
This guide will help you find both primary and secondary resources
concerning the United States during the 1960s.
If you do not find what you need, please be sure to ask
for assistance.
I. Franklin, the Penn Library Catalog
Use Franklin to look for books at the Penn Libraries.
Subject Searches - To search subject headings in
Franklin, omit dashes between
subheadings but retain hyphens.
Here are some relevant Library of Congress Subject Headings:
united states--history--1961-1969
united states--politics and government--
united states--social conditions--1960-
united states--social conditions--1960-1980
nineteen sixties
african americans--
afro-americans--civil rights
Central High School (Little Rock, Ark.)--History
civil rights--united states
civil rights movements--
civil rights workers
communal living--united states
Democratic National Convention (1968 : Chicago, Ill.)
feminism--
hippies--
Kent State University Riot, May 4, 1970
Presidents--United States--Election--1968
riots--
segregation in education--law and legislation--united states
subculture--united states--
vietnamese conflict, 1961-1975--
vietnamese conflict, 1961-1975--protest movements
woodstock (n.y.)
womens rights
Keyword Searching - To use Keyword searching, make sure Boolean operators
(AND OR NOT) are in capitals and phrases are
surrounded by quotation marks.
"democratic national covention"
brown AND "board of education"
("womens rights" OR feminis?) AND "civil rights"
Primary Sources - Often the following words will be found in the
subject headings assigned to works which contain primary source material.
Watch for these words when doing subject searches and add
them to keyword searches.
diaries,
personal narratives,
correspondence,
sources, interviews.
Add the above terms to keyword searches:
"vietnamese conflict" AND "personal narratives"
"civil rights" AND sources
Try author searches for works by
famous figures of the time:
Cleaver, Elridge
Guevara, Ernesto
Rubin, Jerry
King, Martin Luther, Jr
For publications from a particular organization, group, or
political party, try author searches under the names of the
group.
Black Panther Party
National Organization for Women
II. Magazine Articles published during the 1950s-1970s
Holdings - The Library has the printed copies of many popular
periodicals from the 1960s. Many of theses are located in
the AP2 call number range on the third floor of the
Van Pelt Library.
Others are only available
in Microform.
Holdings and locations of selected popular periodicals:
- Ebony
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 167], v1. 1945-present.
- Life
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: 051 L627]
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 530], 1936-1972.
- Nation
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: ], v.1 (1865)-v.139 (1934).
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 180], v.1 (1865)-present.
- National Review
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP2 .N3545], v.1 (1955/1956)-v.18 (1966),v.23 (1971),
v.42 (1990)-v.52 (2000)
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 216],v.19 (1967)-present.
- New Republic
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 37]
- Newsweek
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP2 .N6772], v.29 (1947)-present.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 388], v.1 (1933)-present.
- Rolling Stone
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 422], no.1, 1967-present.
- Time
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: AP2 .T37], v.14 (1929)-present.
- [Van Pelt Library: Microfilm cont 389], v.1 (1923)-present.
- U.S. News and World Report
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 615], v.1 (1933)-v.63 (1967).
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: JK1 .U65], v.64 (1968)-present.
- Village Voice
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 158], 1955 - present, some years incomplete.
Indexes - The majority of the online indexes to do not index works
published in the 1960s. For popular magazine coverage of
events, look at the Reader's Guide. The Social Sciences
Index can be used to located scholarly journals written
in the 1960s.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective.
- Provides indexing to popular periodicals. Currently the retrospective file covers
1963-1982. For the fifties and early sixties, consult the printed version of
Readers' Guide below.
- Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature.
1900-present.
- [Van Pelt Reference: AI3 R48]
- Library has: 1900-
- Covers popular reading magazines such as Time,
and Newsweek. Subject headings change over time.
Here are some relevant subject headings used in the Reader's Guide during
the 1960s.
- Social Sciences Index. 1907-present.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: AI3 .R49].
- Library has: 1907-1993
- Other titles: Social sciences and humanities index,
International index to periodicals.
III. Newspapers from the 1950-70s
Currently there are few sources which index newspapers
from the 1960s. There is a complete index for the New York
Times. The Library also has some other relevant newspapers
on microfilm. See below.
Individual Newspapers
-
The New York Times.
