Lippincott Library @ Wharton
http://www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott

Research Guide - #26

AUTOMOBILE INDUSTRY


INDUSTRY PROFILES and SURVEYS PERIODICALS STATISTICS
OTHER SITES of INTEREST LOCATION CODES

INDUSTRY PROFILES AND SURVEYS

AUTOMOBILE AND AUTOMOTIVE PARTS INDUSTRY. [U.S. Treasury. Lengthy essays on U.S. and international competition. Includes trade statistics.]
www.itds.treas.gov. Select Importing/Exporting Resources

THE AUTOMOBILE INDUSTRY, 1896-1920. HD 9710 U52 A815 (RS)
THE AUTOMOBILE INDUSTRY, 1920-1980. HD 9710 U52 A79 (RS)

BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER. EBSCO.
(HP) In Find, type motor vehicle. In Publication, type industry yearbook.

HANDBOOK OF NORTH AMERICAN INDUSTRY. [See Table of Contents for Transportation.]
HE 1746 H36 (RD)

HOOVER'S ONLINE. [U.S.]
(HP) Click on Companies & Industries-> Industries-> Industry Snapshots-> The Lowdown.

INVESTEXT PLUS. [Analyst reports.]
(HP) Type: (auto or motor vehicle) and industry.

MOODY'S INDUSTRY REVIEW. [Comparative financial data of leading companies. Rankings.]
HG 491 M68 (SS)

OFFICE OF AUTOMOTIVE AFFAIRS. International Trade Administration. [Includes market research reports by country and industry sector.]
www.ita.doc.gov/auto/

THE ROAD AHEAD FOR THE U.S. AUTO INDUSTRY. International Trade Administration. [Annual.]
www.eautoportal.com/eap/data/studies/2000road.pdf Click on Domestic Industry. INDUSTRY

STANDARD & POOR'S INDUSTRY SURVEYS. AUTOS AND AUTO PARTS. [U.S. Annual. Includes forecasts and comparative company data.]
(HP) Also HG 4921 S672 (Reserve Stacks)

WORLD MARKETS ANALYSIS.
(HP) Scroll down and click on Automotive.

STATISTICS

AMERICAN AUTOMOBILE MANUFACTURERS' ASSOCIATION. The AAMA no longer exists. Its extensive collection of industry data (1975-1997) is now at:
http://www.economagic.com/aama.htm

AUTOFACTS. PricewaterhouseCoopers. [North America, with selected global statistics. Monthly sales and production.]
http://www.autofacts.com

AUTOMOTIVE NEWS. MARKET DATA BOOK. [Annual. North America and Japan. Sales, production, executives.]
HD 9710 A88 (RS) and Online in Lippincott Library ( ask at Reference Desk)

HIGHWAY SAFETY FACTS. U.S. Department of Transportation.   
www.nhtsa.dot.gov/people/ncsa

HIGHWAY STATISTICS. [Annual. Latest data is 1999. Highway use, finance, fuel use, driver demographics, international data.]
www.fhwa.dot.gov/ohim/hs00/index.htm

NADA DATA. National Automobile Dealers Association. [Annual. From 1979-. Advertising, used cars, registrations and more.]
HD 9710 U52 N383 (RD)
www.nada.org

OICA. International Organization of Motor Vehicle Manufacturers. [Current world production.]
www.oica.net

SURVEY OF BUYING POWER & MEDIA MARKETS. [Annual. Sales and marketing management. Includes car sales by metro area, dealer rankings.]
HF 5438 A34 Supp (RD) Also Online in Lippincott Library (ask at Reference Desk)

USED CAR MARKET REPORT. [And more. International data.]
www.manheimauctions.com

WARD'S AUTOMOTIVE YEARBOOK. 1960- [Includes market overviews, world vehicle registrations and industry trends.]
HD 9710 U5 W3 (RS)

WARD'S MOTOR VEHICLE FACTS & FIGURES. [Annual. Includes Canadian and other international data.]
HD 9710 U5 M6 (RD)

WORLD AUTOMOTIVE INDUSTRY TRENDS. [With CD-ROM. Annual. Historic data.]
HD 9710 A1 W675

WORLD AUTOMOTIVE MARKET REPORT. [Annual, from 1919 -Present].
HD 9710 A1 A98 (RS)

WORLD MARKETS ANALYSIS.
(HP) Scroll down to Automotive in left column.

PERIODICALS

AUTOMOTIVE INDUSTRIES. [Monthly, from 1927- . Global industry news.]
TL 1 A6 (Current-PER)

AUTOMOTIVE NEWS. [Weekly, from 1961 -.]
(Current-PER-Oversize)

WARD'S AUTO WORLD. From 1965 -.
HD 9710 U5 W33 (Current-PER)

OTHER SITES OF INTEREST

AUTO SITE [New car prices.]
www.autosite.com

DEPARTMENTS OF MOTOR VEHICLES SITES USA. [Includes electric vehicle industry links.]
www.autoexchange.net/dmv

LOCATION CODES

LOCATION CODES

CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at reference desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff.
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.


[Home][Hours][Help][15 Libraries][Forms][Comments][A-to-Z][Patron][Search]

Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.

Prepared by Terese Terry, July 2002
Last update: Friday, 10-Jan-2003 15:45:57 EST
Send mail concerning this page to: lippinco@wharton.upenn.edu