Lippincott Library @ Wharton
http://www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott

Research Guide - #9

INDUSTRY STUDIES: UNITED STATES


INDUSTRY OVERVIEWS FINDING GUIDES FOR INDUSTRY INFORMATION
DATABASE SOURCES for PERIODICALS, NEWSPAPER ARTICLES and INVESTMENT REPORTS STATISTICAL INFORMATION
RATIOS & FINANCIAL DATA INDUSTRY - SPECIFIC
LOCATION CODES

INDUSTRY OVERVIEWS

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER (EBSCO) [Includes WEFA Industry Reports for about 100 industries.] Basic Search-> SO Industry Yearbook-> Search.

DUN AND BRADSTREET / GALE GROUP INDUSTRY HANDBOOKS. [Various industries.]
HD 96. . . (various call numbers)

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AMERICAN INDUSTRIES. [Analyses and statistics.]
HC 102 E53 (RD [See Location Codes])

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF GLOBAL INDUSTRIES.
HD 2324 E538 (Latest-RD)

HANDBOOK OF NORTH AMERICAN INDUSTRY. [Covers U.S., Canada and Mexico.]
HF 1746 H36 (Latest: RD)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff HOOVER'S ONLINE (International Company Directory). [Includes a section of various ranked lists.]
(HP; Also HOOVER'S HANDBOOK OF AMERICAN BUSINESS.
HG 4057 A28617 (Latest-RD)

INFORMATION, FINANCE & SERVICES USA. [Industry analyses, statistics, and leading organizations. "150 service industries, federal statistics, 4000 leading organizations, local service industry activity in 845 major metropolitan areas."]
HD 9981.1 S546 (RD)

INFRASTRUCTURE INDUSTRIES USA. [Industry analyses, statistics and leading companies.]
HD 9742 I547 (RD)

MANUFACTURING USA. [Industry analyses, statistics and leading companies.]
HD 9724 M368 (RD)

MANUFACTURING WORLDWIDE. [Industry analyses, products, leading companies and countries. "Detailed information on 176 manufacturing industries."]
HD 9720 M368 (RD)

MERGENT INDUSTRY REVIEW. ["Key financial information, operating data, ratios and rankings on approximately 4000 companies in 140 industry groups." Updated twice yearly.]
HG 4961 M68 (SS)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff STANDARD & POOR'S INDUSTRY SURVEYS. [The best single source for major industry overviews. Quarterly.]
HG 4921 S672 (current-PER; current bound volumes at RD; earlier bound vols.-PC; also HP)

U.S. INDUSTRY PROFILES.
HC 101 U537 (Current-RD)

U.S. INDUSTRY & TRADE OUTLOOK.
HC 106.5 A24 A543 (Latest RD; others ST)

VALUE LINE INVESTMENT SURVEY. [Quarterly reports; weekly index.]
(Current paper-across from RD; Also CD; Also 1980-MT, 1969-1979 -MT)

WEBSITES

Lippincott's Homepage (HP)-> Selected Business Websites-> Industries

FINDING GUIDES for INDUSTRY INFORMATION

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ASSOCIATIONS.
HS 61 A3 E6 (RD or HP, as ASSOCIATIONS UNLIMITED)

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BUSINESS INFORMATION SOURCES. 1995/96 ed.
HF 5353 E9 (RD)

GUIDE TO SPECIAL ISSUES AND INDEXES OF PERIODICALS.
Z 7164 C81 G85 1999 (RD)

NORTH AMERICAN INDUSTRY CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM (NAICS). [Replacement for SIC system.]
HF 1042 N677 1997 (RD; Also HP)

STANDARD INDUSTRIAL CLASSIFICATION MANUAL (SIC CODE MANUAL).
HA 40 I6 U63 (RD; Also HP)

DATABASE SOURCES for PERIODICALS, NEWSPAPER ARTICLES and INVESTMENT REPORTS

All available from Lippincott's Homepage (HP)-> Search Business Databases

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff ABI/INFORM - PROQUEST. [Computer database of abstracts and full-text of articles from over 1000 business periodicals.]

