Where to Find # 1
COMPANY INFORMATION
I. FOR A U.S. COMPANY
(For foreign companies, see Section II.)
1. Determine whether the U.S. company is PUBLIC, PRIVATE, or a SUBSIDIARY of a public company. The directories below will list the stock exchange and ticker symbol for a company that is publicly traded. If not found, the company may be private or a subsidiary. [See Directory of Corporate Affiliations "Who Owns Whom" Master Index - Alphabetical Index (RD)].
2. If the company is PUBLIC, you can obtain the following:
- General Directory Information
- Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations (RD)
- Million Dollar Directory - D&B (RD; Also HP)
- Directory of Corporate Affiliations - U.S. Public Companies (RD)
- Special industry directories, e.g. CorpTech (ask at RD; Also CD)
- Hoover's Handbook of American Business (RD; Also HP)
- Directories from Lippincott's Homepage (HP)-> Business Reference-> Directories
- Company Financials
- Standard & Poor's Corporation Records (SS)
- Moody's (Mergent) Manuals (Industrial, Bank & Finance, OTC, etc.) (SS)
- Compact D SEC (CD)
- Dow Jones Interactive (HP)
- EDGAR SEC Filings (HP) From Lippincott's Homepage (HP)->
Business Websites by Subject-> Finance & Investment-> Corporate Financial Reports. Also, see other Websites for financial filings.
- Global Access (HP)
- See also related handout, Lippincott's Where to Find #2, Corporate Collection.
- Investment Analysis/Services
- FirstCall (ON)
- Investext (HP)
- Multex (HP)
- Value Line (RD); also (CD)
- Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys (PER)
- Standard & Poor's Industry Reports (SS)
- Standard & Poor's Stock Reports (SS)
- Journal and Newspaper Articles
- ABI/Inform, Business & Industry, Business Source Premier, Dow Jones, LexisNexis (All HP)
3. If the company is PRIVATE or is a SUBSIDIARY of a public company, you can
obtain the following:
- General Directory Information
- Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations (RD)
- Million Dollar Directory (RD; Also HP)
- Directory of Corporate Affiliations - U.S. Public & U.S. Private (RD)
- Standard Directory of Advertisers (RD)
- Special industry directories (ask at RD)
- Thomas Register (RS); also from Lippincott's Homepage (HP) ->
Business Reference-> Directories.
- Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies (RD; Also HP)
- Directories from Lippincott's Homepage (HP)-> Business Reference-> Directories
- Journal and Newspaper Articles
(May include some financial information or details of company operations)
- ABI/Inform, Business & Industry, Business Source Premier, Dow Jones, Lexis/Nexis (All HP)
II. FOR FOREIGN COMPANIES
(See also related handout, Lippincott's Research Guide #7, Foreign Companies).
1. Determine whether the company is PUBLIC, PRIVATE or a SUBSIDIARY of a public company. Use directories listed below, or the Directory of Corporate Affiliations "Who Owns Whom" - Master Index - Alphabetical Index (RD).
2. For PUBLIC or PRIVATE companies:
- General Directory Information
- Directory of Corporate Affiliations - International (RD)
- Principal International Businesses (RD)
- D&B Europa, Asia's 7500 Largest Companies, etc. (RD)
- World Business Directory (RD)
- Hoover's Handbook of World Business (RD; Also HP)
- Journal and Newspaper Articles
- ABI/Inform, Business & Industry, Business Source Premier, Dow Jones, Lexis/Nexis (All HP)
3. For PUBLIC companies only -- Financials and Analysis:
- Moody's International Manual (SS) Also available on Compact D/Worldscope (CD)
- Global Access (HP)
*See also related handout, Lippincott's Where to Find #2, Corporate Collection.
III. FOR COMPANIES IN AN INDUSTRY OR GEOGRAPHIC REGION
1. Most directories listed above contain indexes listing companies by industry and geography.
2. Investment analysis/services like Value Line and S&P Industry Reports provide industry information and lists of companies within each industry (public companies only).
3. NOTE: Electronic databases are best for screening companies by industry and/or geography. Use D & B's Million Dollar Directory (HP) or Hoover's Online (HP)
IV. COMPANY HISTORIES
1. Corporate histories of major companies are held by Lippincott Library. Check the following sources:
- Search FRANKLIN, the Library's online catalog, using the company name as a subject or keyword
- The International Directory of Company Histories
HD 2721 I58 (RS)
- Hoover's Handbooks (RD) and Moody's Manuals (SS) contain short histories
- Notable Corporate Chronologies
HD 4009 N68 (RD)
- Dow Jones Interactive (HP)
- Hoover's Online (HP)
V. COMPANY INFO ON THE WEB
1. Increasingly, company information is appearing on the World Wide Web.
Check the following:
- From Lippincott's Homepage (HP), choose Business Reference, then Directories
- Use Internet Search Engines. From Lippincott's Homepage (HP)-> drop-down list box, scroll down to Search Engines, choose one, and enter company's name
- Search Yahoo (HP) From Lippincott's Homepage (HP)-> Business Websites by Subject-> Business Cyberguides-> Yahoo - Business and Economy-> Directories, and continue
LOCATION CODES
| HP = Accessible through Lippincott's Homepage: www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott
|
| CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Class of 1956 Computer Reference Center.
|
| ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.
|
| RD = Reference Desk |
ST = Stacks on the 3rd Floor |
WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services |
| RS = Reference Stacks |
PER = Periodicals |
MT = Microtext |
| SS = Service Shelves |
PC = Peck Collection |
Restricted
to Penn faculty, students and staff. |
* Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.
Prepared by Linda Eichler
Last update: Thursday, 08-Aug-2002 19:15:30 EDT
Send mail concerning this page to: eichlerl@wharton.upenn.edu