Lippincott Library @ Wharton
http://www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott

Research Guide - #3

BUSINESS FINANCE


DATABASES PERIODICALS WEBSITES DIRECTORIES INVESTMENT SERVICES
STATISTICS INDUSTRY SURVEYS ENCYCLOPEDIAS and FACT BOOKS RELATED LIPPINCOTT GUIDES LOCATION CODES

ELECTRONIC DATABASES

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff AMADEUS. [European company data.] (HP)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff BANKSCOPE (HP)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff BLOOMBERG. [Comprehensive international financial data.] (ON)

COMPACT dSEC. [CD-ROM database of SEC extracts.] (CD; Also HP-Global Access)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff DATASTREAM. [Comprehensive international financial and economic time series data.] (ON)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff EDGARSCAN. [SEC Reports.] (HP)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff EIU COUNTRY FINANCE. (HP)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff FACTIVA. (Use Internet Explorer 5.1 or higher.) [News wires, SEC reports, financial snapshots, financial screening.] (HP)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff FIRST CALL. [Investment bank reports.]

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff HOOVER'S ONLINE. (International Company Directory) (HP)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff INVESTEXT. [Investment bank reports.] (HP)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff MULTEX. [Investment bank reports.] (HP)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff SDC. [International M&A transactions, IPOs, private placements, joint ventures.] (ON)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff WALL STREET TRANSCRIPT. (HP)

WORLDSCOPE GLOBAL. [CD-ROM databases of international company report extracts.] (CD; Also HP-Global Access)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services). [Access to Compustat, CRSP, Forrester, I/B/E/S and other financial databases.]

For additional financial databases, Search Business Databases
Select Communities of Interest-> Finance (from drop-down menu)

PERIODICALS

BARRON'S. [Weekly.]
HG 1 B3 (Current-PER; Bound-PC; Early volumes in Storage; Also HP-> Factiva.)

FINANCIAL TIMES. [London; Daily.]
(Current-PER; Others-MT; Also ON and HP-> Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff LEXISNEXIS Academic Universe and Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Factiva)

INVESTORS BUSINESS DAILY. [Daily.]
(Current 2 months-PER; Also HP)-> LEXISNEXIS Academic Universe

OUTLOOK. Standard and Poor's. [Weekly.] 1937-
HG 4501 O97 (Unbound-SS; Bound-PC)

STANDARD & POOR'S CREDITWEEK. [Weekly; loose-leaf current service.]
HG 3751.7 S726 (Unbound-SS; Bound-PC)

WALL STREET JOURNAL. [Daily.]
(Current-PER; Others-MT; Also HP-> Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Factiva.)

For additional financial e-journals, Browse E-Journals
Select Communities of Interest-> Finance (from drop-down menu)

WEBSITES

From LIPPINCOTT'S HOMEPAGE (HP)-> Business Websites-> Finance and Investment

DIRECTORIES

CORPORATE FINANCE SOURCEBOOK.
HG 4057 A1565 (RD)

NELSON'S DIRECTORY OF INVESTMENT RESEARCH. [Annual.]
Vol.1: U.S. Companies; Vol. 2: Int’l. Companies
HG 4907 N43 (RD)

SECURITIES INDUSTRY YEARBOOK.
HG 4907 S382 (Latest-RD; Others-PC)

STANDARD & POOR'S SECURITY DEALERS OF NORTH AMERICA.
HG 4907 S4 1998 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)

STOCK SYMBOLS. [Quarterly.] (Unbound-RD; Bound-PC)
STOCKS & BONDS. American Stock Exchange. 1971-     HG 4575 N45
NASDAQ SYMBOL BOOK. 1990-     HG 4501 N232
STOCKS & BONDS ON THE NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE. 1978-     HG 4574 F63

INVESTMENT SERVICES

BOND GUIDE. Standard & Poor's. [Monthly.]
HG 4921 S618 (Unbound-PER; Bound-PC; Also HP)

MERGENT DIVIDEND RECORD. [Loose-leaf, semi-weekly, with annual cumulations.] 1 vol.
HG 4963 M576 (Current-SS; Others-PC)

MERGENT BOND RECORD. [Monthly.]
HG 4905 M78 (Unbound-PER; Bound-PC)

