Lippincott Library @ Wharton
http://www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott

Research Guide - #28

MEDIA

(Publishing and Broadcasting)


INDUSTRY SURVEYS DIRECTORIES STATISTICS
NEWS LOCATION CODES

See also Lippincott Research Guides: Advertising & Marketing and Telecommunications

See also Annenberg Library Website
The Annenberg School for Communication Library is located at 3620 Walnut St.

INDUSTRY SURVEYS

BOWKER ANNUAL LIBRARY AND BOOK TRADE ALMANAC. [News, analyses, trends.]
Z 731 A47 (Van Pelt RD)

THIS BUSINESS OF TELEVISION. [Broad range of industry overviews, guides to regulation. No statistics.]
HE 8700.8 B58 1998 (RS)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER. Printing & Publishing Industry Yearbook 2001.

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF EMERGING INDUSTRIES. 4th ed. Gale.
HD 2324 E 528 (RD)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff HOOVER'S ONLINE. 1. Music, Video & Book Retailing. 2. Publishing & Printing.

NATIONAL CABLE TELEVISION. [TV cable history overview and statistics.]
http://www.ncta.com

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff STANDARD & POOR'S INDUSTRY SURVEYS.
S&P Industry Survey Titles: BROADCASTING & CABLE; MOVIES & HOME ENTERTAINMENT; PUBLISHING.
Also HG 4921 S672 (Lippincott Reserve Stacks and RD)

THE VERONIS, SUHLER & ASSOCIATES COMMUNICATIONS INDUSTRY FORECAST. [Annual.]
P 96 E252 U633 (Annenberg Library RS)

DIRECTORIES

Comprehensive

Note: Media directories vary in coverage and descriptive details.

AILEENA. [Worldwide media index.]
www.aileena.ch

AMERICAN JOURNALISM REVIEW. AJR NEWS LINK. ["Who Owns What." Comprehensive international directories of newpapers, magazines, radio/TV. The site links to electronic versions of publications.]
http://www.ajr.org

BENN'S MEDIA. [Annual. International mass media.]
P 88.8 B48 (Van Pelt RS)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff GALE DIRECTORY OF PUBLICATIONS AND BROADCAST MEDIA. [Annual, with supplements. Includes advertising rates (except for broadcast) and circulation.]
TIP: Use Extended Search (Organization)
Also Z 6951 A97 (Van Pelt Library RD)

KIDON MEDIA LINK. Similar to Aileena directory.
www.kidon.com/media-link/index.shtml

MDS FREE U.S. MEDIA GUIDE. [Includes Canada. All media. Directory has addresses only.] www.prplace.com

NEWS DIRECTORY. ["A guide to English language media online." Newspaper, magazines and television. Search by country, medium, magazine subject or region. No financials or advertising rates.]
www.newsd.com

PLUNKETT'S ENTERTAINMENT & MEDIA INDUSTRY ALMANAC.
P 88.8 P57 (RS; Also CD)

*STANDARD RATE AND DATA SERVICE. [SRDS] (All at Reference Desk)
BUSINESS PUBLICATION ADV. SOURCE. HF 5905 S723
CONSUMER MAGAZINE ADV. SOURCE. HF 5905 S725
DIRECT MARKETING LIST SOURCE. HF 5861 D54
INTERACTIVE ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF 5905 S727
NEWSPAPER ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF 5905 S73 [Includes market data.]
RADIO ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF 5905 S74 [Includes Arbitron rankings.]
TV & CABLE SOURCE. HF 5905 S745 [Includes demographics, Neilsen, DMA data and market profiles.]

ZONA LATINA. [Media and marketing in Latin America. Includes research data.]
www.zonalatina.com

Directories: Publishing

AUDIT BUREAU OF CIRCULATIONS. MEMBERSHIP ROSTER. [Annual.]
PN 4784 C6 A924 (RS)

BURRELLE'S MEDIA DIRECTORY. BROADCAST MEDIA. Part 1, Radio; Part 2, TV and Cable.]
Z 6941 B8774 (Annenberg Library Circulation Desk)

BURRELLE'S MEDIA DIRECTORY. MAGAZINES AND NEWSLETTERS. [Annual.]
Z 6941 B8772 (Annenberg Library Circulation Desk)

BURRELLE'S MEDIA DIRECTORY. NEWSPAPERS AND RELATED MEDIA. U.S. and Canada.]
Z 6941 B877 (Annenberg Library Reference)

FAXON GUIDE TO SERIALS. [Links to publishers' Websites.
www.faxon.com

LITERARYMARKETPLACE.COM. Bowker. [Directory of publishers, affiliated services and industries. U.S. and International versions available.]
www.literarymarketplace.com Also PN 161 L522 (Van Pelt Library RD)

MEDIA MANAGER. U.S. [2400+ consumer and trade magazines. Search by name, location or category. Includes editorial and reader profiles, circulation, ad rates and contact info.]
www.mediamanager.com

THE PAPERBOY. [Links to Websites of 4000 newspapers in 165 countries. Most provide the current issue; some have archived articles.]
http://thepaperboy.com

PUBLIST. [Annotated list of 150,000 periodicals from Ulrich's International Periodical Directory, Editor & Publisher, UnCover and various publishers' trade lists.] Free registration required.
www.publist.com

U.S. BUSINESS JOURNALS. [Links to Websites of regional business publications.]
www.newspapersatoz.com/busjourn.htm

U.S. NEWSPAPER LINKS. Newspaper Association of America. [Local papers, by state.]
www.newspaperlinks.com/

Directories: Broadcasting

100 LEADING MEDIA COMPANIES. [Annual. ]
www.adage.com

BROADCASTING & CABLE YEARBOOK.
HF 6146 R3 B72 Annenberg Library Circulation Desk.

