
This guide describes the major collections of British government publications
available in Van Pelt Library of the University of Pennsylvania and the
reference apparatus necessary to access them. It does not cover the census
materials from the United Kingdom housed at Van Pelt or the thousands of
separately cataloged documents. It should also be noted that there are
substantial collections at the Biddle Law Library. Check LOLA for listings.
I. Guide to British Government Publications
- Rogers, Frank. Guide to British Government Publications.
New York: H.W. Wilson, 1980. 750 pp.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: J301 .M3 1980]
- Very detailed. Especially useful for non-Parliamentary publications.
- Olle´, J. G. An Introduction to British Government Publications
2nd ed. London: Association of Assistant Librarians, 1973. 175pp.
- [Van Pelt Reference Desk: Z2009 .O4 1973]
- Clearest introduction. Mostly devoted to Parliamentary publications.
- Ford, Percy and Grace Ford. A Guide to Parliamentary Papers: What
They Are; How to Find Them. 3rd ed. Shannon: Irish University
Press, 1972. 87 pp.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2009 .A1 F6 1972]
- *****There is also a notebook at the Reference Desk concerning British
Government publications. It includes a variety of more specialized materials
such as annotated lists of census materials in 19th
century Parliamentary papers, articles on the Journals of Commons and Lords
and details on the King Collection.
II. Parliamentary Publications
The vast majority of requests for British government documents are for
publications from the Parliament. These are divided into three kinds:
1) Journals 2) Debates and 3) Sessional Papers.
Each kind exists for both houses of Parliament--Commons and Lords.
Journals record the decisions made in each house.
Debates are the record of what is said in each house.
They are usually called Hansard after their early
nineteenth century publisher.
Sessional or Parliamentary Papers are the
working documents of each session of Parliament and are divided into three parts:
Bills, Reports and Command Papers. The last type
are ostensibly printed at the "Command of the Sovereign" and are relied on
heavily by the Parliament since their origin is found in the various
ministries and are often the most detailed information available on British
Policy issues. There is an extremely high overlap between the
Lords' and the Commons' papers. Since about 1920 only those papers which are
unique to Lords become part of the Lords' Sessional Papers.
House of Commons
- Journals
- 1547-1896: J 301 .K3
- 1547-1900: Microprint 3 (Gov Docs Room)
- 1986- . : Microfiche 110
- INDEXES: each year has its own index.
- Debates (The University of Pennsylvania only
subscribes to the annual debates)
- 1803-1908 : J 301 .H22
- 1909-1986 : High Density Storage J 301 .K22
- 1986- .: Microfiche 110A
- 1988- :Hansard (House of Commons Daily Debates)
- INDEXES: Indexes by session are with the debates. They
are most complete for names of speakers and geographic names but not as
detailed for thematic subjects. References in the indexes
are to column numbers.
- Sessional or Parliamentary Papers
- 1713-1913: Microprint 2 (Gov Docs Room)
- 1914-1980: Storage J 301 .K6
- 1980- .: Microfiche 110
- Over the years these have been arranged in a variety of ways. Sometimes
they have been arranged by subject, all three types of papers interfiled;
most often they are arranged by type of paper numerically.
Indexes to Parliamentary Papers
- Current: consult HMSO Annual Catalogue(H. Majesty's Stationery Office)
g-- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2009 .G882]
- The papers themselves also have an annual index but it is not very detailed.
- Retrospective: "Fifty-year indexes" [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: J301 .K6 Index]
- These cover three time periods:
- 1801-1852
- 1852-1899
- 1900-1949
- It is essential to be extremely persistent and creative when using these
subject indexes, especially with the one covering 1852-1899, since in many
cases a document is listed only once. Each type of paper has its own section.
For each entry the form of citation is standardized:
- session--paper no.--vol. no. in that session--first page no. e.g.: 1908 (85) cxvi 311
- If the paper is a command paper it will be indicated by an abbreviation
forming part of the word "command" such as Cd.--e.g. Cmmd. 8168.
