| |||||||||
![]() |
|||||||||
|
| RAW DATA | MARKET SURVEYS | MARKET RESEARCH REPORTS |
| MARKET SHARE, NEWS and TRENDS | LOCATION CODES | |
For tips on using these sources, see the following Lippincott Research Guides:
Marketing Information Tutorial, and for IT market information, E-Commerce.
1999 CURRENT POPULATION SURVEY. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
[Covers variables
such as race and ethnicity, school enrollment, computer ownership, fertility,
income and health.]
http://www.bls.census.gov/cps
BEVERAGE INDUSTRY ANNUAL. Market data and directory.
HD 9348 U52 B494 (RS)
CONSUMER EXPENDITURES. U.S. Dept. of Labor. 10 years of annual data. http://stats.bls.gov/
HEALTH BEHAVIOR. Centers for Disease Control. [Medical coverage, obesity,
alcohol use, etc.]
http://www2.cdc.gov/mmwr/mmwr_ss.html
INTERNATIONAL DATABASE. U.S.
Census. [Statistical tables of demographic and socioeconomic data for 227 countries
and areas of the world.]
http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/idbnew.html
MARKETING GUIDEBOOK. Progressive Grocer. [Supermarket distribution. U.S. & Canada.
Company profiles and market facts.]
HD 9321.3 P75 (RS)
RAND MCNALLY COMMERCIAL ATLAS AND MARKETING GUIDE. [Annual.]
G 12229 C6 R354 (SS, on countertop)
SOURCE BOOK OF COUNTRY DEMOGRAPHICS. [Income and buying power.]
HA 203 S658 (RD)
SOURCE BOOK OF ZIP CODE DEMOGRAPHICS. [Income and spending potential
indices.]
HA 203 S66 (RD)
STATE AND COUNTY DEMOGRAPHIC AND ECONOMIC PROFILES.
http://www.census.gov/datamap/www/index.html
STATE & METROPOLITAN AREA DATA BOOK. U.S. Census.
HA 202 S727 (RD) Also:
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/smadb.html
STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES. [Annual.]
HA 202 (RD; Also:) http://www.census.gov/statab/www/
STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE WORLD.
HA 154 S83 (RD)
STATISTICAL FACT BOOK. Direct Marketing Association. [Annual. Buying habits,
costs, trends, fulfillment trends; and international marketing.]
HF 5410 S738 (RS)
STATISTICAL UNIVERSE. [American Statistical Index, Statistical Reference Index, International
Statistics. An index to U.S. and global data generated by governmental and commercial
organizations.]
U.S. CENSUS. [An extensive collection of demographic
data by geographic segment. Select "State and County Quick Facts."]
http://www.census.gov
AMERICAN BUSINESS CLIMATE AND ECONOMIC PROFILES. [U.S. states and
cities.]
HG 102.2 A447 1994
ANALYZING SENIORS' HOUSING MARKETS. Urban Land Institute.
HD 1390.5 B 738 9 (ST)
DEMOGRAPHICS -- U.S.
[Click People to
see titles of population and household economic reports. Full-text included.]
http://www.census.gov/
ERSYS. [Uses GIS to create
detailed U.S. cities reports.]
http://www.ersys.com
EDITOR & PUBLISHER MARKET GUIDE.
HF 5905 E38 (RD)
EUROMONITOR'S
GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION DATABASE. [Market size, economic indicators, consumer
data and much more, in tabular format.]
FP MARKETS. Financial Post. [Canadian demographics, from 1981.]
HD 9321.2 M375 (RS) and latest editions at HC 111 B8
GLOBAL ENTERTAINMENT AND MEDIA OUTLOOK. PricewaterhouseCoopers.
PN 1561 G463 Annenberg Library Reference.
A HEALTHY BUSINESS. GUIDE TO THE GLOBAL PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRY.
HD 9665.5 G74 (RS)
LIFESTYLE MARKET ANALYST. [Annual.]
HF 5415.33 U6 L54 (RD)
FOOD MARKETING INSTITUTE. [Facts and
Figures. Statistics on consumer shopping behavior.]
http://www.fmi.org/
MARKETS OF THE U.S. FOR BUSINESS PLANNERS. 2 volumes. 2nd ed. [Historical
profiles of 183 urban economies.]
HC 106.8 M333 1996.
NATIONAL RESTAURANT
ASSOCIATION. [Spending, state data, forecasts and articles.]
http://www.restaurant.org/
RESTAURANTS & INSTITUTIONS. July Issue. [Annual report on companies and
industry.]
(CD-BPOD)
SIMMONS--CHOICES
II. [Consumer profiles for products and media.] (CD) See Lippincott Database Search Aid #4, Simmons Choices II.)
STATISTICAL FACT BOOK. Direct Marketing Association. [Annual. Buying habits, costs, trends, fulfillment trends and international marketing.]
HF 5410 S738 (RS)
SURVEY OF BUYING POWER AND MEDIA MARKETS. [Annual. Sales and marketing management.
Gives current state, county, city and town estimates of population by age; retail
sales by store group; "Effective Buying Income and Buying Power Index." Rankings
of the top black, Hispanic and affluent metropolitan areas and other special
features.]
HF 5438 A34 Suppl. (RD; Also
ON) at Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.
THE RIGHT SITE. [Demographics by zip code, metro area, city and state.]
http://www.easidemographics.com/
CANADA. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE. [Database of full-text reports, e.g. "The Snack Food Market in China," and "Overview of the Foodservice Market in the U.S. Pacific Southwest."]
http://atn-riae.agr.ca/
EUROMONITOR'S
GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION DATABASE.
Select Market Analysis or Major Market Profiles (France, Germany, UK or USA.)
FEDSTATS. [Reports by U.S. government agencies.]
http://www.fedstats.gov
NATIONAL TRADE DATA BANK (NTDB). U.S. Dept. of Commerce. [Detailed studies of
non-U.S. markets.]
STAT-USA/Internet -> Globus & NTDB
SPORTS BUSINESS RESEARCH NETWORK. [Sports attendance, apparel, participation, equipment, expenditures, consumption, by type and specific product.]
U.S. HISPANIC MARKET. Strategy Research Corporation.
HC 110 C63 U17 (RD)
BEVERAGE WORLD. [Annual Soft Drink Review is in March issue. Rankings,
market share, growth.]
TP 659 A1 N3 (PER)
FACTIVA.
(Use Internet Explorer 5.1 or higher) Dow Jones/Reuters. Factiva and LexisNexis
hold full-text articles with market share information.
LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE.
[Select Business-> Business News-> Industry News.]
Examples:
[pepsico and mexico and snack and market w/s share]
(w/s=within same paragraph)
(See Lippincott Database Search Aid #15,
LEXISNEXIS Universe.)
MARKET SCOPE. Annual supermarket share by DMA, SMA and INFOSCAN market.
HD 9321.2 M37 (RS)
MARKET SHARE REPORTER. [Annual.]
HF 5410 M375 (RD)
TABLEBASE. [Statistical tables extracted from journals and market studies.]
WORLD MARKET SHARE REPORTER. Detroit. [Annual.]
HF 5410 W675 (RD)
| CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center. | ||
| ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at reference desk. | ||
| RD = Reference Desk | ST = Stacks on the 3rd Floor | WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services |
| RS = Reference Stacks | PER = Periodicals | MT = Microtext |
| SS = Service Shelves | PC = Peck Collection | |
| *Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only. | ||
![]() |
|
|
![]() |
| Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved. |
![]() |
Last update: Monday, 19-Aug-2002 17:53:23 EDT