- A searchable, full-text version of the New York Times from
1851 to 1999.
The Library also has the microfilm version of the NYT at [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm news 52]
and a printed index [Van Pelt Reference: AI21 .N44].
References from the index provide date, section, page, and column.
- The Birmingham News [microform].
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Film news 636], 1954-1955, 1963-1964.
- Philadelphia Inquirer Public Ledger.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: microfilm news 61], Apr.16 1934-Dec.1951, Feb.1952-Dec.11 1969 - present.
- Called Philadlephia Inquirer from 1969 to the present.
- Philadelphia Tribune.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: microfilm news 407], 1912 - present.
- St. Louis Post Dispatch. (St. Lous, Missouri)
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: microfilm news 63], 1953-1979.
- Washington Post.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: microfilm news 256], 1967 - present.
- Black Panther. (Oakland, CA.)
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: microfilm news 425], 1967 - 1980.
- Earlier years are part of the Underground Newspaper Collection.
Newspaper Collections
- Underground Press Collection.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: microfilm news 270], 473 reels.
- See the Listing of Contents for titles
in the microform collection [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks:
AI3 .U54].
IV. Indexes for Articles ABOUT the Sixties
Multidisciplinary
- Academic Index.
- Covers 1980 (very incomplete) - present.
- Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 1550 scholarly and
general interest journals. Full text or full image
is provided for more than 750 titles (most of which are from mid-1990's to
present). Although not comprehensive for history, numerous history
journals are indexed here; some are full-text. Academic Index
is also good for book reviews of recent titles.
- Periodicals Contents Index.
- 1770-1990/1991
- Includes citations to many journals in the humanities and social
sciences.
- A good tool for finding contemporary narrative accounts and older book reviews.
U.S. History
- America: History & Life.
- Covers U.S. and Canadian history.
You can limit your search by decade; to do so add 1960D to the
time period field on the search screen.
Art, Literature, Music
- Art Index.
- Art. Coverage includes English-language periodicals, as well as periodicals
published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish.
Covers 1984 to the present. For earlier years see:
Art Index, [Fine Arts Library Reference: Z 5937 .A78], 1929-1992.
- MLA International Bibliography.
- The major index for literary criticism, language, folklore.
Cites journal articles, selected books and dissertations.
Coverage begins with 1963. Strong source for material relating to travel literature or to the treatment
of travel in literature. See also for cultural theory, treatment of culture in
literatures, cultural encounters, etc.
- Music Index.
- Music Index Online draws its current contents from more than 640
international music periodicals.
Covers 1979 to the present. For earlier years, see
Music Index, [Van Pelt Library Marian Anderson
Music Study Center: ML118 .M84]
Public Policy / Politics
- PAIS.
-
Covers public affairs and policy issues relating to a wide range of
topics: agriculture, banking, finance, business, demographics, education,
health, environment, public administration, law and legislation, and international relations.
Covers 1972 to the present.
For earlier years see:
PAIS Bulletin (name varies), [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: JA 1 .P357], 1915 -
Sociology and Culture/Ethnic/Gender Issues
- Sociological Abstracts.
- Index to journals, books, and conference papers in sociology.
Includes significant coverage of historical topics and events from
a sociological perspective.
-
Hispanic American Periodical Index.
- Chicano Database
- The Chicano Database identifies all types of material on Mexican-American topics
and about Chicanos. Updated quarterly, the Chicano Database provides extensive
coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the
early 1900s.
- Index to Black periodicals. 1984- .
Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall & Co.
- [Van Pelt Reference: AI3 O4]
- Continues: Index to periodical articles by and about Blacks.
(Van Pelt: AI3 .O4 1966-1969). An even earlier title, Index to
selected periodicals, indexes articles between 1961-1965 (Van
Pelt: AI3 .O4)
- Studies on Women Abstracts. Abingdon,
Oxfordshire: Carfax Pub. Co. Vol. 1- , 1983- .
- [Van Pelt Reference: HQ1180 .S78]
- Women Studies Abstracts. NY: Rush Pub.,
Vol. 1- ,1972- .
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: HQ1101 .W653]
V. Reference Works - Chronologies, Biography, and Topical Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Bibliographies
Below is a small sample of the many specialized bibliographies, dictionaries
and, encyclopedias
that focus US history in the 1960s and 20th century.