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff BUSINESS & INDUSTRY. [Includes full-text, U.S. and international.]

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff DOW JONES INTERACTIVE.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE. [Online system containing fulltext trade publications, magazines, newspapers and SEC filings.]

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff SPORTS BUSINESS RESEARCH NETWORK. [Contains sports marketing information.]

STATISTICAL INFORMATION

BUSINESS STATISTICS OF THE UNITED STATES.
HC 101 A13122 (Latest - RD; others RS)

COUNTY BUSINESS PATTERNS. [Annual.]
HC 101 A184 (RS or CD)

CURRENT INDUSTRIAL REPORTS. [U.S. Dept. of Commerce statistical reports on about 5000 products.] (HP) www.census.gov/cir/www/

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff STATISTICAL UNIVERSE.
HA 202 (Latest-RD; others-RS or HP)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff TABLEBASE. (HP) [Tabular information on companies, products and industries around the world.]

ECONOMIC CENSUS. [Issued in years that end in 2 and 7.]
 (Also available on CD)

The Economic Census of the United States includes the following titles [Current four editions in RS]:
ANNUAL SURVEY OF MANUFACTURES.      HD 9724 A211
CENSUS OF CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRIES     HD 9715 U52 A57352
CENSUS OF FINANCIAL, INSURANCE AND REAL ESTATE INDUSTRIES.    HG 2493 C39
CENSUS OF MANUFACTURES.     HD 9724 A4
CENSUS OF MINERAL INDUSTRIES.     HD 9506 U62 A36
CENSUS OF RETAIL TRADE.     HF 5429.3 U522
CENSUS OF SERVICE INDUSTRIES.     HD 9981.4 A522
CENSUS OF WHOLESALE TRADE.    HF 5421 U485

Other censuses available are:

CENSUS OF AGRICULTURE.     HD 1753 1982
CENSUS OF TRANSPORTATION.     HE 18 1982 A53

Periodicals

INDUSTRIAL PRODUCTION AND CAPACITY UTILIZATION. [Published by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.] [Monthly.]
HC 106.5 A165 (Current-PER; Bound-ST)

SURVEY OF CURRENT BUSINESS. [Monthly.]
HC 101 A13 (Current-PER; last 10 years bound-RS; others-ST)

RATIOS and FINANCIAL DATA

ALMANAC OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRIAL FINANCIAL RATIOS. [Troy’s.]
HF 5681 R25 T68 (Latest-RD; others-RS)

ASM STATISTICS FOR INDUSTRY GROUPS AND INDUSTRIES.
HD 9721 A56 (RS)

BUSINESS PROFITABILITY DATA. [Published every 5 years.]
HD 2346 U5 W35 (Latest-RD; others-RS)

BUSINESS RANKINGS ANNUAL.
HG 4061 B89 (Latest-RD; others-ST)

FINANCIAL STUDIES OF THE SMALL BUSINESS.
HD 2346 U5 F55a (Latest only-RD)

INDUSTRY NORMS AND KEY BUSINESS RATIOS.
HA 214 D815 (Latest-RD; others-RS or CD)

MARKET SHARE REPORTER.
HF 5415 M375 (Latest-RD)

ROBERT MORRIS ASSOCIATES. ANNUAL STATEMENT STUDIES.
HA 214 R54 (Latest-RD; others-RS)

INDUSTRY - SPECIFIC

There are many books and serials on specific industries. To find library materials on individual industries, consult FRANKLIN, the online library catalog. Use keywords such as:
computer industry AND statistics
or tobacco industry AND united states

Use Internet search engines, such as Google, for industry information. For example:
"fast foods" and (trends or outlook)

From Lippincott's Homepage-> Selected Business Websites-> Choose specific industries

LOCATION CODES

CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at reference desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff.
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.


[Home][Hours][Help][15 Libraries][Forms][Comments][A-to-Z][Patron][Search]

Copyright © 1998-2001 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.

Prepared by Cynthia Cronin-Kardon, November 2001
Last update: Thursday, 08-Aug-2002 15:49:30 EDT
Send mail concerning this page to: croninckc@wharton.upenn.edu