KATZ RADIO GROUP RADIO RESOURCE CENTER. [Market demographics. Glossary. Search by market, station, format, rep or owner.]
www.krgspec.com

MANDY'S INTERNATIONAL FILM & TV PRODUCTION DIRECTORY.
www.mandy.com

MULTIMEDIA SOURCE BOOK. [Semiannual.]
HD 9696 M843 U558 (Annenberg Library RS)

RECORDING INDUSTRY SOURCEBOOK. [Annual.]
ML 3790 R437 (RS)

U.S. CABLE NETWORKS. [Company profiles and network viewer profiles.]
www.cabletvadbureau.com/

STATISTICS

AD AGE DATA CENTER. Media company rankings by usage, revenue and more.
www.adage.com

ADVERTISING MEDIA INTERNET CENTER. (AMIC) http://www.amic.com/    Select Ad Data
   1. Simmons 2000. Magazine Audiences and Costs. National Consumer, Hispanic.
   2. Mendelsohn Media Research. 2001 Affluent Magazine Audiences.
   3. Mediamark Research. [Current database of magazine, cable, Internet audience
   and media info + ad rates, circulation.]
   4. Spot Quotations & Data Inc. SQAD. 2000. [TV and radio ad rates, by market.]

ADWEEK. [Current weekly ratings for video, film, concerts, Eurocharts (music) and annual film gross leaders.]
www.adweek.com    Select Culture Trends

CABLE TV AD BUREAU. [Ad spending, from 1998 by top 100 advertisers.]
www.cabletvadbureau.com/

MIN MEDIA INDUSTRY NEWSLETTER. [MIN's Weekly Box Scores; Monthly Box Scores. The semiannual Ad-Page Review lists ad page count for publications, by parent company.]
On Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff DOW JONES INTERACTIVE Choose Publications Library -> Check All publications -> Enter: sn=media industry newsletter and boxscores

RECORDING INDUSTRY OF AMERICA.
http://riaa.com    Click on Market Data

SALES & MARKETING MANAGEMENT. Annual. [Survey of buying power and supermarkets. Rankings by metro and media markets.]
HF 5438 A34 (RD) Also online in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.

STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES. [A convenient source of statistical tables for all types of media, with extensive references to original documents.]
Also HA 202 (RD)

U.S. ECONOMIC CENSUS. [The major source of industry statistics. The Information Industry is a new sector in the North American Industry Classification System code (NAICS), which replaces the Standard Industry Classification System (SIC) . The NAICS sector code for the Information Industry is 51.
www.census.gov    See Lippincott's Database Search Aid for U.S. Economic Census: American Fact Finder.]

WORLD DEVELOPMENT INDICATORS. World Bank. [Web version has data from 1998.]
www.worldbank.org/data    CD version has data from 1960. Also HC 59.15 W656 (RD)

Statistics: Publishing

THE AMERICAN BOOK BUYERS STUDY. Publishers Weekly.
(No call #: Annenberg Library RS)

EDITOR & PUBLISHER INTERNATIONAL YEARBOOK. [Annual. Newspaper directory, includes circulation.]
PN 4700 E4 (Van Pelt RD)

FACTS ABOUT NEWSPAPERS. [Demographics, readership.]
www.naa.org

MAGAZINE DIMENSIONS. [Annual. Demographic profiles, circulation, profits; by magazine.]
HF 6105 U5 M23 (Annenberg Library RS)

MAGAZINE HANDBOOK. [A Magazine Publishers of America-sponsored study of the magazine industry. Includes readership, content and advertising data.]
www.magazine.org

MAGAZINE TREND REPORT. Audit Bureau of Circulations. [U.S. and Canada.]
PN 4888 C59 M33 (Annenberg Library RS)

Statistics: Broadcasting

ARBITRON. [Radio market rankings. Listening and format statistics.]
www.arbitron.com

MEASURECAST. [Internet radio. Rankings.]
www.measurecast.com

STATISTICAL YEARBOOK: CINEMA, TELEVISION, VIDEO, AND NEW MEDIA IN EUROPE. European Audiovisual Observatory.
HE 8700.9 E8 S72 (Annenberg Library RS)

TELEVISON SHOW RATINGS. Nielsen. [Weekly, by type. Archives back to 1997.]
http://tv.zap2it.com/news/ratings

NEWS

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff DOW JONES INTERACTIVE and Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staffLEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE hold trade journals and other publications which cover the media industry. (HP)

EUROPEMEDIA. [Weekly news report covering the main developments in the European online markets.]
www.europemedia.net

MEDIAWEEK. [Weekly, from 1991.]
(HF 5801 M435 (PER)

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY. Bowker. [Current book industry news and statistics.]
15.73 P96 (Van Pelt PER)

VARIETY. [Film and TV trade journal. Selected articles and box office statistics.]
www.variety.com    Also Annenberg Library Periodicals.

LOCATION CODES

 
CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Class of 1956 Computer Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at reference desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff = Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff


[Home][Hours][Help][15 Libraries][Forms][Comments][A-to-Z][Patron][Search]

Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.

Created by Terese Terry, October 2001
Last modified: Friday, 13-Dec-2002 13:31:22 EST
Send mail concerning this page to: terryt@wharton.upenn.edu