Browse the Van Pelt Library Reference
stacks in the E call number range to see additional titles available.
Watch for the words encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliography
in subject searches. These terms can be added to keyword searches
to find additional reference works.
A look at the Decade - Chronologies and Facts
- American Decades.
edited by Vincent Tompkins. Detroit : Gale Research, c1994-c1996.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: E169.12 .A419]
See the volumes for 1960-1969 and 1970-1979.
- American Chronicle: year by year Through the Twentieth century.
Lois Gordon and Alan Gordon.
New Haven [Conn.] : Yale University Press, c1999.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: E169.1 .G664 1999]
- Facts on File.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: D410 .F3]
v.6 (1946)-v.44 (1984),v.46 (1986)-v.59 (1999)
- Chronology of events. See the volumes for the 1960s.
- McCleary, John Bassett.
The Hippie Dictionary: a Cultural Encyclopedia (and Phraseicon) of the 1960s and 1970s.
Berkeley, CA : Ten Speed Press, c2002.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: HQ799.7 .M28 2002]
- Historical Dictionary of the 1960s.
Edited by James S. Olson.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1999.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E841 H58 1999]
- Atlas of the Baby Boom Generation.
Neil A. Hamilton ... [et al.].
Detroit, Mich. : Macmillan Reference USA, 2000.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E741 .A88 2000]
Biography
- Leaders from the 1960s: a Biographical Sourcebook of American Activism.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1994.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: HN59 .L32 1994]
Civil Rights
- Civil Rights in the United States.
edited by Waldo E. Martin, Jr. and Patricia Sullivan.
New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2000.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E184.A1 C47 2000], v. 1-2.
- Murray, Paul T. The Civil Rights Movement: References and
Resources. New York: G.K. Hall, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185.61 .M975 1993]
Court Cases
- Historic U.S. Court Cases: an Encyclopedia.
John W. Johnson, editor. 2nd edition.
New York : Routledge, 2001.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: KF385.A4 J64 2001], v. 1-2.
- Great American Court cases.
Mark Mikula and L. Mpho Mabunda, editors.
Detroit : Gale Group, c1999.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: KF385.A4 G68 1999], v. 1-4.
Culture and Society
- McWilliams, John C. The 1960s Cultural Revolution.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E841 .M37 2000]
- The ABC-CLIO Companion to the 1960s Counterculture in America.
Neil A. Hamilton. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1997.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E169.02 .H3515 1997]
- The 1960s: an Annotated Bibliography of Social and
Political movements in the United States.
Rebecca Jackson. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1992.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: HN59 .J34 1992]
Vietnam War
- Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: a Political, Social, and Military History.
Spencer C. Tucker, Editor.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1998.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: DS557.7 .E53 1998]
- Burns, Richard Dean.The Wars in Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos,
1945-1982: a bibliographic guide. Santa Barbara, Calif.:
ABC-Clio, c1984
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: DS557.7 .B88 1984]
- Peake, Louis A. The United States in the Vietnam War,
1954-1975: a selected annotated bibliography. New York:
Garland Pub., 1986.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: DS558 .P43 1986]
- Those Who Were There: Eyewitness accounts of the war in
Southeast Asia, 1956-1975 & aftermath: annotated
bibliography of books, articles & topic-related magazines,
covering writings both factual & imaginative. Paradise,
CA: DustBooks, 1984.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: DS559.5 .T56 1984]
- The Vietnam War: Handbook of the Literature and
Research. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: DS558 .V58 1993]
Women's Movement, Feminism
- Buhle, Mari Jo. Women and the American left: a guide to
sources. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall, c1983.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HQ1420 .B95 1983]
- See especially the section for 1965-1981, pp. 195-246.
- Nordquist, Joan. The feminist movement: a bibliography.
Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, 1992.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HQ1150 .N67 1992]
- Ryan, Barbara. The women's movement: references and
resources. New York: G.K. Hall, 1996.
- [Van Pelt Reference: HQ1236.5.U6 R93 1996]
VI. Selected Primary Sources Collections at Penn
In addition to the newspaper and periodical articles indexes
described above, the Library houses other types of
primary source material:
A. Autobiography, Personal Writings
Be sure to check all relevant figures as authors
in Franklin. The Library has many bibliographies of
published diaries, among them are:
- Brignano, Russell C.
