Lippincott Library @ Wharton
http://www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott

Research Guide - #7

Foreign Companies


International Pacific Rim Canada Location Codes
Africa, Middle East & India Europe Latin America

This is a guide to directory information on foreign companies. For news and deeper information on companies, see Lippincott's The Electronic Business Library to choose an appropriate database for more thorough corporate intelligence.

INTERNATIONAL

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff BANKSCOPE. [Limited to banks, but comprehensive and has screening capabilities.]

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER. (EBSCO)
Click on Company Directory and select the country you are interested in searching.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff CORPORATE AFFILIATIONS.
Print version: HG 4057 A2197 [5 Vols.] (Latest-RD; Others-PC)

CORPORATE INFORMATION. [Includes over 300,000 company profiles.]
www.corporateinformation.com

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff DATASTREAM. [Statistical database providing financial and economic indicators for companies around the world.]
See Database Search Aids forDataStream and DataStream Economic Indicators.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff GLOBAL ACCESS. [Includes SEC filings and annual reports.]
Use WorldScope module, sort by country. See Lippincott's Database Search Aid for Global Access.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff HOOVER'S ONLINE.
HOOVERS HANDBOOK OF WORLD BUSINESS.
HG 4009 H66 (Latest-RD; Others-PC)

KOMPASS. [1.5 million companies in 61 countries.]

MOODY'S INTERNATIONAL MANUAL.
HG 4527 M66 (Latest-SS; Others-PC)

PRINCIPAL INTERNATIONAL BUSINESSES.
HF 54 U5 P74 (Latest-RD; Others-PC)

THE TIMES 1000: THE WORLD'S TOP COMPANIES.
HG 4135 Z5 T584 (RS)

WORLD BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 4 Vols. [Detailed information on more than 100,000 businesses involved in international trade.]
HG 4009 W645 (RD)

WEBSITES: Bookmarked on the Lippincott Library Homepage

A lot of information on foreign companies can be retrieved from open-access Internet sites which Lippincott librarians have indexed for you. Follow these paths from our Homepage:
Selected Business Websites-> Websites by Subject->
          
International Business (directories)
     Business Reference-> Directories-> International Directories
     Search Engines-> Yahoo-> Business Economy-> Directories->           Companies-> Regional-> Countries

AFRICA, MIDDLE EAST and INDIA

BRABY'S RED INDEX OF SOUTHERN AFRICA. (HP)
www.brabys.com

DIRECTORY OF INDIAN EXPORTERS.
HF 3783 D574 (RS)

MAJOR COMPANIES OF THE ARAB WORLD.
HF 3866 M336 (RD)

MULTINATIONAL BUSINESS IN SOUTH AFRICA.
HG 4264.3 M858 (RS)

*See International Section for comprehensive directories

CANADA

CANADIAN BUSINESS. ["Top 500 Companies" appears in June or July issue.]
HF 1 C22 (Bound-ST; Unbound-PER; also Web:)
www.canadianbusiness.com

*CANADIAN TRADE INDEX.
HF 3223 C25 (RS)

DIRECTORY OF DIRECTORS (RS)
HG 4090.75 F5

FINANCIAL POST: SURVEY OF INDUSTRIALS.
HG 5151 F53 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

FINANCIAL POST: SURVEY OF MINES AND ENERGY RESOURCES.
HD 9506 C2 F5 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

*FINANCIAL POST: SURVEY OF PREDECESSOR AND DEFUNCT COMPANIES.
HG 4090 Z5 F592 (RS)

STANDARD & POOR'S REGISTER OF CORPORATIONS, DIRECTORS AND EXECUTIVES. [3 vols.]
HG 4057 A4 (Latest-RD; Others-PC; Also CD-ROM)

*See International Section for comprehensive directories

EUROPE

BRIEFING ON ITALIAN COMPANIES.
HD 2862 B754 (Latest-RS)

DIRECTORY OF EUROPEAN RETAILERS.
HF 54 G7 D574 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

D&B EUROPA. [60,000 leading European companies.]
HF 5152 D867 (Latest-RD; Others-PC)