MERGENT (MOODY'S) MANUALS. [Includes an annual bound volume and a loose-leaf binder containing current information.]
(Current-SS; Others-PC)
INDUSTRIALS. 1909-     HG 4961 M67
TRANSPORTATION. 1909-     HG 4971 M74
PUBLIC UTILITIES. 1914-     HG 4961 M7245
BANKS AND FINANCE. 1928-    HG 4961 M65
MUNICIPALS/GOVERNMENTS. 1918-     HG 4931 M58
INTERNATIONAL MANUAL. 1981-     HG 4527 M66
O-T-C INDUSTRIAL MANUAL. 1970-     HG 4961 M724
O-T-C UNLISTED MANUAL. 1986-     HG 4961 M663

MOODY'S HANDBOOK OF COMMON STOCKS. [Quarterly.] 1957-
HG 4905 M815 (Latest-SS; Others-PC)

MOODY'S HANDBOOK OF OTC STOCKS. [Quarterly.] 1981-
HG 4905 M823 (Latest-SS; Others-PC)

NATIONAL STOCK SUMMARY. [Semi-annual.] 1923-
HG 4905 N34 (Latest-RD; Others-PC)

O'NEIL DATABASE. [Quarterly.]
HG 4501 O53 (Latest-SS; Others-PR) 1986 -

SECURITY OWNERS STOCK GUIDE. [Monthly.]
HG 4915 S67 (Unbound-PER; Bound-PC)


STANDARD & POOR'S BOND GUIDE. [Monthly.]
HG 4921 S618 (Unbound-PER; Bound-PC)

STANDARD & POOR'S CORPORATION DESCRIPTIONS. [Monthly.]
HG 4501 S7663 (SS; Also HP-LexisNexis)

STANDARD & POOR'S DIVIDEND RECORD. [Daily with weekly, monthly and annual cumulations.] 1937-
HG 4908 S726 (Latest, filed with DAILY DIVIDEND RECORD-SS; Others-PC; Also HP)

STANDARD STOCK REPORTS. [Monthly.]
HG 4501 S767 (SS; Also HP)

VALUE LINE INVESTMENT SURVEY. Standard and Expanded Editions. [Loose-leaf current service.]
(Latest-RD; Others-MT; Also CD)

STATISTICS

ANALYTICAL RECORD OF YIELDS AND YIELD SPREADS. Salomon Brothers.
HG 4537 S35 1994 (RD)

ANALYST'S HANDBOOK. 1984- [Composite Corporate Per Share Data by Industries.]
HG 4519 S772 (Latest-RD; Others-PC)

DAILY STOCK PRICE RECORD. Standard & Poor's. [Quarterly] (Last 5 years-SS; Others-PC)
New York Stock Exchange 1962-     HG 4915 I2
American Stock Exchange 1962-     HG 4915 I22
Over-The-Counter 1968-     HG 4915 I6


STANDARD & POOR'S STATISTICAL SERVICE. [Loose-leaf current service. [1 vol. includes Current Statistics, Basic Statistics, and most recent Security Price Index Record.]
HG 4921 S74 (RD)

STOCKS, BONDS, BILLS AND INFLATION YEARBOOK. Ibbotson-SBBI.
HG 4915 I362 (Latest-RD; Others-PC)

INDUSTRY SURVEYS

MOODY'S INDUSTRY REVIEW. [Loose-leaf current service.]
HG 4961 M68 (SS)


STANDARD & POOR'S INDUSTRY REPORTS.
HG 4921 S652 (Latest-SS; Year-end Data Issue-PC; Also HP)-> Business Databases-> Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys)

ENCYCLOPEDIAS and FACT BOOKS

AMERICAN STOCK EXCHANGE COMPANY GUIDE. [Loose-leaf current service.]
HG 4575 N526 (SS)

FACT BOOKS. [Annual] (Latest-RD; Others-PC)
AMERICAN STOCK EXCHANGE. 1985-     HG 4575.1 A447
NASDAQ FACT BOOK AND COMPANY DIRECTORY. 1982-     HG 4905 N385
NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE. 1957-     HG 4571 N56

LIBRARY OF INVESTMENT BANKING. 7 vols.
HG 4534 L537 1990 (RD)

NEW PALGRAVE DICTIONARY OF MONEY AND FINANCE.
HG 151 N48 1992 (RD)

NEW YORK STOCK EXCHANGE GUIDE. [Loose-leaf current service.]
HG 4572 N487 (SS)


RELATED LIPPINCOTT RESEARCH GUIDES

LOCATION CODES

CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at reference desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff.
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.


[Home][Hours][Help][15 Libraries][Forms][Comments][A-to-Z][Patron][Search]

Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.

Prepared by Michael Halperin, August 2002
Last update: Tuesday, 27-Aug-2002 13:00:46 EDT
Send mail concerning this page to: halperin@wharton.upenn.edu