Black Americans in autobiography; an annotated bibliography of autobiographies and autobiographical
books written since the Civil War.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks:
B. Speeches
- Vital Speeches of the Day.
New York, The City News Pub. Co.
- [Van Pelt Library: PN6121 .V52], v.1 (1934/1935) - .
- Speech Index.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference: AI3.S85]
- Voices of Multicultural America: notable speeches delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native
Americans, 1790-1995.
Deborah Gillan Straub, editor.
New York : Gale Research, c1996.
- [Annenberg Library Reference: PS663.M55 V64 1996]
- A Call to Conscience: the Landmark Speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
Edited by Clayborne Carson
and Kris Shephard.
New York : Intellectual Properties Management, Inc. in association with Warner Books, c2001.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: E185.97.K5 A5 2001]
- Kennedy, Robert. RFK: Collected Speeches.
Edited and introduced by Edwin Guthman and C. Richard Allen
New York : Viking, 1993.
- [Van Pelt Library Stacks: E840.8 .K4 1993]
C. Presidential Papers
- Public papers of the presidents of the United States..
Washington : Federal Register Division, National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration ; For
sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O.,
- [Van Pelt Library: J80 .A283]
- Contains the public messages, speeches, and statements of the President.
Set includes Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon.
For additional works by the presidents, including
published correspondence, remember to search under the
names of the presidents as
authors.
D. Microform Collections
- Facts on film. May 1954-Dec. 1973.
-
Reproduces the unique collection of materials on race relations
assembled in the Library of the Southern Education Reporting Service
based in Nashville, Tennessee. Includes the Southern School News,
transcripts of U.S. Supreme Court hearings, newspaper editorials from
southern papers, newspaper clippings by subject and by state,
pamphlets, and miscellaneous materials.
- [Van Pelt Microforms: Microfilm cont 127]
- Reel Index in Microforms at E185.61 F165]
- FBI file on Malcolm X [microform].
Wilmington, DE : Scholarly Resources, [1995?]
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm 4354], reel 1-10 + guide.
- Herstory. 90 reels.
- Contains women's periodicals from the International Women's
History Periodical Archive.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm cont 319]
- "Table of contents" shelved at Microforms service desk.
- Papers of the NAACP.
- "Part 20: White resistence and reprisals, 1956-1965." 15 reels.
- [Microfilm 4296 Part 20]
- "Part 21: relations with the modern civil rights movement, 1956-1965."
22 reels.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm 4296 Part 21]
- Civil Rights During the Nixon Administration, 1969-1974 [microform].
Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1989-.
- [Van Pelt Library Microforms: Microfilm 4303]
- Civil Rights during the Johnson Administration [microform]: a Collection from the Holdings of the Lyndon
Baines Johnson Library, Austin, Texas.
Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, c1984-c1987.
- [Van Pelt Library Microforms: Microfilm 3948]
- Underground Press Collection.
- [Van Pelt Library Microtext: microfilm news 270], 473 reels.
- See the Listing of Contents for titles
in the microform collection [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks:
AI3 .U54].
VII. Internet Sites
- Sixties Project
- Includes a wide range of materials, including the Personal Narrative Project.
- Black Panther Newspaper Collection
- Selected articles from the Black Panther.
- Free Speech Movement, Student Protest U.C. Berkeley, 1964-65
- Includes oral
histories, journals, legal proceedings, contemporaneous journalism,
FSM newsletters, books, pamphlets, minutes of meetings, government
documents, and more.
- Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project - Stanford University
- May 4th Collections - Department of Special Collections & Archives, Kent State University
- Includes Oral History Project.
![[Home]](/images/footbar-libhome.gif)
![[Hours]](/images/footbar-hours.gif)
![[Help]](/images/footbar-help.gif)
![[15 Libraries]](/images/footbar-penn15.gif)
![[Forms]](/images/footbar-forms.gif)
![[Comments]](/images/footbar-comments.gif)
![[A-to-Z]](/images/footbar-atoz.gif)
![[Patron]](/images/footbar-patron.gif)
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last update:
Friday, 11-Oct-2002 13:15:15 EDT
Send mail concerning this page to:
Patty Lynn at lynn@pobox.upenn.edu.