Lippincott Library @ Wharton
http://www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott

Research Guide - #2

ADVERTISING and MARKETING INDUSTRIES


GUIDES to SOURCES DIRECTORIES and HANDBOOKS BRANDS, TRADE NAMES and TRADEMARKS
STATISTICS DICTIONARIES SELECTED PERIODICALS
NEWS OVERVIEWS LOCATION CODES

GUIDES to SOURCES

See also Lippincott Research Guides:

and:

Selected Business Websites-> Marketing and Advertising, from the Lippincott Library Homepage.

DATA SOURCES FOR BUSINESS AND MARKET ANALYSIS. 4th ed.
HF 5415.124 F7 (RD)

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ASSOCIATIONS.
HS 61 A3 E6 (RD) Also Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Associations Unlimited

STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES.
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/    Also HA 202 S7972 (RD)

STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE WORLD. Annual.
HA 154 S83 (RD)

DIRECTORIES and HANDBOOKS

AGENCY COMPILE. U.S. Profiles of ad, PR, direct marketing, interactive, design, sales promotion and media buying services.
www.agencycompile.com

B-B 100. Ranked business-to-business advertisers, includes ad expenditures on all media. Includes some ad rates.
www.businessmarketing.com

ADVERTISING DIRECTORIES and HANDBOOKS

ADVERTISING AGE. 100 LEADING NATIONAL ADVERTISERS. Annual. World and U.S.
www.adage.com     Click Data Center. Also HF 5801 A2763 (RD)

CABLE TV ADVERTISING BUREAU. (CAB) Profiles, news, statistics.
www.cabletvadbureau.com

CATALOG AGE 100. Top U.S. catalogers. Ranked by sales.
www.catalogagemag.com

MAGAZINE HANDBOOK. Magazine Publishers of America. Industry fact sheet.
www.magazine.org

MEMBERSHIP ROSTER. Audit Bureau of Circulations. Annual. U.S. and Canada.
PN 4784 C6 A924 (RS)

OUTDOOR ADVERTISING ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA, INC.
www.oaaa.org

ROSTER AND ORGANIZATION OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF ADVERTISING AGENCIES. Annual; clients, billings, specialties, staff.
www.aaaa.org     Also HF 5801 A683 (RS)

"RED BOOKS." Also online in Lippincott Library, on LexisNexis Classic. Ask at Reference Desk.
STANDARD DIRECTORY OF ADVERTISERS. Annual. "Red Book." HF 5805 S712 (RD)
STANDARD DIRECTORY OF ADVERTISING AGENCIES. Annual. "Agency Red Book." HF 5805 S72 (RD)
STANDARD DIRECTORY OF INTERNATIONAL ADVERTISERS & ADVERTISING AGENCIES. Annual. "Red Book" HF 5804 S73 (RD)

STANDARD RATE & DATA SERVICE (SRDS) titles at the Lippincott Reference Desk:
   BUSINESS PUBLICATION ADVERTISING SOURCE.   HF 5905 S723
   SRDS CONSUMER MAGAZINE ADVERTISING SOURCE.   HF 5905 S725
   DIRECT MARKETING LIST SOURCE.   HF5861 D54
   SRDS INTERACTIVE ADVERTISING SOURCE.   HF5905 S727
   NEWSPAPER ADVERTISING SOURCE.   HF5905 S73 [Includes market data]
   RADIO ADVERTISING SOURCE.   HF 5905 S74 Includes Arbitron data.
   TV & CABLE SOURCE.   HF 5905 S745 Includes demographics, Nielsen, DMA data and
   market profiles.

THE TOP 50 INTERACTIVE AGENCIES. Annual. Adweek Online Report. Revenue, employees, growth.
www.adweek.com

MARKETING DIRECTORIES and HANDBOOKS

THE AMERICAN MARKETING ASSOCIATION INTERNATIONAL MEMBER & MARKETING SERVICES GUIDE. Annual.
HF 5415.1 A44 (RD)

DARTNELL MARKETING MANAGER’S HANDBOOK.
HF 5415.13 D33 1994 (RS)

DIRECT MARKETING LIST SOURCE. Parts 1 and 2. SRDS.
HF 5861 D54 (RD)

THE DIRECT MARKETING MARKET PLACE.
HF 5415.1 D57 (RS)

ESOMAR DIRECTORY. World Association of Opinion and Marketing Research Professionals. 100 countries, updated monthly. Search by name, country, method, or research field.
www.esomar.nl/

FINDEX: WORLDWIDE DIRECTORY OF MARKET RESEARCH REPORTS, STUDIES & SURVEYS. Annual with supplements.
HF 5415.2 F55 (RD)

HANDBOOK OF MARKETING SCALES. Measures for consumer behavior research.
HF 5415.3 B323 1999 (RS)

