive. Series 2 [microform], [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 971].

Who's Who in History.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA28 .W619]
Each chronologically arranged volume contains sketches of approximately two hundred people, including persons not in the DNB, concluded by short bibliographies of standard biographies. Perioid covered spans 55 B.C.-1837. v. 1. British Isles, 55 B. C.-1485, by W. O. Hassall; v. 2. England, 1485-1603, by C. R. N. Routh; v. 3. England, 1603-1714, by C. P. Hill; v. 4. England, 1714-1789, by G. R. R. Treasure; v. 5. England, 1789-1837, by G. R. R. Treasure.

Biographical Dictionary of British Prime Ministers. Edited by Robert Eccleshall and Graham Walker. London ; New York : Routledge, 1998.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA28.4 .B56 1998]

IV. Bibliographies

Pargellis, Stanley McCrory. Bibliography of British History; the Eighteenth Century, 1714-1789. Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1951.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks & Reference Stacks: DA480 .P3]
Basic bibliography for sources, books, articles, with some critical annotations.

Brown, Lucy M. Bibliography of British History, 1789-1851. Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1977.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA520 .B76]

Hanham, H. J. Bibliography of British History, 1851-1914. Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1976.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA530 .B46]

Altholz, Josef Lewis. Victorian England 1837-1901. Cambridge [Eng.], for the Conference on British Studies at the University Press, 1970.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks & Reference Stacks: Z2019 .A56]
Selective listing of reference tools, sources, books, and articles; some annotations. Index of authors, editors, and translators.

Bailey, Susan F. Women and the British Empire: an Annotated Guide to Sources. New York : Garland, 1983.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: HQ1593 .B24 1983]

Matthews, William. British Autobiographies, an Annotated Bibliography of British Autobiographies Published or Written Before 1951. Berkeley, University of California Press, 1955.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2027.A9 M3]

Madden, Lionel. How to Find Out About the Victorian Period; a Guide to Sources of Information. 1st edition. Oxford, New York, Pergamon Press [1970].
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2019 .M34 1970] A

Perkins, Rodger. Regiments: Regiments and Corps of the British Empire and Commonwealth, 1758-1993: a Critical Bibliography of their Published Histories. Newton Abbot, Devon : R. Perkins, 1994.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: UA649 .P48 1994]

Propas, Sharon W. Victorian Studies: a Research Guide. New York : Garland Pub., 1992.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA550 .P76 1992]

Higham, Robin. A Guide to the Sources of British Military History. Berkeley, University of California Press, 1971.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA50 .H54 1971]

British Military History: a Supplement to Robin Higham's Guide to the Sources. Gerald Jordan, ed. New York : Garland Pub., 1988.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA50 .B74 1988]

Writings on British History.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2016 .R88], 1901-33--1973-74
Exhaustive bibliography of books and articles principally in English, chronologically and topically arranged. References to book reviews. Coverage: Volumes for 1901-1948 cover A.D. 450 to 1914, Volumes for 1949 - 1974 cover 450 AD to 1939. Continued by Annual bibliography of British and Irish history.

V. Franklin, Penn's Library Catalog

Franklin lists books, journals titles (but not articles within journals), conference proceedings, and other library materials at the Penn Libraries.

Author: Search for the writings of prominent figures of the time.

Balfour, Arthur James Balfour, Earl of, 1848-1930
Gladstone, W. E. (William Ewart), 1809-1898
Malcolm, John, Sir, 1769-1833
Pottinger, Henry, Sir, bart, 1789-1856

Corporate Author: government offices, organization names, political parties, etc.

great britain. foreign office.
labour party. great britain.

Subject Headings: When searching for materials about a topic or an individual, try subject heading searches.

Places: Generally, most places (country, city, etc.) as subject are divided by standard broad subdivisions. Browsing these subject subdivisions can be useful (omit dashes in Franklin).