An index by command paper number is:
- Di Roma, E. A Numerical Finding List of British Command Papers
Published 1833-1961/62. New York: New York Public Library, 1967.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z2009 .D5 and suppl. to 1976]
- "Cockton Catalog"
- Subject Catalog of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers 1801-
1900. 5 vols.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: DA530 .C63 1988]
- Divided into 19 chapters with subdivisions on specific subjects, this is
the most detailed index for the Nineteenth Century papers. Most other lists
are selective, this one is comprehensive.
The alphabetic list of subject terms is in vol. 5. The citation format
follows the system of the "fifty year indexes." (see above)
- "Abbot Collection" 1731-1800
Catalogue of Papers Printed by Order of the House of Commons from the year 1731-1800.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: J301 .A2 1800a]
- Since it indexes the collection pulled together by one early
nineteenth century speaker, it is limited in scope. On the other hand, it is
this collection which serves as the basis for the eighteenth century
portion of the Readex Microprint 2 set.
- "Breviates" "Select Lists"
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: J301 .M3]
- Currently in 7 parts:
- 1833-1899
- 1900-1916
- 1917-1939
- 1940-1954
- 1955-1964
- 1965-1974
- 1974-1983
- Except for the first volume, abstracts of papers are included. They list
major papers relating to internal United Kingdom affairs only; foreign policy
is excluded. The detailed table of contents serves as a subject index.
- Also see "Hansard's Catalogue and Breviate, 1696-1834" (Van Pelt Reference: J301 .K62).
House of Lords
- Journals
- 1509-1833: Van Pelt Library Stacks: J 301 .J3
- INDEXES: see above under House of Commons
- Debates
- 1909-1986: High Density Storage J 301 .J22
- 1986- .: Microfiche 110
- 1998- :Hansard - House of Lords Debates
- INDEXES: see above under House of Commons
- Sessional or Parliamentay Papers
- 1952-1985: High Density Storage J 301 .J6
- 1986- .: Microfiche 110
- Many, but by no means all, of the important Lords' papers were included in
the historical collections of Commons' papers.
Indexes to Parliamentary Papers
- Current: consult HMSO (H. Majesty's Stationery Office)
catalog [Van Pelt Library Reference: Z2009 .G882]
- The papers themselves also have an annual index but it is not very detailed.
- Retrospective: the retrospective indexes for sessional
papers of the House of Commons (listed above) are also relevant for
Lords' papers.
- See also General Index to the Sessional Papers Printed by Order
of the House of Lords.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: J301 .J6].
- In two parts: 1801-1859, 1859-1885.
Alternative Parliamentary Collections
The Irish University Press 1000-volume series 1801-1899 is a simple way of
accessing the most important papers. It is divided into 32 subject sections,
each with their own call number. Begin with
the checklist [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z2019 .I73] and
catalog [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: Z2019 .I732].
To retrieve listings in Franklin for the separate topical parts, try a
keyword search on "irish university press" AND "british parliamentary papers".
For indexes see:
- General Index
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2019 .I74], v. 1-8.
- Indexes to the Irish University Press 1000-volume reprint series of the British
Parliamentary Papers.
- Checklist of British Parliamentary Papers in the Irish University Press 1000-volume series,
1801-1899.
Shannon, Ireland [1972]
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2019 .I73]
- Catalogue of British parliamentary papers in the Irish University Press 1000-volume
series and area studies series, 1801-1900
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z2019 .I732]
- Another very useful alternative, since its organization is simpler, to the other
cataloged sets of British Parliamentary Publications is the
King Collection which is a selection covering 1801-1879
- [High Density Storage: J301 .H55].
- A subject index is available [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: J301 .M3 1899] and
there is also a card file which lists the collection's contents
chronologically shelved under the reference desk.