IMRI'S INTERNATIONAL DIRECTORY OF MARKET RESEARCH AGENCIES.
www.imriresearch.com

INTERNATIONAL DIRECTORY OF MARKETING RESEARCH COMPANIES & SERVICES. 2 vols. Annual. "Green Book."
www.greenbook.org     Also HF 5415.2 I53 (RD)

MRA BLUE BOOK RESEARCH SERVICE DIRECTORY. 2 volumes. Marketing Research Association. Annual. U.S.
HF 5415.2 M119 (RD)

PRINCIPLES OF MARKETING. With CD.
HF 5415 K636 (Lippincott Reserve Desk)

MARKETING GUIDEBOOK. Grocery trade.
HD 932.3 P75 (RS)

WHO'S WHO: THE MASA BUYER'S GUIDE TO BLUE RIBBON MAILING SERVICES.
HF 5861 A1 M322 (RS)

BRANDS, TRADE NAMES and TRADEMARKS

AD ACCESS. Historic print ads. 1911-1955.
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/adaccess

ADAGE GLOBAL. Top packaged goods brands with sales.
www.adageglobal.com

ADFLIP. Historic ads. 1901 to 1940.
www.adflip.com

AD $ SUMMARY. US. LNA/Competitive Media Reporting. Books I & II. Media use and expenditure by brand name.
HF 5802 N312 (RD)

BRANDS & THEIR COMPANIES. 2 vols. with supplement. Gale. Annual.
T 223 V4 A 22 (RD)

CORPORATE AFFILIATIONS.
Also HG 4057 A2192 (RD)   Vol. 1, "Brand Name Index."

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CONSUMER BRANDS. 1994. 3 vols. Brand history, market data, bibliographies.
HF 5415.3 E 527 (RS)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff EUROMONITOR'S GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION DATABASE. Market share by product and region. Company profiles include profit and sales figures. Select Brands & Companies

GLOBAL BRANDS SCORECARD. Includes corporate snapshots.
http://bwnt.businessweek.com/brand

GROCERY MANUFACTURERS OF AMERICA.
www.gmabrands.com

STANDARD DIRECTORY OF ADVERTISERS. Annual. Vol. 2, "Brand Name Index."
HF 5805 S712 (RD)   Also online on Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff LexisNexis Classic in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.

SUPERBRANDS. Brandweek. Annual. America's top 2000 brands.
HF 5801 S77 (RD)

THOMAS REGISTER. American trademark index. Industrial products.
www.thomasregister.com   Also T12 T6 [Annual.] Vol. 23 (RS)

TRADEMARKS ISSUED. U.S. Patent & Trademark Office.
www.uspto.gov   Also T223 V13 A522 (RS)

TV COMMERCIALS.
www.alltheweb.com   Select Video, then type product or brand name.

WINE & SPIRITS INDUSTRY MARKETING. Adams Media.
HD 9351 K 56 (RS)

THE WORLD'S MOST VALUABLE BRANDS SURVEY. [Annual.]
www.finfacts.com

STATISTICS

AD AGE DATAPLACE. [Media, agencies, brands, marketing statistics and rankings.]
www.adage.com

ADRESOURCE. Ranks top Internet advertisers and online properties.
adres.internet.com

CENSUS OF SERVICE INDUSTRIES. Access via American FactFinder. (Advertising NAICS code is 5418)
www.census.gov

MARKETING ROI CALCULATOR.
www.marketingtoday.com/tools/roi_calculator

MARKET SHARE REPORTER. [Annual.]
HF 5410 M375 (RD)

STATISTICAL FACT BOOK. Direct Marketing Assn.
HF 5410 S738 (RS)

U.S. MARKET TRENDS & FORECAST. Gale.
HF 5415.1 U7 (RD)

WORLD MARKET SHARE REPORTER. [Biennial.]
HF 5410 W675 (RD)

AD EXPENDITURES

100 LEADING ADVERTISERS. Advertising Age. Annual.
HF 5801 A2763 (RD)

100 LEADING MEDIA COMPANIES. www.adage.com   Click Data Center.

ECONOMIC CENSUS. In the left frame, see Business Expenses. This is a very large document that includes advertising expenditure by NAICS codes.
http://www.census.gov/csd/bes/

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff EUROMONITOR'S GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION DATABASE.
Select Country Data-> then Annual Advertising Expenditure by media.

MCCANN-ERICKSON. [Historic ad expenditures and other industry data, by media.]
www.mccann.com/    Click on Insight, then on Bob Coen's Insider's Report

NEWSPAPER ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA. Includes total U.S. advertising volume (by media).
www.naa.org     Click Information for. . .