EUROPAGES. (HP) [500,000 companies; 25 countries.] (HP)
www.europages.com

EUROPE'S 15,000 LARGEST COMPANIES.
HF 5193 E93 (RD)

FRENCH COMPANY HANDBOOK.
HD 2853 F73 (RS)

GROUNDBREAKERS: THE 100 GROWTH COMPANIES IN THE U.K.
HD 2845 G76 (RS)

*KELLY'S BUSINESS DIRECTORY. [UK]
HF 54 G7 K4 (RS; Also Web:) KELLY'S ON THE WEB.
www.kellys.reedinfo.co.uk/

*KRAK'S EXPORT DIRECTORY OF DENMARK.
HF 3643 E85 (Also Web:)
BUSINESS GUIDE TO DENMARK. (in Danish)
www.krak.dk/export/

MAJOR COMPANIES OF EUROPE.
HF 5074.5 P75 (RD)

*PORTUGAL-U.S. CHAMBER OF COMMERCE TRADE DIRECTORY.
HF 1571 P678 (RS)

*SEIBT EXPORT DIRECTORY OF GERMAN INDUSTRIES.
T 12.5 G3 E98 (RS)

SWEDISH EXPORT DIRECTORY.
(Web:) www.sed.swedishtrade.se

SWISS EXPORT DIRECTORY.
HF 3703 D5 (RS; Also Web:)
SWISS EXPORT + TRADE WITH SWITZERLAND.
www.osec.ch/

*See International Section for comprehensive directories

Pacific Rim

*AMERICAN BUSINESS IN CHINA.
HF 3128 A6 (RS)

ASIA LINKS.
www.asia-links.com

ASIAN COMPANY HANDBOOK.
HC 441 A843 (RS)

*ASIA'S 7,500 LARGEST COMPANIES.
HF 5270 A742 (RD)

*DIRECTORY, JAPANESE-AFFILIATED COMPANIES IN USA & CANADA.
HG 4245 Z5 J363 (RS)

DIRECTORY OF AMERICAN BUSINESS IN HONG KONG.
HF 3851.8 D57

GUIDE TO CHINA BUSINESS CONTACTS: COMPANIES, PLACES AND MARKETS.
HF 3833 S58 (RS)

JAPAN COMPANY HANDBOOK. FIRST SECTION FIRMS.
HC 461 J3513 (Latest-RS; Others-PC)

JAPAN COMPANY HANDBOOK. SECOND SECTION.
HC 461 S44 (Latest-RS; Others-PC)

JAPAN TRADE DIRECTORY.
HF 3823 J343 (RS; Also Web:) JETRO
www.jetro.go.jp/books/jtd/toppage.html

KOREA COMPANY HANDBOOK.
HG 4247 Z65 K66 (RS)

*See International Section for comprehensive directories

LATIN AMERICA

BRAZIL COMPANY HANDBOOK.
HG 4109.5 B7 (RS; Also Web:) BRAZIL COMPANY WEB EDITION.
www.brazilcompany.com/

LATIN AMERICA'S LARGEST COMPANIES.
HD 2810.5 A1 L385 (RD)

LATIN AMERICA 25,000. [Formerly Dun & Bradstreet's Key Business Directory of Latin America.]
HF 5073.5 A3 (RD)

LATIN BANKING GUIDE & DIRECTORY.
HG 2710.5 A1 L385 (RS)

MEXICO COMPANY HANDBOOK.
HG 4092.65 M43 (RS)

*See International Section for comprehensive directories

RELATED BIBLIOGRAPHIES

For additional resources see these Lippincott Research Guides:
Business Directories
Multinational Business

Location Codes

HP = Accessible through Lippincott's Homepage: www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott
CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Class of 1956 Computer Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at reference desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff = Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff


[Home][Hours][Help][15 Libraries][Forms][Comments][A-to-Z][Patron][Search]

Copyright © 1998-2001 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.

Prepared January 2002
Last update: Friday, 14-Jun-2002 15:16:33 EDT
Send mail concerning this page to: lippinco@wharton.upenn.edu