- For materials from the eighteenth century in reprint see Sessional
Papers of the
Eighteenth Century [Van Pelt Library Stacks: J301.K64]
III. Collections of Statutes
- Acts of UK Parliament.
- Includes the full-text of Public Acts from 1988 forward and the full-text of
Local Acts from 1991 forward.
- Public General Acts
- [Van Pelt Library: 346 G792.3], 1869-1907.
- [Biddle Law Library: KH/KD 135 L3], 1866-1869, 1870-1875, 1877-1925, 1926-1939
- Title varies.
- The statutes of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland.
London : His Majesty's Statute and Law Printers, 1807-1869.
- [Biddle Law Library: KH/KD 129 G7], Vol. 47 (1807)-v. 109 (1868/69).
- Great Britain. The statutes at large, from Magna Charta, to the end of the last Parliament, 1761, [continued to 1800]...
London : printed by Mark Baskett, Printer to the King's Most Excellent Majesty, and by the Assigns of Robert Baskett; and by Henry Woodfall
and William Strahan, Law Printers to the King's Most Excellent Majesty, 1768-1800.
- [Van Pelt Library Rare Bk & Ms Library RBC: KD130 .E53], v.2-18.
- A new edition of the first eight volumes of Ruffhead's "Statutes at large" (originally published 1763-1764), with the addition of v. 9-18,
which continue the series to 1800.
- Great Britain. The Chronological Index to the Statutes of the Realm: from Magna Carta to the End of the Reign of Queen Anne
[London : G. Eyre & A. Strahan], 1828. 939 p. ; 50 cm. Compiled by J. Raithby.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: 346 G79 index]
- The statutes at large from Magna Charta, to the end of the Eleventh Parliament of Great Britain, anno 1761
Cambridge : Printed by J. Bentham, 1762-1807
- [Biddle Law Library: KH/KD 129 G7], v.1-6, v.10, v.12-46
- Acts and ordinances of the Interregnum, 1642-1660 / collected and edited by C.H. Firth and R.S. Rait for the Statute
Law Committee
- [Biddle Law Library: KH/KD 1642], v. 1-3.
- v. 1. Acts and ordinances from 5th March, 1642 to 30th January, 1649 -- v. 2. Acts and ordinances from 9th February, 1649 to
16th March, 1660 -- v. 3. Introduction, chronological table, and indices
IV. Foreign Office Papers
- British and Foreign State Papers.
London : H.M.S.O., 1828-c1977.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX103 .A3], v.1 (1812/14)-v.170.
- British Documents on Foreign Affairs:
Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print.
Bethesda, MD : University Publications of America, c1995-.
Several series are available in reprint form.
- Africa, 1848-1914, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX632 .B7685 1995] v.1-25
- Africa, 1914-1939, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX632 .B769 1994]
- Asia, 1860-1914, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX632 .B748 1989]
- Asia, 1914-1939, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX632 .B767 1991]
- Latin America, 1845-1914, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX632 .B747 1991]
- Latin America, 1914-1939, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX632 .B766 1989]
- The Near and Middle East, 1856-1914, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JX632 .B745 1984]
- Turkey, Iran, and the Middle East, 1918-1939, [Van Pelt Library Stacks: DS63.2.G7 B75 1985]
V. H. Majesty's Stationary Office (HMSO)
H.M.S.O. has the exclusive right to publish Parliamentary publications.
It also publishes an enormous number of non-Parliamentary government
publications, but by no means all. Therefore, it is necessary to
be familiar with H.M.S.O's services and catalogs when working with British
Government Publications.
- Great Britain. H.M.S.O. Annual Catalog. 1922- . London: H.M.S.O.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: Z2009 .G882]
Van Pelt receives only the Annual catalog. This catalog and its predecessors
go back to 1922 and have various titles. Arrangement is by agency responsible
for the publication but Parliament is listed first.