REVENUE PER ADVERTISING DOLLAR EXPENDITURE. Ad Age Leading Nat'l Advertisers Report.
www.adage.com

STANDARD DIRECTORY OF INTERNATIONAL ADVERTISERS. STANDARD DIRECTORY OF ADVERTISERS. Both "Red Books" include ad spending for some listings.
HF 5805 S72-73 (RD)   Also online in Lippincott Library on Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff LexisNexis Classic (SDA and SDAA). Ask at Reference Desk.

SUPERBRANDS. Annual. (BrandWeek)
HF 5801 S77 2001 (RD)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff TABLEBASE. Competitive Media Reports. Enter cmr to get all CMR data. Or type: cmr and budweiser, for example. For broader scope, type: advertising expenditures and wine, for example.

TOP 100 GLOBAL MARKETERS. Annual.
www.adageglobal   Select Rankings

AD $ SUMMARY.
HF 5802 N312 (RD)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff INFOTECH TRENDS. Online advertising revenue and spending.

AD RATES

AD RESOURCES. Internet rates only.
http://adres.internet.com/adrates

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff GALE DIRECTORY OF PUBLICATIONS AND BROADCAST MEDIA. Includes TV rates for most listings. Also online in Lippincott Library on Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff LexisNexis Classic (BUSREF; PUBBRD). Ask at Reference Desk.

SRDS Volumes (see above under Advertising Directories and Handbooks) at Lippincott Reference Desk. No TV rates.

TV AD PRICE CHART. Annual. Prime time shows.
www.adage.com   Click Media News.

DICTIONARIES

DICTIONARY OF MARKETING AND ADVERTISING. Rosenberg.
HF 5415 R577 1995 (RS)

DICTIONARY OF MARKETING TERMS. Barron's.
HF 5803 I46 (RS)

INTERNATIONAL DICTIONARY OF MARKETING.
HF 5415 Y33 2002 (RD)

MARKETING: THE ENCYCLOPEDIC DICTIONARY.
HF 5412 M47 1999 (RD)

SELECTED PERIODICALS

NOTE: Unless otherwise noted, current issue is in Lippincott Periodicals. Except where noted the following journals are also available as Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff E-journals. See the Lippincott Library Homepage for the list of E-journals.

ADVERTISING AGE. Weekly. 1955-
(PER-Oversize shelves) Online, from 1999-

BRANDWEEK. 1987-
Online, from 1999-

INDUSTRIAL MARKETING MANAGEMENT. 1971- Quarterly. European.
HF 5415.13 I53   Online, from 1971-

JOURNAL OF CONSUMER RESEARCH. 1974-
HF 5415.3 J687 (Also CD, MT)

JOURNAL OF GLOBAL MARKETING. Quarterly.
HF 1009.5 J68 (Not available online.)

JOURNAL OF INTERACTIVE MARKETING. Quarterly.
HF 5415.126 J687 Online, from 1999-

JOURNAL OF INTERNATIONAL MARKETING. 1993-
HF 5410 J678 Online, from 1999-

JOURNAL OF MARKETING. 1936- American Marketing Association.
HF 5415 A2 J6 Online, from 1999-

JOURNAL OF MARKETING RESEARCH. 1964-
HF 5415.2 J66 (Also CD, MT) Online, from 1999-

MEDIAWEEK. 1991- Weekly.
HF 5801 M435 Online, from 1994-

SALES AND MARKETING MANAGEMENT. Monthly.
HF 5438 A34 1927- Online, from 1997-

NEWS   (From Lippincott's Homepage-> Search Business Databases)

The WALL STREET JOURNAL (on Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Dow Jones Interactive) and the NEW YORK TIMES (on Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff LexisNexis Academic Universe) cover advertising industry news in weekly features.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff ABI/INFORM-PROQUEST.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff BUSINESS & INDUSTRY.

KNOWLEDGE@WHARTON.   Choose Marketing.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff PROMT.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff PSYCINFO.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff TABLEBASE.

OVERVIEWS

CAREERS IN MARKETING. Harvard.
HF 5415.35 M36 2001 (RD)

FORTUNE 500 INDUSTRY RANKINGS. Advertising agencies. Financials. Company profiles.
http://www.fortune.com/lists/F500/indsnap_1.html

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff MULTEX.

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff STANDARD & POOR'S INDUSTRY SURVEYS. ADVERTISING.
Also HG 4921 S672 (Lippincott Reserve Shelves and RD)

Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff VALUE LINE.
(SS and on-site library database)

LOCATION CODES

CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at reference desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff Restricted to Penn faculty, students and staff.
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.


[Home][Hours][Help][15 Libraries][Forms][Comments][A-to-Z][Patron][Search]

Copyright © 1998-2002 University of Pennsylvania Library. All Rights Reserved.

Prepared by Terese Terry, November 2001
Last update: Monday, 14-Oct-2002 18:12:57 EDT
Send mail concerning this page to: terryt@wharton.upenn.edu