Research Guide - #24, FINANCIAL SERVICES
Lippincott Library @ Wharton
http://www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott

Research Guide - #24

FINANCIAL SERVICES


FINANCIAL SERVICES DERIVATIVES VENTURE CAPITAL BANKING
MUTUAL FUNDS / PENSION FUNDS INVESTMENT BANKING INSURANCE LOCATION CODES

FINANCIAL SERVICES

Directories

BUSINESS CAPITAL SOURCES.
HG 181 A1 B84 (Latest only-RS [See Location Codes])

CORPORATE FINANCE SOURCEBOOK.
HG 4057 A1565 (Latest only-RD)

MOODY'S BANK AND FINANCE MANUAL. [4 vols.]
HG 4961 M65 (Latest-SS; Others-PC)


Statistics

INFORMATION, FINANCE & SERVICES USA.
HD 9981.1 I 546 (RD)

INSTITUTIONAL INVESTORS STATISTICAL YEARBOOK. OECD.
HG 4508 I578 (Latest RS)

STANDARD & POOR'S INDUSTRY SURVEYS: FINANCIAL SERVICES; BANKING; INVESTMENT SERVICES. (PER; also HP Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys)

Dictionary/Encyclopedias

DICTIONARY OF FINANCIAL RISK MANAGEMENT,
HG 8054.5 G37

DICTIONARY OF INTERNATIONAL INVESTMENT TERMS.
HG 3880 S548 2001

GLOBAL DIRECTORY OF FINANCIAL INFORMATION VENDORS.
HG 151.7 E84 1994 (RS)

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BANKING AND FINANCE.
HG 151 M8 1994 (RD)

INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL STATISTICS LOCATOR.
HG 151.7 B37 1995 (RD)

NEW PALGRAVE DICTIONARY OF MONEY AND FINANCE. [3 vols.]
HG 151 N48 1992 (RD)


Handbooks

BARRON'S FINANCE & INVESTMENT HANDBOOK, 4th ed.
HG 173 D66 1998 (RS)

WG & L HANDBOOK OF FINANCIAL MARKETS.
HG 173 W47 1995 (RS)


DERIVATIVES (FUTURES, OPTIONS)

From Lippincott's Homepage (HP) -> Selected Business Websites -> Finance and Investment -> Futures, Options & Commodities


Directories

BRIDGE HANDBOOK OF WORLD STOCK DERIVIATIVE & COMMODITY EXCHANGES.
HG 4551 H32 (Latest RD)

CAPITAL ACCESS DERIVATIVES DESK REFERENCE: BUYSIDE AND SELLSIDE PROFILES.
HG 6024 U6 C37 (Latest-RD)

DIRECTORY OF LISTED DERIVATIVE CONTRACTORS.
HG 6024 A3 R628 1996 (RD)

FUTURES SOURCEBOOK: COMMODITY AND FINANCIAL SERVICES INTERNATIONAL DIRECTORY.
HG 6046 C5775 (Latest- RD)


Handbooks

COMPLETE GUIDE TO OPTION PRICING FORMULAS.
HG 6024 A3 H38 1998 (RS)

DERIVATIVES: A COMPREHENSIVE RESOURCE FOR OPTIONS, FUTURES, INTEREST RATE SWAPS & MORTGAGE SECURITIES.
HG 6024 U6 A73 1996 (Lippincott Reserve)

FUTURES, OPTIONS & SWAPS.
HG 6024 A3 K649 2000

HANDBOOK OF DERIVATIVE INSTRUMENTS.
HG 6024.3 H37

HOW THE OPTIONS MARKETS WORK.
HG 6024 A3 W35 1991 (RS)

JOURNAL OF DERIVATIVES.
HG 6024 A3 J68 (Current-PER)

STRUCTURED EQUITY DERIVATIVES: THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE TO EXOTIC OPTIONS & STRUCTURED NOTES.
HG 6024 A3 K385 2001

Statistics

BLOOMBERG (ON)

DATASTREAM (ON)


VENTURE CAPITAL

From Lippincott's Homepage (HP) -> Selected Business Websites -> Venture Capital


Directories

DIRECTORY OF VENTURE CAPITAL.
HG 4963 L57 (Latest-RD)

GALANTE'S VENTURE CAPITAL AND PRIVATE EQUITY DIRECTORY.
HG 4961 V36 (Latest-RD)

PRATT'S GUIDE TO VENTURE CAPITALISTS.
HG 65 G79 (RD)


Statistics

SDC (ON)

VENTURE CAPITAL YEARBOOK.
HG 4028 C4 V463 (Latest-RS)


BANKING

From Lippincott's Homepage (HP) -> Selected Business Websites ->
Banks & Banking


Directories

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff BANKSCOPE.