Cumulative indexes cover five and ten year periods. The index gives subject
terms and abbreviates the agency responsible for publication. References are
to page numbers. Remember when using the cumulated indexes that the main
volumes have continuous pagination for five or ten year periods.
Parliamentary Papers are included and it is possible to use the catalog to
verify command papers by subject or number. Subject lists of publications
(called "sectional lists") are also available, free, from
H.M.S.O. upon request.
- Her Majesty's Stationary Office
- Offers access to the full-text of Acts of the UK Parliament from 1988-2000,
as well as local acts from 1991 to 2000. Also included are recent Acts and
Statutory Instruments for Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales.
- UK Official
Publications on the Internet
- Full text or summary of selected documents prepared for the Internet by
The Stationery Office. Search by date, title, or department.
Other official documents are listed by category.
- Non-H.M.S.O. Publications can be accessed through a database available on
the Dialog system (file 228) which covers from 1980 to the present.
VI. Statistical Sources
- National Statistics - the official UK Statistics site.
- Great Britain. Central Statistical Office. Annual Abstract of
Statistics. 1840/53- .
- [Van Pelt Library: HA1122 .A33], with Latest in Reference.
- Great Britain. Central Statistical Office. Regional Trends. 1965- . Annual
- [Van Pelt Library: HA1122 .A336], with Latest in Reference.
- Great Britain. Central Statistical Office. Social Trends. 1970- . Annual
- [Van Pelt Library: HA1135 .S62], with Latest in Reference.
VII. Handbooks and Directories
- Britain [year, e.g. 1989]: An Official Handbook.
1949/50- . Annual.
- [Van Pelt Library: DA630 .A17], with Latest in Reference.
- Mostly discursive description of current events and policies.
Not meant to be analytical. Many statistical tables.
- Great Britain. Cabinet Office. Civil Service Yearbook.
1974- . Annual.
- [Van Pelt Library: JN106 .G732], with Latest in Reference.
- Lists government departments with addresses and officers. Name index
included.
- Dod's Parliamentary Companion. 1867- . Annual.
- [Van Pelt Libary: JN500 .D7], with Latest in Reference.
- Penn has 1967-present. Primarily composed of brief biographies (with
photographs) of members of Parliament, it also includes voting statistics,
directory data for other offices of the government and list
of terminology. For other biographical data on members of Parliament
see: Who's Who of British Members of Parliament, 4 vols.;
vol. 1:1832-1885; vol. 2: 1886-1918; vol. 3: 1919-1945; vol. 4: 1945-1979.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: JN672 .W47 1976]
- Foreign and Commonwealth Office. Year Book of the Commonwealth
1967- . Annual.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JN106 .G732], with Latest in Reference.
- Supercedes: Colonial Office List, 1862-1967;
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JV33 .G7 A2; Van Pelt has most years since 1890.
- Country-by-country survey with lists of officials.
VIII. Other Reference Sources
- Butler, David and Gareth Butler. British Political Facts
1900-1994. 7th ed. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1994. 541 pp.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: JN231 .B8 1994]
- Cook, Chris and Brendan Keith. British Historical Facts: 1830-1900.
New York: St. Martin's Press, 1984. 279 pp.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: JN216 .C65 1984]
- Forman, F.N. Mastering British Politics.
London: Macmillan, 1985. 359 pp.
- [Van Pelt Library: JN231 .F67 1985]
- Introductory textbook with clear explanation of the British system.
- Goehler, Robert U. and Fenton S. Martin. Parliament of Great Britain:
A Bibliography. Lexington, MA: Lexington Books, 1983. 209 pp.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: JN508 .G64 1983]
- Great Britian. Public Record Office. Current Guide.
Microfiche.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: CD 1043 A554 1996]
- Wilding, Norman W. Encyclopaedia of Parliament.
4th ed. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1971. 931 pp.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: JN555 .W5 1971]
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update:
Thursday, 07-Feb-2002 14:47:34 EST
Send mail concerning this Bibliography to:
David Azzolina