Great Britain--Colonies--History
Great Britain--Commerce
Great Britain--Commercial policy
Great Britain--History
Great Britain--Economic conditions
Great Britain--Foreign relations
Great Britain--Foreign economic relations
Great Britain--History, Military
Great Britain--Politics and government
Great Britain--Social life and customs
Great Britain--Social policy

Asia, Central--Description and travel
Asia, Central--Relations--Great Britain
China--Foreign relations--Great Britain
India--defenses
Iran--Foreign relations--Great Britain
Middle East--Foreign relations--Great Britain

Often, look for specific events under the names of countries or as separate headings.

China--History--Opium War, 1840-1842
India--History--British occupation, 1765-1947
India--History--Sepoy Rebellion, 1857-1858

South African War, 1899-1902
World War, 1914-1918--Great Britain

There is a wide range of relevant topical subject headings.

Antislavery movements--Great Britain--History
Colonies in Literature
Decolonization--Great Britain--Colonies--History
Explorers--Great Britain--History--19th century
Imperialism--History
Imperialism--Public Opinion--Great Britain
Indigenous peoples--Great Britain--colonies--
Politics and literature--Great Britain--History
Public opinion--Great Britain--History
Slave trade--Great Britain--History
Slavery--Great Britain--Colonies--History
Social classes--Great Britain--Colonies--History

Search for people and political parties as subjects.

Disraeli, Benjamin, Earl of Beaconsfield, 1804-1881
Conservative Party (Great Britain)
Whig Party (Great Britain)

Keyword searches look for the search terms anywhere in the record, i.e. the author, subject, title fields, etc. Once you have found a record of interest, look at the "full view" to see the subject headings assigned to that work.

(labor? or labour?) and women and "great britain"

Collections: There are many printed volumes that are collections of primary source materials. To locate these and other resources, try subject searches and look for the keyword "sources" within the subject field or add the word "sources" to a keyword search.

"great britain" and history and sources

Try other words and phrases in keyword searches: "personal narratives," "correspondence," "diaries," "memoirs," or "interviews".

"boer war" and diaries
"world war 1914" and "personal narratives" and british

VI. Indexes to Scholarly Articles

History

Use the following indexes to identify journal articles and other works that have been published on a topic or by an author. Major indexes for history and related fields are listed here. Networked indexes are underlined and accessible from the databases page; call numbers and locations are provided for printed indexes.

Historical Abstracts. (online)
Covers the history of the world outside North America. Indexes books and journals published since 1973. Excludes book reviews. Printed version of Historical Abstracts began in 1955, See [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: D299 .H52] for years not covered online.

Victorian Database Online. (online)
Subject time period covered is about 1830-1914. Includes references to books, journal articles, and dissertations. References are published between 1945 and recent years.

International Bibliography of Historical Sciences.
Paris: Librairie Armand Colin, 1926-1992. 61 v.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: D1 .B565 Note: Not currently received. Last 5 years in reference]. v.1 (1926)-v.14 (1939),v.16 (1947)-v.64 (1995)
No longer published. Major bibliography for history in first half of this century.

Multidisciplinary

Academic Index. (online)
Covers 1980 (very incomplete) - present.
Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 1550 scholarly and general interest journals. Full text or full image is provided for more than 750 titles (most of which are from mid-1990's to present). Although not comprehensive for history, numerous history journals are indexed here; some are full-text. Academic Index is also good for book reviews of recent titles.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. (online)
IBSS provides bibliographic citations and subject indexing for the international periodical literature in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology. Covers approximately 3700 periodicals from 105 countries in 95 languages, from 1951 to the present.

VII. Indexes to Periodicals of the Time

C.R.I.S.: the Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1838-1974. Washington: Carrollton Press, 1977-1978.
[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: D1 .C18], 11 vols.
Indexes a select collection of history journals. See the inside cover of each volume for journal names. List of journals, includes latest title of journal only. Note for example, Twentieth Century Studies was formerly titled Nineteenth Century.

