| |||||||||
![]() |
|||||||||
|
In a Hurry? See QUICK AND EASY on the last page.
The Lippincott Library publishes Research Guides on various subjects; also available at the Reference Desk.
DIRECTORIES IN PRINT. Biennial. 20th ed. 2 vols. AY 2001 D5 (RD) Also in Gale Ready Reference Shelf
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BUSINESS INFORMATION SOURCES. Annual. [Bibliographic listing of thousands of publications, arranged by detailed subject headings.] HF 5353 E9 (RD)
INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS INFORMATION. HOW TO FIND IT, HOW TO USE IT. 2nd ed. HF 54.5 P33 1998 (RD)
INVESTMENT STATISTICS LOCATOR. HG 4910 B46 1995 (RD)
NAICS (NORTH AMERICAN INDUSTRY CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM). [Replacement for SIC system.]http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/econ97.html Also in print at HF 1042 N6 2002 (RD)
SIC MANUAL (STANDARD INDUSTRIAL
CLASSIFICATION). U.S. Office of Management and Budget. [Former classification
system for the U.S. economy for codes to industries, products and services.
These codes are still in use by many business information databases.]
http://www.osha.gov/oshstats/sicser.html Also in print at HA 40 I6 U63 (RD)
STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES. Department of Commerce. [Annual. This basic statistical compilation includes data from governmental and private sources.] http://www.census.gov/statab/www. Also in print at HA 202 (RD)
STATISTICAL UNIVERSE. [A comprehensive
index to world data from governmental and private sources. Some reports are
full-text.]
See Lippincott's U.S. Economic Census: American FactFinder Database Search Aid.
The U.S. Economic Census (conducted every five years) is the primary source for U.S. business and industry statistics. It reports number of establishments, sales, payroll, production and more on the national and local level. The AMERICAN FACTFINDER makes it easy to search this vast collection of data.
Economic Censuses of:
Accommodations / Foodservices
Administrative / Support
Arts / Entertainment / Recreation
Construction
Educational Services
Health Care / Social Assistance
Information/ Finance / Insurance
Management of Companies and Enterprises
Manufacturing
Mining
Professional / Scientific / Technical Services
Real Estate / Rental / Leasing
Retail Trade
Transportation and Warehousing
Utilities
Waste Management / Remediation Services
Wholesale Trade
Other Services (except Public Administration)
Other Census Reports cover topics such as Outlying Areas; Women Owned Businesses; Minority Business, and more.
COUNTY BUSINESS PATTERNS. http://www.census.gov/epcd/cbp/view/cbpview.html
Mostly full-text articles from foreign and domestic newspapers and journals.
BUSINESS
& INDUSTRY. 1994- [Monthly trade, market and product news.]
BUSINESS
SOURCE PREMIER. [Full-text of Harvard Business Review and many other management
journals.]
DOW
JONES INTERACTIVE. [Full-text of The Wall Street Journal from 1984, international
business and industry coverage in 6000+ publications, SEC filings, historic
market data.]
ECONLIT.
1969- [Quarterly. Abstracts. Electronic version of Journal of Economic Literature
and Index of Economic Articles.]
LEXIS/NEXIS
ACADEMIC UNIVERSE. [Full-text of The New York Times from 1984, and many
more publications.]
PROMT
[Company, product and industry information.]
JOURNAL OF ECONOMIC LITERATURE. [Quarterly publication includes tables of contents of scholarly journals in applied economics, as well as books and working papers. Also has author and subject access and selected annotations.] HB 1 J6 (RS; Also see ECONLIT).
OFFICIAL INDEX TO THE FINANCIAL TIMES. London, England 1981-1997. [Continues ANNUAL INDEX TO THE FINANCIAL TIMES.] And MONTHLY INDEX TO THE FINANCIAL TIMES. 1998- current. HG 11 F548a (RS)
THE WALL STREET JOURNAL INDEX. BARRON’S INDEX. [Monthly with annual cumulations. Subject and company access. Barron’s indexed from 1981.] HG 1 W26 1955- (RS)
See also “Industry Studies,” Lippincott Research Guide.
INVESTEXT.
[Wall Street investment analyst reports.]
MERGENT (Formerly MOODY'S)INDUSTRY REVIEW. [Biweekly.]
HG 4961 M68 (SS)
MULTEX.
(HP)
PANORAMA OF EUROPEAN BUSINESS. Annual, with monthly supplement. HC 240 E91 P17
STANDARD
& POOR'S INDUSTRY SURVEYS. 1941-current. [Analysis, current and historical
industry data and trends +information on public companies.] Also in print at
HG 4921 S672 (Reserve Stacks)
TABLEBASE.
[Tabular data extracted from journals and reports.]
UNIDO INDUSTRIAL STATISTICS. United Nations. (CD) location: station 12B
VALUE
LINE INVESTMENT SURVEY & VALUE LINE INVESTMENT SURVEY - SMALL &
MIDCAP EDITION.
