Lippincott Library @ Wharton
http://www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott
Instructional Session - #4

Marketing Information Tutorial

See also "Market Intelligence: Secondary Sources"

Use this sampler to explore selected Penn Library business databases and the U.S. Census.

What you click on is Underlined. What you type is in boldface.

Secondary Market Information employs:

Models for three marketing areas: Biotech, Industrial Service, Consumer.

Is there a market for these products? How big? Where? Who are the competitors? What products exist already? What are the sales? What are the current trends in lifestyle or the economy that indicate success or failure? What are the potential rewards and risks? What regulations affect marketing these products?

I. High Tech--Biometrics

1. Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies

2. ENCYCLOPEDIA OF EMERGING INDUSTRIES.   HD 2324 E528 Lippincott Reference Desk

Infotech Trends.

eMarketer  Enter e-stat Database.
Search.
Enter: biometrics.

Factiva (Use Internet Explorer 5.1 or higher)

PROMT

Type: biometrics and pric*

II. Industrial--pollution control services for Eastern Europe

U.S. ECONOMIC CENSUS.
Type in the address bar: www.census.gov
NAICS
NAICS SEARCH
pollution -- the result NAICS codes (pollution equipment)is not right -- TRY AGAIN! Be flexible when searching U.S. Census and all databases!)

environmental
(Better--Click on: Environmental Consulting Services 541620 to get description. Bingo! Make a note of the SIC code also, 8748. SIC codes are also used by non-government databases. Many of them haven't converted yet to NAICS.)

Scroll down to and click on 1997 Economic Census.
Scroll down to see industry statistics for NAICS code 541620.
Want more detailed industry figures?
Then scroll down to and click on Data Tools. On the next screen, click American Fact Finder.
Using the Lippincott Database Search Aid "U.S. Economic Census - American Fact Finder," you can learn the number of firms in this NAICS code which export services, for example.

D & B Million Dollar Database*

Advanced Search->
Scroll down to "Industry" and Browse a 4 Digit Table. (D&B's SIC codes often vary from Census SICs)
Select 70-89 Services->
Highlight: 8748. Submit.
Type: environmental in D&B Line of Business Keyword.

In the Import/Export Box, select Export

Start Search.
Scroll down to the bottom of the companies list and Sort by Sales in Descending Order.
View the top listed company.
Note the business description. Next time try searching on THESE descriptions for more precise results.
(There is no standard protocol for terminology among different business databases. Always look at a record or two, to see how they index contents.)

EIU Country Commerce (ILT)*
Country Commerce-> Czech Republic-> Main Report-> Browse "Document Sections" to see the list of reports available, from Regulatory Market Alerts to Key Contacts.

TRADEUSA. Search Market Research.

III. Consumer--Beer

Euromonitor's Global Market Information Database*

Consumer Market Sizes-> Drill down by highlighting -- Drinks > Alcoholic Drinks-> Beer

Now continue to refine search by country and date.

Business & Industry*

Type: beer and women

Tablebase*

Type: coors and advertising

[Home][Hours][Help][15 Libraries][Forms][Comments][A-to-Z][Patron][Search]

Prepared by Terese Terry, October 2002
Last modified: Monday, 21-Oct-2002 15:20:22 EDT
Send mail concerning this page to: lippinco@wharton.upenn.edu