Lippincott Library @ Wharton
http://www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott

Research Guide - #27

Latin America: Business


The Economy Industries/Markets
Business/Finance News
Dictionaries Location Codes

The Economy

From Lippincott's Homepage (HP) -> Selected Business Websites-> International Business See Country Commercial Guides

Central banks publish major sources. To indentify central bank publications in Franklin, Penn's Online Public Access Catalog, search in the GUIDED KEYWORD mode. Example: Brazil AND banks. For Internet access, see the Lippincott Homepage (HP) Selected Business Websites; Banks and Banking.

Other economic publications will be found in Franklin by searching, by subject:
[Country name] AND economic conditions e.g. brazil economic conditions

THE AMERICAS REVIEW. [Annual.] From 1990-
HC 121 L385 (RS)

ANDEAN COMMUNITY. Social and Economic Indicators from 1993. Monthly update.
www.comunidadandina.org

ECONOMIC SURVEY OF LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN. Annual. United Nations. HC 161 U525 (RS)
A summary is at http://eclac.org

EIU Annual Country Profiles. EIU Quarterly Country Reports. 1986-1999.
To locate any of the publications for 180 countries, search by TITLE in Franklin, the online card catalog. E.g, [country profile argentina]

FINANCIAL TIMES SURVEY: LATIN AMERICAN FINANCE.
www.ft.com/ftsurveys/industry

INTER-AMERICAN DEVELOPMENT BANK. ANNUAL REPORT.
HG 3881 I45 A28 (RS; Also Web:) http://www.iadb.org

LATIN FOCUS. Quarterly. Economic Indicators for Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela.
Country profiles. www.latin-focus.com

MOODY'S INTERNATIONAL MANUAL. [With weekly updates.]
[Arranged by country, provides an investment-focused profile of a country and financial reports on its major public companies.] HG 4527 M66 (SS)

OECD ECONOMIC SURVEYS. MEXICO.
HC 131 O73 (RS)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff STAT-USA
[This site holds a number of reports on the economy, demographics, political risk and market conditions. Look for: U.S. State Department Background Notes, World Factbook (CIA), National Trade Data Bank, Market Reports, International Trade Administ ration (ITA)].

STATISTICAL YEARBOOK FOR LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN. United Nations. From 1985-
HA 755 A68 (RS)

WORLD BANK. WORLD DEVELOPMENT REPORT.
HC 59.7 W659 (RD)

WORLD BANK. WORLD DEVELOPMENT INDICATORS. Annual. HC 59.15 (RD; Also CD)
The text and some of the tables in WDI 2000 are also at: www.worldbank.org/data/wdi2000/

WORLD ECONOMIC OUTLOOK. INTERNATIONAL MONETARY FUND. WORLD BANK. [Annual.]
HC 59 W65 (RS) [The Web version provides the most frequently-requested information from the WEO database, consistent with the data published in the World Economic Outlook:] www.imf.org /external/pubs/ft/weo/2000/01/index.htm

Industries/Markets

BUSINESS & INDUSTRY DATABASE. [Many local publications not found elsewhere. Includes fulltext of Market Latin America.]
(HP) -> Business Databases-> Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Business & Industry

CYBERATLAS. Covers Internet usage by country.
www.cyberatlas.com

EUROMONITOR GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION DATABASE.
Demographics, consumption, media audience etc.
(HP)-> Business Databases-> Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Euromonitor Global Market Information Database

INTERNATIONAL DATABASE. U.S. CENSUS. IDB SUMMARY DEMOGRAPHIC DATA.
From 1950, with projections to 2050.] www.census.gov:80/ipc/www/idbsum.html

LATIN AMERICAN ADVERTISING, MARKETING AND MEDIA SOURCEBOOK.
HF 5808 L29 L38 1995 (RS)

LATIN AMERICAN MARKETS: A GUIDE TO COMPANY AND INDUSTRY SOURCES. Washington Researchers.
HF 3230.5 A48 L385 (RS)

NUA INTERNET SURVEYS BY AREA. E-Commerce.
www.nua.ie/surveys

OFFICE OF TELECOMMUNICATIONS. U.S. INTERNATIONAL TRADE ADMINISTRATION. TELECOMMUNICATIONS COUNTRY PROFILES.
http://infoserv2.ita.doc.gov/ot

PROMT. [Market, industry, company and product news.]
(HP) -> Business Databases -> Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff PROMT

