Lippincott Library @ Wharton
http://www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott

Research Guide - #23

TELECOMMUNICATIONS

OVERVIEWS DIRECTORIES STATISTICS RESEARCH REPORTS
NEWS
LOCATION CODES

OVERVIEWS

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER (EBSCO). WEFA INDUSTRY SURVEYS.
Type telecommunications in the "Find" field. Next, type industry yearbook in the "Publication" field.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff CCH Research Network
TELECOMMUNICATIONS INFORMATION SERVICE. Includes text of 1934 and 1996 Acts, state regulations and Executive Briefings.

COMMUNICATIONS OUTLOOK. OECD.
HE 7645 C656 1999 (RS) and
INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY OUTLOOK. OECD. [Biennial, from 1990- International. Graphs, statistical tables, charts and maps.]
HC 79 I55 I5396 (RS) Also Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff SourceOECD.

ELECTRONIC MARKET DATA BOOK. Electronic Industries Association. [Annual, FROM 1970. U.S. economic and industry overviews, statistics, and equipment data.]
HD 9696 A1 E4 (RS)

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION ANNUAL REPORT. (FCC.) Agency performance information.
HE 8677 A22 (RS) Also www.fcc.gov/annual_reports.html

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff HOOVER'S ONLINE. Click on Companies & Industries-> Industries-> Industry Snapshots-> The Lowdown.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff ISI EMERGING MARKETS. Click on country name, then Industry.

MOODY'S INDUSTRY REVIEW. [Biweekly. Comparative financial data for U.S. companies, by industry.]
HG 4961 M68 (SS)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff STANDARD & POOR'S INDUSTRY SURVEYS. (Two surveys:)
COMMUNICATIONS EQUIPMENT, TELECOMMUNICATIONS: WIRELINE. and
TELECOMMUNICATIONS: WIRELESS. [Quarterly. U.S. statistics and comparative company analysis.]
HG 4921 S672 (current-Reserve Shelves; current bound volumes at RD; earlier bound vols.-PC)

VALUE LINE INVESTMENT SURVEY. [U.S.; includes individual company information and statistics. "Foreign Telecommunications Industry;" "Telecommunications Equipment Industry" and "Telecommunications Services Industry." All in Edition 5. (SS; Also ON and CD)

DIRECTORIES

CORPTECH DIRECTORY OF CORPORATE TECHNOLOGY COMPANIES. (CD) Quarterly. [U.S.-located public and private subsidiary companies.] Final hard copy edition (2000) is at Reference Desk.
HD 9696 A1 C67

GLOBAL DIRECTORY. ITU. [Member organizations and firms contact information.]
www.itu.int/globaldirectory    Select Membership

GLOBAL TELECOMS BUSINESS. Euromoney. [Journal. Ranking of equipment manufacturers and other telecom firms. The library does not subscribe to this journal, but the full-text is available on the Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Business & Industry database.

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY ALMANAC. [U.S. Search on company name, line of business, executive or state. Company-supplied profiles.]
www.italmanac.com

PLUNKETT'S INFOTECH INDUSTRY ALMANAC. [U.S. Includes profiles of top 500 firms.]
HD 9696 C63 U5287 (RS; Also CD)

TELECOMMUNICATIONS DIRECTORY. Gale Research. [Biennial. v. 1, N. America; v. 2, International. Systems and services.]
HE 7621 T445 (RS)

TELEPHONY BUYER’S GUIDE ISSUE. [Annual. U.S. telecommunication equipment and telephone supplies industries.]
www.tmcnet.com/tmcnet/bg.htm

STATISTICS

ANNUAL SURVEY OF COMMUNICATION SERVICES. U.S. Census.
www.census.gov/ftp/pub/svsd/www/ascs.html

CURRENT INDUSTRIAL REPORTS. U.S. Census. ["Communication Equipment, Telephone, Telegraph and other Electronic Systems and Equipment."]
www.census.gov/cir/www/

ELECTRONIC MARKET DATABOOK. Electronic Industries Association. [Annual, from 1970- . International sales and trade statistics. Up to ten years of data.]
HD 9696 A1 E4 (RS)

ELECTRONIC MARKET TRENDS. Electronic Industries Association. [Monthly, from 1995.]
HD 9696 A3 U5394 (RD)

ELECTRONICS INDUSTRY YEARBOOK.
HP 9696 A1 E543 1999 (RS)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff EUROMONITOR'S GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION DATABASE. 1993 to current.
Select Country Data.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION REPORTS. 1988 - current. [Industry Analysis. Statistical Trends in Telephony. Statistics of Communications Common Carriers. International Telecommunications Industry. Historical rates, Local/long Distance Companies. and many more titles.]
www.fcc.gov/ccb/stats

HISTORICAL TABLES/HOUSING CENSUS. 1960-1990. [U.S. Census Housing Survey telephone data by state, decade.]
www.census.gov/     Click on People - Housing-> Historical Tables-> Telephones

ITU WORLD TELECOMMUNICATION DEVELOPMENT REPORT. [Includes indicators for 200+ countries.]
HE 7601 W67

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff INFOTECH TRENDS. [Forecasts.]

THE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY INDUSTRY DATA BOOK 1960-2008. CBEMA. [International; industry marketing statistics.]
HD 9696 C62 I535 1990 (RS)

OFFICE OF TELECOMMUNICATIONS TECHNOLOGIES. U.S. Dept. of Commerce. [Comprehensive. Trade statistics; market research reports by industry segment and country.]
www.telecom.ita.doc.gov

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staffSOURCEOECD. [OECD Telecommunications Database. Key indicators 1980-2000, for communications sector in 29 countries, including U.S.]
Scroll down, click on Statistics, then scroll down to Databases drop-down menu and choose Telecommunications.

STATISTICS OF COMMUNICATIONS COMMON CARRIERS. FCC. [Annual, from 1957. U.S. (See also FCC above.)]
HE 7761 A382 (RS)

STATISTICS OF THE LOCAL EXCHANGE CARRIERS. United States Telephone Association. [Annual. Financial data for industry and companies; rankings.]
HE 8815 U553 (RS)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff TABLEBASE. [Database of rankings, market information from journals and research reports.]

TELEGEOGRAPHY. [Annual. Global telecommunications traffic.]
HE 7601 T467 (RS)

YEARBOOK OF STATISTICS. International Telecommunication Union. From 1988-
HE 7601 Y437 (RS)

RESEARCH REPORTS

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff EUROMONITOR GLOBAL INFORMATION DATABASE. Select Major Market Profiles or Market Analysis.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff FAULKNER'S ADVISORY. IT Studies.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff GARTNER INTRAWEB. [Market research.]

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff INVESTEXT PLUS. [Investment analyst reports.]

TELECOMMUNICATIONS MULTIMEDIA MARKET REVIEW & FORECAST. Telecommunications Industry Assoc. (Book; on order 8/02)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff WORLD MARKETS ANALYSIS. Click on Telecoms in left column.

NEWS

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff BUSINESS & INDUSTRY DATABASE.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff PROMT.

TELEPHONY. [Weekly. 1978- ]
(PER) The Web version has current news only:
www.internettelephony.com

Note: Database Search Aids for various databases are available online from Lippincott's Homepage-> Research Guides, and as paper copies from the kiosk near the Lippincott Reference Desk.

LOCATION CODES

CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at reference desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff.
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.
[Home][Hours][Help][15 Libraries][Forms][Comments][A-to-Z][Patron][Search]
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.

Prepared by Terese Terry, August 2002
Last update: Thursday, 02-Jan-2003 16:03:12 EST
Send mail concerning this page to: lippinco@wharton.upenn.edu