Lippincott Library @ Wharton
http://www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott

Job Search
Corporate Intelligence for Job Seekers
Fall 2002


This guide is an overview of recommended sources of information to consult in preparing a job search. These sources are available from Lippincott Library. For remote access to databases, you may need to use the Library's Proxy Service.

The search strategies provided are starting points. For assistance in formulating other strategies, consult Database Search Aids from the Lippincott homepage or contact Linda Eichler or Kathleen Dreyer.


I. Researching a Specific Company
A. Company News
B. Company Analysis
C. Company Financials

II. How to Screen for Companies

I. Researching a Specific Company

A. Company News(current & historical)

     1. Dow Jones Interactive
  • Business Newstand: searches most recent 90 days. Can be up-to-the-minute. Includes full-text of selected newspapers, magazines and newswires.
  • Publications Library: rivals Lexis-Nexis, searches over 6,000 newspapers and magazines, full-text back at least 10 years.
  • Company and Industry Center: company financials, industry information, and links to SEC filings.

     Search Examples:
  • Business Newstand: Top Newspapers
    Search: Within Wall Street Journal choose: Search this Publication, Enter: DELL
    Note how current the articles are. (If there is no date, it is the hour of today.)
  • Business Newstand: Business Magazines
    Search: Within Business Week choose: Search this Publication, Enter: MSFT
  • Publications Library
    Search:Enter Comcast in Headline Only
    Change date range to current year
    Click on Change Publications and add Industry: Computer and Communications
  • Company and Industry Center, Search: MRK
    Notice financials, competitors, stock price, beta. Look at "Latest SEC filings." 8-K filings indicate recent activity not included in latest quarterly filing. (For Definitions of SEC Filing Types go to Business Reference, then SEC Filings - Definitions)

      2. Business and Industry
  • Marketing is this database's strength. You can find information on public and private companies' markets and products.
  • International in scope
  • Great for finding market share forecasts and trends

     Search Examples:
  • Company Name: Nokia
    Concept Term: market share and market size (Use CTRL to multi-select)
  • Company Name: Cingular
    Concept Term: product introduction
  • Company Name: Palm
    Concept Term: corporate strategy

      3. Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
  • Business Library: Parallels Dow Jones Interactive's Publications Library. Academic Universe may have some journals/newspapers in full-text that DJI doesn't, and vice versa. This library does include authoritative accounting literature that DJI does not.
  • News Library: Select General News, then Newletters. This is a searchable collection of very focused trade journals.

     Search Examples:
  • Choose Guided News Search
    Select News Category: Business News
    Change News Source to Industry News
    Enter Merck in Company Name (select from drop down box)
    Choose date range: Previous year
  • Choose: Guided News Search
    Select: General News
    Change News Source to Newsletters
    Enter Bayer AG in Headline/Lead Paragraph
    Choose date range: Previous year


B. Company Analysis

      1. ABI/Inform - ProQuest

  • Strong in management issues, concepts
  • Sources searched include scholarly publications

     Search Examples:
  • Search: Merck AND (strateg? or plan?)
  • Search: Merck AND joint ventures
      2. Business Source Premier
  • Good for concepts
  • Sources included scholarly journals such as the Harvard Business Review and the California Management Review

     Search Examples:
  • Search: Nokia in Company_Entity Field AND   strategy in Default Fields
  • Search: Microsoft in publication: Harvard Business Review
      3. Analyst Reports


  • Analyst reports from major investment banks and trade associations.
  • Often the company is compared to its industry; competitors may be mentioned.
  • Industry reports can often be found here as well
      a. Investext Plus
      b. First Call
      c. Multex

C. Company Financials

      1.Global Access
  • Great for tear sheets, annual reports (management discussion),
  • SEC filings, proxies, 8-Ks, prospectus (will show you if they've filed on a foreign exchange).
      2. Dow Jones Interactive
      3. Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe

II. How to Screen for Companies

A. Screen by Location, Industry, Sales, etc.

     1. D & B'S Million Dollar Database
  • A Dun & Bradstreet database of over 1.6 million U.S. and Canadian and 1.6 million International public and private companies that have sales greater than $1 million or more than 20 employees.
  • Screen for companies by industry (name or SIC); size (employees or sales); geography (state, city, county, area code, zip code, and zip code by radius in miles).
  • Search by name of executive, words in executive biographies.
  • Sort your list of companies by name, state, SIC, sales, total employees.

     Search Examples:
  • 1. Advanced Search:
    Location:Zip Code 19104 and radius 50 miles
    SIC Description Keyword: pharmaceuticals, Browse the list and insert SIC Code: 28340000
    Sort by sales in descending order

  • 2. Advanced Search:
    Executive Biographies: Wharton School


     2. Hoover's Online
  • Database of approximately 4000 U.S. and non-U.S. companies
  • Screen by geographical location, company type, industry, sales.

     Search Examples:
  • 1. Enter company name: Procter & Gamble
  • 2. Advanced Search - Industry Name: Banking - Canada

     3. Corporate Affiliations
  • International database of company information
  • Contains information on company's corporate hierarchy

     Search Examples:
Search by SIC Code: Enter industry: Security Brokers
Choose appropriate SIC Code: 6211
Select Public and Parents

4. Corporate Ranking Websites

     1. Lippincott Business Reference - Choose: Corporate Rankings

Back To Top


For additional resources consult the library's Job Hunt Web Sites


Prepared by Linda Eichler and Kathleen Dreyer. Send mail concerning this page to: lippinco@wharton.upenn.edu

[Home][Hours][Help][15 Libraries][Forms][Comments][A-to-Z][Patron][Search]
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Last Modified: Friday, 08-Nov-2002 11:31:11 EST