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature: 1802-1881. 2 vols. Rev. ed. Reprinted Rprt. New York: Peter Smith, 1938.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: AI 3 .P7]
Indexes over 590,000 articles in 479 American and British periodicals. Main set consists of a subject index. There is a cumulative author index at [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: AI 3 W3]. Information given about each article includes its title, author's name in parentheses when it was known or could be ascertained, abbreviated title of the periodical in which the article can be found, and volume and page reference. The year is not given but can be determined from the "conspectus" in vol. 1. There is also a table decoding the periodical title abbreviations. Volume 1: 1802-1881, 1st Supplement: 1882-1887, 2nd Supplement: 1887-1892, 3rd Supplement: 1892-1896, 4th Supplement: 1897-1902, 5th Supplement: 1902-1907.

The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900. Walter E. Houghton, editor. [Toronto] University of Toronto Press; [London] Routledge & K. Paul [c1966-
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2005 .H6]
[Van Pelt Library Reference Moelis CD Area: AI 3 .W45 1999]

Periodicals Contents Index. (online)
1770-1995.
Includes citations to many journals in the humanities and social sciences.
A good tool for finding contemporary narrative accounts and older book reviews.

VIII. Library holdings of Selected Magazines (of the time)

Please check Franklin for complete holdings, editions, printings.

18th Century

The Tatler
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 703 pt.1 reel 2 no.1]
[Van Pelt Library Rare Bk & Ms Library RBC: PR1365 .T2], various.
The Spectator
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: PR1365 .S7 1945], v. 1-4,
[Van Pelt Rare Bk & Ms Library RBC: PR1365 .S7], various editions/printings.
The Rambler.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: 824C R14d], v.1-4.,
[Van Pelt Library Microforms: Microfiche 821]
[Van Pelt Library Rare Bk & Ms Library RBC: PR1365 .R3 1809 v.1-4 ],
[Van Pelt Library Rare Bk & Ms Library Singer-Mendenhall Coll: PR1365 R3], various editions/printings.
The Guardian.
[Van Pelt Library Rare Books: PR1365 .G8 1800], various editions/printings.
[Van Pelt Library Rare Bk & Ms Library Singer-Mendenhall Coll.: PR1365 .G8 1797]
The Female Tatler.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 703 pt.1 reel 2 no.1], no.1 (1709)-no.111 [115] (1710)

19th Century

The Atlantis.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 960]
Bentley's Miscellany.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .B43]
Temple Bar: a London Magazine for Town and Country Readers.
Absorbed: Bentley's Miscellany.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 444]; Index/Finding Aid: Vols. 1-99, in v. 100.
Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .B6]; Index/Finding Aid: Vols. 1-50, Apr. 1817-Dec. 1841. 1 v.
The British Quarterly Review.
[Van Pelt Library: AP4 .B8], v.1 (1845)-v.24 (1856),v.33 (1861)-v.46 (1867), v.53 (1871)-v.83 (1886).
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 441]
Contemporary Review.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .C7], v.1 (1866)-present.
Cornhill.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .C8], v.1 (1860)-v.173 (1963), some issues missing.
The Dublin Review.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .D8], v.120(1897)-v.234(1960/1961).
Dublin University Magazine; a Literary and Political Journal.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .D83], v.7(1836)-v.12(1838), v.17(1841)-v.31(1848), v.33(1849), v.45(1855), v.49(1857)-v.50(1857)
Edinburgh Review, Critical Journal.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 438]
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .E3], v.35 (1821)-v.102 (1855),v.181 (1895)-v.250 (1929:Oct).
The Foreign Quarterly Review.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .F69], v.1 (1827)-v.32 (1845).
The Fortnightly.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: 52 F777], v.1 (1865)-v.182 (1954).
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 106]
Fraser's Magazine for Town and Country.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .F8], v.1 (1830)-v.80 (1869).
Longman's Magazine.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 442]
Macmillan's Magazine.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .M2], v.1 (1859)-v.8 (1863),v.10 (1864)-v.22 (1870), v.38 (1878:May)-v.43 (1881:Apr.), v.45 (1881:Nov./1882:Apr.), v.48 (1883:Oct.)-v.70 (1894),v.74 (1896)-v.92 (1905:Oct.); n.s.v.1 (1905)-n.s.v.2 (1907).
The National Review.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 443], v.1(1883)-v.55(1910).
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .N25], v.53(1909)-v.134(1950).
The New Review.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .N622], v.1 (1889)-v.3 (1890),v.5 (1891:July)-v.9 (1893), v.16 (1897)-v.17 (1897).
The Nineteenth Century.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .N7], v.1 (1877)-v.48 (1900).
Punch.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP101 .P8] v.1 (1841)-v.301 (1992)
[Van Pelt Library Rare Books: AP101 .P8] v.1 (1841)-v.130 (1906),v.144 (1913)-v.198 (1940)
The Quarterly Review.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .Q2], . 25 (1821)-v. 305 (1967).
Tait's Edinburgh Magazine. Absorbed: Johnstone's Edinburgh magazine June 1834.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .T2], v.1 (1832:Apr.)-v.3 (1833:Sept.); n.s.v.1 (1834)-n.s.v.16 (1849), n.s.v.19 (1852)-n.s.v.22 (1855),n.s.v.24 (1857).
The Westminster Review.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP4 .W5], 1824-1913, incomplete.