Also print version. 1969- current [Financial analysis of 99
major industries and the public companies within those industries. Summary &
Index volume includes betas.] HG 4501 V26 (SS; Also on CD)
BUSINESS RANKINGS ANNUAL. 1990- [An annotated guide to more than 8000 sources of lists ranking businesses, products, and services.] HG 4061 B89 (RD)
D & B BUSINESS RANKINGS. Annual. 1984- [Public and private businesses ranked
within industry category and by state and size.]
HG 4057 A237 (RD)
See also: Lippincott
Research Guide “Foreign Companies.”
An extensive group of directories can
be found at Lippincott Business Reference-> Directories
DIRECTORY
OF CORPORATE AFFILIATIONS. [A listing of major world companies and their
divisions, subdivisions, subsidiaries and affiliates.] Also in print at HG 4057
A2192 (RD)
D
& B MILLION DOLLAR DATABASE. U.S. businesses with net worth over $500,000.
Listings include officers, lines of business, and sales. Annual print version
1979- current. 5 vols. and Master Index. HF 5035 D86 (RD)
PRINCIPAL INTERNATIONAL BUSINESSES. [Dun & Bradstreet's one-volume listing
of major companies, worldwide.]
HF 54 U5 P74 (RD; Also CD)
STANDARD & POOR'S REGISTER OF CORPORATIONS, DIRECTORS, AND EXECUTIVES. 1973- 3 vols. HG 4057 A4 (RD)
See also Lippincott Research Guides “Business Finance” and “Corporate Collection.”
And from Lippincott's Homepage select Selected Business Web sites -> Finance and Investment -> Corporate Financials
ANNUAL REPORTS, 10Ks and PROXY STATEMENTS. (Available in print, CD-ROM and via the Lippincott Home Page in LEXISNEXIS, DOW JONES, EDGARSCAN and GLOBAL ACCESS.)
DISCLOSURE. [Extracted data from SEC filings.] (CD Monthly, FROM 1988; Also on Global Access)
MERGENT (formerly MOODY'S) MANUALS. A multi-volume set of annuals and weekly
updates. Includes history, subsidiaries, bond information for public companies.
(SS) Titles include:
BANK AND FINANCE MANUAL HG 4961 M65
COMPANY ARCHIVES MANUAL. HG 4028 M4 M474 [firms defunct from 1995-current]
INDUSTRIAL MANUAL HG 4961 M67
INTERNATIONAL MANUAL HG 4527 M66a
MUNICIPAL AND GOVERNMENT MANUAL HG 4931 M58
OTC INDUSTRIAL MANUAL HG 4961 M724
OTC UNLISTED MANUAL HG 4961 M663
PUBLIC UTILITY MANUAL HG 4961 M7245
TRANSPORTATION MANUAL HG 4971 M74
STANDARD & POOR'S CORPORATION RECORDS. [Loose-leaf service. Comprehensive source
for financial information on American companies with daily updates.]
HG 4501 S7663 (SS; Also HP->LEXIS/NEXIS-> Business-> Company
Financial)
ALMANAC OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRIAL FINANCIAL RATIOS. [From IRS data.]HF 5681 R25 T68 (RD)
ANNUAL STATEMENT STUDIES. RMA. 1964- current. [From bank credit applications] HA 214 R54 (RD)
INDUSTRY NORMS AND KEY BUSINESS RATIOS. Dun & Bradstreet. 1982-current. HA 214 D815 (RD)
STANDARD & POOR’S ANALYST'S HANDBOOK. 1984- [Composite corporate per-share data by industries.] HG 4519 S772 (RD)
U.S. ECONOMIC CENSUS. www.census.gov/epcd/www/econ97.html
1. QUARTERLY FINANCIAL REPORT FOR MANUFACTURING, MINING AND TRADE CORPORATIONS.
(PER)
2. CENSUS OF RETAIL TRADE. HF 5429.3 U522 (RS)
3. ANNUAL SURVEY OF MANUFACTURES. HD 9721 A56 (RS)
MONEYCENTRAL. [A business research wizard that delivers company financials and profiles from premium sources.] http://www.moneycentral.msn.com/ Click on Investing-> Stocks - Research Wizard.
TEN K WIZARD. [An SEC filings wizard that allows searching by keyword.] http://www.tenkwizard.com/
CORPORATE INFORMATION. [Includes brief country statistics, firm rankings,
brief industry analyses, company profiles and company research reports. Good for searching hotel industry in Spain, for example.]
LOCATION CODES
| CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center. | ||
| ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at reference desk. | ||
| RD = Reference Desk | ST = Stacks on the 3rd Floor | WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services |
| RS = Reference Stacks | PER = Periodicals | MT = Microtext |
| SS = Service Shelves | PC = Peck Collection | |
| *Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only. | ||
Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.
Prepared by Terese Terry, September 2001