Lippincott Library @ Wharton
http://www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott

Research Guide - #8

HEALTH CARE INDUSTRY


STATISTICAL SOURCES INDUSTRY and MARKET DATA DICTIONARIES PERIODICALS
DIRECTORIES and GUIDES ADDITIONAL RESOURCES LOCATION CODES

STATISTICAL SOURCES

CMS (CENTER FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES). (Formerly HCFA, Health Care Financing Administration.) [HCFA data and statistics.]
www.hcfa.gov/stats/stats.html

COUNTY AND CITY DATA BOOKS. 1988 and 1994. Bureau of the Census.
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/ccdb/

CTS (CENTER FOR STUDYING HEALTH SYSTEM CHANGE). [Community tracking study.]
www.hschange.org/index.cgi?data=main

HCUPNET (HEALTHCARE COST AND UTILIZATION PROJECT). [Federal and selected state statistics and trends on hospital stays.]
www.ahcpr.gov/data/hcup/hcupnet.htm

HEALTH AND HEALTHCARE IN THE UNITED STATES. 2nd ed., 2000.
RA 407 A1 H435 (RS)

HEALTH CARE FINANCING REVIEW. STATISTICAL SUPPLEMENT.
RA 410.53 H415 Suppl. (RS)

HOSPITAL STATISTICS.
RA 981 A2 A6234 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

ICPSR. (INTER-UNIVERSITY CONSORTIUM FOR POLITICAL AND SOCIAL RESEARCH).
University of Michigan. (HP)

MANAGED CARE.
RA 413.5 U5 M358 (Latest-RD; Others-RS)

MANAGED CARE YEARBOOK.
RA 413.5 U5 M363 (RS)

MEPSNET/IC (MEDICAL EXPENDITURE PANEL SURVEY). [State insurance data.]
www.meps.ahrq.gov/MEPSNet/IC/mepsnetic.asp

NATIONAL CENTER FOR HEALTH STATISTICS.
www.cdc.gov/nchs/

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff SDC (SECURITIES DATA CORPORATION). [Financial and operating data for hospitals, HMOs, nursing homes.]
(ON)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff SOURCEOECD. (HP)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff STATISTICAL UNIVERSE. (HP)

STATE-LEVEL DATABOOK ON HEALTH CARE ACCESS AND FINANCING.
RA 410.53 L67 (RS)

UNIVERSAL HEALTHCARE ALMANAC. [Loose-leaf update service.]
RA 960 U548 (RS)

UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA HEALTH AND LIFE SCIENCES LIBRARY REFERENCE SHELF. STATISTICS.
http://webdb.library.upenn.edu/resources/subj-healthsci.php3?tid=39592&type=tert

DICTIONARIES

HEALTH SERVICES CYCLOPEDIC DICTIONARY.
RA 393 T56 1997 (RS)

MANAGED HEALTH CARE DICTIONARY.
RA 413 R58 1998 (RD)

DIRECTORIES and GUIDES

AHA GUIDE TO THE HEALTH CARE FIELD.
RA 977 A1 A46 (RS)

AMERICAN HOSPITAL DIRECTORY. [Summary hospital statistics.]
www.ahd.com/freesearch.php3

BIOTECHNOLOGY DIRECTORY.
TP 248.3 I56 (RD)

DETWILER'S DIRECTORY OF HEALTH AND MEDICAL RESOURCES.
R 118.4 U6 D488 (RD)

DIRECTORY OF HEALTH PLANS.
RA 413.5 U5 D56 (RS)

DUN & BRADSTREET/GALE GROUP INDUSTRY HANDBOOK.
INSURANCE AND HEALTH AND MEDICAL SERVICES
HD 9985 U5 D868 (RD)

GENETIC ENGINEERING AND BIOTECHNOLOGY RELATED FIRMS WORLDWIDE DIRECTORY.
HD 9999 G45 G452 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

HEALTH MANAGEMENT TECHNOLOGY. MARKET DIRECTORY ISSUE.
R 858 A1 C6562 (RS)

NATIONAL DIRECTORY OF MANAGED CARE ORGANIZATIONS.
RA 413 5 U5 N334 (RD)

NATIONAL HEALTH DIRECTORY.
RA 7.5 N37 (RD)

PLUNKETT'S BIOTECH & GENETICS INDUSTRY ALMANAC.
HD 9999 B44 P586 (RD; Also CD-ROM)

PLUNKETT’S HEALTH CARE INDUSTRY ALMANAC.
HD 9994 U5 P68 (RD; Also CD-ROM)

INDUSTRY and MARKET DATA

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff EUROMONITOR'S GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION DATABASE. Euromonitor. (HP)

GLOBAL HEALTH CARE MARKETS.
RA 410.56 G59 2001 (Lippincott and Van Pelt)

PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRY PROFILE.
www.phrma.org/index.phtml?mode=web
Select Publications then Industry Profile

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff REUTERS BUSINESS INSIGHT. (HP)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff STANDARD & POOR'S INDUSTRY SURVEYS.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff TABLEBASE. (HP)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff WORLD MARKET ANALYSIS. (HP)

PERIODICALS

Current Issues - PER Bound Volumes - ST Business Collection - MT BPOD - CD

BUSINESS AND HEALTH.
HD 7260 B87 July 1984- BPOD Feb. 1987-

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff HEALTH AFFAIRS.
RA 410 A1 H36 Vol. 6- ; 1987-

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff HEALTH CARE FINANCING REVIEW.
RA 410.53 H415 Vol. 1- ; 1979- BPOD Fall 1987-

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff HEALTH CARE MANAGEMENT REVIEW.
RA 393 H4 Vol.1- ; Winter 1976- BPOD Spring 1987-

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff HEALTH CARE STRATEGIC MANAGEMENT.
RA 421 H325 Vol.4- ; 1986- BPOD 1995-

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff HEALTHCARE FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT.
BPOD December 1987-

HOSPITAL AND HEALTH SERVICES ADMINISTRATION.
BPOD May 1987-

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff INQUIRY.
RA 410 A1 I5 1963 -

JOURNAL OF HEALTH ADMINISTRATION EDUCATION.
RA 440.6 J68 1984-

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff JOURNAL OF HEALTH ECONOMICS.
RA 410 A1 J725 1984-

MARION MERRELL MANAGED CARE DIGEST.
RA 413.5 U5 H588 (RS)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff MARKETING HEALTH SERVICES.
RA 410 A1 J7 1980/81-

WINDHOVER’S IN VIVO: BUSINESS & MEDICINE REPORT.
HD 9665.1 W563 1996-

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

BIOMEDICAL LIBRARY. [The University of Pennsylvania's library that serves the Medical School and Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania. The Biomedical Library has many additional dictionaries, ha ndbooks and directories, as well as health care periodicals not found at Lippincott.]
www.library.upenn.edu/biomed

LDI (LEONARD DAVIS INSITITUTE OF HEALTH ECONOMICS). [University of Pennsylvania's center for health services research, health policy analysis, and health care management executive education.]
www.upenn.edu/ldi/

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff MEDLINE (latest years). (HP)

LOCATION CODES

CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at reference desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff.
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.


[Home][Hours][Help][15 Libraries][Forms][Comments][A-to-Z][Patron][Search]

Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.

Prepared by Jean Newland, August 2002
Last update: Monday, 21-Oct-2002 15:46:24 EDT
Send mail concerning this page to: newlandj@wharton.upenn.edu