IX. Newspapers (from the time)

Historical Newspapers Online. (online)
Includes an online index to the London Times from 1790 to 1980.

The Times (London). London : Times Newspapers Ltd., 1788- .
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm news 70], 1788 - .

An Index to events relating to India and the East referred to in "The Times" between the years 1850 and 1889 inclusive [microform]. London : Printed by order of the Secretary of State for India in Council, [1893].
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm news 70], 1788-present.

X. Statistical Resources

For additional works, try the subject search: Great Britain--Statistics--History.

Mitchell, B. R. (Brian R.). British Historical Statistics.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: HA1134 .M58 1988]

Mitchell, B. R. (Brian R.) Abstract of British Historical Statistics. Cambridge [Eng.], University Press, 1962.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: HA1135 .M5]

Mitchell, B. R. (Brian R.) Second Abstract of British Historical Statistics. By B. R. Mitchell and H. G. Jones. Cambridge [Eng.], University Press, 1971.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: HA1135 .M52]

XI. Atlases and Maps

For additional atlases, try the keyword search:

"great britain" and (map? or atlas?) and histor?
Gilbert, Martin. Atlas of British History. 2nd edition. New York : Oxford University Press, 1993.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: G1811.S1 G5 1993]

Black, Jeremy. Historical Atlas of Britain: the End of the Middle Ages to the Georgian Era. Thrupp : Sutton Pub., 2000.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: G1812.21.S1 B53 2000]

The Times London History Atlas. New ed. London : Times Books, 1997.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: G1819.L7S1 T5 1997]

XII. Primary Sources

A. Foreign Office Papers

British and Foreign State Papers. London : H.M.S.O., 1828-c1977.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX103 .A3], v.1 (1812/14)-v.170 (1978).
A collection of texts of treaties, communications, protocols, and diplomatic correspondence. Each volume has a detailed index and general indexs are issued as separate volumes (see vols. 63, 93, 115, 138, 165, 170.)

British Documents on Foreign Affairs: Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print. Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1995-. Several series are available in reprint form.
Africa, 1848-1914, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX632 .B7685 1995] v.1-25
Africa, 1914-1939, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX632 .B769 1994]
Asia, 1860-1914, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX632 .B748 1989]
Asia, 1914-1939, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX632 .B767 1991]
Latin America, 1845-1914, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX632 .B747 1991]
Latin America, 1914-1939, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX632 .B766 1989]
The Near and Middle East, 1856-1914, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX632 .B745 1984]
Turkey, Iran, and the Middle East, 1918-1939, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: DS63.2.G7 B75 1985]

B. Parliamentary Publications

HOUSE OF COMMONS
Journals
1547-1896: Van Pelt Stacks J 301 .K3
1547-1900: Gov Docs Room Microprint 3
1986- . : Microtext Microfiche 110
INDEXES: each year has its own index.