CREDIT UNION DIRECTORY. 1992-
HG 2037 C344 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

FINANCIAL YELLOW BOOK: WHO'S WHO AT THE LEADING U.S. FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS.
HG 4057 A263 (Latest only-RS)

INSTITUTIONAL INVESTOR CAPITAL MARKETS DIRECTORY.
HG 3881 M377 1995 (RD-Latest only)

MORGAN STANLEY DEAN WITTER CENTRAL BANK DIRECTORY.
HG 1811 C4574 (Latest only-RD)

POLK BANK DIRECTORY. INTERNATIONAL EDITION. 1971-
HG 2431 P633 1971 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)

POLK BANK DIRECTORY. NORTH AMERICAN EDITION. 1971-
HG 2431 P635 1971 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)

POLK WORLD BANKING PROFILES. 1993-
HG 1536 P655 1993 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)

THOMSON SAVING DIRECTORY. 1991-
HG 2150 U186 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

Rankings/Ratings

QUARTERLY BANK AND SAVINGS & LOAN RATING SERVICE. LACE Financial Corporation. 1990-
HG 2401 Q37 (Latest-RD; Others-PC)

RANKING THE BANKS STATISTICAL REVIEW.
HG 2493 T67 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)


NOTE: Additional rankings can be found in the middle of Moody's Bank and Finance Manual and Polk World Banking Profiles.


Bank Statistics

ASSETS AND LIABILITIES OF COMMERCIAL BANKS IN THE U.S. (Latest 2 years-PER)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff BANKSCOPE.

FDIC QUARTERLY BANKING PROFILE. (Latest 2 years-PER)

FEDERAL RESERVE BOARD. (HP)-> Selected Business Websites->
Banks & Banking-> Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve

INSTALLMENT CREDIT REPORT. 1980-
HG 1642 U5 R48 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

S & P INDUSTRY SURVEY. BANKING. (PER; also HP)

S & P INDUSTRY SURVEY. SAVINGS & LOANS. (PER; also HP)

STATISTICS ON BANKING. 1981-
HG 1662 U5 A272 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)

STATISTICS ON BANKING: HISTORICAL.
HG 2493 S73 1995 (RS)


MUTUAL FUNDS / PENSION FUNDS

From Lippincott's Homepage (HP) -> Selected Business Websites -> Finance and Investments -> Mutual Funds


Directories

INVESTMENT COMPANIES YEARBOOK. Wiesenberger. 1943-
HG 4530 W52 (Latest-RD; Others-PC)

MONEY MARKET DIRECTORY OF PENSION FUNDS AND THEIR INVESTMENT MANAGERS. 1986-
HG 4509 M65 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)

MORNINGSTAR PRINCIPIA FOR MUTUAL FUNDS. (CD) E

PENSION FUNDS AND THEIR ADVISORS. 1988-
HD 7105.4 P467 (Latest-RS; Others-PC)


Handbooks

HANDBOOK FOR NO-LOAD FUND INVESTORS. 1984-
HG 4930 H364 (Latest-RD; Others-PC)

HANDBOOK OF FIXED INCOME OPTIONS.
HG 6024 A3 H36 1996 (RS)

HANDBOOK OF MANAGED FUTURES.
HG 6024 A3 H362 1997 (RS)

MUTUAL FUND FACT BOOK.
HG 4930 I524 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)


Periodicals

CDA/WIESENBERGER MUTUAL FUND UPDATE.
HG 4530 W523 (Latest year only - RD)

LIPPER MUTUAL FUND PERFORMANCE ANALYSIS. (Latest 5 years only - PER)

LIPPER MUTUAL FUND YIELD SURVEY.
HG 4930 L577 (Latest 5 years only - current PER; Others-ST)

TRENDS IN MUTUAL FUND ACTIVITY. (Latest 2 years only - PER)


INVESTMENT BANKING

From Lippincott's Homepage (HP) -> Selected Business Websites -> Finance and Investment -> Investment Banks, Brokers and Dealers


Directories

DIRECTORY OF ALTERNATIVE INVESTMENT PROGRAMS.
HG 4509 D574 (Latest RD)