TABLEBASE. [Extracts statistical tables from articles and research reports. Market, industry and product information.]
(HP) -> Business Databases -> Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Tablebase

TOTAL TELECOM. [World telecommunications, Internet, and E-commerce news. Search by country name.]
www.totaltele.com

BUSINESS/FINANCE

ARGENTINA BUSINESS: THE PORTABLE ENCYCLOPEDIA FOR DOING BUSINESS WITH ARGENTINA.
HC 175 A844 1995 (RD)

BRAZIL COMPANY HANDBOOK. [Annual; Profiles of public companies.]
HG 4109.5 B7 (RS)

CARIBBEAN BASIN PROFILE. [Annual. Caribbean, Central America, Colombia, Mexico and Venezuela; trade and investment.]
HF 3311.8 .C35 (RS)

CORPORATE INFORMATION. [Worldwide country and company profiles.]
www.corporateinformation.com

GLOBAL ACCESS. [Complete financial reports from public companies. Also contains Worldscope, for screening of companies by fields; such as sales, research, profits etc.]
(HP) -> Business Databases-> Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Global Access

INVESTING, LICENSING & TRADING. Economist Intelligence Unit. (HP) -> Business Databases->Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff EIU ILT

ISI EMERGING MARKETS.
[News, companies, financial markets, economic analyses.] (HP) -gt: Business Databases-> Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff ISI Emerging Markets

LATIN AMERICA 25,000. Dun & Bradstreet.
HF 5073.5 A3 D855 (RD)

LATIN AMERICA'S LARGEST COMPANIES. [Annual.]
HD 2810.5 A1 L385 (RD)

LATIN AMERICAN NETWORK INFORMATION CENTER. [Business, finance, trade, economic databases. Also links to newspapers and journals.]
www.lanic.utexas.edu/

LATIN BANKING GUIDE & DIRECTORY. [Annual.]
HG 2710.5 A1 L385 (RS)

LATIN DERIVATIVES.
HG 6024 L29 L384 (ST)

LATINSTOCKS. [Comprehensive financial Web site: stock indices, bonds, futures, options, exchange rates, pension funds, country financial analyses, company profiles, news. Also directories of banks, real estate, law firms, insurance companies, brokera ge houses.]
www.latinstocks.com

LATINVESTOR. A Latin American financial portal: stock markets, industries, country reports, media, legal and more. Includes smaller economies, such as Bolivia and Ecuador.
www.latinvestor.com

MEXICO COMPANY HANDBOOK. [Data on major listed companies.]
HG 4092 Z65 M43 1997/98 (RS)

MEXICO'S INDEX.
www.trace-sc.com/

MEXICO CONSENSUS ECONOMIC FORECAST. [Quarterly from 1995.]
www.cob.asu.edu/seid/eoc/eocmex.html

UNITED NATIONS INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT ORGANIZATION. UNIDO. [Includes statistics on productivity, wages and more.]
www.unido.org/doc.cfm?cfm=regions.cfm?area=glo

NEWS

DOW JONES INTERACTIVE.
(HP) -> Business Databases-> Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Dow Jones Interactive

LATIN TRADE. [Monthly.]
HF 3230.5 A35 (PER)

LATINFINANCE. [Monthly.]
HG 185.L3 L36 (PER; Also on Lexis/Nexis)

LEXIS/NEXIS. Updated daily. [World news, North/South American news sources. Extensive coverage of the Americas, including Business Mexico.]
(HP) -> Business Databases-> Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Academic Universe

DICTIONARIES

BUSINESS GLOSSARY: ENGLISH-PORTUGUESE/PORTUGUESE-ENGLISH.
HF 1002 B897 1998 (RS)

ELSEVIER'S DICTIONARY OF FINANCIAL AND ECONOMIC TERMS: SPANISH-ENGLISH AND ENGLISH-SPANISH.
HG 151 U75 1996 (RS)

ONLINE FOREIGN LANGUAGE DICTIONARIES
http://www.word2word.com/dictionary.html

WILEYS ENGLISH-SPANISH, SPANISH-ENGLISH BUSINESS DICTIONARY.
1996 HB 61 K323 (RS)

Location Codes

HP = Accessible through Lippincott's Homepage: www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott
CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Class of 1956 Computer Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at reference desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff = Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff


[Home][Hours][Help][15 Libraries][Forms][Comments][A-to-Z][Patron][Search]

Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.

Last update: Friday, 17-Jan-2003 18:33:18 EST
Send mail concerning this page to: lippinco@wharton.upenn.edu