Debates (annual volumes only)
1803-1908 : Van Pelt Stacks J 301 .H22
1909-1986 : High Density Storage J 301 .K22
1986- .: Microtext Microfiche 110A
1988- :Hansard (House of Commons Daily Debates)
Indexes: Indexes by session are with the debates. They are most complete for names of speakers and geographic names but not as detailed for thematic subjects. References in the indexes are to column numbers.

Sessional or Parliamentary Papers
1713-1913: Gov Docs Room Microprint 2
1914-1980: Hig Density Storage: J 301 .K6
1980- .: Microtext Microfiche 110
Over the years these have been arranged in a variety of ways. Sometimes they have been arranged by subject, all three types of papers interfiled; most often they are arranged by type of paper numerically.
HOUSE OF LORDS
Journals
1509-1833: Van Pelt Library Stacks: J 301 .J3

Debates
1909-1986: High Density Storage J 301 .J22
1986- .: Microfiche 110
1998- :Hansard - House of Lords Debates

Sessional or Parliamentay Papers
1952-1985: High Density Storage J 301 .J6
1986- .: Microtext Microfiche 110

Many important Lords' papers were included in the historical collections of Commons' papers.
INDEXES TO PARLIAMENTARY PAPERS
1. General Index "Fifty-year indexes"
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: J301 .K6 Index]
These cover three time periods: 1801-1852, 1852-1899, 1900-1949
It is essential to be extremely persistent and creative when using these subject indexes, especially with the one covering 1852-1899, since in many cases a document is listed only once. Each type of paper has its own section. For each entry the form of citation is standardized:

session--paper no.--vol. no. in that session--first page no. e.g.: 1908 (85) cxvi 311

If the paper is a command paper it will be indicated by an abbreviation forming part of the word "command" such as Cd.--e.g. Cmmd. 8168. An index by command paper number is:
Di Roma, E. A Numerical Finding List of British Command Papers Published 1833-1961/62. New York: New York Public Library, 1967.
[Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z2009 .D5 and suppl. to 1976]

2. Subject Catalog of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers 1801- 1900. 5 vols. Often called the Cockton Catalog.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DA530 .C63 1988]
Divided into 19 chapters with subdivisions on specific subjects, this is the most detailed index for the Nineteenth Century papers. Most other lists are selective, this one is comprehensive. The alphabetic list of subject terms is in vol. 5. The citation format follows the system of the "fifty year indexes." (see above)

3. Adam, Margaret Isabella, comp. Guide to the Principal Parliamentary Papers relating to the Dominions, 1812-1911. Edinburg [etc.], Oliver and Boyd, 1913.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2021.C7 .A3] This and the below title cover subjects omitted from the Breviates (below), including foreign affairs.

Temperley, Harold William Vazeille, 1879-1939. ed. A Century of Diplomatic Blue Books, 1814-1914, Lists edited, with historical introductions. Cambridge [Eng.], The University press, 1938.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2009 .T28]

4. "Breviates" of Parliamentary Papers.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: J301 .M3]
Except for the first volume, abstracts of papers are included. They list major papers relating to internal United Kingdom affairs only; foreign policy is excluded. The detailed table of contents serves as a subject index.
Currently in 7 parts: 1833-1899, 1900-1916 ,1917-1939, 1940-1954, 1955-1964, 1965-1974, 1974-1983.
Also see "Hansard's Catalogue and Breviate, 1696-1834". [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: J301 .K62].

IRISH UNIVERSITY PRESS SERIES OF BRITISH PARLIAMENTARY PAPERS

The Irish University Press 1000-volume series 1801-1899 is a simple way of accessing the most important papers. It is divided into 32 subject sections, each with their own call number. Begin with the checklist [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z2019 .I73] and catalog [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z2019 .I732]. To retrieve listings in Franklin for the separate topical parts, try a keyword search on

"irish university press" and "british parliamentary papers"

General Index
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2019 .I74], v. 1-8.
Indexes to the Irish University Press 1000-volume reprint series of the British Parliamentary Papers.