DIRECTORY OF REGISTERED INVESTMENT ADVISORS. 1987-
HG 4907 D4733 (Latest-RD; Others-PC)

INTERNATIONAL INVESTORS DIRECTORY.
HG 4509 I62 (Latest RD)

NELSON'S DIRECTORY OF INVESTMENT MANAGERS.
HG 4907 N428 (Most recent 2 years only; Latest-RD; Other-RS)

NELSON'S DIRECTORY OF INVESTMENT RESEARCH.
HG 4907 N43 (Latest only-RD)

STANDARD AND POOR'S SECURITY DEALERS OF NORTH AMERICA. 1962-
HG 4907 S4 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)

SECURITIES INDUSTRY YEARBOOK. 1980-
HG 4907 S392 (Latest-RD; Others-PC)


Handbooks/Factbooks/Dictionaries

BUSINESS ONE IRWIN INVESTOR'S HANDBOOK. 1966-
HG 4921 F3 (Latest-RD; Others-PC)

HANDBOOK OF FIXED-INCOME SECURITIES.
HG 4651 H265 1997 (RS)

INVESTOR'S INFORMATION SOURCEBOOK.
HG 4515 M35 1995 (RS)


Periodicals

LIPPER SECURITIES INDUSTRY FINANCIAL ANALYSIS SERVICE.
HG 4910 L535 (Most recent five years only; Latest-PER; Others-ST)

SIA TRENDS. (PER)


Statistics

INSTITUTIONAL INVESTORS STATISTICAL YEARBOOK.
HG 4503 I 578 (Latest RD)

SDC. (ON)

STANDARD & POOR'S INDUSTRY SURVEYS: FINANCIAL SERVICES; BANKING; INVESTMENT SERVICES. (PER; also HP
Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys)

INSURANCE

From Lippincott's Homepage (HP) -> Selected Business Websites ->
Risk & Insurance


Directories

BEST'S INSURANCE REPORTS. INTERNATIONAL. 1992-
HG 8021 B47 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

BEST'S INSURANCE REPORTS. LIFE/HEALTH. 1968-
HG 8943 B3 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

BEST'S INSURANCE REPORTS. PROPERTY/CASUALTY. 1968-
HG 9655 B5 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

INTERNATIONAL INSURANCE YEARBOOK.
HG 8021 I568 (Latest only-RS)

PHILADELPHIA INSURANCE TELEPHONE DIRECTORY.
HG 8539 P5 P545 (Latest only-RS)

WEISS RATINGS' GUIDE TO HMOs AND HEALTH INSURERS.
HG 9395 W45 (Latest only-RS)

WEISS RATINGS' INSURANCE SAFETY DIRECTORY.
HG 8098 I56 (Latest only-RS)

WEISS RATINGS': PROPERTY & CASUALTY.
HG 8501 W45 (Latest only-RS)

WHO'S WHO IN INSURANCE.
HG 8523 W5 (Latest only-RS)


Factbooks/Directories

BEST AGGREGATES AND AVERAGES. PROPERTY/CASUALTY. 1940-
HG 9755 B4 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

BEST KEY RATING GUIDE: PROPERTY. CASUALTY AND PROPERTY/LIABILITY. 1968-
HG 9765 B4 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

DICTIONARY OF INSURANCE TERMS.
HG 8025 R83 1995 (RS)

INSURANCE ALMANAC. 1974-
HG 8019 I5 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

LIFE INSURANCE FACTBOOK. 1946- HG 8943 L5 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)

SOURCEBOOK OF HEALTH INSURANCE DATA. 1959-
HG 9396 H43 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)

STANDARD & POOR'S INDUSTRY SURVEYS: INSURANCE. (PER; also HP)


Statistics

ISIS. (CD)


Further Sources

For further sources, also see the following LIPPINCOTT RESEARCH GUIDES:

#3   BUSINESS FINANCE
#11 MERGERS and ACQUISITIONS
#21 COMMODITIES, FUTURES and OPTIONS

LOCATION CODES

HP = Accessible through Lippincott's Homepage: www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott
CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Class of 1956 Computer Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at reference desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff.


[Home][Hours][Help][15 Libraries][Forms][Comments][A-to-Z][Patron][Search]

Copyright © 1998-2001 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.

Prepared by Cynthia Cronin-Kardon, January 2002
Last update: Monday, 21-Oct-2002 15:45:14 EDT
Send mail concerning this page to: croninkc@wharton.upenn.edu