Checklist of British Parliamentary Papers in the Irish University Press 1000-volume series, 1801-1899. Shannon, Ireland [1972]
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2019 .I73]

Catalogue of British Parliamentary Papers in the Irish University Press 1000-volume series and area studies series, 1801-1900
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2019 .I732]

For additional information about British Government Publications see:

Ford, Percy. A Guide to Parliamentary Papers, What They Are, How to Find Them, How to Use Them. 3d ed. Totowa, N.J., Rowman and Littlefield, 1972.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2009.A1 F6 1972]

Rodgers, Frank. A Guide to British Government Publications. New York : H. W. Wilson, 1980.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: J301 .M3 1980]

C. Selected Published Source Collections

British Documents on the End of Empire. London : HMSO,
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: call numbers vary]

Harlow, Vincent Todd, 1898-. British Colonial Developments, 1774-1834: Select Documents. Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1953.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: JV1006 .H3 ]

Select Documents on the Constitutional History of the British Empire and Commonwealth: the Foundations of a Colonial System of Government. Edited by Frederick Madden with David Fieldhouse. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1985-
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: KD5025 .S45 1985], v. 1-8.

English Historical Documents. [London, Eyre & Spottiswoode, v.1-, 1955-.]
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: DA26 .E55]
Basic documents or selections for documents, accompanied by lenghty, selective, and critical bibliographies of contemporary sources, books, and articles, generally in English.

Wiener, Joel H. comp. Great Britain: Foreign Policy and the Span of Empire, 1689-1971; a Documentary History. New York, Chelsea House Publishers [1972]
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: DA45 .W53], v. 1-4.

British Documents on Ottoman Armenians. ed. by Bilbl N. ,Sim,sir. Ankara : T|rk Tarih Kurumu Basimevi, 1982-
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: DR435.A7 B74 1982 v. 1. 1856-1880, v. 2. 1880-1890, v.3. 1891-1895, v.4. 1895.

Guy, Josephine M. The Victorian Age: an Anthology of Sources and Documents. London ; New York : Routledge, 1998.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: DA550 .G965 1998]

The Political Writings of the 1790s. Edited by Gregory Claeys. London ; Brookfield, VT : Pickering & Chatto, 1995.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: DA520 .P78 1995]

Select Statutes, Cases, and Documents to Illustrate English Constitutional History, 1660-1832. ed. by C. Grant Robertson. New York : G. P Putnam's Sons 1904.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: 342.42 R545]

D. Microfilm Collections

Africa through Western Eyes: Manuscript Records of Traders, Travelers, Soldiers, Missionaries and Diplomats in Africa. Marlborough : Adam Matthew Publications, 1999-.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm 4423], reel 1-15 + guide, pt.1/2.

Board of Missions, Sierra Leone, 1911-1948. [Wilmington, Del.] : Scholarly Resources Inc., [1998]
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: reel 1-7 + "guide"]

Exploration and Colonization of Africa, 1794-1844. Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources, c1979.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm 4375], reel 1-14 + "guide".

South Africa, a Collection of Miscellaneous Documents, 1902-1963. [Stanford, 1964?].
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm 1368], Reel 1-15.

Dispatches from United States Ministers to Great Britain [1791-1906].
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: National Archives Film M-30]

Documents on British Policy Overseas. London : H.M. Stationery Office, 1984-
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microbook 21] Largely Foreign Office documents. Documents calendered but not printed in bound volumes are reproduced on microfiches enclosed in an accompanying folder kept in Microforms Area (call no. Microbook 21). Covers 1945 to 1976.

[Foreign Office, Embassy and Consulates, Iran (formerly Persia), General Correspondence]. [Kew, Richmond, Surrey] : Public Records Office, [1972?].
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm 4418], reel 1-3.

Church Missionary Society Archive. Section I, East Asia missions.. Marlborough, Wiltshire : Adam Matthew Publications, 1997-.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm 4365], reel 64-210.

India Gazetteers: Imperial, Provincial, and District Series..
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 16]
Index to collection is: India gazetteers; imperial series, provincial series, district series: a check list and index [Microtext: DS405 .I68].

India in the age of empire: the journals of Michael Pakenham Edgeworth (1812-1881) from the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Marlborough, Wiltshire, England : Adam Matthew Publications, 1997.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm 4407], reel 1-11 + guide.

Political Pamphlets from the Indian Subcontinent. [Frederick, MD] : University Publication of America, c1990.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 815], 1033 fiches + "Guide".

Selections from the Records of the Government of India, 1849-1937. Zug, Switzerland : IDC, 1984-1985.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfiche 1115], fiches 1-3009; fiches A1-A134; fiches B1-B24, also guide.
Includes selections from the records of the governments of India, Bengal, Bombay, Madras, Mysore, North Western Provinces, Oudh, Punjab, Sind, and Travancore.

E. Manuscript Collections

George, Lord Macartney Correspondence.
Letters of the Governor of Madras (1781-1785) and first British ambassador to China (1792-1794) relating mainly to Lord Macartney's connection with India.

Holden Furber Collection.
Documents and letters concerning, among others, Sir John MacPherson, Governor General, 1784-1786; Governor of Bombay Duncan, 1795-1802; Major F. R. MacDonald, 1791-1799; and General Stuart, Commander-in-Chief, 1796-1800.

George William Brown Papers.
Notes and writings regarding his missionary work in India in the nineteenth century

Kanji Dwarkadas Papers.
Correspondence, 1919-1965, writings, and letters received from a variety of notables. Dwarkadas was prominent in the development of the labor movement in India and closely connected with Annie Besant and the Home Rule League that she founded.

Richard B. Gregg Collection.
Letters and documents pertaining to the civil disobedience campaign in India from 1930 to 1933.

F. Individual Writings - A few selections

Argyll, George Douglas Campbell, Duke of. The Eastern question from the treaty of Paris 1856 to the treaty of Berlin 1878, and to the second Afghan war. London, Strahan & company, limited [1879].
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: 915 Ar39], v. 1-2.

Grover, John. The Bokhara Victims. [2nd ed.] London Chapman and Hall 1845.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: 958.6 G918a]

Burke, Edmund. On Empire, Liberty, and Reform: Speeches and Letters. New Haven [Conn.] : Yale University Press, c2000.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: JV1016 .B87 2000]

Some Official Correspondence of George Canning [1821-1827]. London, New York, Longmans, Green, and co., 1887.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: 327.42 C16.2], v. 1-2.

Disraeli, Benjamin, Earl of Beaconsfield, 1804-1881. Benjamin Disraeli Letters. Toronto ; Buffalo : University of Toronto Press, 1982-.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: DA564.B3 A4 1982]

Disraeli, Benjamin, Earl of Beaconsfield, 1804-1881. The works of Benjamin Disraeli, Earl of Beaconsfield : embracing novels, romances, plays, poems, biography, short stories, and great speeches. New York : AMS Press, [1976].
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: PR4080 .F76], v. 1-20.

Durham, John George Lambton, Earl of, 1792-1840. Report on the Affairs of British North America. New York, A. M. Kelley, 1970.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F1032 .D983], v. 1-3.

The Elgin-Grey papers, 1846-1852; edited with notes and appendices by Sir Arthur G. Doughty. Published by authority of the Secretary of State under the direction of the acting Dominion Archivist. Ottawa, J.O. Patenaude, printer to the King, 1937.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: 971D C162.3]

Gladstone, W. E. (William Ewart). The Gladstone Diaries. Oxford, Clarendon P., 1968-1994.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: DA563 .A34], v. 1-14.


[Home][Hours][Help][15 Libraries][Forms][Comments][A-to-Z][Patron][Search]
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.

Last update: Wednesday, 28-Aug-2002 13:08:14 EDT
Send mail concerning this page to:

Patty Lynn, Van Pelt Library, lynn@pobox.upenn.edu